Skip to content

American Idol Top 4: Songs That Shaped Rock ‘n’ Roll

May 1, 2008

The “spoiler” for next week’s theme was posted on MJ’s Big Blog yesterday, and Idolator came up with a “wish list” for what the contestants should perform. And now I’m going to do the same thing because it is an unoriginal idea and I’m cool with that fact.

Here is the aforementioned list of 500 Songs That Shaped Rock, as designated by the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame. And here is my dream set list, which is probably more sick and twisted than accurate.

Of course, several of these songs have already been done this season:
Yesterday (The Beatles)
Imagine (John Lennon)
Billie Jean (Michael Jackson)
Piece of My Heart (Big Brother & The Holding Company)
I Love Rock & Roll (Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
Light My Fire (The Doors)
I’m A Believer (The Monkees)
Every Breath You Take (The Police)
Papa Was A Rolling Stone (The Temptations)

Note: I have included the (Unfortunately) Will Do section on only 2 of the contestants because their song choices are always relatively predictable.

The Chosen Eunuch

Smells Like Teen Spirit
Obviously, he would be arranging the Tori Amos version of Nirvana’s breakthrough hit into something more uh, palatable for the tween and middle-aged woman segment, so it would sound a bit more Muzak-y. And while I know he would never really do this song, I would still get a big kick out of seeing him squint into the camera when getting all deep about feeling stupid and contagious, plus I would dig the irony in him saying Here we are now, entertain us. Oh. And him uttering the words my libido would be priceless.
Space Oddity
If the Eunuch performed this Bowie song, complete with countdown, I might actually be tempted to vote for him. Because watching him give those puppy dog eyes while singing Space Oddity would be pure awesomeness and almost like turning on the Teletubbies after a long night of partying-partying. Scary in many ways, but in a way which you can not away.
Little Red Corvette
Shhhh! Don’t tell him its NOT about a car…Of course, I doubt any of the two Prince songs on the list would be approved by Idol producers.
(Unfortunately) Will Do: Bridge Over Troubled Water (Simon & Garfunkel), Maggie Mae (Rod Stewart), Your Song (Elton John)

D-Cook

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
The Eurythmics’ song remains timeless in its utter awesomeness. While notably covered by Marilyn Manson several years back, as the song fits well into the “goth rock” genre, D-Cook seems capable to do a kick ass “rock” version.
Super Freak
Because let’s face it, Rick James does not get the Idol love he deserves. And I don’t know if anyone has ever said “kinky” during a performance. Plus, Cook will inevitably nail it, which will subsequently lead to every blogger / journalist / wannabe journalist / viewer at home uttering the words I’m David Cook, Bitch!
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
He doesn’t have to change it much, and frankly, he could also do Pride or Sunday Bloody Sunday. I just want to hear someone on Idol tackle U2.

Stoner J

Legalize It
I really don’t need to explain this one, do I? Jason Castro performing the Peter Tosh classic would be one of the greatest moments in the history of American Idol. (Unless they did a group sing of Pass The Dutchie…maybe a Ford Commercial?) Of course, the single greatest moment in American Idol history was during Season 6 when David Hasselhoff cried tears of joy as Taylor Hicks was crowned the winner.
Hungry Like A Wolf
I cannot explain why I somehow have the overwhelming urge to hear Duran Duran done acoustically by a dude with massive dreads, but I just really really do. I think it might be kind of cool.
Walk On The Wild Side
The Lou Reed song is perfect, but the Idol producers allowing a contestant to sing a song about transvestite prostitutes? NEVER!

Syesha

I Put A Spell On You
Originally done by Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, subsequently (and successfully) covered by CCR and Nina Simone, Syesha would be able to belt out some big notes and sing a ballad. If she goes in this direction, however, I’m sure she may go more obvious, performing I Heard It Through The Grapevine a la Gladys Knight or Proud Mary a la Tina Turner.
Heart of Glass
Because I love Blondie. And I still want to see her do something really fun and maybe, just maybe, show a little edge. I just want to see her do something out of her comfort zone. And since this will probably be her last week…
Don’t You Want Me
The Human League song sums up perfectly Syesha’s battle with American Idol viewers. Yeah, she’s still in the competition, but…
(Unfortunately) Will Do: Chain of Fools (Aretha Franklin), Respect (Aretha Franklin), Tell It Like It Is (Aaron Neville)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. UnitsGal permalink
    May 2, 2008 11:13 am

    LOL, no worries. did you see this article in the Times today (friday) http://www.nytimes.com/2008/05/01/arts/television/01idol.html?em&ex=1209873600&en=86d7c20103c93e5a&ei=5087

  2. TopIdol permalink
    May 1, 2008 12:48 pm

    It was a “spoiler” yesterday, before Ryan announced it. That’s why I put “spoiler” in quotations. I think. I meant to write something on it yesterday but do have a life. So I waited until this morning…

  3. UnitsGal permalink
    May 1, 2008 12:44 pm

    is it really a spoiler when Ryan says next week is Rock and Roll Hall of Fame week???

Trackbacks

  1. » American Idol Top 4: Songs That Shaped Rock ‘n’ Roll

Leave a Reply

