Skip to content

Idol Top 3 Contestants’ Choice Songs: I’m sure they’re wrong, but at least they’re well thought out.

May 11, 2009

Some person calling themselves timesensitive just posted these on EW’s American Idol Power List comments thread. Naturally, I am sure they’re all bullshit, however, they don’t seem soooo off the wall. (Spoilers posted on the EW walls are ALWAYS bullshit, or at least, never have been 100% correct)

timesensitive Mon, May 11, 2009 at 03:07 PM EST

Spoilers for contestants choices:

Kris: Yellow- Coldplay
Adam: Rebel Rebel – Bowie
Danny: Against All Odds – Gokey

Whoa. Gokey wrote a song for a 1984 film starring Rachel Ward and Jeff Bridges?

timesensitive Mon, May 11, 2009 at 03:09 PM EST

I mean “Against All Odds” by Phil Collins.

Can’t say how I know this.

This timesensitive person is most likely full of shit, although I do get a kick out of their sense of humor in a small, teeny tiny way. Because after last week’s screeching final note in Dream On, Gokey probably realizes risk-taking is not his forte and he needs to return to singing tired ballads about unrequitted love so he can look upwards at the end.

Rebel Rebel for Lambert isn’t exactly off-the-wall, is it? He’s probably been wanting to do Bowie all season (I wish someone would just do Space Oddity for chrissake, anyway…), especially ones with those wacky “gender bening” lyrics in light of his recent EW cover story.

As for Kris Allen’s venture into Coldplay territory, that’s cool. It’s not John Mayer and hey, I like that song. Sometimes I love Coldplay, sometimes I hate Coldplay. Depends on the mood. He can sing whatever the hell he wants, frankly. I still feel bad for the kid after being stuck with Gokey on last week’s duet, and sadly, the judges will still throw his ass under the bus regardless of what he does, so…

Personally, I think Gokey should do Tim McGraw’s Please Don’t Take The Girl, but I think he knows he can’t quite venture down a road so obvious at this point in the game. That’s like the music equivilent of going all in, if you were say, Phil Hellmuth.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. bookdawg permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:51 am

    Occasional lurker, first time poster…looking at Kris Allen’s supposed pick (yeah, I’m sure it’s bull too), I could picture him singing it, and then it hit me like a ton of bricks.

    He’s not the season 8 Castro…he’s the Male BROOKE WHITE.

    Listen to his pre-Idol music, then listen to Brooke’s “Songs From The Attic,” including her cover of “Yellow.” Married young, Christian but not-hit-you-over-the-head-with-it Christian, would rather do mainstream music…I can’t believe I didn’t see it til now!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 12, 2009 12:06 pm

      But Brooke White forgot lyrics, never shut the hell up and was a Mormon.

      I do kind of see what you’re saying, but at least Kris Allen doesn’t sit there and talk out of his ass all the damn time. B/c then he would really kind of be the male version.

      • bookdawg permalink
        May 12, 2009 12:35 pm

        Very true, he doesn’t sit there and blather about nonsense like Brooke does. I was really basing the comparison more on musical stylings. Forgot she was Mormon also (just like it’s easy to forget HBD is Christian); guess I always saw Archie as the token Mormon (like Jokey’s slap-you-upside-the-head Fundamentalism).

        Thanks for this blog, btw…I’m a Cook fan, but this is the first time I’ve truly watched Idol for the contrived, predetermined trainwreck it really is! You know, I don’t even bother to vote; I assume all the “votes” are like those pneumatic tubes w/notebooks sitting in the middle of the jungle on LOST.

        • TopIdol permalink
          May 12, 2009 12:38 pm

          I’ve only voted for Normund Gentle ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. deez permalink
    May 12, 2009 9:35 am

    What are the odds on Gokey forgetting the words tonight? Since he almost for certain is not familiar with DLS…this could be an impending trainwreck of epic proportions…get your popcorn ready!!!

    Randy-Dawg, whut whut? Listen up yo, yo, Dude it’s aight for me, But props, you can Sing!!!
    Kara-Danny, we know that learning lyrics is not your thing,and early Terence Trent Barberi is such a risk… so…A+ for effort!!!!
    Pauler-Oh, Danny, the fourth time you forgot the words and broke down sobbing…it just tugged at my heart strings…viscerally…SEE YOU IN THE FINALS!!!!!!
    Simon- Well you know, I agree with these guys. It was very good, not your best performance. But you have confidence and a smugness that I find quite appealing…so, good job.

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 12, 2009 10:30 am

      I remember Terrence Trent D’Arby, but I do not remember the song. Luckily, Maura at Idolator posted it.

      It’s pretty much the ideal song for his voice and I doubt he will rearrange it. There is no element of surprise, it just proves Paula’s / the producer’s wiles. Have him do a song he certainly won’t frak up, that also isn’t familiar to most of the audience? Golden! Will almost ensure the judges all creaming over themselves to call him a genius and insure him a trip to the finale.

      Meanwhile, Randy chose HBD’s song. Apologize. Christ, they’ve been trying to get people to do that song on this show all season, haven’t they?

      And notice how the contestant they don’t give a shit about is always the one doing Randy’s choice? Last year, he chose Coretta Scott Mercado’s song. I didn’t watch Season 6, however, I did just look it up: He chose Melinda Doolittle’s song. In Season 5, it was Paula who chose for Elliot Yamin, but I also believe Randy may have chosen for Vonzell Solomon in Season 4? I don’t think its a “conspiracy theory”, necessarily, it just proves no one gives two shits about Randy Jackson’s opinion.

      I can’t believe I just looked that up. And then typed it.

      • deez permalink
        May 12, 2009 10:46 am

        You are correct. Now that I rethink, who’s gonna know if Croakey butchers the lyrics??? Wishing Well is the only TTD song I remember.

        Damn you, judges!!!!!!!!!!

        Farewell, HBD, we hardly knew ye. (at all).

  3. mark permalink
    May 12, 2009 8:43 am

    I expect these are b.s but there are rumours circulating that producers are trying to get Bowie to sing with Adam in the Final so that choice makes sense and Danny does love those power 80’s ballads. Kris has apparently picked a cool choice so that might fit with Yellow. Not long to find out though.

  4. Sane Jason Fan permalink
    May 11, 2009 8:43 pm

    If I had reliable song spoilers the last place I’d put them is EW after all the BS that’s come out of there this season. Still, these are not bad choices.

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 11, 2009 8:55 pm

      As I said, they’re rather well thought out. Like none of these would be un-surprising.

      Which probably just proves how predictable this crap is and always will be.

  5. Mr. Antichrist permalink
    May 11, 2009 7:08 pm

    I was kind of hoping Gokey would do that old Alice Cooper chestnut (off of Billion Dollar babies, great album): I Love the Dead.

  6. deez permalink
    May 11, 2009 6:53 pm

    Well…if true, Gokey’s snoozefest of a choice, coupled with the maiming of the TTD song that he’s likely to do…should be enough to solidify his place in the final 2. AND…if he also manages to have the lyric sheet (necessary because he was too bored to learn the words)fall off the stage… so that he can jump around shouting “Dance Little Sister” over and over again, the judges may just call a winner right there on the spot!!! Hell, Adam and HBD can’t compete with that sort of artistry.

  7. Colleen permalink
    May 11, 2009 6:51 pm

    Another person doing Against All Odds. That song should be retired from AI.

  8. SarahBeth permalink
    May 11, 2009 6:42 pm

    I’d LOVE to see Kris sing Yellow by Coldplay. I think that song’d be great for him. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I kind of hope that’s actually true.

  9. JohnnyDrama permalink
    May 11, 2009 5:57 pm

    Love, love, love your Blog!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 11, 2009 6:23 pm

      And Johnny Drama, my blog and I LOVE YOU ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

