Skip to content

Top Idol Goes to a David Cook Show: Part Une

May 24, 2009

In my never-ending quest for journalistic excellence coupled with sick curiosity, I traveled to Northampton, MA for the David Cook concert at the Pearl Street Nightclub on Saturday.

Granted, I actually like David Cook and he’s always struck me as someone who would put on a good live show, so I figured, hey, why not? And it was only $20.

So did Cook put on a good show? Definitely. Both Ryan Star and David Cook appear to thrive on playing live, and you can clearly see both them and their bands LOVE being up there.

Did I meet my fair share of rude David Cook fans?

Absofrakinglutely.

Did I meet some nice people? Of course, I met a few really cool people, however, there were a lot of rude people in attendance and I’ve just never encountered those kinds of attitudes at a live show.

Myself, Niftywench and Niftywench’s sister, whom I will just refer to has Mistress P for here on out because its easier, set off for Northampton around 2 or 3 yesterday afternoon. We arrived around 5, where there was already a line wrapped around the block.

I was a bit nervous as to whether or not it would be sold out. I had no idea the size of the venue or whether or not most of the people in line had already purchased tickets. I started checking with random security guys, they assured me yes, I would be able to buy a ticket at the door.

So I began meandering around this big long line. This is a bit of what I saw.

The line outside the Pearl Street Nightclub for David Cook

Proof the economy is shaky. Santy Claus spends the off-season working security in Northampton, MA. And Santy Claus was totally cool. He told me I should be in front of the camera, not behind it. SWEET!

Santa Claus working security in Northampton

Hey, I was somewhat flattered, plus, it totally beat the middle-aged gentleman in Los Angeles who told me:

You’re a good-looking girl. You should go on that Rock of Love Bus.

Of course, while everyone was lined up, I wandered around to see the crazy fan action. You guys know I love that shit. I especially wanted to see the infamous Front Row Crew who has caused so much controversy throughout the tour.

David Cook's Front Row Chicks

So I started talking to them. They were at the front of the line, they had been there since 5am. They said they slept there. I asked them what they slept in, since they appeared to be fairly cleaned up, i.e., did not look as if they slept in a gutter. They laughed and said pajamas, and they get hotel rooms at each stop which are basically used to shower and they sleep and clean up in shifts. In their defense, they were dressed more appropriately for a show than a great deal of the others there. (I was wearing jeans, a tank top and heels. Nothing spectacular, but there were people in line wearing Walmart sweatpants. Is this how you go out for the night to see a live show? Hell, and I live in jeans and Chucks, so trust me, I’m not some prima donna who dresses up…ever.)

They weren’t as obnoxious as I had always imagined them to be and dare I say, they were nice. They told me a bit more about changing clothes in random places, cleaning up in gas stations. I asked the if they ever used a shower at a truck stop but they said they hadn’t gone that far. I mentioned I was worried I wouldn’t be able to get a ticket and they replied that they had sold all of their extra ones, but I should probably be able to find one by asking down the line.

I didn’t see them shoving anyone outside the venue, but the women behind them had Flat Andy Skibs and Cheezits (Which I have since discovered is some David Cook Fan Thing because he loves Cheezits, which is documented on a fan video from that Pop Tarts Tour shit.)

Flat Andy Skib

On my way back to my people, as I had been walking around to get a fair gauge on the ticket situation more than anything else, I met some adorable teenagers who had homemade t-shirts. YES. I think it is okay for teenagers to do this, but NOT RIGHT when adults do it. They were really sweet kids, and they let me take a photo of them. I saw them a few times throughout the night and they were four of the biggest sweethearts ever. I’m glad they had a good time at the show.

Super sweet teenage girls at the David Cook show in Northampton

I also met two awesome fans who had lost their spot in line because they had to go back to the car. I said, hey, come stand with us. So yes, I can definitely say there were cool people in attendance. These gals were a lot of fun, hell, the one even got me that killer photo later on.

The crowd is definitely all ages. There were children. And there were card-carrying AARP members. There were also a fair amount of men in the audience, who I assume were coming along with many of the women. So lets compare attendance by those in their 20s & 30s versus those in their 40s or 50s? No contest. The latter wins.

Niftywench, who is a few years older than me, commented upon arrival, Oh my god, I feel so young. To be honest, I did, too. At least where we were standing in line, we were definitely the youngest in our area.

Mistress P used to work for MTV and has even toured with a few bands. While driving to the show, she kind of disregarded Nifty and I’s tales of crazed-out Idol / Cook fans. She started changing her tune once we took our spots in line, but by the time Ryan Star opened the show, she pretty much sat there with her mouth agape at the general asshattery and complete twatiness we encountered.

So Mistress P has suffered from this rare disease which has screwed up her hip since she was a teenager. Sucks, right? Yeah, she can walk, but she uses a cane and frankly, she really shouldn’t be standing for 3 hours. Nifty had already called the venue in advance to make sure there was a section accessible to those with disabilities. When we got there, we found the section and Nifty just needed to ask for a seat.

You would think those sitting in the disabled section would be uh, disabled. And yes, most of them were. However, there were at least two women who had NOTHING wrong with them except for the fact they were both obese and lazy.

When Mistress P got settled in her seat, before the show began, there was a woman standing in front of us for no apparent reason. And she didn’t really seem like she wanted to move. So Mistress P nicely asked her if she would.

And she abruptly turned around, glared at us and shot off:

Why the hell do I need to move when there is nothing to see on stage?

My mouth kind of dropped open. We were both completely stunned by her reply. Who cares if the show had begun or not? This was an area for people who NEEDED to be seated and no one else was standing in front of the others who were seated.

This woman took off soon after, but I was seriously bullshit at her rudeness. Who the hell says such a thing? I decided then and there I would track her down and take her photo. Why? Because she was rude.

Yes, its horrible quality, but she is the one in the center. I guess she found a place to stand in the other elevated section.

A woman in this photo is rude to disabled people

I had already gotten myself a beer but because of the wristband thing, you could only get one drink at a time. So I went up to get Mistress P a cold beverage. As I was standing at the bar waiting for the bartender to make the guy next to me a Captain & Coke, I realized there was a five or six-year-old sitting next to me. Right atop the bar…now I know it was standing room only, but, trust me when I say it’s kind of strange to go order a drink while a little kid is sitting on the bar. And the little kid is talking about want she wants to be later on in life.

When I grow up, I want to be a bartender so I can see all concerts for free.

I’m totally biting my tongue at this point and telling myself we all have very amusing ideas of what to be when we grow up at that age.

Ryan Star came on not long after I got my beer and I roamed around taking a few photos. I was impressed by the audience’s involvement in the opening act, as often you can go to shows and people talk or completely ignore who goes on first while waiting for the main attraction, but most everyone there was totally digging Star. It was the first time I’ve seen him perform, and he was fun.

Ryan Star in Northampton, MA (May 23, 2009)

Niftywench, Mistress P and myself, however, were completely laughing our asses off at Star’s guitarist, who I believe is named Daniel. This dude gets WAYYY intense up there on stage and makes the funniest facial expressions.

Ryan Star's guitarist makes hilarious faces

Since I’ve already rambled on for long enough and I just love dragging my on-the-scene recaps out, let’s take a break, shall we?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 9:30 pm

    Organic chemistry, indeed, in investigating more and more complicated molecules, has come very much nearer to that ‘aperiodic crystal’ which, in my opinion, is the material carrier of life. ,

  2. October 22, 2009 12:18 pm

    A David Cook concert for 20 bucks? Why did i miss that? ..

  3. Kelly permalink
    May 27, 2009 5:06 pm

    I was there and probably saw you!
    I was standing near the second door.
    I have blonde and blue hair(it was in braids) and had a beige David Cook shirt on.
    That security guard that looked like Santa?
    NOT NICE.
    He called us F*CKS.
    He was completely rude to the fans, when were clearly weren’t doing anything wrong.
    Anyway, I really enjoyed your recap of the show so far…can’t wait to read the rest.
    This really was one of THE greatest David Cook concerts of all time. πŸ˜€
    -Kelly

  4. dragonflies76 permalink
    May 27, 2009 3:06 pm

    Well, I was there that night and can definitely say there were some hard core DC fans there! But David could feel all the love and even mentioned onstage that this was the best audience he’d had by far. So we must have been doing something right! Also, Santy Security Dude was way cool!

  5. anasazisibes permalink
    May 26, 2009 11:41 am

    Awesome recap so far, tho’ you’re scaring me with what is to come. I’m thanking my lucky stars (do I sound old? I swear I’m not…) I got to see Cook way back in Feb before the serious tard shit was happening. The worst that happened in Green Bay was the tards that ambushed him at the bus & made him stay chatting in the freakin’ cold when he was sick. Nice. Good thing they care so much about him…

    Agreed – Ryan Star was surprisingly entertaining.

  6. cooktard permalink
    May 26, 2009 9:57 am

    Christ. I’m going to see David Cook in SD in June. If I come across one of these tards I will cut a bitch.

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 26, 2009 10:30 am

      Sadly, I realized on Sunday I have a random scratch on the back of my neck which wasn’t there before.

      Was I cut?? Without even knowing it??

      But hey, I would totally advise you to come prepared. (And I haven’t even written part 2) πŸ™‚

  7. beinghonest permalink
    May 25, 2009 11:03 pm

    i hate when people that arent impaired do dumb shyt like that.. be happy that you arent duhhhh and i like david cook and i am not gay his eyes are gorgeous and for u to say that is offensive to the gay folk hezzer19 lol.

  8. d. b. cooper permalink
    May 25, 2009 9:33 pm

    You’re a good-looking girl. You should go on that Rock of Love Bus.

    So smooth.

    There were also a fair amount of men in the audience, who I assume were coming along with many of the women.

    They could be gay. Or fans of David Cook… and gay:). For reals though, I’d see David Cook if he came to a nightclub near me, sounds good.

  9. May 25, 2009 4:43 pm

    You would think those sitting in the disabled section would be uh, disabled. And yes, most of them were. However, there were at least two women who had NOTHING wrong with them except for the fact they were both obese and lazy.

    Perhaps mentally disabled counts?

    I can’t wait for part two. Too funny.

  10. dukie permalink
    May 25, 2009 4:18 pm

    Sounds like you had fun despite the crazies. πŸ™‚ Cook is actually very good live, imho. Looking forward to part 2 of your recap.

  11. May 25, 2009 2:13 pm

    Benefited from the topic, thank you

  12. Dfeel permalink
    May 25, 2009 1:52 pm

    Top Idol has slipped it in that she is hot
    hehehehe

  13. beinghonest permalink
    May 25, 2009 11:17 am

    so crass yet kinda hilarious u must enjoy being a complete jackass but hey how could u not love david cook eh? I so want to stop reading this dam blog but i just have to know what your gonna say next and no one wants to see u with no bra on thats just nasty n not in the good way but i mean this for every one i think any kindf of naked- ness is gross the only time it should be down is when no one else can see lol I am so glad i can be opinionated without being crass hmmm. i am glad u went out u absurdly judgemental cat woman lol

  14. Toddy permalink
    May 25, 2009 3:01 am

    God I love you. This is so stimulating.

  15. May 25, 2009 12:12 am

    I’m not some prima donna who dresses up…ever.)

    Fibber. I’ve seen you dressed up for a night out on the town. If I ask those sheep, I bet they can back me up.

    Do I spy a Stacey Hankins in there? What about Svagina? The two biggest door hogs of all? What about Marty?

    Bring on part two!

    And tell Mistress P she needs to pop by Idletard and get some edumucating done πŸ˜‰

    • TopIdol permalink
      May 25, 2009 12:17 am

      You have seen me dressed up…but I was still wearing jeans.

      Dressing up is me throwing on mascara and heels with jeans. It’s a good thing my job or lifestyle requires little other effort on my part.

      I just thought if I was going out, I should wear heels with my jeans. And mascara. I thought that was normal! Next time I go to a Cook show, it’s a sweatpants and no bra. Hell, I won’t even brush my teeth.

      • May 25, 2009 12:42 am

        Just flop the girls over one shoulder, drag on a feather boa and you’re set for a good night of rocking it out! BYO greasy meal.

        Next time? Ha! The frauen will hunt you down like a dog now, they know what you look like.

  16. SarahBeth permalink
    May 24, 2009 11:51 pm

    You know, and coming to think about it, I probably saw you walking around at some point because I was not too far in front of those cute girls with the t-shirts in line outside and they actually ended up not too far behind me inside. (like, right behind me).

    And I’m totally a jeans and chucks girl myself (Which is totally what I was wearing too). πŸ™‚

  17. Jennifer permalink
    May 24, 2009 11:15 pm

    Looks like Christmas came early this year. Looking forward to reading the rest!

  18. SarahBeth permalink
    May 24, 2009 11:05 pm

    I really wish I had gotten to meet you and Nifty. 😦 But definitely, next time.

    Oh yeah, that lady with the friggan andy thing? TOTALLY rude, stood in front of me and when I asked her if she could move over a little, she was like, “there’s no space” when there was. Thankfully, I was able to slide a little bit to my right so I could see, but its like, seriously, if you’re tall, don’t run to the front or if you want to be up front let shorter people in front of you.

    /rant.

    Looking forward to part 2. πŸ™‚

    • niftywench permalink
      May 24, 2009 11:08 pm

      Sarah, we’ll all just have to get together locally one night for dinner and conversation πŸ™‚

      • SarahBeth permalink
        May 24, 2009 11:47 pm

        I love that idea. πŸ™‚

        Lets plan.

  19. Missy permalink
    May 24, 2009 11:05 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading the rest of your story. I talked to 2 friends that were there last night and boy the stories they had to tell! I believe the words f*cking a-holes were used by one of them. They weren’t even in the same group of people, but had similar stories. YIKES!

    • niftywench permalink
      May 24, 2009 11:08 pm

      “effing A Holes” is a perfect term for some of the wretched people we encountered!

  20. niftywench permalink
    May 24, 2009 11:03 pm

    YESSS INTENSE GUITARIST, raising his Goblet Of Rock!

    I’m so glad you brought the two new friends to our spot on the line after they lost theirs – they were two of the nicest people there!

Leave a Reply

