Skip to content

MTV’S Jim Cantiello’s Live Blog of the Finale

May 21, 2009

I love MTV’s Jim Cantiello. I will even watch his The Hills Detox even though I refuse to watch the actual show.

In addition to his brilliant Idol in 60 Seconds, he also writes killer live blogs. Read his take on last night’s show — yes, he was there.

Here are some choice bites:

9:46 pm – I heard the BEST story from an unnamed source who may or may not have been in the Top 36 with Tatiana. Story goes, the top 50 had to fill out intense psychological tests. And Ju’Not Joyner got up in the middle of the room while they were taking the test and said, “Tatiana, when they put your scan-tron in the machine it’s gonna go kabloom!!!” HAHAHA!

Ju’Not Joyner…still think that dude got kind of screwed. Wasn’t even asked back for the WildCard.

9:55 pm – As awesome as that was, I was really pulling for Kris and Adam to sing “More Than Words” by Extreme. It would have suited both of their voices perfectly. And remember that music video when the couple is sitting on the couch and then wave their lighter midway through? I always loved that moment. I had a lighter in my hand ready to go. But, alas, Queen. It’s cool. There’s always next year.

Yeah, HBD doing Extreme would be perfect, but I still think the perfect Top 2 Duet would have been Paint It Black, joined on stage by the Stones. It would have been a delightful shoutout to their preferred nail polish, in a way, but it’s Idol. And we can’t have dark songs on Idol. Duh.

Jim concludes with what may be my favorite on-the-scene observation of the season.

10:15 pm – BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!! The press room left the feed up after the show went off the air and I NEEEED to share what I just witnessed. Right after Kris won, he was whisked away to backstage, where a crew was waiting for him to say “I’m going to Disney World!” Kris, being a low key dude, wasn’t giving the producer what he wanted. “Be more excited!” Kris tried to up the energy. “I’m going to Disney World!” “You can do better than that! SCREAM IT!” Kris tried again. The producer pushed more. Kris tried again. And then an “Idol” stage manager rushed in and started yelling at the other producer. “That’s the best you’re gonna get! Let him be himself! He doesn’t do excitement!” I’m so depressed that I witnessed that. Okay, I’m done now. Thanks for reading!

Read Jim’s Live Blog. And everything else he writes. Your life will be instantly better. Promise.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. endywood permalink
    May 23, 2009 4:24 am

    Yes, the preferred nail polish incident just got kinda swept under the rug, didn’t it?

  2. Katherine permalink
    May 22, 2009 11:39 pm

    Methinks J Cantiello is a secret Kradam fan, eh? 😉 MORE THAN WORDS would have been the most perfect KRADAM DUET SONG!! “Saying I love you is not the words I want to hear from you. It’s not that I want you not to say it but if you only knew how easy it would be to show me how you feel… More than words is all I ever needed you to show then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me, cuz I’d already know!!!!!”

    LOVE IT!!

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 22, 2009 11:40 pm

      I don’t think he’s a “secret” Kradam fan.
      Hell, even I’m kind of a Kradam fan…SHHHHHH…DON’T TELL!!

  3. SpinningFasterAndFasterToNowhere permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:42 am

    I love how the Disney people tried to get Kris to be something different and he just stayed himself…lol

  4. Maree permalink
    May 22, 2009 3:53 am

    Didn’t they use “Paint it Black” in a Ford commercial a couple of years ago?

  5. deez permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:59 pm

    My favorite “Jim” moment was his post-Gokey dancefest.Beyond great!!!!

  6. Jennifer permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:19 pm

    The comments about letting Rod Stewart out of the home were PRICELESS.

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 21, 2009 4:13 pm

      It would have been better had he performed Do Ya Think I’m Sexy. But hey, he still looks better than anything the cryptkeeper put on loan for Disco Week.

Trackbacks

  1. MTV’S Jim Cantiello’s Live Blog of the Finale

Leave a Reply

