Skip to content

What should I blog about after Idol?

May 16, 2009

Since the last week of American Idol and summer is upon us, I’ve been faced with a conundrum:

What should I blog about now?

Of course I will cover much of the batshit crazy fan happenings. Once the Idol Tour gets going, that’s when the REAL lunacy begins. However, not as many people will be reading my blog as it will be summer and hell, most people will forget about Idol by the end of next week.

I also have a tiny bit of a life and can’t be sitting in front of the TV every night this summer, plus, my threshold for trash is rather low, so…

Right now, I’m leaning towards So You Think You Can Dance, as I meant to blog about it last year, which is the only reason I started watching it and lo and behold, I actually ENJOYED it. It’s better than Idol on so many levels, especially since Cat Deeley can talk without a teleprompter and appears to ilicit genuine concern towards the contestants, the judges all give pertinent criticism, even the batshit crazy drunk one AND the contestants don’t have to talk as much, meaning I actually liked more of them.

But if you have any other ideas/suggestions on what I should blog about, let me know. Not that I think you care THAT much about my blog, but I need some input for this one. I can also blog about more random crap than I do now, but that only happens when I’m truly inspired.

So let me know.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Maree permalink
    May 18, 2009 9:49 pm

    As long as you never ever mention “Rock of Love”.

  2. Kimberly permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:30 am

    I’ll come along for SYTYCD. I’m not sure if I liked that show or the other dance one, where Corey won and Janelle came in like top 3? But I’ll watch it if you’re blogging it.

  3. Jennifer permalink
    May 17, 2009 11:22 pm

    definitely go with SYTYCD!

  4. SarahBeth permalink
    May 17, 2009 12:53 pm

    I haven’t really ever watched SYTYCD, but if you were to blog about it, I might just start watching it! I’ve watched it here and there, but never really religiously.

  5. Emme permalink
    May 17, 2009 10:18 am

    Yes, SYTYCD, please!! Love that show. It’s the only thing that makes Idol ending bearable.
    The odd post on Big Brother over the summer wouldn’t make me mad either. Long live Chen-bot.

  6. I'minablizzard permalink
    May 17, 2009 2:09 am

    Please keep up the Idol fantardishness blogging! Below is a “HT vote on finale night” post. Eat without using your hands so you can vote?? These people are INSANE! I love love love them! Tour season ought to be a gold mine of craziness. May the fantards reign forever!

    “Fans: Be prepared to be stay off the Forum during Voting Time in the Finale.
    Reading, blogging will distract you from the main task – Aggressive Voting.
    Pace yourself – take short breaks – but vote for the entire 4 hours!
    Take a vacation on Voting day – so you are totally energized.
    Finish dinner early. Reduce liquid intake – just for Voting Night.
    Drink lots of caffeine or Red Bull.
    Find a comfortable cozy sitting or lying position – and walk around occasionally, too, to get the blood flowing.
    Play energizing music!
    Eat without using your hands – place the food on a big plate and eat using your mouth only – while using both hands to vote simultaneously. Like an apple bobbing eating contest. It’s OK to be messy – but get in the critical votes for Adam.”

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 17, 2009 3:45 am

      APPLE BOBBING??? APPLE BOBBING???

      (And don’t worry, there will be plenty of insanity to observe once the tour kicks off. Of course I’ll write about it. I love talking about crazy people.)

  7. May 16, 2009 8:12 pm

    Canadian Idol was canned. It is no more.

    • martmart permalink
      May 16, 2009 10:55 pm

      Oh, yeah, I totally forgot! It’s inevitability/suckage seemed too worthy for CTV. Wow, mercy kill. My world just got a little better, thanks. 🙂

      Huh, now I kind of feel like some felt about Danny Hokey, where now that he’s gone, he doesn’t seem like such a complete and utter d-bag. Hindsight is rosy-(lenscrafters)-glassed, and drunk.

      But whatever with hellspawn Ben Mulroney do now? Y’know, side from all the other dumb things he does.

  8. martmart permalink
    May 16, 2009 5:43 pm

    A perpetual echo: SYTYCD, pretty please and thank you, with a Cat Deeley on top. I would endure another season of Kara “It’s Like Studio 57!!!” DioGuardi if Deeley hosted AI.

    But if you want to truly experience the seventh circle of hell (which I imagine is where all the mediocre performers go), may I just-a-bit-seriously suggest finding a way to watch Canadian Idol?
    A great performance on that thing will make you think you’re seeing a unicorn doing a leprechaun or something, rare occurrence, while the rest will make you long for the pitch-perfect fantasy of a Sanjaya/Gokey duet.

  9. jenne the niftywench permalink
    May 16, 2009 3:21 pm

    if you begin blogging about SYTYCD i may just start watching it!

  10. anasazisibes permalink
    May 16, 2009 2:15 pm

    DITTO!! My husband converted me to SYTYCD last year!!!

  11. May 16, 2009 1:24 pm

    YOU MUST BLOG ABOUT SYTYCD! I agree with you on every level. Better music, better host, superior judges, awesome characters, likable (and genuinely talented!) contestants. It rules.

  12. Jennifer permalink
    May 16, 2009 12:49 pm

    I am one of the converted to SYTYCD. That Cat Deeley is amazing and the show is actually good!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 16, 2009 12:52 pm

      Cat Deeley is a goddess. And I loved everyone in the Final Four last year. Plus they actually do “different” music on the show. Its superior to Idol in so many ways.

      • vorona permalink
        May 16, 2009 12:55 pm

        If AI wants a good finale, they should kick out their judges, kick out Ryan, and bring in the crew from SYTYCD. But that much sense might contrast too strongly and bring down the whole enterprise. At least the contestants would get hugs from Cat!

        • TopIdol permalink
          May 16, 2009 1:00 pm

          I read that if anything ever happens to Ryan, Cat Deeley is always waiting in the wings ready to go. I guess he was almost out once this season b/c he was sick. Hello??? I would love to see Cat Deeley host Idol.

        • vorona permalink
          May 16, 2009 1:06 pm

          [Figuring out a way to sneeze on Ryan before the finale…]

Leave a Reply

