Skip to content

Catching up on SYTYCD

June 8, 2009

I’m just now watching last week’s episodes of So You Think You Can Dance.

Ok. Gotta admit I’m pissed 1980s British Hair chopped that amazing-ness off. Come on, Nigel! I hope that shit is grown out by tomorrow when the show goes live, of course, it doesn’t matter, because I am STILL calling you 1980s British Hair.

So far, I got misty-eyed when Natalie got the boot. Yeah, I know. I’m a fraking sap sometimes, aren’t I? And while I adore me some Mia Michaels, I worry her hair is looking a bit too Kate Gosselin? But it moves, so that’s a good sign. I won’t consider it a strike against Mia just yet, plus I know awesome Sonja Mohawk choreographer chick would NEVER let Ms. Michaels commit such unabashed crimes against hair follicles.

I promise to get on top of the recaps tomorrow once the Top 20 begins! Because hello? Who doesn’t love spending the summer with Cat Deeley?

I heard the annoying spicy Latina chick doesn’t make the Top 20. Thank flying spaghetti monster. That chick drives me nuts. And she has Runaway Bride Eyes. That shit ain’t spicy, it’s called crazy.

SYTYCD also booted the now-requisite(?) young widow right away, hell, they even booted that Natalie chick who was soooo close last year. These people are brutal yet…wait…so does everyone else have a more compelling back story or is gasp, SYTYCD proving its superiority-over-Idol once again?

Oh come on. It doesn’t even have to work THAT hard. It has CAT DEELEY. Right there alone it makes it so much better. (Yes. I have a total girl crush on Cat Deeley and I’m not afraid to admit it.) Hell, its like the polar opposite of Idol. Its a reality TV environment where talented African-Americans, Asians and gays do typically fair better than the rest of the honkeys in the competition. AND it has Cat Deeley, so…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 11:28 pm

    And it also doesn’t have druggies, self-absorbed twats, or broken records as judges.
    It does, however, have an arrogant deity. But those are always excused, as they are deities and are therefore allowed to be arrogant. Well, sometimes.
    But still somehow I get more bored w/ SYTYCD than with Idol. Don’t know why. It might be because my sister thinks she’s good enough to try out (which she is not, I assure you, she just loves Dancing With the Stars and so now thinks she’s a ballroom dancer) even more so than she thinks she can try out for Idol, so I get sick of her making bogus critiques on dance style and whatnot.
    Don’t you love pretentious snobs? My family has three!

    • TopIdol permalink
      June 9, 2009 12:42 am

      Its been difficult for me to get into it this season, but I think its more b/c I was burned out from blogging about Idol so much?

      We’ll see tomorrow. I still think I liked the competitors last year so much more. Twitch! Joshua! Katee! Courteney! Come back!

Leave a Reply

