Skip to content

The End is Near: American Idol Top 6 Theme is DISCO

April 15, 2009

Paula Abdul told some radio show that next week’s theme will be…

DISCO

(Paula is also choreographing the group number. I so hope MC Scat Cat makes a cameo.)

Part of me wonders if this was chosen to further illuminate the wonders of Screech McQueen. Regardless, this can only end in disaster, just as disco once did.

Disco Demolition on American Idol

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Christie permalink
    April 18, 2009 8:07 am

    Well, at least Adam will do well as he does with every other genre of music.

  2. Shannon permalink
    April 16, 2009 3:48 pm

    i wonder when and IF they are gonna do a Rock ~n~ Roll night….

    • Maree permalink
      April 18, 2009 8:53 am

      Oh please God, let there be Rock n Roll night.

  3. pinky permalink
    April 16, 2009 11:34 am

    Anoop singing disco may just end up being the worst. Could be so cheesy, even though I love the guy! The disco songs have been so overdone. Let’s see how Lil fucks up her song choice THIS week!

  4. April 16, 2009 11:03 am

    I was born during the disco era. I remember hearing it play in all the department stores in the late 1970s. It is fun music though not my favorite. A lot of kids today may like it if they hear it.

  5. anasazisibes permalink
    April 16, 2009 10:43 am

    I’m going to be there with bells on to watch the trainwreck. I’m finding out it’s fun not being emotionally involved (yeah, ok, I was/am a Cooktard). I actually laughed with glee when I heard the words *disco night*

  6. Ema permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:40 pm

    Wow, finally, a week with a real theme! I mean, “Any Song We Can Clear”, 80s night, and “Any Song We Can Clear: Part Two” all pretty much sucked.

    And seeing as how it’s disco, I’m looking forward to all the trainwrecks. *dances about*

  7. Emme permalink
    April 15, 2009 5:10 pm

    I see a whole bunch of BeeGees coming at us next week…who’s gonna take ‘How Deep is Your Love’? Whoever they are, I hate them already.

    I can’t wait to see Adam bring the disco though; he will have so much fun with this! …and I will giggle with glee like a schoolgirl throughout the whole damn thing – he so just makes me happy all over – I can’t seem to help it.

    My worst disco night Idol memory is Constantine looking horrid and sounding even worse on ‘Nights on Broadway’…ugh, he got the boot for that didn’t he? They did disco top six week that year too.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 15, 2009 5:41 pm

      I recall Vonzell Solomon wearing lots of silver and Greasy Constantine giving my television VD with Nights of Broadway.

      Oh how funny. Here he is performing it at a shopping mall in Southeast Asia.

      • Emme permalink
        April 15, 2009 6:48 pm

        arrrgh, damn you! LOL

      • anasazisibes permalink
        April 16, 2009 10:45 am

        AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • LetsMaimDorkey permalink
        April 16, 2009 8:33 pm

        BAHAHAHAHAHAHA
        1 word:
        fraking loser
        …..

        ………..

        dammit!

  8. Maree permalink
    April 15, 2009 4:21 pm

    I have a feeling this will be awesome. Every time the contestants are given a lot of leeway to sing what they want *cough* Downloads night *cough*, the result is a flaming pile of bat guano.

  9. SarahBeth permalink
    April 15, 2009 3:49 pm

    If Adam sang “Its Raining Men” that would be epic.

    He does that and they might as well end the competition right then and there and hand him the crown.

    (Although in my eyes, he’s already won it with Mad World and Tracks of My Tears – and its his to lose now.)

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 15, 2009 3:53 pm

      I was really hoping he would do It’s Raining Men last week, since it did come out in 1982. (As he also did.)

      But yeah. I would probably be forced to vote for him if he sang It’s Raining Men in full-on drag. Crap. I just remembered how much I missed Normund Gentle!

      • Niftywench permalink
        April 16, 2009 6:42 am

        OMG NORMUND. i love when people miss him like I do. *wishing for a comeback*

  10. April 15, 2009 3:35 pm

    I for one would love to see someone dress like Disco Stu from The Simpsons – other than that i run and hide!

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 15, 2009 3:42 pm

      Agreed. If they’re going to put us through Disco Hell, they really need to bust out the Disco threads.

      I mean, Lambert is a given, though. At least he will man up for this nonsense. (Oooooh. That was the bestest pun EVER.)

      • Niftywench permalink
        April 16, 2009 6:43 am

        that was TRULY the best pun ever. coffee going through nose awesome.

  11. Sane Jason Fan permalink
    April 15, 2009 3:02 pm

    Disco finally has a chance to accomplish something worthwhile if it can contribute to the downfall of Danny Gokey. If this actually happens I will celebrate by playing Donna Summer songs all day.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 15, 2009 3:06 pm

      But I swear I saw him do the Disco Roll at some point this season. With the backup singers?

      • Emme permalink
        April 15, 2009 5:13 pm

        *shudder* …yes, Motown night. Horrible sight, but oodles better than the pelvis grindy thing he does.

    • Deez permalink
      April 15, 2009 3:12 pm

      Never happen…Gokey could wear a gigantic mascot Disney head and sing Disco Duck…and the judges would talk about how he “made it his own”….barf.

      • TopIdol permalink
        April 15, 2009 3:54 pm

        Deez. You made me laugh AND caused me to search Google Images.

        Lo and behold!

  12. SarahBeth permalink
    April 15, 2009 2:53 pm

    Disco? Are you serious?

    WTH is Idol thinking?

    That’s just going to be very, VERY ugly – albet entertaining to watch. Trainwreck week, take 3!

Leave a Reply

