Skip to content

The Lunacy Just Won’t End

August 24, 2008

Stoner J’s fanbase is going through so much right now. Some of them want to donate to their money to Luke Menard — a generous, thoughtful act which both Cook & Johns (aka “Mavid”) have encouraged with signs during the Idol tour.

No. These women think that a kid who grew up in a posh Dallas suburb, the son of an ARCHITECT, is in much more need of cash donations because life is going to be really rough once the tour is over with him trying to launch a career. (Note: Castro was also on a full-academic scholarship at Texas A&M, so uh, you can’t tell me his family didn’t save a bit of cash on that deal.)

Many of Stoner J’s fans are trying to convince the others that giving the object of their sick devotion $1000 is NECESSARY. They don’t seem to comprehend that this kid is already better off financially than they themselves ever have been or will be.

Who is jasons employer after the tour ends?

safe to say until he gets some bookings, what he;s earned is what he has.

I don’t quite understand this woman’s logic, but she is apparently OFFENDED that anyone may want to help the poor guy who managed to sing Wake Me Up (Before You Go Go) on national TV and discovered he had Hodgekin’s Lymphoma in a three-month period. (She also sees nothing creepy in sending Stoner J’s child-aged little sister gifts.)

I don’t care if Jason had as much money as Bill Gates. You don’t have to be poor or in need of money to get or appreciate a gift. My mother doesn’t need any money or gifts either but I sure as heck won’t be donating to Luke Menard in lieu of a gift to her either. Jackie did a helluva job promoting Jason the first few months, she was very endearing and deserves a few sheckles thrown her way too. This holier than thou lets give to Luke thing sure is  really sounding rather self righteous, to say the least.

And this chick must actually think Stoner J is a SPONSOR CHILD.

Thanks for changing the title of the thread despite the fact that it is still not being understood.   It is not like we’re handing out our first borns.  I for one am going to make coffee at home one week instead of buying coffee for $2 every day to make my donation.  It not only helps Jason but makes myself realize that I can do without for someone else…even little things like daily $2 coffee.  It’s not rocket science.

Anywhooo, I will send my donation tonight, AND I will be happy doing it.

Another sign the concept of “Date Night” has gotten a bit out of hand.

S, I will be mailing you a check.  I know for a fact a lot of money will be going into promotional, websites, software, etc.  I will concider it an advance payment on “OUR FUTURE TOGETHER”, which is worth every penny.

In order to “quell” the opinions of those who disagree with sending an expensive gift to a complete stranger who is beginning a career with a larger savings account and exposure than 99% of all “struggling musicians”, they’ve posted the address where you can send donations to Luke Menard. So now when anyone disagrees with their “End Of Tour Gift” idea, they basically say, read the name of the thread, it has nothing to do with Luke Menard, stop reading it if you don’t like what we’re doing and don’t voice your opinion.

Here is one of our previous voices of reason again.

I wasn’t going to comment in this thread but I saw the Luke proposal & loved the idea of sending him donations as a collective. Went away for a while and came back to find that idea had been dismissed. That’s the only reason I posted, I wasn’t trying to make anyone feel ‘guilty’ even though I’m personally not comfortable with sending expensive gifts to people I don’t know. I didn’t particularly love the way I was silenced. Sorry if you felt like I was questioning your morals :/ That wasn’t my intention.

I don’t know, sweetheart, but if you were questioning their morals, you had every right to do so. Most rational people would consider this kind of behavior absolutely despicable. And don’t feel bad because you’re definitely not the only one in this fandom who thinks its batshit crazy to give money to someone who is not experiencing, or about to experience, any sort of financial hardship.


Jason’s a talented guy. I’m have faith that Jason will have no trouble getting booked when the tour ends. If Jason was facing financial hardship, I’m sure his father would employ him again.

I’m sorry if my words sounded harsh. It hard to translate a tone when typing. I was just giving some input, after reading the discussion about buying a computer and/or donating towards Luke.

I enyoyed the concert that I went to and downloaded Jason’s music. I am looking forward to more concerts and his cd, but have never felt the need to buy gifts for Jason or anyone that I don’t personally know. I do donate my time and money to people in need on a regular basis. I am also a hospice nurse.

I do see nothing wrong with appreciative fans giving Jason books and video games for the bus ride. The extravagant gifts just seem over the top to me. I’m just saying, from everything I’ve read, donating to a charitable cause seems more up Jason’s alley.

Now this post has to do with using a logo someone designed. The girl has copyrighted the logo. The only reason I am posting it is because it offended myself and my people. Copywriters. Copywriting and Copyrighting are TWO ENTIRELY DIFFERENT THINGS, DAMNIT!

not jumpin on you at all hon because I love you to pieces and think you are THEE most incredible teenager I’ve ever had the priveledge of knowing, but can you explain what it means when you say “copywritted” ?  I thought that meant it couldn’t be used for profit? like I can’t use it on tshirt and sell them for a profit, because you have a copywrite?  just curious and even at 47 still learning everyday.

Ok. Momentary off-topic soapbox comment. Let’s return to the lunacy, shall we? It’s not as exciting now, as the crazies have effectively killed off any logical argument against their plans. They have run the naysayers off of this little thread and are now devoting their time to figuring out how to put a custom graphic on a Visa card, but they probably won’t have time to do this…blah blah blah.

Oh wait. Seems TopIdol logic regarding Idol sponsors bestoing gifts was right on.

OK GUYS!!! a few of us dreadheads made a little discovery (we think).  ok so jackie’s new myspace pic (sorry for creepin jackie..bahaha) was taken on a mac computer correct?? or so her status says..soooo did jason already get a new computer?!? or did jackie just get her own mac? bc remember jason is HOME now sooooo he could have very easily gotten a new computer. just throwin this discovery out there if the whole computer idea is still in the works Cheesy i dont know for sure..but we’re just using our spidey-senses, lol

Uh…ok…WHY ARE YOU MYSPACE FRIENDS WITH HIS YOUNGER SISTER??? Another fan confirmed that indeed, Stoner J is now a Mac user. And other evidence confirms that all the Idols received new Macbooks, since Kristy and Coretta Scott Mercado were using one in some Coretta Scott Mercado Vlog (Perhaps I’ll post that before I go to sleep tonight, as it should be a complete snoozer). Gee, do these people not comprehend the idea of corporate sponsorship? They also equate what they’re doing to “swag bags” that celebrities receive, but uh, those are things given by companies offering products or services. They are regarded as marketing and promotion. Apples and oranges? Think apples and steaks. NOT THE SAME!!

Uh oh, another voice of reason shows up, a rather prolific poster, too. Ooooh, trouble is going to ensue faster than Stoner J just finished his last bowl of kind!

I am concerned about Jason’s reputation here. He is getting big now. I have not read through this entire thread yet, but I understand that  there is criticism somewhere about Jason “taking advantage of fans” by accepting all of these very expensive gifts.

This is what I wrote on another site about this issue:

“I am not sure of the details about this cause I could not find the original post here. Now, some people will probably get upset, but I have to tell you I have been wondering more about why people are buying this guy so much..HE IS MAKING A HUNDRED GRAND this summer! I have never liked this buying him all this stuff. The jeans? That was witty and cool. But people buy him everything……I mean come on…..he HAS MONEY!

Now, for the second part. He is getting famous enough that he has to be careful . Can you imagine fans buying another celebrity hundreds of dollars worth of gifts over and over?Huh? He needs to stop accepting these expensive gifts.

That is my opinion. So shoot me!~

…And I don’t like the competitive feeling that I think has arisen with different groups, whether conscious or not, about trying to always give a better gift than someone else.

OH SNAP! More “logic” my relatively rational brain cannot wrap itself around.

Z, not trying to be rude but we’ve been over this topic from top to bottom and have decided to get this visa card for Jason from all of us THAT WANT TO PARTICIPATE.  If you don’t want to that’s fine you have that right the same as we have the right to participate.  As far as Jason excepting it, seriously is he suppose to stand there and protest when someone is handing him a gift?  He is no different than any of the other idols except maybe that he has a larger fan base and recieves more. The amount of money he is making this summer 1st off is nobodys business really and secondary those of us who have decided to participate know the cost of getting started in a business like this.  100,000 is the amount quoted, I could spend that in a minute and I pride myself on “good buys”.  I’m just sayin, it’s NOT that much in a world where gas is 4.00 a gallon.

I’m starting to like this Z. Appears as if she can think for herself. Thinking for oneself is NEVER a good idea if you want to seriously involve yourself in Idol Fandom.

This is business. Jason Castro is not a charity!!!

Z is setting off a shitstorm. Love it! Again, another response that makes absolutely no sense.

That’s good, because we’re not going to change anything…Somehow I can’t imagine the National Enquirer having headlines that shout “Jason Castro Accepts Huge Gifts From His Fans !”  If they do, perhaps we’ll gain new fans because people will want to see what all the excitement about him is! I’m not concerned about criticism … there will always be criticism about something.  It’s not like Jason is a politician and we are bribing him.  And he certainly is not the first celebrity to receive gifts from fans.  We are trying hard to keep this thread positive and I have been trying to ignore the negative ones. I’ve heard what you are saying and I understand your concerns.  Just know that it was well thought out, “permission” was given, a lot of input and suggestions have been taken in and most of all that our hearts are in the right place here.  It’s been said dozens of times – if someone chooses to participate, great.  If they choose NOT to, that’s great also.  We don’t tell people they SHOULD participate and it would be nice if people wouldn’t tell us that we SHOULDN’T participate. The project is off and running.  I hope that in spite of your concerns you can still wish us well.

Uh oh…more damning evidence against Mama Castro!

i’m sure it will… and i’m sure we all have Jason’s best interest in mind.  I talked to his mother about this as well, she is very appreciative that people are supporting jason in his new phase of his career.

In case you were wondering, here are the latest donation tallies! And it looks like they’re going for more than $1000!

Update  Saturday PM  –  I checked my PayPal account and with it, and the pm’s I’ve received from people who are sending checks, we are at about $600!  Pretty good for just 2 days of collecting, I think!  I hope we can get at least $2000, but don’t know what the rest of you are thinking. The money should be to me by September 10th.  From reading the posts, I can see that we need a firm decision on what to include with the card.  A small group of people are collaberating on writing a letter to him that will be included (correct me if I’m wrong on this) and donors are welcome to send a small postcard, a photo, a photopostcard, whatever that you personally sign and write a short sentiment on.  I personally think the card should be signed from the Dreadheads as a whole but whatever the donors want to do is fine with me.,  We may have to go with a generic card, but I think a personalized one would be great because he would be reminded of us whenever he uses it.  I’m not going to rule out a personalized one just yet.

And I feel as if I should add this, just in case its entirely possible that some random person will read this post and consider donating to Luke Menard. Hey, even “Mavid” wants you to.

Luke & Lara Menard
P.O. Box 9
Crawfordsville, IN 47933

55 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    September 19, 2008 5:03 pm

    My two cents. Of course Jason recieves gifts just like all of the other idols. It is common for people to gift thier idols and heroes. Celebrities have always recieved gifts from adoring fans, sometimes to the tune of hundreds of thousands of dollars. Expensive homes and cars and vacations. Jason’ gifts have been really small in comparison.

    In defense of DDB they have donated a remarkable amount of cash to charities in Jasons name and donated a tremendous amount of time and work to many organizations. They have not asked for or gotten any recognition for this. The name of thier biggest project was called CUSP.

    Many of the comments this blogger has made are taken way out of context. The Castros (I believe) are genuine honest people who have been caught up in this whole fandom thing just like many of the fans. They are learning to deal as are we all.

    As for the paraphenalia (fan gear) I’m pretty sure that was meant to be directed toward those (businesses) who were making large profits off the JCas name and image. That, my friends is illegal, no matter who you are. Betsy has tried to clear up this confusion caused when some of the fans also rec’vd an email about this. It was never intended for the casual fan at home making a concert tee for themselves or friends.

    Okay, I’m done except to say ‘don’t worry so much about it’ okay.

  2. Laura permalink
    September 7, 2008 3:03 am

    DDB. That’s where I read it! Mods over there delete threads quicker than a wiggle of a nose!

  3. Megan permalink
    September 5, 2008 11:33 pm

    hey Laura!! just out of curiosity, where did you hear that Jason and Mandy broke up?

  4. Laura permalink
    September 5, 2008 6:52 am

    You are missing the point of the gifts! Of course it would be rude to get gifts and Jason say I can’t take your gifts. It’s another story to tell fans, please, if you feel compelled to gift me and my sister and my mother and my brother, we would prefer you you chose a charity like Red Cross, who helps hurricane victims or send a gift box to OUR TROOPS! As a supporter of Jason’s from day one on Idol, I’m ashamed of him! He should now make this happen!

  5. Laura permalink
    September 5, 2008 6:36 am

    Jason and Mandy broke up? Ha! I knew this would happen when I heard he was trying to make the relationship work, and only when he got to top 12 was he able to make the relationship work! Duh!

  6. Megan permalink
    August 31, 2008 12:34 am

    youallsuck, you suck too. you’re lurking here too, buddy.

    not so funny when you slap someone in the face and the slap comes right back to ya, eh?

  7. Ariel permalink
    August 30, 2008 5:01 pm

    hey, youallsuck, you gonna lead me to a forum that can change the world or something?

    …didn’t think so.

  8. PugsnotDrugs permalink
    August 30, 2008 3:25 pm

    There is always a war some where, and weather too! Most likely the reason Jason didn’t go sky diving is because fanatics forgot to raise the money to pay for it! They are to busy “taking care of business” to collect $20,000 dollars for thier end of tour gift, which I’m sure he will donate to hurricane ravaged New Orleans.

  9. youallsuck permalink
    August 29, 2008 10:43 pm

    what an intelligent meaningful conversation in the midst of the Iraq war, the presidential race, hurricanes etc. At least here we can focus on what is really important

  10. Ariel permalink
    August 29, 2008 5:07 pm

    personally, I’d think less of Jason if someone gave him a gift and he just went “Nahh, I don’t think I can accept this, just keep it, kay?”

    And I agree with “me”…you MUST be some special kind of loser.

    Cheers.

  11. Laura permalink
    August 29, 2008 5:16 am

    fanatical.Better fix up the error before the walk in love spread the peace police slam me!

  12. Laura permalink
    August 29, 2008 5:12 am

    Lisa, You have two All Jason All the Time Web Sites to dwell in All Jason All the Time. The fact that you troll(key word) around free press is a perfect example of fanaical!

  13. Megan permalink
    August 29, 2008 3:22 am

    What do you want him to do, Way Over the Top? Refuse his gifts?

  14. Way Over the Top permalink
    August 29, 2008 12:37 am

    I applaud Castrocopia, who today reminded people about Luke Menards ongoing fight with Leukemia. He is about to embark on his 7th round of Chemotherapy.

    Quote from Castrocopia…”Luke says in his blog that David Cook and Michael Johns have convinced him to set up a PayPal account after a lot of their fans were asking where they could send money to help Luke cover medical costs”

    Now Folks, Castrocopia is a Jason Castro Fansite, yet nowhere in Luke’s blog could they find any mention of Jason making any effort to help Luke & his family to quote, no mention at all.

    AAHHH, but I guess Jason’s been too busy to ask HIS fans to help Luke, scroll up to the picture at the top of this article. It takes a lot of time and energy to gather this much loot, to HELL with Cancer stricken 29 yo’s.

    Thank Goodness for Michael Johns & David Cook. I guess they and their fans still have heart and soul.

  15. gail permalink
    August 28, 2008 6:51 pm

    hey, that picture of jason you have on this page is from my video from chicago-haha

    how would jason go about stopping fans from giving him gifts, say he refuses to accept them-and then everyone here would say he was aloof like syesha-haha
    my first music loves, the beatles, had quite the cult fan base and they did just fine 😉

    just about every musician gives personal concerts
    my friends just paid a musician to have one this weekend in las vegas and hes been in the music biz for 40 years and its not hurting his reputation one bit

  16. Laura permalink
    August 28, 2008 3:01 pm

    I Agree with (way over the top) I was a big fan but no more. The family involvement it too much. It drove me away. I’m embarrased to wear the dreadhead shirt I bought during the Idol finals. Mother Castro always drops hints of what they need so the fans buy it for them.

    I deleted my screen names on DDB and I will not sign onto his new site which is a twin of DDB. Same mods, same rules.

    Hope Jason snaps out of letting this cult fan base ruin his career.

  17. Julie permalink
    August 28, 2008 2:48 pm

    Btw, you can reach me at rdb79@hotmail.com

  18. Julie permalink
    August 28, 2008 2:37 pm

    Hey Guys,

    I’m writing a story on this subject for a very well known website. Would anyone be interested in sharing their gift ideas for Jason? You’ll be kept completely anonymous unless you’d like a few minutes in the spotlight.

    Cheers,
    Julie

  19. Lisa permalink
    August 28, 2008 1:51 pm

    I’m a Dreadhead and I’ve donated several times to Idol Gives Back and to the American Cancer Society as well as the LA Food Bank in Jason’s name. I’ve also contributed to some gifts for him, as well. His fans can always donate to good causes as well as give him gifts and most do. I just wanted to point that out to anyone who feels that it’s an either/or issue, because it’s not. Jason has inspired me to be more giving, so if anything I am giving more to charities than I otherwise would have.

    Also, WayOverTheTop, I was going to say please don’t criticize people you don’t know in such a negative way, but I think your username will alert people that there is not much truth to your “commentary”.

  20. Way Over the Top permalink
    August 28, 2008 1:14 pm

    Jason & Family better be saving all those gifts so they can sell them on E-bay after the tour is over. His CRAZY CULT DDBers are driving away regular fans in droves. Can you say……lower than expected CD sales??? He will need the E-bay money after the DDBers ruin his career. LAWD have MERCY !!!

    Top Idol-you’re the bomb….finally someone with the balls to open up some real & truthful discussion.

  21. TopIdol permalink
    August 28, 2008 1:33 am

    Yes. I am blessed 🙂

  22. August 28, 2008 1:31 am

    It takes a special kind of loser to do that kind of extensive research on a fanbase you’re not even a part of and post an in-depth blog making sweeping generalizations and trying to make the whole fanbase look like a group of nutjobs.

    Bless you.

  23. Way Over the Top permalink
    August 27, 2008 11:07 pm

    Mama Castro has a skrew loose. She opened her own Special Prayer thread on DDB asking everyone to PRAY to GOD that the “mean man” who owns the URL JasonCastroMusic and is “illegally” holding it hostage to make a profit GIVE it to her family. They do not want to buy it, they want it given to them…..just another ploy to get fans to buy it for them. They wanted to use it to open Jason’s new web site to SELL Official Jason Castro Products……FOR A PROFIT !!!! She even included the “mean man’s” name, address and e-mail so that fans can attack & bully him. The really disgusting thing is that she asked fans to PRAY to God for the family to get the URL. I wonder what God thinks about this ? PUKE !!!!

  24. Michal permalink
    August 27, 2008 6:18 pm

    Hi,

    I read what you are saying, and I agree. I think Jason had enouth gifts, and Luke needs the money so much more. I’m sure Jason would tell his fans this is what he prefers, if he noticed what was going on.

    Just one thing: why the “stoner J” name calling? He is not a stoner. If you are indeed a person searching for truth and kindness in this world, stop using this nick-name. It only creates antegonism, and I think you know yourself he is not a stoner. Just a super naive young guy.

    Best of luck.

  25. Laura permalink
    August 27, 2008 6:10 pm

    I agree with the Stepford wives anology. His newly launched web site is as much as a joke. They have all these rules set up by his FAMILY! If Jason doesn’t seperate himself from this group , he’s not going to go too far in music!. He better hire a professional management team before he becomes a laugh!

  26. NotFanatical permalink
    August 25, 2008 9:28 pm

    I think these women are trying to get personal with J Castro. The one organizing this cash card is doing this so she can personally give it to him. She organized a “date” at one of the tour dates when J. Castro came out to greet fans. There she was, with the table, candles, napkins, ready to have a date with him. She also spent 10 minutes taping him at another fan greet, monopolizing his entire time and conversation.
    These women think they can buy J. Castro.
    Notice how anyone who posts any comment (on DDB) other than “WooHoo… We LOVE HIM” is shuttled off to the bottom of the board to shut them up. That website if becoming more like The Stepford Wives every day. It is scarey.

  27. Dee permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:57 pm

    true. i agree with the last paragraph.

  28. TopIdol permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:36 pm

    I don’t think all of his fans are crazy and selfish. I never said that. I also pointed out people who presented logical arguments and saw many people who feel the same way you do.

    Not all fans are crazy fans. Just the people that pull crazy stunts and ridicule and / or ban others who express a differing opinion.

    I’m sure lots of Jason’s devoted fans are great people and as I said, I enjoyed him quite a bit on the show. But with a lot of Idol Fandoms, the batshit crazy ones end up ruining the experience for the others because of these sorts of activities and overall nastiness.

  29. Dee permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:29 pm

    we are not all crazy and selfish.
    i am a jason fan, and when the idea of giving half to Luke was suggested i immediatly agreed. i thought it was a great idea. i mean i think Luke needs it more. and yes jason is making a LOT of money from the tour and he can make it on his own. many other artists didnt have fans and had to make it to the top the hard way, but jason already has an advantage and he doesnt need his fans to be paying his way in. if i had enough money for myself i would def donate to Luke first and then, if nessissary to jason.

  30. turtles permalink
    August 25, 2008 3:47 pm

    I can easily imagine someone bilking these exhuberant fans out of money, as well. It’s bound to happen as so many seem to hand over cash to strangers without question.

  31. Fig permalink
    August 25, 2008 2:53 pm

    lunacy is a funny word.
    haha.

  32. Fig permalink
    August 25, 2008 2:46 pm

    just know that not ALL jason fans are like this.
    it’s unfair to judge them all as a group because believe it or not they’re not all 45-50 year old women. there are teenagers, younger kids and even some boys on there. so it really isn’t fair to class all of them as ‘crazy’ or ‘obsessive’ because that’s not the case with all of them. And I also feel like maybe Jason’s mother is unsure of how to decline the gift offers. She seems like a nice, genuine woman who doesn’t want to be controlling of Jason’s fans.

  33. kellietheminx permalink
    August 25, 2008 1:14 pm

    So ridiculous.

    Truthfully, I really don’t know Jason or his family’s intentions (whether good or bad), but he or his mother should be getting his kid sister off the fanboards/myspace PRONTO, before some pedo gets their hands on her.

  34. cali2 permalink
    August 25, 2008 12:44 pm

    Maybe you should spend your time getting donations for Luke and less time bitching and worrying about what other people are doing

  35. standalone permalink
    August 25, 2008 8:18 am

    Mama Castro is encouraging the fantards by sending them personal messages.

  36. Anonymous Fan permalink
    August 25, 2008 8:12 am

    Please know that all of Jason’s fans are not this over the top and many, dare I say even most, of us agree that this is totally wrong. I love listening to the kid sing and will support him by buying his music and going to his concerts. I find it hard to give this kind of money to someone who is making more than I, a professional, will make in maybe 2 to 3 years or more. Yes, getting a career off the ground is going to be expensive, but he’s so far ahead of the game at this point.
    In the past, I think these things have started innocently enough, but this raising a bazillion bucks to give to Jason has been over the top from the beginning. I am disturbed that the thought of giving the money to Luke instead of Jason is so distasteful to these people. Do you think they would raise even a fraction of the amount (which was $600.00 on Saturday and they hope to raise at least 2 grand!)
    I would like to think that the Castros aren’t the greedy folks that some people are making them out to be. Not so sure about the inner circle, though. At some point somebody needs to put a stop to things, and it would seem the family should be the one to do it. I agree with the person who says they don’t think that Jason is aware of what’s going on.
    These over the top fans are the people who make me not want to admit to being a fan of Jason’s. I don’t know what motivates them other than the need to be noticed. My only hope is that they soon will move on to the next new thing and let the fans who actually love Jason for the music enjoy the music.

  37. cali permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:22 am

    I agree with IdolFan. I don’t think the problem is Jason as much as it is a rabid group of fans that insist on doing things like this and shout down anyone who disagrees.

    The woman organizing this latest venture has traveled to multiple concert venues and then stands out there and attempts to monopolize Jason when he comes out to sign autographs – even to the point of interfering with other fans when they try to talk to him. Now she’s positioned herself to see him again and present him with what is essentially a wad of cash. It’s a problem and it’s been discussed on other Castro fansites.

    I guess my point is – don’t be so quick to blame Jason for this. He can’t really afford to alienate fans right now so he has to put up with it.

  38. Bbj permalink
    August 25, 2008 4:09 am

    Retarded fans are just as stupid and greedy as the stoner is.

  39. Idolizer permalink
    August 25, 2008 12:46 am

    Jason’s fans have totally joined the Claymates and the Soul Patrol in Crazyland.
    In addition to the two grand theyr’e trying to raise to give him a cash gift at the end of the tour, they’re also trying to raise $20,000 to have him do a Private Concert for them. Yep, they actually contacted his agent to find out much it would cost for them to basically buy Jason. One of them also offered to finance his album if he can’t get a record deal. Jason will never want for anything again if these women have their way (at least until the new season of Idol starts and they develop new mid-life crushes on another boy young enough to be their son or grandson). It’s really kinda sick. They’re all trying to one-up each other and get him better and better gifts just to get a nod of approval or an ounce of attention from him. And these aren’t teenagers…it’s adult women.
    Now they’re planning to lock the threads on the web site so that “outsiders” can’t see what they’re doing. They really are becoming like a cult and anyone who doesn’t follow the leader gets the shaft. They’ve also banned many topics from being discussed. Pretty much anything that doesn’t have to do with Jason’s MySpace plays, Jason’s Pants and Gifts for Jason are off-limits.
    Poor Jason probably doesn’t have a clue about any of it. Plus he needs them to buy his CD if he ever manages to put one out without a record label so he can’t risk offending them by telling them to back off. When people say that your Video is the highlight of their week and they cry when you don’t post one, there’s omething seriously wrong.

  40. August 24, 2008 11:37 pm

    I decline to comment on the grounds that Jason Castro increases page views at my job. 🙂 On an aside, some of those comments may very well have made me just spit out my protein shake all over my computer screen!

  41. SaneJasonFan permalink
    August 24, 2008 10:03 pm

    ^^^Amen to what AIFan said^^^

    Jason’s mother needs to keep her 13yr old daughter off the crazy boards. How hard is it to say “strangers are not permitted to collect money for my daughter” ??

  42. AIFan permalink
    August 24, 2008 7:31 pm

    The problem is not that the overzealous fans shower the object of their affection with money and expensive gifts. The problem is that Jason’s mother and family friends encourage this sort of behavior. This cash card idea was ran past Jason’s mother and she enthusiastically approved. This, my friends, is greed – pure and simple. This family is well-off and does not need to collect money from fans.

  43. TopIdol permalink
    August 24, 2008 7:28 pm

    I with people would stop thinking that I am evil (or SATAN) because I posted this, as well as calling him “Stoner J”. If anyone bothered reading through other blog posts, they would see I said kind things about him all season long. This blog is meant to be funny. It’s also meant to poke fun at people who find themselves hung up on the most RIDICULOUS things!

    If you want to be someone’s fan, support their career. Listen to their music. Buy their albums. Download their songs. Go to their shows. Don’t make it about one-upping one another on the off-chance you may be noticed. That’s what drives me nuts. And if someone disagrees with you, don’t tell them to go to hell.

    I’m not going to lose any sleep at night about what these people give for gifts. I was just trying to make a point that they seem have lost touch with what being a “fan” really is.

  44. MrPink permalink
    August 24, 2008 7:08 pm

    Interesting post, topidol. While the goofiness of wanting to send expensive gifts and/or cash to someone you don’t know is rather bizarre, it seems to be a common way of showing ‘love’ to AI contestants (Contards apparently send lots of crap to that unappreciative turd).

    Sheesh – the only thing I ever did during my fan lunacy period (which ended around the time I was 15) was write fan letters! Whatever happened to the lost art of letter writing?

  45. Laura permalink
    August 24, 2008 6:28 pm

    The web site is constantly raising money for gifts for Jason’s family and Jason. If the family had any class, they’d come forward and say donate to a worthy cause, Like Luke, or Cook’s brothers medical expenses. But they don’t They are very into themselves. True Christians!

  46. August 24, 2008 6:05 pm

    listen Bro, Jealousy Ain’t Gonna Get You No Where In Life…

  47. IdolFan permalink
    August 24, 2008 4:39 pm

    Let me say I am a fan of Jason Castro and I don’t think he knows about any of this or is encouraging it. I think he is genuinely suprised and grateful for every gift he’s given. The problem is that every time he opens his mouth, rapid fans (and there are many, many, many of them) hang on his every word. So he innocently mentions that he’s having computer problems and they take it on themselves to buy him a new computer. I’m honestly afraid of what’s going to happen when they find out the kid doesn’t have a car!
    His fans are becoming crazy. If you say anything even remotely critical about him (even if it’s constructive criticism) you are practically shot. For example, Jason mis-spelled several words on his MySpace bio. When someone posted about this and “suggested” that he be told the words were mis-spelled so he could fix it, they were attacked. The crazy fans thought the misspelled words (which made Jason look dumb to music industry folks, music critics and anyone who knows how to spell who visited his MySpace page) were “cute” and “so Jason” so he wasn’t told about it for months. Someone must have finally been brave enough to tell him because he finally fixed it (and probably wished someone had told him about the mistakes sooner!).
    I don’t blame any of this on Jason. He ‘s a sweet guy who’s tried to be open and friendly to his fans and because of that he’s now becoming a victim.

  48. llc1219 permalink
    August 24, 2008 4:29 pm

    As far as you know, Jason will hand that Card right over to Luke Maynard. Is this really any of your business?

  49. Anonymous permalink
    August 24, 2008 4:03 pm

    Whoever you are…I love you!

  50. Angie permalink
    August 24, 2008 3:03 pm

    Hmm…its interesting that you spend your time monitoring the fan sites of certain idols. This article is taken out of context and condescending! What gives you the right to tell anybody how to spend their money. Its convenient that you spend the majority of this article blasting fans for sending Jason a gift instead of Luke when you have failed to accurately represent that many of Jason’s fans have been sending Luke money, cards, and gas cards for several months now. Why don’t you take the time you’ve spent criticism Jason Castro’s fans and put to use for raising money for Luke?? No, I’m sure you would much rather spend your time criticizing the moves of others. Why don’t you report on something that is of real significance? My suggestion would be an article encouraging support for Luke Menard instead of an article blasting fans of an idol contestant disguised as support for Luke.

  51. Suzie permalink
    August 24, 2008 2:46 pm

    Ummm, Michael Johns got a brand new Mac computer, and guess what? His FANS bought it for him! Did he give it up for charity? No! Did he trade in the brand new video camera his fans bought him and give it to the Luke Menard foundation? No! So before you judge Jason’s fans, you need to take a hard look at all of these fanbases. I think there are a lot of people who are just jealous of Jason. Don’t hate on him because he is loved and getting more swag that any of the other Idols.You guys think the attention showered on these contestants is going to last forever? No, it probably won’t.This will probably be the last time that any of them ever play to audiences this large ever again. So they should enjoy all of the fan adolation and gifts and everything else that comes with this experience because it may not happen to them again.Let the fans and the Idols enjoy this experience. They are having fun, they are not harming anyone and they are not hurting anything. As for Luke, his address has been posted many times on the fans forums and a lot of people have already donated to him and they are still donating and there are more plans to start a fundraiser for him. So I think you are being a little bit harsh on the fans here.Live and let live!

  52. August 24, 2008 2:33 pm

    If you really want to get deep on what Jason is given it goes far beyond the $ value. One of the things that I have enjoyed so much about his fan/websites is the creativity of the homemade presents. I for one spent a good amount of my time making a gift for Jason. Not to mention the poster I made. It was theraputic beyond words and something special that I wanted to give back to a man that made the toughest time of my life a lot better.

    Hope you can keep your mind open and check out the all the artists that are as you put it Stone J’s fans. Perhaps you might learn someem.

  53. Fig permalink
    August 24, 2008 2:22 pm

    This blog entry is taking everything out of proportion. Like any other fangroup I’m sure the Dreadheads have their share of disagreements. I do agree that it’s a bit much to be sending him money, but I’m just staying out of it because those people seem set about doing it. Also there is no need to refer to Jason as a ‘stoner’ that just makes people lose respect for your blog because you make assumptions about people you don’t even know. Do you know if he did it? No. Do I know? No. But at least I don’t go around calling him ‘perfect non-stoner J’ either. So why don’t you get your facts straight, and stop making something out of nothing.

  54. August 24, 2008 2:18 pm

    I am Z. Who wrote this? Whoever wrote it may contact me if they wish on myspace or at my email address.-

  55. August 24, 2008 3:00 am

    This continues to appall me. I bet all the contestants get shiny new Fords, new Iphones and Mac computers, and a years supply of Coke, for starters. And a six figure pay cheque for three months. They do NOT ‘deserve’ anything.

Leave a Reply

