Skip to content

American Idol Top 8 “Theme” Spoiler

April 1, 2009

(Paula always seems to be telling people stuff on the radio. Maybe she was making an April Fool’s Joke? So she probably had a teleprompter if it is one.)

Anyways, next week’s theme is the ever-popular Songs From The Year You Were Born. It’s one more way to pander to the frauen — have young men sing songs to remind them of the halcyon days of their teens and early 20s while also getting the opportunity to show OMG SO CUTEEEEEE baby photos of the contestants.

So you might feel old and realize so much of the music you really loved in the 1980s is complete shit.

Last year, this theme proved how manipulation + tight body could ensure a ticket to the next week, as Kristy Lee Cook caterwauled Lee Greenwood’s Proud to be an American while digital Stars & Stripes graced the big LCD screen. However, it was most memorable for David Cook’s Billie Jean, which propelled him into frontrunner status previously occupied solely by The Mormon Eunuch.

Anyway, what do you think these kiddies should sing?

Here are their birth years. Of course I’m including the exquisite Megan Joy on the list because I adore her, even if she will most likely be leaving us tonight. BOOOOO!!! HISS!!!! CAWWWWWW! Hate you, Idol.

(For all practical purposes, it will just be songs from 1985. How sad. Were the 70s really that long ago? At least during last season, Michael Johns got to do Dream On. )

Adam Lambert (1982)

Alison Iraheta (1992! HOLY SHIT. I WAS IN HIGH SCHOOL.)

Anoop Desai (1986)

Danny Gokey (1980)

Kris Allen (1985)

Lil Rounds (1984)

Matt Giraud (1985)

Megan Joy (1985)

Scott MacIntyre (1985)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 6:48 am

    thanks for helpful post 😉

  2. bebbysue permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:03 pm

    Oh gosh. I’m a big Matt fan. When he does what he’s best at, he’s pretty hard to top. (Georgia On My Mind, So Small, Let’s Get It On, and that Jackson Five song–name of which escapes me).

    He’s a great voice for Top40 Radio…no doubt.

    I love the song “Heaven” and if he can do his soulful stuff with it…that’d be great…. But I like it when he gets down with the piano (like he did with “So Small”) so I don’t know it that would work with “Heaven”.

    But I love the song and I know that he would do it justice someway and propel himself back as a genuine frontrunner.

  3. April 2, 2009 4:01 am

    Oh damn.
    I feel so bad that people actually had to be born in the 80’s and 90’s… I mean, the 80’s are redeemable, but the early 90’s make me want to slap myself until it all just STOPS. I’m so glad I was a small child in those days.
    Speaking of which.
    I officially feel old, because AN AMERICAN IDOL CONTESTANT WAS NOW BORN A YEAR AFTER ME. D:
    Allison was born in ’92.
    This means that contestants in future years will be born in ’93 and ’94 and good lord I know I’m not even 18 but I’m starting to feel really old.
    ..yeh.
    Anyway.
    I remember feeling horrible for David Archuleta and his mess of a children’s park performance on year-you-were-born night. Poor kid HAD to be born in 1990…

  4. idolfan97 permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:50 am

    Here’s what I’d love to hear from the following contestants

    Adam Lambert (1982) – Mad World – Tears for Fears (bet he’ll do the cover version from the Donnie Darko film)

    Alison Iraheta (1992) – “Free Your Mind” – En Vogue

    Anoop Desai (1986) – “You Give Love a Bad Name” – Bon Jovi

    Danny Gokey (1980) – “You Shook Me All Night Long” – AC/DC I’d like him to surprise me.

    Kris Allen (1985) – I’m On Fire (Springsteen) – I love that song and it’s so haunting. If he did this song it would be a different “darker” side of him.

    Lil Rounds (1984) – “Time After Time” – Cyndi Lauper

    Matt Giraud (1985) – “Heaven” – Bryan Adams (both rock and soulful)

    Megan Joy (1985) – “Crazy for You” – Madonna (here’s that ballad to try out!)

    Scott MacIntyre (1985) – “I Want to Know What Love Is” – Foreigner (How could he pass up that song? It’s goes so well with his theme these days)

  5. April 1, 2009 9:52 pm

    Anyone from 1985 also gets automatic promotion to the next round for doing “One Night in Bangkok” by Murray Head

  6. April 1, 2009 9:48 pm

    Possible Song Line – Up

    Adam Lambert (1982) – Physical (Olivia Newton John) he must wear a headband

    Alison Iraheta (1992) – All for Love (Color me Bad) must wear dick in a box clothes

    Anoop Desai (1986) – Party all the Time (Eddie Murphy) – perfect song

    Danny Gokey (1980) – Sexy Eyes (Dr. Hook) – cheese for cheese

    Kris Allen (1985) – Like a Virgin (Madonna) – duh

    Lil Rounds (1984) – Ghostbusters (Ray Parker Jr.) – ray must make a cameo

    Matt Giraud (1985) – Careless Whisper (Wham!) – i would have a stroke from laughter

    Megan Joy (1985) – Take on Me (A-Ha) this must happen

    Scott MacIntyre (1985) – The Wild Boys (Duran Duran) please god

Leave a Reply

