Skip to content

Michael Johns Joins Elliott Yamin at TRP

December 20, 2008

Michael Johns has management! Good management!

Johns signed with Three Ring Projects. TRP also represents former Idol Elliott Yamin, as well as Jermaine Dupri and Everelast (among others).

TRP Records will release Johns’ album in March, but a single will be released in January. This may prove to be an excellent step for Johns, considering Yamin’s success with his first album — also released independently. Yamin’s self-titled debut album was certified gold in both the U.S. and Japan, as well as coming in at Number 3 on the Billboard 200 the week of it’s release. His next album may also be released in March 2009, but this is unconfirmed.

Elliott Yamin

I actually love Wait For You. I’m not even an big MODERN R&B fan but I loved it the first time I heard it. I had no idea it was Yamin until the DJ said so. Yamin was one of the shining moments in Season 5, which was  marred for me by Frakking Pickler. I vowed never to watch the shit show again. And now I write this stupid thing…Anyway…

But I really grew to Yamin during that season, mainly because he seemed like a truly nice guy. I loved watching him and his mother, Claudette (RIP Mama Yamin). Yeah. I can be all warm & fuzzy sometimes. And I liked Sexy Aussie Johns during the season. Yeah, yeah, yeah. He might have been a plant but the dude didn’t bother me. In a way, I consider Johns and Ace Young the guys who filled the Greasy Constantine role in subsequent seasons, yet their performance staring habits never veered off into complete VD territory.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    December 23, 2008 1:52 pm

    Congratulations to Michael for whatever good things that are happening to his career.

    I understand why his supporters are excited. Having a management team with a good track record is most definitely a good start. What I do not understand is why some people deem it necessary to insult other idols’ fanbases in the process of singing praises to MJ.

    What, you can’t raise him up without putting other’s down?

    You think it’s a good idea to call the members of the 3 biggest fanbases in AI history, crazy-elderly? I don’t know with you, but the last time I checked, people don’t usually respond to demeaning statements like that by buying records and concert tickers. In fact, they are likely to do the opposite.

  2. lil lulu permalink
    December 22, 2008 9:28 pm

    I’m happy about this. I liked Elliott in Season 5 for the same reason I liked Michael in Season 7 – great voices with a nice soulful vibe. TRP did well by Elliott, so it seems they understand how to market that particular genre. It’s not the type of genre that moves a million units in a few months, ala Daughtry or Underwood, but he can be a successful musician with this.

    Michael never did attract the Soul Patrol/Claymate type of fan. He probably would have gone farther on Idol if he had. But, it will pay off in the long run since non-obsessed people won’t be embarrassed to buy his album.

  3. KBelisle permalink
    December 21, 2008 11:30 pm

    Everyone should check out the Ellen video. Michael did an awesome job. Carly was off key in my opinion, but I enjoyed Michael… I think his CD will be great

  4. standalone permalink
    December 21, 2008 7:30 pm

    I never saw their verion of “One”, I’ll have to check it out.
    I do remember the ass cake, that was bizarre.
    As a whole, Michael Johns’ tards don’t seem as crazy damaging as the Claymates, Dreadheads & Soul Patro.
    I know a lot of people didn’t care for him from the get go, because he appeared to be a plant. Plus, he was always joking around and would bust on other contestants. The crazies can’t handle that, because they are so protective of their “idol”.
    Out of season 7, I thought Johns’ was the best at handling interviews.

  5. standalone permalink
    December 21, 2008 3:01 am

    The only Michael Johns performance that I enjoyed was “It’s All Wrong” from Dolly Parton week.

    I will admit Johns’ ambition may take him further than most former idols, and he doesn’t seem to have the crazy, elderly fanbase that hurt so many of the guys from AI.

    His management does look good.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 21, 2008 1:05 pm

      I am totally going to admit that I downloaded 3 songs this year. One of which was Johns’ “It’s All Wrong But It’s All Right”. (The other’s being Cook’s “Always Be My Baby” and “Billie Jean”, only b/c there was no STUDIO version of “Hello”)

      But I actually really enjoyed the clip I saw of Michael Johns and Carly Smithson on Ellen. They did a duet to U2’s One. It was solid. Granted, I love the Mary J. Blige-U2 version more than the original, it could be one of my all-time favorite songs, actually. I think One really works beautifully as a male-female duet.

      Johns does have some crazy fans, as you can see in this video. And there were others that baked a Michael Johns ass cake (I can’t find that post, damnit!) But they’re not as vocal as some of the others…or I haven’t seen much of them…

Leave a Reply

