Skip to content

American Idol Top 5 Song Spoilers (Rat Pack Classics)

April 28, 2009

These are legit! Bc I just watched them. And Jamie Foxx is an awesome mentor.

This is also the performance order! How many times have Gokey and Screech been the last ones to sing?

Kris
The way you look tonight (Excellent. I have no idea why I like this kid, but I do.)

Allison
Someone to watch over me (Awesome. And I met her. She sounds great and is absolutely adorable in person. Her voice is seriously INSANE!)

Matt
My funny valentine (Too much falsetto, but not bad. No Mole, sadly, but how could he not wear the hat tonight)

Danny
Come rain come shine (Started off decent, then SCREAMS it and completely ruined it. Drowns out 3 backup singers.)

Adam
Feeling good (which is the Muse version, yet he did not acknowledge this in his package, which pissed me off. Same arrangement. It wasn’t just Lambert giving it a “rock edge”. I would have enjoyed this so much more had he just acknowledged Muse, because he does a very good rendition.)

Next weeks theme is rock! Yes! Slash!

The best are Kris, Allison and Adam, although he should have said he did the Muse version. Allison I actually met in the pit and she is adorable and really beautiful.

Jamie Foxx seemed to love those 3 the most and said he would do an album with Hot By Default. The only ones he criticized were Gokeyoke and Mole Boy.

Gokey starts out solid but then starts screaming. Totally drowned out the lovely 3 backup singers who only had one part to sing. I was standing on their side and could not hear a thing.

And while Matt did good, he was obviously rocking the hat so no mole!

Ill be posting a recap of my experience later on tonight. It was definitely amusing.

47 Comments leave one →
  1. Maree permalink
    April 29, 2009 11:05 am

    About the musicianship thing, word. It’s why I liked Cook, and like Screech. And HBD (about 50% of the time anyway). I was just reading a comment from a Gokey fan on another site that complained about people having to change up songs to be considered a contender, and how it didn’t used to be that way in the good old days, and what the hell happened? And the thought that entered my mind was “Buddy, it was Bo Bice.”

  2. Lil Lulu permalink
    April 29, 2009 10:15 am

    Oh, come on, TI! Every freakin’ WEEK Adam tries to acknowledge who helped him with the arrangement. He’s cool that way. 😉 Also, that was not The Muse version. That was a hybrid. And actually closer to Nina Simone than anything else.

    So cool that you were at the dress. I’m looking forward to a more detailed blog from you where you give us the scoop on what goes on behind the scenes!

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 29, 2009 1:14 pm

      It was more Muse than anything else. Perhaps more so live? Because I knew he was doing it before he started, too, because the band started warming up with the Muse intro.

      I wish someone else who saw it live would chime in here 🙂 I know what I heard and saw, dammit! And I stand by it.

      Just posted part 1 of the recap. Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know its long. But I wanted to provide all the gory details!

  3. Dar permalink
    April 29, 2009 10:06 am

    If you would have listened while Adam and Jamie were talking…Adam DID acknowledge the “version” of the song….

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 29, 2009 1:12 pm

      I will check it out when I get home. As I have said, I’m sure I missed things being at the dress rehearsal and obviously, not entirely the same as what was shown on TV. I’ll listen closer to that when I see the ep on my Tivo.

  4. BBKing permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:08 am

    Mate. Lambert’s version was nothing like Muse’s.

  5. April 29, 2009 1:44 am

    I’m still really motherfrakking proud of you for getting in LOL.
    And you met La Princesa! YAY!

    OMG YES ROCK! SLASH! OMG. EPIC.
    Slash. ♥
    FRAKKING SLASH.

  6. adamfan permalink
    April 29, 2009 1:15 am

    OK fantards get a life! He didn’t do the muse crap version…muse has a little kid singer..with a weak voice..he sounds like a punk! Adam blew it out of the box! He might have got a little of the vibe from Muse…lets get real!

    Fantards rule!

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 29, 2009 2:58 am

      I always get shit for not liking Adam.

      I do like Adam. I swear. It’s just that sometimes I get bored. However, all of Idol bores me. Yet, I still watch it and…jesus christ, what was I doing in the studio today?

      The Muse version is SO distinct, and mainly for that beginning part. I’ve spent many an hour with this version, and Nina Simone’s classic rendition. I see where Muse totally got it from Nina, however, I still believe Adam’s was more Muse than any other version, even if he might be able to get higher octave-wise than Matthew Bellamy. Hey, I love my Muse and have for several years now (I’ll even forgive the whole allowing-the-song-for-that-Twilight-shit just because we all have to make a living), and that was totally Muse!

  7. Sneakers permalink
    April 29, 2009 12:24 am

    You got to see them LIVE?! YAY! That’s awesome! It was funny cuz I’m reading this and thinking “who’s review is she/he posting?!” haha
    What the HELL was up with Simon today?!
    My reaction to his critique to HFB: “That’s bullshit son! DON’T listen to him!!”
    My reaction to his critique to La P: “Horrible feeling?! Where the fuck did that come from?!”
    Seriously, at this point they’re making it REALLY obvious they want a Fug/Smug face VS Adam finale -_-
    And Adam not giving credit, he’s given Ricky credit before and I wouldn’t doubt it that he probably mentioned it during the package video but ended up getting edited out.
    I’m so happy you got to meet Allison! Did you tell her that you call her “La Princessa del Mariachi” on your Idol blog? 😛

  8. Maree permalink
    April 29, 2009 12:22 am

    Wow. Soo…no way is La P getting past the Gokester? I’m getting resigned to this. Oh, and Lambert sounded way too jazzy to be a faithful rendition of the Muse version to me.

  9. SarahBeth permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:47 pm

    I’m really pissed that Simon basically talked down to Allison and Kris (who were both clearly great) and talked up Matt and Danny (Who I cannot STAND) — looks like he’s trying to ensure an Adam/Danny finale which chaps my ass.

    I’ll be BS if Kris goes this week – but Kris/Matt/Allison could be in trouble this week – any combo of them.

    Thought that everyone was pretty good though. (and it kills me to say that about danny because I still hate his ass)

  10. holabola permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:34 pm

    I watched Adam’s video and it seems that it was heavily edited. He MAY have mentioned it was the Muse version but if you notice there was an abrupt change in the video (the voice, in particular). Something was clearly edited out.

  11. Maree permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:29 pm

    Gaaah! You’ve met La P! Lucky you! I can’t believe Simon is being so OBVIOUS. He’s just hurting his COs with this shit.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 10:52 pm

      I figured, I’m in LA, I’m gonna try to go because gee, what kind of recap would I write if I saw it live?

      And no, I did not drink beforehand, however, when they were telling me how to clap and be energetic, I was really thinking I would have brought a flask.

      Funny, I’m typically only tipsy during the Results shows (and only every other week or so), but random people who stumble on this would probably assume I was drunk all of the time.

  12. Sarah permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:21 pm

    Did anyone notice the s*** eating grin Gokeyoke had before he sang? It made my skin crawl!

    • Deez permalink
      April 28, 2009 11:31 pm

      Yep, and its twin after he sang…and the repulsive shout out to the audience…and the cheesy hand heart…seriously, this smug-ass douchebag could be the best singer in the world and I still wouldn’t be able to stomach him.

      • TopIdol permalink
        April 29, 2009 12:06 am

        The amount of cheering for him when he took the stage…Lambert had the closest, however…it wasn’t as much. It kind of amazed me, in all actuality.

  13. PrimeTimeMom permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:15 pm

    Muse version? uh no, it sounded more like a mixture of a classic and original version IMO.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 10:43 pm

      I will watch the live version in 30. I’m just going on what I saw at rehearsal. And yes, Gokey, does grin a lot.

      I tried listening to the Pussycat Dolls’ version once, could not make it through the whole thing. Love Nina Simone’s and I love Muse’s version. the latter of which is very distinct, and I think it was very similar, although there was some vocal differences. Like I said, Lambert was great, but I wish he would have given credit to Muse. And he certainly could have and they edited it out. In that case, I just think Idol should be more proactive about doing that sort of thing.

      • KradamBomb permalink
        April 29, 2009 2:34 am

        I love Nina Simone’s and Michael Bublé’s version of FEELING GOOD. I wish Adam had done the unpredictable by NOT changing it up or finding an obscure rendition of the song. This was the week I wanted him to show America that he’s not just a vocal gymnast but that he really and truly does have what it takes to win, to make records, to SELL records. I still love him but with the weeks dwindling away, I wanted him to surprise us by singing it straight. No pun intended.

  14. AIFan permalink
    April 28, 2009 9:50 pm

    The critiques tonight made no sense at all. Simon praised Matt and criticized HBD and Allison – WTF ? And the other 3 stooges were drooling over everyone.

  15. Deez permalink
    April 28, 2009 9:23 pm

    OK I think either Mole or HBD is gone tomorrow… it’s a shame everybody was great (Adam was super-great), some were thrown under the bus by Simon because they were wet and not confident (really??????????) others (mmmmhmmmm) who weren’t any better and infinitely more smug got ptaised to high hell

    • Deez permalink
      April 28, 2009 9:24 pm

      ptaised, and a decided lack of commas. we need an “edit” function!

  16. Deez permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:28 pm

    OK Simon seriously WTF!!!!!!!! La Princesa was awesome. Simon woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning!

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 8:35 pm

      La Princesa is a cool ass kid, too. Her entire demeanor during the rehearsal really impressed me. No attitude, no conceit, just a kid trying to have a good time. And I gotta say, she is really pretty in person. But her hair looked so much better tonight than I had seen it before.

  17. Deez permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:20 pm

    HBD derailment in progress…wet????WTF????And he thinks Paula doesn’t make sense…crap why don’t you say it was orange or granular…that would’ve made as much sense. CRAP. I thought it was GREAT.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 8:30 pm

      I’m reading the blogs trying to find out what happened from the Apple store in The Grove. HA.

      I really liked HBD, but then again, I’m not big into “belters”. I have no idea why I like HBD b/c he stands for so much of what I loathe, yet, I really really like that kid. And I like him even more every week.

      Yeah, Simon just wants a Fundie vs. Fabulous finale. Complete bullshit. Explains the performance order, too.

      Final three should be HBD, Screech and La Princesa. I don’t understand what other people are hearing because its so obvious who the best in this group are.

      I will have to watch the show to see how all the performances compare from rehearsal. If they even pimp the shit out of Gokey, ugh…I still don’t understand what the point of the backup singers were since they sang one part and I couldn’t even hear them.

      • AIFan permalink
        April 28, 2009 9:10 pm

        I disagree that HBD is a “belter”. He does not have much of a range and he can’t sustain long notes. He is more of a crooner type – one of the judges called him that and they are right.

      • KradamBomb permalink
        April 29, 2009 2:15 am

        I don’t understand all the non-love for Hottie By Definition (yes, I know it’s “default” but it’s not by default anymore!) from Simon… is this supposed to be reverse psychology? I expected that bull crap from Randy (who thought “Falling Slowly” was pitchy…whatevs) but not Simon. This is the most excited I’ve seen Randy get over Kris and I’m loving it! Then Simon had to go and be the wet blanket of the bunch. Jack-@$$. If HBD gets eliminated cuz of that idiot’s comments, I’ll give him a kick in the head!!!!

        • TopIdol permalink
          April 29, 2009 3:29 am

          Yeah, I have no idea where any of that nonsense came from, all I know is what I heard and saw, and then what I saw later. Maybe I’m thinking it was better live, as of now, I actually think more of these people as singers after seeing them live…however…

          Hot By Definition, that’s funny. But he’s still Hot By Default (although he does rank as one of the better-looking Idol contestants, I guess, probably behind Abs Young b/c I can’t think of anyone else right now.) and as I have said before, I have no idea why I like the kid but here it goes:

          Last year, Cook won. Cook revamped nearly every song, which is why he beat the Kareoke Eunuch. I had only seen seasons 4-5 before, but I think the trend toward “reinvention” began with Bo Bice, who I still would consider myself a fan of, because I thought he was great. He was a guy who paid his dues, singing and performing at bars, etc., he could play a guitar (yet sadly, they didn’t allow this on the show until the following season…wonder why), kind of thought he “got it” more than anyone else I had seen, even Cream Of Wheat Underwood, who bored me to tears every week.

          However, this shit show has evolved since then, thanks, in part, to Bice (of course, I could be totally wrong, but I’m basing this on everything I’ve seen) and I kind of thought that, especially after last year with Cook (and I think there was some during the season before but I didn’t watch then, although I remember that Arayan Midget Douchebag guy doing an innovative yet obnoxious rendition of Bon Jovi, because that was the one episode I watched), this was less than being just a “singing” competition (Randy, dawg, YOU SUCK) and more of a “musician competition”.

          In my opinion, as someone who really wouldn’t watch this show besides the fact I have this blog, I appreciate someone who is going to TRY and do something different. Those will be the artists / singers I have respect for. So far, in this competition, the only contestants who seemed to get the memo about this being a musicality competition were HBD and Screech. Why do I want to see karaoke when I can go to a shit bar and watch that sort of thing?

          American Idol is a shit show. I would rather watch people not just sing, but also at least TRY to “reinvent”. Danny Gokey’s voice may be occasionally decent but he will never sell albums. You already have enough stacked against you as an Idol winner in the music industry to begin with, but he’s not going to do shit. If he wins, I’ll laugh because it will be the first time an Idol winner doesn’t earn a Gold Record even after “striking while the iron is hot”. They won’t make money off him. For chrissake, Amy Grant had to sing Baby Baby to be a “mainstream pop singer”…Gokey might win a Dove Award, but I don’t know how much money you’ll make off of one of those bad boys.

          Lots of people can be singers, but how many can actually be musicians? I think HDB is actually a musician, so honestly, that’s why I like the guy.

  18. Robert permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:01 pm

    The thing is you don’t really know whether Adam gave Muse credit or not because those clips are heavily edited. He could very well have given full and effusive credit and the editors cut it out.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 8:14 pm

      Yeah, he may have. However, the producers shouldn’t cut that shit out since sometimes, it has become an issue. I think he gave Gary Jules credit on Mad World, right?

      • chipbutty permalink
        April 28, 2009 9:55 pm

        Yeah I think he did. I actually thought the arrangement was kind of a hybrid of Muse, Nina Simone & the Pussycat Dolls.

        He and Allison were best by a mile tonight. Hate to say it as I love HBD but I thought he was pretty lame.

  19. Deez permalink
    April 28, 2009 7:38 pm

    This looks like a set up. HBD goes first….judges will say blahblahblah. Gokey gets the penultipimp spot right after mole (who they will criticize). DG will scream, and by comparison to MG, the judges will think it’s the best thing since sliced cheese. I smell an effort to derail HBD, and thus ensure the Adam vs Smarm King finale.

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 7:43 pm

      I really hope HBD gets through based on Jamie Foxx’s glowing commentary, because he absolutely LOVED him. He also puts a little soul in the song which I don’t recall seeing him do before, in a way. It was pretty damn good. And I really hope he doesn’t get screwed from being in the first slot.

      La Princesa also rocks it. And she is seriously a beautiful kid. Her hair looks good tonight, too. I actually talked to her b/c they stuck her in the pit to start. If they use that footage, you can see me looking like a complete asshole behind her.

  20. TopIdol permalink
    April 28, 2009 7:27 pm

    But you would think they would be more proactive about it with all the flack Cook caught last year for “Eleanor Rigby” and “Billie Jean”. And Lambert has NEVER been called out on it. Plus, saying he “gave it a rock edge”, well, I would have just preferred it had he said it was from Muse. The arrangement is pretty much IDENTICAL.

    • April 28, 2009 7:35 pm

      yep, you’d think that Idol would have learned their lessons by now, but this show is notorious for being infuriatingly stubborn.

      looks like jamie foxx and i are on the same page about the contestants…hope america jumps on board and puts the go in gokey, wouldn’t that just be amazing…

  21. SarahBeth permalink
    April 28, 2009 7:26 pm

    That’s so cool you got to go!! I can’t wait for your full recap!

  22. April 28, 2009 7:21 pm

    was that the order? wow, adam gets the pimp spot again?

    and i don’t fault the contestants for credit not being given to the original arrangements…it seems that the show goes out of their way to cut it out of the video package, ryan rarely prompts then after the performance to mention it, and even when ryan says in his intro who the originator of the arrangement was (think “chris cornell’s version of billie jean”) the judges go selectively deaf and pretend it was original anyway.

  23. Ema permalink
    April 28, 2009 7:10 pm

    I absolutely adore Muse, so I have a feeling I’m going to like whatever Adam does with it.

    Can’t wait for the recap! =D

    • TopIdol permalink
      April 28, 2009 7:20 pm

      I LOVE Muse. However, I’m pissed b/c in the package, he says he “gives it a rock edge”. No Lambert, MUSE gave it that rock edge.

      SAME ARRANGEMENT. If you haven’t heard it before, download it because it rules. After you watch this and compare to tonight’s performance.

      • Ema permalink
        April 28, 2009 7:40 pm

        Thanks for the video link.

        Maybe he’ll mention the arrangment he used after the performance? I don’t know, Lambert is usually pretty good about giving credit where credit’s due.

        • TopIdol permalink
          April 28, 2009 7:45 pm

          I hope he does, b/c he doesn’t in the package and since he’s going last, those time constraints and everything…but I would have enjoyed his performance more had he given credit when talking about the “rock edge”. He’s also performed it in public before, and he is definitely talented, I won’t deny it. But I love the Muse version and like I said, it kind of ruined it for me because I stood there and shook my head the entire time he sang.

      • April 29, 2009 1:44 am

        I know.
        I looked this up earlier and creamed myself.

Trackbacks

  1. American Idol Rat Pack Night | Gossip Candy

Leave a Reply

