Skip to content

American Idol comes to FBIM!

February 21, 2009

I really, really want to stop. But I just can’t 🙂

I just found this gem posted on the FBIM blog today:

Last night, American Idol came to film our church and as a  very special “treat”, Danny Gokey showed up to lead praise and worship for over an hour! God’s presence was so strong as Danny sang and our praise and worship team was over the top! We literally had 24 hrs. to pull a Friday night service together, and even with limited time, the place was jammed packed…standing room only! Man, it was absolutely electric! And in vintage style Danny “preached” on letting go of unforgiveness and the the past…while embracing our future with hope. It was outstanding! So many people were blown away with our ministry including those from American Idol. By the way i have to say, the A.I. crew and producer were some of the nicest and most sincere people i’ve ever met. They had great hearts and a real blessing to work with and get to know! So…just when we thought it couldn’t get any better at Faith Builders it just did last night! God is so good and His favor is on this ministry. We produce the best 🙂    I love you all! Go Danny!!!!!!!

Gulp. Looks like Pastor Rolex has hit the big time.

There are some pretty telling comments on his FBIM’s previous blog entry, too.

We’ve been spoiled by Danny and his awesome gift. I’m glad now he gets to share his gift and Jesus with the world! LM812..you’re not the only one that cried. I cried because it’s amazing to watch prophecy being fulfilled and his destiny being established. No one is more deserving of this than Danny.

Prophecy? PROPHECY? PROPHECY? PROPHECY? WTF??????

WTG Danny! I loved what the one judge said – “You give us hope”. We know that the hope she’s seeing is Christ in Danny but how amazing to realize God has him in a place to show the hope of Christ to millions of people that are so desperate for it.

Here we go with the whole “seeing Jesus in ___________” again. But I still want to know more about this prophecy. Does it involve him showing the hope of Christ to millions or driving away in a shiny new Ford with a recording contract? Both?

Back in 2004/2005,I remember being in Choir (with Dan&Sophia) for a short time. Its been a long while since i have been to Faith Builders. I have just recently heard that Dan had tried out for American Idol and had just caught his first performance. When i heard Dan’s voice through the TV it brought back that memory of FBIM and how much I missed worshiping there. It touched me soo much I have dedicated my life BACK to christ!! I remember the heart for worship Dan had, and still has. It has caused me to want a closer relationship with GOD once again.

Sigh. Because of a guy on a reality TV show, you re-devoted yourself to Jesus? 

Wow! Friday nite concert featuring “Danny G” was off the chain!! I have been going to FBIM for a little over a year, and I remember the first service I attended. I told my fiance, “that is a BAD WHITE BOY right there”! LOL It’s just amazing to see God elevate him, and his voice and performance keeps getting BETTER each time. Jamar should have made it too! Very nice job, he got “dissed”. Come back next year J! The overall talent at FBIM is RIDICULOUS, AWESOME!!!

I’m not religious. (Would you like to borrow my copy of The God Delusion?) However, I thought church was about worship. With this place, I keep hearing things about “talent” and “production”. What the hell does that have to do with the Lord? 

Everything my heathen ass knows about Jesus Christ still tells me this is not how he would want his word to be spread. Faith is something you find within yourself. No Dolby sound system and coffee shop required.

Fox’s Milwaukee affiliate has an entire page devoted to Danny Gokey. Unfortunately, the video taken at his church is “no longer available”. Of course, they also offer directions to FBIM if you’re interested in attending services.

Milwaukee's Fox Affiliate pimps FBIM

Yeah, so, um…what happened to that video of Gokey’s church?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Outsider permalink
    April 9, 2009 10:27 pm

    What is so crazy about FBIM getting attention? Does it hurt you in any way? why are you all such haters!! I don’t even go to that church but I know it’s just a good place to worship. I have visited before, there was nothing odd what so ever. They believe in God, Jesus, the holy spirit and using ANY way to let people, the world, the lost, know about the Love of God adn his salvation. Wouldn’t you be proud if YOUR friend or kid, or coworker made it to the top on a show like American Idol?? maybe not, but they are!! they are proud of him and that Pastor loves him, and has always loved him from what I hear other friends that go there say. They are showing support. So let them! who are you to judge them? Get a life or watch another show!

  2. theknitlette permalink
    February 27, 2009 6:00 pm

    As if I wasn’t nauseated enough by all of this, the over-use of exclamation points and the incorrect use of quotation marks on that blog makes me want to beat someone to death with a copy of Elements of Style.

    • TopIdol permalink
      February 27, 2009 6:31 pm

      I have the hardback illustrated version sitting right in front of me. Would you like to use it?

      This may work to describe them:

      But animals do not comprise (“embrace”) a zoo — they constitute a zoo.

  3. indypendent permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:06 pm

    What’s scarier than places like FBIM and Pastor Pruitt is that they’re getting so much validation from mainstream media. These megachurch franchises are polluting the religious landscape, and people are gobbling it up (and emptying their wallets).

    See also, “Jesus Camp” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesus_Camp

  4. Pademe permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:00 pm

    I don’t care if Danny Gokey is a Christian; that boy has talent. I don’t care if his pastor has a rolex (i have one too :oP)
    I really hope Gokey wins!!!

  5. landreya permalink
    February 23, 2009 11:07 am

    Friday night was so much fun and seeing Danny there was really exciting. I was surprised at all the people that were there and the music was awesome.. good job..

  6. February 23, 2009 1:06 am

    How long have you been coping with brain damage, Joe?

  7. February 23, 2009 12:02 am

    Danny Gokey is ridiculously talented; i would put my money on him to win the whole thing

  8. anasazisibes permalink
    February 22, 2009 12:54 pm

    Idletard – Ha! I’m not cranky – I was just quoting topidol when she said something like even her “heathen ass” knows that the stuff FBIM, etc pulls is non-christian. Tongue-in-cheek, dude 🙂

  9. Hot and Anointed permalink
    February 22, 2009 2:21 am

    “I’m not religious. (Would you like to borrow my copy of The God Delusion?) ”

    That book just made me laugh. Dawkins’s enthusiasm (read: anger) is entertaining, at least.

  10. February 22, 2009 12:00 am

    all you heathen asses

    Someone’s cranky and needs a nap.

  11. korupsi permalink
    February 21, 2009 11:35 pm

    i was about to mention this on my blog, but you beat me. and you did an awesome job! all that prophecy crap really gets on my nerves. don’t these people know it’s blasphemous to liken this fraud as a God’s gift?

    anydannygokeyisabastard, it’s kinda funny at one point. i’ve a good laugh reading all this shit. and you know what’s funnier? i can start a new joke (what is the one thing that Madoff and Gokey have in common?)!

  12. Sane Jason Fan permalink
    February 21, 2009 10:31 pm

    Oh, I hope Pastor Pruitt had time to get his Cadillac Escalade washed so it was nice and shiny for the broadcast.

    Prophecy? Really? This is all getting very weird.

  13. the-gunslinger permalink
    February 21, 2009 10:09 pm

    I’m not entirely sure why someone would imagine music conflicts with worship. Since man stood up on two legs, music and religion have been intertwined.

    Indeed, religion “invented” music. Historically speaking, “popular” music is a rather recent phenomenon.

    Music, like art began as man’s attempt to reflect, and connect to, the Spirit, whether in nature, in himself or in the cathedral.

    As a Jew, Jesus would have been very familiar with “religious singing”. All of the Psalms are religious songs after all! And He’d be very aware of its ability to lift the human spirit into contact with the Divine. I’m sure He would entirely approve.

    • TopIdol permalink
      February 21, 2009 10:11 pm

      I don’t think anyone said “music conflicted with worship”. Not at all.

      It’s that huge musical productions and a television singing contest should not really have much to do with it.

  14. anasazisibes permalink
    February 21, 2009 9:53 pm

    Unbelievable. What I find really “funny” about all this is all you heathen asses have a better idea of what Jesus is about than the “christians” seem to at FBIM. Are you sure you’re not closet christians? Hmmm?

  15. crash permalink
    February 21, 2009 9:05 pm

    So they “had 24 hrs. to pull a Friday night service together.” So the whole thing was…staged? Typical. They’ll show it on TV as if AI and Danny just “popped in” on a FBIM service, when the whole thing was just a production. And speaking of production: I don’t do church (I’ll take the book! lol) but I’ve been to church services and if you asked any pastor, reverend, priest, etc that they’d have to hold a service in 24 hours, they wouldn’t be all “OMG we only have 24 hours to throw this together!” It’s like they were asked to plan a freakin wedding or something. If all you’re doing is sharing the love of Jestro or Jesus or whatever, and you feel it and the purpose is to convey it, why do you have to panic about “pulling it together?” The whole thing is skeevy.

    • TopIdol permalink
      February 21, 2009 9:09 pm

      I thought, going only by what I’ve seen for schedules, they already did some sort of service on Friday night?

      I have no idea. But I never thought the word of the lord needed a stage, a full band and a camera crew.

      • TopIdol permalink
        February 21, 2009 9:35 pm

        In case you were wondering, here is that prophecy:

        Last night was HOT and ANOINTED! I remember way back when Pastor Gloria Pruitt prophesied that our Praise and Worship team would be in front of the nations and look what God has done! It’s a blessing to see prophecy being fulfilled!

  16. Mysterioso permalink
    February 21, 2009 8:38 pm

    This story just keeps on getting more and more bizarre. I hope they get a prophecy that Danny wins Idol and he ends up a massive FAIL!

  17. February 21, 2009 7:50 pm

    I hate these people

    • TopIdol permalink
      February 21, 2009 7:54 pm

      Is Pastor Rolex even supposed to be discussing this crap on his blog before it airs?

  18. insaneinthesfv permalink
    February 21, 2009 7:48 pm

    Now Paula can drink a whole new flavor of Kool-Aid!

Trackbacks

  1. Featuring TOP 12——Danny Gokey - Teri’s Blog
  2. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  3. American Idol comes to FBIM! « Top Idol | Vote for Kris Allen on American Idol

Leave a Reply

