Skip to content

My friend went to the AI Results Show last night and wrote about it

April 16, 2009

One of the coolest chicks I know got to go to the Idol results show last night. And as per usual, her recap is pretty bad ass. (Because she has a brain and is funny and all that good shit.)

So here’s my recap from last night – I was in the pit in front of the stage, on the side where the Bottom 3 sit on the stools and next to Simon. I watched the show back last night on TiVo and you can see me for like a half-second when Anoop walked through the crowd – you can see my freakishly long arm touch him. Other than that, I’m in the dark. 

I had never been to a taping at the regular Idol stage – I’d only been to the finales and Idol Gives Back, which were at the Kodak Theatre and the Nokia Live. The stage at CBS is *tiny* – they don’t even have fixed chairs, just regular metal chairs like you would find at the Elk’s Lodge or something. There are only about 10-15 rows in every section, too – so the Idols have a great view of everyone in the audience. It’s very intimate. 

As I said above, both JHud and Miley Cyrus were on tape. The judges left during those portions. I was surrounded by little kids there on their spring break. The highlight was when they brought Zac Efron in and sat him in the first row behind our side of the pit – there was insane screaming, and the little girl behind me burst into tears and was shaking for like 5 minutes. Zac had two big handlers on either side of him and he looked really embarrassed the whole time. He was sitting next to Allison’s family, except when Ryan talked to him on-camera about his movie, at which point they moved him behind the judges. Then they moved him back and he was right behind me for the rest of the show. Like I said, he’s darling – gorgeous. He just *looks* like a movie star. 

I had a really hard time hearing what the contestants and judges were saying during the show – I don’t know if it was because I was in the pit or what, but the sound was terrible. The only thing I really heard all night was Matt’s sing-out, which sounded good to me (but I was honestly too busy watching the “drama” with the judges to really pay attention). I felt bad for Matt and Lil when they were sitting on the stools, because they had to hang out there all during the Miley Cyrus tape. Lil looked like she wanted to cry and so did Matt – he was very fidgety, I think he knew he was in the bottom. But they both smiiled and waved to everyone even though they were visibily upset, and seemed like very nice people. 

Dead Wife Danny, on the other hand —

He was a total fucking douchebag. He spent all the commercial breaks running to the edge of the stage pointing to people in the audience who had signs for him and calling out to them. I don’t think he knew them, I think he’s just an attention whore. None of the other contestants did that. 

An interesting tidbit, not sure what precipitated it — after the group number when they cut to commercial, Kris ran up the catwalk to the judges’ table and leaned over and gave Paula a huge hug. They were laughing and she was patting him and it looked like he was explaining something to her, but I couldn’t hear what they were saying and I don’t know why he did that. But it was super-cute.

So, that was my big adventure! I could have stayed for the taping of AI Extra, but I was tired and had to go home. It was fun! I hope I get to go the finale.

But KC, come on. Tell us…just how big did the MOLE look in that intimate stage setting?

Matt Giraud's Giant Forehead Mole Up Close & Personal

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    April 20, 2009 5:53 am

    I’m still dry heaving from the sex story…but back to the Danny topic. I can’t STAND the manipulation. Not only that, who is actually listening to this guy? He’s OFF key more than he’s on. Last week was horrible, for example…just plain bad. Danny & Lil should have been bottom 2 and Lil gone. But, it’s OK…I thing we are going to get a mighty shocking double elimination Wednesday. I expect Gokey to be Gone-y.

    And his church (and I’m using the term loosely) scares me. Those toungue talkers are freaky! It’s like top of the freak religions is Scientology– then comes the talking in tonguers.

  2. bec permalink
    April 18, 2009 7:38 am

    wow didn’t realise there was so much hostility towards danny – personally, i think he’s an awesome singer – and that’s all that should matter…but that’s only my opinion so don’t hurt me!! 😀

  3. Deez permalink
    April 17, 2009 8:21 pm

    You know, I’ve given this some thought (b/c apparently I have no life)…but everything Gokey does is extremely calculated. He knows how to sway his audience, that’s for sure. (b/c he knows them so well…the worsheepful)…AWWWWW! Good for poor Danny meeting a sweet Christian singer just like him so that his suffering (pelvic thrusting) can be eased! How sweet.

    What if all the contestants behaved this way? HBD should have hid Barbie wife…too bad…GEEZE! He just wasn’t subscribing to “Gokethink!”
    Imagine how he could’ve increased that teenage girl/gay male fan base! But props to Hot, personal integrity won the day.

    Maybe Adam should’ve tried harder to hide the gayness to pull in middle-America…he could’ve claimed those pics were acting practice. Again personal integrity.

    And then there’s the “Gokey Laundry List of Calculated Douchery”…
    this dude could write a book! It’s so blatant that I guess some people just can’t read the clues.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 17, 2009 8:27 pm

      I really think Hot By Default doesn’t get enough credit whatsoever. Hell, we didn’t even see him until Hollywood week, and that was for oh what, 30 seconds? He was proclaimed Cannon Fodder from the get-go, so I’m actually very glad to see him get this far. And he’s the only one who deserves to be with Lambert in the Final 2. Maybe Allison, if she starts choosing better songs? But she can be #3.

      Gokey will never sell a mainstream album and will end up being a bigger disaster than Taylor Hicks. It’s so obvious. At least Hicks seemed kind of, oh, I don’t know, did he piss anyone off by being douchey that season?

      • Deez permalink
        April 17, 2009 8:37 pm

        Don’t remember any particular Hicks offenses. He just always seemed like somebody’s drunk uncle…no discernable cheezsmarm.

  4. LetsMaimDorkey permalink
    April 17, 2009 8:07 pm

    okay i feel like a twat…. but who the frak is Casper again?!??

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 17, 2009 8:10 pm

      The skinny pale white chick who “dirtied herself up” for the competition by wearing Contempo Casuals’ finest and infusing her trailer park hair with streaks of pink.

      • LetsMainDorkey permalink
        April 17, 2009 8:16 pm

        ie- alexis grace
        i hear ya…. but wait…

        EWWWWW MOLE BOI HAVING SEX 😐

  5. bah permalink
    April 17, 2009 5:30 pm

    How people assume something about another person says a lot about how they view themselves. I’m not calling you a whore, I’m just saying you think you are.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 17, 2009 7:35 pm

      Whore?? What??

      I have no idea what the Jonas Brothers want to do.

      I don’t think people would have thought any thing of this if say, she was blond.

      And personally, the fact The Mole banged Casper, well, that’s just more interesting gossip than any of this 😉

      • bah permalink
        April 17, 2009 7:45 pm

        God I wasn’t talking to you. Stop it.

        There is a difference between truth and perception. Saying someone wants to bang someone is different then someone actually banging someone.

        • TopIdol permalink
          April 17, 2009 7:50 pm

          Saying someone wants to bang someone is different then someone actually banging someone.

          Exactly! And The Mole is suave.

          But I think I might make fun of this Oompa Yampa chick or whatever her name is. More so b/c she names her GPS.

      • LetsMaimDorkey permalink
        April 17, 2009 7:50 pm

        SAY WHAAA??
        the Mole as in Matt or the Mole as in just… THE MOLE ITSELF!! that’s super disturbing

        but in all seriousness, people are actually saying that casper and mole boiii had sex??
        if so, WHERE???

        • TopIdol permalink
          April 17, 2009 7:56 pm

          but in all seriousness, people are actually saying that casper and mole boiii had sex??
          if so, WHERE???

          I heard this from a VERY reliable source who has yet to give me mis-information. Oh. And obviously, it was in the Idol Manse!

          Mole Boy should have gone for Megan. At least she was cute and had a good personality, oh, and if she fell asleep next to you, you wouldn’t wake up in the middle of the night and see her curled up on her side, subsequently mistaking her for Mr. Montgomery Burns.

          (But I sometimes think Casper had something to do with the Mole.)

        • Deez permalink
          April 17, 2009 8:05 pm

          Mr. Burns!…. excellent

  6. bah permalink
    April 17, 2009 5:29 pm

    And I suppose the Jonas brothers want to gang bang her?

  7. she_is_so_random permalink
    April 17, 2009 5:06 pm

    Hammy Hokey is just buddying up to his fans so they bring him more expensive gifts to the tour dates. He’ll probably have one of those baskets on a handle like they have at churches to take up donations in the parking lot.

  8. April 17, 2009 5:05 pm

    Gokey kept calling out to one person in the audience who had a sign with a picture of Danny next to a picture of Simon that was chopped to make Simon have glasses – it said something about how Simon should try to look more like Danny. Danny was making a big fucking scene about how much he loved that sign and trying to get other people to look at it and be like HAHAHAHA HOW AWESOME!11!1 He’s fucking idiot.

    And GokeyTard above me, you can go ahead and call my commentary biased but at least I’m not so delusional to think that the caterwauling Danny subjects us to every week is “awesomeness.” You need to get your ears checked.

    Btw, have you heard that the Grieving Widower wants to hook up with some Christian singer who looks just like his dead wife?

    http://mjsbigblog.com/danny-gokey-is-making-new-friends.htm

    Klass. All the way.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 17, 2009 5:17 pm

      Did you see the blog post of that chick?

      http://rachaellampablog.blogspot.com/2009/04/new-friends.html

      I want to know why her GPS is called Anne Margaret. Royalty fetish (the voice does have a Brit accent) or confusion about how to properly spell Swedish actress’s name?

      Anyway, enough about my hangups…WTF? Little, uh…

      • Deez permalink
        April 17, 2009 6:14 pm

        OK…after reading that, I feel as if I need my eyes washed or something…does Listerine make an eye-antiseptic to remove the traces of inane crap? (she is probably an up-talker)

        • TopIdol permalink
          April 17, 2009 7:38 pm

          Agreed. I have no idea what that chick was writing about or anyone would care.

  9. bah permalink
    April 17, 2009 4:09 pm

    C’mon. You guys are acting like Gokey was purposely drawing attention to himself during the show in front of 30 million viewers, just acknowledging your fans during breaks is a bad thing? That is just biased commentary now, if he didn’t acknowledge anyone, you would have wrote about that. I hope when Gokey sings next Tuesday you forget to mute your TV and your head explodes from the awesomeness coming out of his mouth.

  10. AIFan permalink
    April 17, 2009 2:49 pm

    Rushfield is insane. Here is an example of the drivel that he unleashes on his viewers:

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/showtracker/2008/04/american-idol-8.html

    Which is why I can’t wait to read his behind-the-scenes article. Should be good.

    • Maree permalink
      April 17, 2009 5:05 pm

      PASTEL TONED AURAS!!! WTF!!!

    • Emme permalink
      April 17, 2009 8:33 pm

      yeah, read it, it was lame…some of the idols think the place is haunted, lol.
      Shoot, I was actually kind of hoping goulish widower really was packing around Sophia.

      • TopIdol permalink
        April 17, 2009 8:43 pm

        Obviously, Anoop and La Lambert were the ones who thought it was all bullshit.

        And I think Allison probably just heard Casper growling while having Mole Sex. Poor kid.

  11. DGF permalink
    April 17, 2009 2:35 pm

    Danny acknowledging his fans is a bad thing? When I went to the tour last year and waited by the buses for a chance to meet the Idols… I thought it was horrible that Syesha, Ramiwhatever, Michael did not even acknowledge the 100’s of fans standing there screaming at them. Not even a wave. Jason and Brooke did not leave that line until every fan was seen. Archie and Carly spent a lot of time as well. Cook came out for a quick second, only to one certain section of women.
    Nothing wrong with Danny letting his fans know he sees them.

    • Deez permalink
      April 17, 2009 3:01 pm

      DG could acknowledge his followers in a way that doesn’t draw EVEN MORE attention to himself, how about a nice wave from the couch? I’m pretty sure Adam has as many (if not more) fans in the crowd…yet he understands that running to the edge of the stage and creating a spectacle (apparently multiple times)would make it seem as if he were trying to upstage the other contestants. It is NOT funny or charming. Maybe DG is a nice guy? I don’t know, but he really needs some advice on how to behave so that you don’t project an aura of total smarminess.

  12. Maree permalink
    April 17, 2009 2:05 pm

    Wasn’t Rushfield the guy who announced that a Gokey/Screech finale would herald Armageddon? Kind of seemed like an idiot.
    Slezak for me.

  13. April 17, 2009 12:11 pm

    Aw, I’m blushing. 🙂

    I didn’t really even notice Matt’s mole – but I like him, so it might be willful blindness. I think he’s sweet.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 17, 2009 1:24 pm

      I’m sure he is sweet. But I can’t stop staring at the poor guy’s mole!

      I have to go watch it again so I can look for your arm 🙂

  14. Emme permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:40 am

    Love behind-the-scenes glimpses, thanks for that recap!
    I knew Danny was waaay icky, reassuring that someone there live felt his doucheyness. Speaking of which – get a load of this from a post-results chat with a guy who had dinner (okay, pizza upstairs) with the idols after the results show. He’s teasing his article that comes out tomorrow. I got a very weird feeling when I read this:

    First he said:
    12:22
    richardrushfield: Here’s a tease for my piece this saturday- find out who else is living with them at the mansion– living or…dead…
    then this:
    12:23
    richardrushfield: Gokey- i;’ll say no more

    Please, dear God, tell me Gokey doesn’t have Sofia there in an urn with him in the mansion…is it just me who think it sounds like that? That was a great tease though, because I’m totally curious now, and so going back to check it out.

  15. AIFan permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:26 am

    Something tells me that DeadWifeGokey is not going to be very popular among his fellow Idols on the tour. What an attention whore.

  16. Deez permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:33 am

    YOU DID IT AGAIN!!!! This time I wasn’t taking a drink of water (at least) when my eyes were assaulted by the M O L E.

    So I guess Gokey managed to dry his tears from Tues enough to act like an ass. Somehow I don’t buy the whole “they are all friends” thing. I bet this guy is merely tolerated by the rest.

  17. SarahBeth permalink
    April 16, 2009 11:40 pm

    That’s an awesome recap – thank your friend for writing it and allowing you to post it here — glad she had a great time! I have always thought it’d be insanely cool to go to an AI taping. 🙂 Unfortunately, I live on the wrong coast for it.

Leave a Reply

