Skip to content

Stoner J signs with Atlantic Records

April 13, 2009

Flat Jason Castro at the Dentist

Stoner J signed a deal with Atlantic Records. The news was officially announced today, but I first read something about it a week or two ago on several different reputable blogs, so…I guess the rumor is now a reality.

Stoner J will even be working with Kara “Cougar From Hell” DioGuardi, so obviously, it’s going to be top-notch stuff.

It’s a shame, because last season, I actually liked Stoner J. And then in the months following, I was introduced to his batshit crazy fans and overzealous family. It’s safe to say, I don’t have much love for Stoner J anymore, which is a shame, really, since I know its not technically his fault…oh yeah, he could have told Mommy Castro to stay the frak out of his career. Stoner J, come on, dude. You’re what, 22 now? GROW A PAIR. Record execs are not going to take kindly to your overbearing mother, so you know, maybe now is the time you can tell her to go back to that Dallas suburb and make some cream cheese brownies or something. You’re 22, Stoner J. GROW A PAIR.

Of course, I promise to listen to 30 second snippets of the songs once it gets released and I’ll make up my mind then, but I have a feeling it will be a tired retread of fellow Atlantic artist Jason Mraz and James Blunt. The popularity of Mraz’s I’m Yours probably helped convince Atlantic execs they could do something with Castro. Sorry, Dreadheads, your MySpace spamming probably has ZERO to do with it.

So good luck, Stoner J. I hope Atlantic will give you a fruitful post-Idol career, or at least packs your bowl with the finest Acapulco Gold and White Widow until they drop your ass.

Here’s what Stoner J’s fans are saying about the news:

Time to party!! 

So excited that I blurted the news out to my kids at dinner and they just looked at me like I was losing it. 

The blank looks. 

So I need to come here and share the love and squeeeeeeeee. 

I do not think that I actually ever squeeeeeed before.

Yup. Another Mother of the Year. And people wonder why teenagers like to drink.

I haven’t been to a concert or met Jason either. It makes me sad that I keep missing these concerts that Jason is performing at because when he does make it big, those opportunities to meet him or his family will be greatly diminished. Oh well, one can still hope………….

Why the frak do you need to meet this person’s FAMILY? Weirdo.

I found the Billboard clip this morning and cried when I heard..literally cried. I’m so happy & proud of him. Atlantic Records is a huge and very respected label. And from the Kara clip it looks like he’s working with some of the industry’s best. This is just so amazing! The cream always rises to the top, doesn’t it????!!!!! 

Happy for all of us, too. 

Looks like all the power dialing last year and screaming our lungs out at the AI concerts paid off.

You cried? You CRIED? Weirdo.

I feel kind of guilty after hearing that some of you haven’t seen Jason in person Yet!! 

I have been lucky enough to visit with him and his family at many various sightings and visits and they are ALL wonderful people. I really do not see them changing when Jason gets really BIG. 

I think they will still be the loving open family that they are now. 

I mean just look, Betsy even posted on Easter Morning sharing an Easter Picture with Jason’s fans! 

Now, how many music families would do that!! 

Just love the way the Castro’s include us with the up and coming news!!

I hope you all get a chance to meet the Castro’s with his Tour this summer!! We can only HOPE!!

Oh can it. You don’t feel guilty. You just like rubbing it in other’s faces that they have not met Castro. Or the rest of the Castro family. I’m glad you’ve successfully sucked up to the Castro clan. Wonder how much you spent. Weirdo.

Oh yeah, here is the Easter Photo Betsy Castro posted for all of her family’s adoring fans.

Castro Family Easter Photo

Ah yes, Easter was yesterday. So it is now okay to wear your white shoes.

Godspeed, Stoner J. Godspeed. Believe it or not, dude, I am kind of rooting for you. So please. Go out there, record your album and GROW A PAIR.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. never remember my name here permalink
    April 16, 2009 11:13 pm

    Having been listening to Jason’s original songs for the past year or so, I am not surprised at all he was signed to a major label and that people like Kara are interested in him. Just hope she doesnt ruin his songs! In a MTV news article that ran yesterday JC said he signed a publishing deal before he signed the record deal. I’m happy to know that myself and the rest of Jason’s fans werent the only ones who saw his potential. I’d rather be with Atlantic than 19E! Glad he is away from that crazy Idol-related company!

  2. Maree permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:56 pm

    What in heaven’s NAME is that picture?

  3. April 14, 2009 5:24 am

    And LOL about the MySpace spamming… I love it when fans think they made something like that happen.
    Puh-friggin-lease.
    David Archuleta tards are obsessed with this song, “Zero Gravity”, that he sang on his tour, and are trying to spam the companies to get it published and whatnot, but they yell at me when I say, “Guys. Sorry but it’s not gonna help. =\ And it’s not that great, anyway.” Especially at that last part… b/c everything David does is a friggin Godsend, right? *eye roll*
    I mean, I love David and all, but come on. He sings pop garbage. Fun pop garbage. Catchy pop garbage. Pop garbage with emotion. Enjoyable pop garbage. But it’s pop garbage nonetheless.

  4. April 14, 2009 5:21 am

    You just compared Jason Castro to Jason Mraz.
    While “I’m Yours” was fairly Stoner J-like, don’t do that, please.
    Jason Mraz is respectable while Jason Castro (although I do love him) is–how shall we put this?–FRIGGIN BAKED. 24/7.
    Anyway. =)
    Man, do I love reading fantard stuff…
    They cried. Holy shit. I didn’t even cry when Chris Daughtry got the boot, and dammit, that was pretty bad. You don’t CRY when people you don’t KNOW do well or have something sad happen. It just doesn’t make SENSE to have that much emotion vested in a STRANGER.

    • LetsMaimDorkey permalink
      April 14, 2009 7:47 am

      i agree 110%
      jason mraz is genius and well… though i’ve never heard jason castro sing, i doubt that he’s even half as good
      i mean look how long it took for him to get signed…
      *ducks for cover*

  5. Sane Jason Fan permalink
    April 13, 2009 9:59 pm

    I’m glad Jason was signed. He’s an interesting character and with the right guidance he could do well. It seems like at the rate he’s going his first CD will come out in the year 2029 but I guess these things take time. Good luck to Jason!! Fare ye well!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 13, 2009 10:16 pm

      I think he could have a successful career if he plays his cards right. But he needs to escape the Idol stigma to reach a broader audience. Perhaps he will try some sort of college tour, although opening for a bigger artist on Atlantic could be his best bet.

      And yes, I really think he needs to stop letting his family be so involved. They should be supportive, not sycophantic.

      • brie permalink
        April 13, 2009 10:54 pm

        It’s not like any label is going to let his family be involved in any official career capacity anyway and I’d imagine his management will also be through the label. From what I’ve read Atlantic has been trying to keep their artists management all in-house.

        I know Jason has the typical AI type fanbase, but outside of that I’m not sure if he will have that hard of a time shaking the Idol stigma. Or should I say as hard of a time as some of the others. Just in the sense that Jason never really never fit the Idol mold anyway.

  6. brie permalink
    April 13, 2009 9:49 pm

    Classy of you to post some snark about a woman’s dead husband. Smooth.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 13, 2009 10:14 pm

      Removed. Did this in a hurry. Should have controlled myself, as I really don’t laugh at stuff like that, so…even I have some standards.

      • brie permalink
        April 13, 2009 10:45 pm

        Thanks. I don’t mind the snark, but that one was a little too far for me.

Leave a Reply

