Skip to content

Now this is a cool Idol album cover

December 21, 2008

I didn’t watch Season 6 of AI so I don’t know much about the contestants. I watched a couple of episodes just to see “this Sanjaya” I kept hearing about, and also saw the episode where Douchebag Lewis did his take on You Give Love a Bad Name, which I thought was quasi-daring, yet, I wanted to slap the living crap out of that kid during his performance because you could tell he was a complete douchebag. And I didn’t know much about Jordin Sparks until later but oh yes, I do like me some No Air.

I had heard of Melinda Doolittle but didn’t see her perform until I watched some Best of Idol clips EW compiled last season. She had a mighty fine voice.

Ms. Doolittle has an album on the way and it totally caught my attention while scanning MJ’s Big Blog.

All I have to say is AWESOME. Check out this album cover. It rocks. It’s on the complete opposite end of the spectrum as, oh, Paris Bennett’s Christmas album.

Melinda Doolittle's Upcoming Album

So retro. So 70s. Loving the whole throwback vibe. I had thought Doolittle was embarking on a career as a Christian artist so I never really had much of an interest in listening to her music, but I’ll definitely check this album out when it’s released on February 3rd. Definitely cool. It is reminiscent of Bob Dylan The Freewheelin, topped off with a bit of Curtis Mayfield and Nina Simone.

Nice job, Mindy Doo, nice job.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. weezzy7 permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:20 am

    Melinda Doolittle in her first-ever Nightclub engagement

    November 17-21, New York City

    FEINSTEIN’S AT LOEWS REGENCY, the nightclub proclaimed “Best of New York” by New York Magazine, will debut MELINDA DOOLITTLE in her first-ever nightclub engagement from November 17 – 21. The “American Idol” finalist will perform an intimate evening of jazz standards, pop hits and Broadway classics, in addition to selections from her CD, Coming Back To You. All shows are at the Regency Hotel (540 Park Avenue at 61st Street). For ticket reservations and club information, please call (212) 339-4095 or visit feinsteinsatloewsregency(dot)com and TicketWeb(dot)com.

  2. Louise7 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:47 am

    That you for letting us post about our favorite singer. Without this site, it would be really difficult to share the latest news about them.

    FREE SONG FROM AMERICAN IDOL’S MELINDA DOOLITTLE! GO TO http://www.melindadoolittle.com and get it NOW – FREE! New album released on February 3, 2009! Don’t miss it!

  3. Norma permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:59 pm

    “FREE SONG FROM AMERICAN IDOL’S MELINDA DOOLITTLE! GO TO http://www.melindadoolittle.com and get it NOW – FREE! New album released on February 3, 2009! Don’t miss it!”

  4. shy permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:24 am

    ok first off not dis debbie person not a fat frau either um 20 um sexy and anything but boring i just have respect for real talent whether somones a douche or not bcuz i dont care its not like its gonna change me in anyway which iz somthin u should think about b4 u write ur blog which i must admit is hilarious and i gotta give u props far as deciphering bcuz yea i am also pree but shy iz my name sometimes i switch its funnn… i read lots of diffnt. blogs on both sides those who love AI and hate it hey maybe i should start my own blog! lolz and i gotta say dat i am so happy dat my comments mean somthing to u bcuz u both get so many yet u continue to be fixated on mine…am i causing a thought process? maybe didnt expect either of u 2 understand though lolz

    thanx 4 letting me know i am nawing at CHU…LOLZ

  5. Idletard permalink
    January 5, 2009 6:26 pm

    I love that image, very Curtis Mayfield.

    I see “Shy/Pree” aka Debbie is lurking here too. Her schtick is getting very boring.

  6. shy permalink
    December 25, 2008 4:04 am

    omg its da grammar patrol OK most of it is plain english and just cuz u ARENT UP WITH COMMON TEXTING DOESNT MEAN U RIDICULE SOMEONE ELSE…and if u must know i was jus doimg some common good if u dont like some1 dont talk about em cuz it will not prolong ur life and if u didnt understand dat y da hell would u waste ur own time replying i just thought id ask u dat and see if u find some intelligence i mean i only read dis blog stuff bcuz i find some of the things posted interesting i dont come here for others ops of me or my typing

  7. melismaqueen permalink
    December 24, 2008 8:55 am

    ^^ Wow, that had to have been as difficult to write as it was to read. Do you not know how to type? People won’t take anything you say seriously if you text speak all the time.

  8. shy permalink
    December 24, 2008 2:02 am

    yea i agree with u both but um so sick of hearing about how greasy constantine iz i mean if u hate him dont mention em its not like u have to have sex with him i mean seriously do u know how many women prince went through plzzz so he likes sex who doesnt? but is dat really a reason to bash him i jus read dis blog to see wats happening next melinda is a wonderful singer and i think she was robbed butif dat cd aint good i wont waste 20 hard earned dollars trusts me and lets face it u dont always become famous by being a goody goody johnny depp was constantly in jail for marijauna possesion now hes one of da biggest stsrs of da day and y because he can act circles around peeps with raw talent lolz

  9. standalone permalink
    December 23, 2008 11:05 am

    lil lulu-
    I agree with you for the most part, but usually the douchebags’ ego & arrogance eventually affect their sales and ability to work with others.

    Praise Jestro, how were you able to decipher shy’s posts?!

  10. lil lulu permalink
    December 23, 2008 10:42 am

    I like you, shy.

    I couldn’t care less if anyone’s a douche or a diva. If someone puts out good music that I like, I’ll buy it. I don’t consider it my moral responsibility to punish a person for being a douche by not buying their album. At the same time, I’m not going to buy crap music off of someone just because they’re “nice.” So, despite the fact that she’s supposedly a real sweetheart, if Mindy Doo’s album sucks, I’m not buying it.

    But, if someone acts like a jerk, as Blake has been reported to have done, people are going to talk and have opinions about him. That’s part of being in the public eye. There’s no correlation between level of douchiness and level of success in the biz. But, when someone’s an arrogant jerk, people enjoy seeing them get their come-uppance. While if someone’s sweet, like Melinda, people like to see them succeed.

  11. shy permalink
    December 23, 2008 3:02 am

    as for con maybe he is a douche in real life but hell i dont care if he were still 29 id have my way with him jus 4 da hell of it lolz

  12. shy permalink
    December 23, 2008 3:00 am

    ok wat da hell r u guys talkin about? first of all none of u no blake lewis personally hey um not a fan of da jt wannabe but like i sed b4 there is always a logical reason 4 some1 bein a douchebag and until u go bak in time 2 c wat dat iz dont judge him can any of u sing? i doubt it whether a person iz a douche or not if they have talent guess wat no 1 cares beyonce is a wannabe diva but her ass can sing no 1 cares

  13. jaunty permalink
    December 23, 2008 2:14 am

    He got what he wanted from Haley and then moved on. It’s pretty typical of the way he treats women.

  14. standalone permalink
    December 22, 2008 10:24 pm

    ^^ What!?!
    The only Butterface that I can think of would be Hailey, and I thought she was engaged.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 22, 2008 10:58 pm

      Yes. That’s the Butterface. And yes, I did know her name but I just wanted to call her Butterface.

      Yeah. She coyly admitted to such activities in a very sly yet giggly way. It was pretty pathetic. Perhaps there is a clip of it lurking somewhere out there?

  15. lil lulu permalink
    December 22, 2008 9:31 pm

    I wouldn’t even have noticed the Blake comment if GAM hadn’t pointed it out. Now, my curiousity has gotten the better of me, and I’m going to spend some time on-line looking up all of Blake’s douchery. Thanks, GAM!

    Speaking of Melinda Dolittle, that IS a nice cover. And I bet the music is sublime. I can’t wait. Loved her on the show.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 22, 2008 10:19 pm

      I distinctly recall watching an episode of American Idol Extra and JD Roberto interviewed that Butterface chick from Season 6. She basically admitted banging him while on tour. I thought to myself, oh Butterface girl, why are you admitting you banged a Douchelatte?

  16. melismaqueen permalink
    December 22, 2008 8:12 pm

    Yay! I’m a harpy! Oh, and Blake Lewis is full of douchebaggery.

  17. jaunty permalink
    December 22, 2008 11:56 am

    “Who really needs to move on?”

    Apparently GAMissy, you do. It seems to absolutely pain you when people make fun of Blake.

    “This was about Melinda Doolittle, not Blake Lewis”

    Yes it was, until you overreacted to a side comment about Blake.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 22, 2008 1:10 pm

      Blake Lewis = Douchenozzle

  18. GAMissy permalink
    December 22, 2008 7:50 am

    Oh, I see the network of harpies has been activated.

    This was about Melinda Doolittle, not Blake Lewis.
    Who really needs to move on?

  19. shy permalink
    December 22, 2008 5:51 am

    OK first of all constantine IZ NOT AND NEVER HAS BEEN A DOUCHE? I wanna know who died and made u da almighty? bcuz only god can judge dat man 4 wat he does yes he might be a bit of a jakass but so was axle rose mick jagger bret michaels and hell george michael iz 2 but he can sing his ass off 2 and prince goes and shows his yellow ass at da 1998 grammys and every1 just laffs? y bcuz he iz famous perhaps? plz his shoes go on 1 foot at a time like every1 else and con has issues bcuz his teacher died a day b4 his first stage performance c dont judge less ye be judged point iz when u have actual talent those things dont matter no one says shyt about aretha franklin being a total diva and u noe y? cuz she can sing her ass off and its da same for him did u not c em sing bohemian rhapsody? come da hell on do u ever think dat wat if it were u if he would waste his time writing stupid uneducated blogs about u? my guess is probably not yes he izz a jackass but guess wat money iz money and nobody cares as for blake yes he has some issues but he still iz young and has time to redeem himself as for con not so much blake has tons of justin timberlake like talent so hes gonna be ok regaurdless of peoples opinions which all r enttled 2 jus make sure u get da whole rundown b4 u say some shyt

  20. jaunty permalink
    December 22, 2008 2:41 am

    Wow that is an awesome album cover, definitely the best one ever by an AI contestant. I was worried about Melinda’s career because she just dropped off the map after idol but it seems like she will get some critical acclaim for her cd.

    And I find it amusing that there are actually Blake Lewis fans still hanging on out there, googling his name and rushing to his defense because there used to be many more doing it. Clearly all but four or five finally read the writing on the wall that said “Blake’s a douchebag” and moved on.

  21. Louise7 permalink
    December 22, 2008 1:50 am

    Melinda have the gydget you can post it to your website will be amazing! http://www.gydget.com/widget/86266/winstall

  22. standalone permalink
    December 22, 2008 12:53 am

    ^^That just made my stomach turn.

    I hope Melinda enjoys mucho success.
    She was a diamond in a very rough season.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 22, 2008 1:13 am

      I was out of the country during January 2007. It was great, when I came back, it was just as life was before (2 years prior) when I never watched Idol. Had no desire. And when I turned on those 2 episodes, I was completely disinterested. I didn’t see any performances that jumped out at me immediately and I barely paid attention while watching.

      But when the Douchefrappe started beat-boxing, I totally turned around from my desk and looked. I got the overwhelming feeling that I appreciated the risk taking, yet never wanted to see this Douchefrappe anywhere ever again.

      Melinda Doolittle has a great voice and I really think she has an excellent shot of having a very successful, post-Idol career. She’s sincerely talented. It’s not manufactured or a gimmick. It’s true talent.

  23. whiskers permalink
    December 22, 2008 12:48 am

    I love Melinda – even if she doesn’t have a neck.

    I will buy her cd when it comes out. please be sure and remind me.
    🙂
    oh…… and Blake is an asshole and a douchebag.

    namaste’

  24. melismaqueen permalink
    December 22, 2008 12:36 am

    My favorite part of the article was the douchebag comment.

    • TopIdol permalink
      December 22, 2008 12:40 am

      Whenever I have to mention something about Season 6, I feel it necessary to mention DoucheBlake. If you were ordering an Idol Douchefrappe, DoucheBlake would be venti, Greasy Constantine would be grande.

      And there would be floaties. Obviously.

  25. December 21, 2008 10:18 pm

    Everythang is everythang! Just wanted to stop by and return the solid for giving Our Girl Melinda’s CD cover art your official “Diggin’ it!” 😉

    This past Labor Day at the Nashville Summer J.A.M. concert, I was in the number when Melinda worked out on several of the tracks from Coming Back To You; so I’m not talking theory or what somebody told me – I’m talking seen it, heard it, ‘gon buy lots of it! 😉

    And I know you said Christmas-stuff ain’t your thing; but anybody else that wanna give her a shout out can sign her Christmas eCard by 11 pm (EST) Tuesday, December 23 at this url http://www.groupcard.com/c/raBMj2Pv_7e

    Thanks for the space to put my face in the place! 😉

  26. GAMissy permalink
    December 21, 2008 9:26 pm

    Actually, I did hear or read most of his post-AI interviews. I don’t agree with the douchebag assessment at all, but opinions differ. My point was, if the discussion is about Melinda Dolittle, what’s to be gained by slamming other performers? It’s not relevant to the discussion, and it’s doing her no favors.

  27. standalone permalink
    December 21, 2008 7:54 pm

    GAMissy- “Well, I must have missed that memo because I didn’t get that impression of him. Daring? Yes. Complete douchebag? Not at all.”

    Try checking out some his post AI interviews.
    Blake Lewis ranks up there with the best of them in douchebag territory, probably placing 2nd after Constantine Maroulis.

  28. goldie63 permalink
    December 21, 2008 5:13 pm

    Melinda was my favorite in season 6, but I really didn’t follow it closely. I hope she does well!

  29. GAMissy permalink
    December 21, 2008 5:03 pm

    “… also saw the episode where Douchebag Lewis did his take on You Give Love a Bad Name, which I thought was quasi-daring, yet, I wanted to slap the living crap out of that kid during his performance because you could tell he was a complete douchebag.”

    Well, I must have missed that memo because I didn’t get that impression of him. Daring? Yes. Complete douchebag? Not at all. And your bashing of him really detracts from the good things you have to say about Melinda Doolittle.

  30. Louise7 permalink
    December 21, 2008 3:42 pm

    Melinda Doolittle’s Debut Album Coming Back to You Drops 2/3/2009. It promises to be an eclectic mix of blues, classic R&B and jazz. The first single, “It’s Your Love” is available for purchase on iTunes. You can pre-order the entire album at http://www.MelindaDoolittle.com and some of the proceeds will go to Malaria No More.

    Keep updated about Melinda’s career at http://www.melindasbackups.com which is a web site owned by Melinda Doolittle. Melinda’s Backups™ is a non-profit supportive association inspired by Melinda and authorized by her to operate this web site on behalf of her fans.

    I am one of her backups (fans) and can truly say that not only is Melinda hugely talented but she is also exceptionally kind and gracious.

Leave a Reply

