Skip to content

Gokey’s Like The Wind / Through My Tree /

May 17, 2009

Sorry, Vizzions sent me this amazing thread and all of the sudden, Patrick Swayze’s She’s Like The Wind entered my head.

He rides all night / Next to me / He leaves me in moonlight / only to burn me in the sun

Okay. I’ll stop now. Without further ado:

When I was little, I dreamed of becoming a weatherman. The dream is still alive, but I have reconciled myself with the fact that it will remain just that – a childhood dream.

Danny was like the most amazing thunderstorm, full of life. The one that comes in suddenly, unexpectedly, after a dry and empty period, bringing new life to the barren land.

With the storm now gone, there is nothing left but the hope that its fruits will not whither away so fast as they usually do.

Please explain further.

One of the reasons why Danny’s time on Idol reminded me of a thunderstorm is the choice of songs and the incredible growth he achieved. I’ll just run through a few.

In I Hope You Dance and Hero we see the first seeds of the tiny flat clouds on the horizon, Danny was like a baby – the head is still too heavy fully lift itself up and show its true strength.

In P.Y.T. we see the clouds bubbling up in the distance and the first, distant flashes of lighting in the form of air punches.

Then in Jesus, Take the Wheel, we saw Danny – like a huge white mountainous cloud, bubbly and growing, confiding in us and telling us there is nothing wrong to let it go, to surrender.

The last advisory came with Get Ready, coz here he comes, he was on his way. The high pressure (as in Simon) tried to rip the cloud apart, but the seeds of the storm were too strong to be messed with.

And sure enough, the light rains were coming with What Hurts the Most, and falling ever so tenderly in Stand by Me and Endless Love.

Finally, the storm showed it meant business in Come Rain or Come Shine. The clouds really picked up steam. The electrical ending of CRoCS showed the full, true colors of the storm, the fresh air, real sexy sky, with the sunrays casting rainbows everywhere.

The pent up electricity reached its crescendo in Dream On. It could not be helped, the storm could not shield us from its nature any longer. The feverish discharge turned into a runaway lightening that thundered so near, terrifying some and making the others laugh.

In Dance Little Sister the storm wanted to stay, to be with us, but feeling that some never wanted its gifts, it gave us a full, emotional washout in You Are So Beautiful. It was a torrential downpour, giving birth to the streams and rivers that ran straight into the hungry heart, taking away its doubts, insecurities and even some sins.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 11:07 am

    Great info=D hope to come back soon.

  2. LetsMaimDorkey permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:49 pm

    sexy…sky…..
    !!!!!
    can’t fucking breathe

  3. May 18, 2009 8:58 pm

    bwahahahahahaha.

  4. Lil permalink
    May 18, 2009 2:20 pm

    I swear, every season of Idol brings out a higher level of crazy.

  5. May 18, 2009 11:20 am

    can’t. stop. laughing.

  6. May 18, 2009 3:20 am

    See? I told you.
    Danny Gokey fans are batshit crazy and should be diagnosed as clinically insane.
    Well, these ones, anyway.

  7. martmart permalink
    May 17, 2009 11:15 pm

    So… was this about the storm that we were warned was coming (with the raining of the mens, or something)?

    “The pent up electricity reached its crescendo in Dream On.”
    I usually don’t do this due to pseudo-dignity, but: LOOOOOLZ.

    I think I mostly love that part because if you replace “Dream On” with “nail polish exchange” you’ve got a choice line from awesomely-awful Kradam fan fiction, wink wink, nudge nudge, know whatImean, say no more…?
    Or just leave it as is and the fic pairing becomes: Danny/Danny’s Ego (Egonny? Danego?)

  8. I'minablizzard permalink
    May 17, 2009 9:11 pm

    WTF??? Wish I was a turtle. I could hide from these freaks in my shell.

  9. d. b. cooper permalink
    May 17, 2009 9:06 pm

    *backs away from post slowly*

  10. Jenn permalink
    May 17, 2009 8:11 pm

    I concur, Dani. And i also just threw up a little in mouth. BLECH.

  11. Dani permalink
    May 17, 2009 8:08 pm

    I feel a little less crazy after reading that.

  12. vorona permalink
    May 17, 2009 7:30 pm

    So… If I listened to that “emotional washout,” I am now free from sin?

    Oh, darn it. I think I just blew it. Now I have to go listen again.

  13. Emme permalink
    May 17, 2009 7:12 pm

    Weird storm talk; I didn’t understand a damn thing!

  14. deez permalink
    May 17, 2009 7:04 pm

    God… I wish I hadn’t just eaten.

  15. May 17, 2009 6:51 pm

    I’m pretty sure that particular brand of glue is meant for professionals only.

Leave a Reply

