Skip to content

The greatest movie trailer in the history of movie trailers

May 9, 2009

This is a real movie. It’s called Tiptoes. People don’t believe me when I tell them it exists because it sounds so ludicrous.

“So Matthew McConaghay is the only average-sized person in an all-midget family. And he has a twin brother who is an LP, played by Gary Oldman. So McConaghay’s girlfriend is Kate Beckinsale, who gets pregnant and…”

Yeah, that’s how it kind of goes. I swear. And it’s real. It’s also complete shit and was obviously never released in any theater. Anyway, it came up yesterday at work and obviously, no one believed me. So I looked up the trailer and showed everyone, leading to them being subsequently mesmerized

I’ve watched it about 10 times since. Not because I have issues (well, I do, but that’s besides the point) but because its so damn funny. I have decided it may be the best movie trailer EVER.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 4:41 am

    good movie…really a reminder that family is about accepting….one thing i could never have wtth mine, though we’re normal…hahahaha

  2. emma grace permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:38 pm

    too bad the oldest living Munchkin from the wizard of oz just died. they could’ve used him in this shit film!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 11, 2009 3:49 pm

      They pretty much utilized every working LP actor, I thought, at least for the Midget Party Scene. But I guess only young and hip midgets.

      I waited on him once when he came into a suburban St. Louis Applebee’s. That was about 12 years ago, and I have no idea why the oldest-munchkin was munching on chicken fingers at an Applebee’s on Manchester Rd in Ballwin.

      I am a huge fan of Peter Dinklage, though, he pretty much rules. Too bad the movie wasted him, as he was a drunk writer who rode in Gary Oldman’s (also a writer) side car all across wherever the frak then traveled. And they both wrote stuff for Harper’s or something. You can’t blame Dinklage for being drunk all the time, dude was riding in a side car! No risk of a DUI.

      Oh. And Gary Oldman’s character is named Rolfe.

      I want everyone to go see this movie and send in reviews! Why its not a cult classic of What-is-this-shit film is beyond me.

  3. May 10, 2009 9:12 pm

    What. The. Fuck.

    Damn I hate trailers that give away the entire movie plot. Now I can’t watch this quality film because I know what will happen.

    In the sequel, does KC marry his brother? 🙂

    • May 10, 2009 11:15 pm

      How did you know?!?!

      • TopIdol permalink
        May 10, 2009 11:54 pm

        Featuring command performances from TopIdol, IdleTard, and in the role of a lifetime, KC Eliot.

  4. Mr. Antichrist permalink
    May 10, 2009 2:33 am

    A jewish dwarf family? Amazing! How is it possible this one never made it to the Oscars?

  5. d. b. cooper permalink
    May 10, 2009 1:49 am

    OMG they got the dwarf from Agent Cooper’s dreams in Twin Peaks to play Mcconaghheyy'(SP?) and Oldman’s father?!?! Must Netflix immediately. It appears they got every great midget except for the Seinfeld midget and the Bad Santa midget. A tell-all book should be written explaining how this got made. Amazing. Thank you.

  6. May 9, 2009 10:57 pm

    You posted that just for me, didn’t you?

    I AM ROLLING!!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 10, 2009 12:16 am

      I hope it is finally in your Netflix queue 🙂

  7. deez permalink
    May 9, 2009 5:51 pm

    Lol!! Seriously though, it’s actually not much sillier than some of the real crap that’s out there….”Gary Oldman in the role of a lifetime” Lol!!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 9, 2009 6:34 pm

      It is REAL. I’ve seen the whole thing. Incredible, right?

      I also love the narrator telling us all that matters is the size of your heart.

Leave a Reply

