Skip to content

I would like to be nice, but…

October 18, 2008

Wow. Season 5’s Paris Bennett is going to get her very own post.

Granted, I have not heard this album or her previous release (she did, in fact, offer up an album a year or so after being on Idol…I vaguely recall seeing a mediocre review for it in EW and the mention of a “rap” with Kevin “Chicken Little” Covais as a track) and I know in life, we are supposed to live up to that old adage about not judging a book by its cover, but…

This is one of the worst album covers I have EVER seen. In fact, it should be a present-day entry into The Worst Album Covers of All Time.

The photo shoot for this album was obviously before she announced her pregnancy, picked up by publications who will announce anything anyone who ever appeared on televions as being “celebrity” news. Which explains the strategic placement of a gratutiously-wrapped Christmas present.

Oh, and I know this chick goes by the nickname of Princess P (it was also the name of her first album), which is why she is wearing a tiara and the album is titled A Royal Christmas. I understand royal is a truly subjective term these days, but if you’re not Queen Elizabeth making a very special appearance somewhere, then lose the tiara. I’m pretty sure that headpiece is a tiara of sorts, or meant to indicate “royalty”, keeping with the album’s “Royal Christmas” theme.

You don’t see true musical QUEENS such as Tina Turner or Aretha Franklin wearing crowns, do you?

If you want to purchase Ms. Bennett’s latest album and contribute to newborn daughter Egypt’s closet full of rhinestone-encrusted, princess-pink baby onesies, you can buy it on Amazon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. standalone permalink
    October 18, 2008 7:31 pm

    I haven’t heard anything about Paris since S5, besides having a baby.
    I thought Princess P had a better voice than Kat McPee. It would be cool if she was more successful than Kat, which shouldn’t be too difficult.
    Yeah, the album cover is pretty bad.

  2. TopIdol permalink
    October 18, 2008 2:14 pm

    Interesting. I do like “jazzy”. I am always trying to get suitable Xmas albums for my mother to play at Xmas…and they’re usually jazzy. I just find it so difficult to listen to an Xmas album before Halloween. Ha. But I think the malls are even featuring Xmas decorations at the moment…

    But that cover is absolutely horrible.

  3. Marko permalink
    October 18, 2008 2:10 pm

    Ok, if the cover isn’t good, the content IS. It’s totally different from the debut album; cool, jazzy and vocally simply great. For example, her rendition of Little Drummer Boy is the coolest I’ve ever heard.

    I deeply recommend listening to it.

Trackbacks

  1. Now this is a cool Idol album cover « Top Idol

Leave a Reply

