Skip to content

ZOMG Adam Lambert is Gay

June 9, 2009

Adam Lambert on Rolling Stone

Although I will never understand why being a homosexual warrants a public declaration upon a magazine cover (or because self-appointed spokesprick of all gay people, Perez Hilton, won’t stop calling you a pussy unless you finally confirm it), I will give Adam Lambert some props for doing it in a magazine with at least an ounce of legitimacy (granted, its not the RS of the 1970s…but what is?), as well as stating he was never IN the closet. It was kind of decent form of appeasement, bridging the RIGHT way of saying, okay, I’m gay (see Neil Patrick Harris), so fraking what vs. YES! You don’t care that much about me but now I am out and proud declaration on the shitrag People Magazine (see Clay Aiken, Lance Bass).

I’ve been living in Los Angeles for eight years as a gay man. I’ve been at clubs, drunk, making out with somebody in the corner.

And a cover story in Rolling Stone, well, not a bad thing for an aspiring musician, even though Rolling Stone has, in recent years, given the treatment to such luminaries as Carson Daly and The Olson Twins, just to name a few.

Since I’m pretty sure Lambert is buddies with the incredible god figure NPH, and he’s been in the business long enough, he might be able to succeed. Barring the actions of those batshit crazies he endeared himself to during Idol, he may just carve out a decent career for himself. He certainly is more adept at playing his cards better than his shit show predecesors.

Besides his admission of deciding to try out for Idol after a psychedelic experience at Burning Man (So…was he candy flipping or just on straight up E?), he also gave those wacky Kradamites enough material to work with for the next five years.

They put me with the cute guy. Distracting! He’s the one guy I found attractive in the whole group on the show: nice, nonchalant, pretty and totally my type — except that he has a wife. I mean he’s open-minded and liberal, but he’s definitely 100% straight.

I don’t really ever see the need for fan fiction, so I’ll just tell you what I think is the best part about that quote, because its not Lambert admitting to a crush on Hot By Default. It’s the fact Lambert insinuates Hot By Default may actually believe being gay is part of one’s biological and chemical makeup, not a lifestyle choice. And wait…he also said liberal along with open-minded, so…I’m kind of thinking Kris Allen may have even voted for Obama.

In the ongoing culture war of religion vs. reason, I can’t help but to think about all those Jesusfreaks who may have voted for Hot By Default because of his wholesome Arkansas upbringing and worship leader cred. You chose a guy who was more representative of your beliefs, yet you’re too hypocritical to realize this guy is more “Christian” than you will ever hope to be. Just as sexuality doesn’t define us, neither do religious tenets. Sadly, this is a concept not everyone seems to grasp.

But being accepting of others? Isn’t that how we should all define ourselves, regardless of who we sleep with or what we do or do not believe?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. AIFan permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:26 pm

    I bet you that Adam thinks that majority of his fans are young and good-looking. Boy, is he in for a shock ! lmao

  2. SpinningFasterAndFasterToNowhere permalink
    June 11, 2009 2:27 am

    Adam…gay? zzzzzzz

    Adam finds Kris Allen hot? WAIT I JUST WOKE UP!

    Aren’t they BOTH going on tour…together…in the same bus…for weeks…Adam top bunk…Kris bottom bunk…’tight quarters’?

    Now THAT is interesting…lol

    Adam…gay? zzzzzzzz

  3. Trish permalink
    June 10, 2009 1:11 pm

    Am I the only person who was a little taken aback by his “bi-curious” comments? It all struck me as a tad disingenuous. I know he loves playing the role of “tease,” but I guarantee you, he’ll have female fans now trying to take him up on his newfound “interest”!

    From the print edition:

    “He leans in. ‘Lately, you know, there’s a part of me that’s almost bi-curious the other way around. I’ve made out a few times with girls at nightclubs when I had way too many drinks. I don’t know if it would ever happen, but I’m kind of interested. I don’t think I would want to do it with a groupie, though.’ He cocks his head. ‘Then again, maybe I’d rather it was with a stranger than someone I knew.'”

    • Ehvah permalink
      June 10, 2009 11:02 pm

      That’s because he hasn’t seen the Frau yet, one look & all that curiosity will go away 🙂

  4. June 10, 2009 12:34 pm

    quote from a friend:
    “Adam Lambert is gay.
    and in other news, water is wet.”

    Love the cover, and love your post, especially the last sentence. rock on, TI.

  5. beinghonest permalink
    June 10, 2009 10:27 am

    lol hell nah thats unforttunately true i wonder how kris is taking this…and i bet there will be animosity on tour with adam sarver and danny just like that time when constantine punched scott on the tour lol oh the drama

    ok scenario kris’s wife-stay away from my husband u bitter lil whore!
    Kris-But I love him!
    Kris wife-I am gonna kick your glam rock cher singing ass! and she screams u cant have my husband no matter how charmaing you are…then out of a window they fly
    Adam I will always love u kris!! u were my boy crush….

  6. June 10, 2009 7:28 am

    BFD, we all knew. The only ones that didn’t are his most tard like fans. Watching the wailing and gnashing of teeth will be amusing.

  7. shy permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:40 am

    about75% of entertainers are gay and play straight for their careers (coughs ryan seacrest)he wont lose that many 2 where he wont make any money he is still talented go kradam!!!

  8. shy permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:37 am

    all I have to say is duhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I knew when he sung cher he was gay every gay man knows at least ons cher song I bet their are still people who would love to think he is straight o well…

  9. June 10, 2009 12:59 am

    omg. When I saw that quote about Kris I positively CRACKED UP. Which is why I sent it to you even though this was probably published already.
    And you know the tards are just going to keep dreaming of TURNING HIM STRAIGHT lmao.

  10. Deez permalink
    June 10, 2009 12:46 am

    I’m sure HBD is fine with what Adam said. I can imagine though, that he will get sick and tired of this comment being blown out of proportion over the next few days. There are several articles already that make it sound as if Adam’s compliment was a marriage (er…civil union) proposal.LOL!!!

    If nothing else, Adam keeps a buzz around Kris with his remark. This publicity is a win/win…now the press is clamoring for a response. Adam is VERY media-savvy. The only negative thing I saw was on a Christian site that was wondering if Kris would have a rebuttal-type statement….they guessed he would not.(they’ll have to pass it to Sarver and Gokey for that) The site also said people should determine what was more important to them before forking over cash for any upcoming albums. I really couldn’t tell for certain whether or not that was directed toward Kris as well as Adam. Just wonder whether or not at some point in time, Kris may have to cut some ties with some of these groups(assuming that he has any) if they pressure him to speak against someone about whom he cares. (MYOB people!)Adam doesn’t want to be an activist, and I seriously doubt Kris does either

    • TopIdol permalink
      June 10, 2009 8:00 am

      Send me that link!

      • Deez permalink
        June 10, 2009 9:32 am

        http://everydaychristian.com/blogs/post/2814/

        It’s fairly subtle…enough so that I’m not exactly certain what was meant by some of the statements. Perhaps I read too much into it, but I wonder if they are attempting to “latch on”? There’s another article on Kris linked there…so I just wonder.

  11. June 9, 2009 11:37 pm

    Adam Lambert is gay? Adam Lambert is frickin’ hot! That’s one hell of a photo. Acid green has just become my new favorite color.

  12. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:29 pm

    Kradamites everywhere are rejoicing! Nothing wrong with a healthy man-crush, especially with these two! I’m pretty sure this is something HBD and Adam have covered and got out of the way pretty early on in their roomie days; everything he has said here he probably has shared with HBD during their late-night pillow talks (teehee). Wouldn’t be surprised if Adam isn’t the first guy to admit to crushing on him!

    Now I’m curious to know if HBD is going to say something in response! I bet the fanfic writers are jostling each other to draft that statement.

    Also, seeing that HBD is a pretty well-travelled guy, he’s probably been exposed to many different cultural interpretations of social behaviour. Boy has been to Thailand; he’s probably met a few ladyboys on that trip alone!

    And yes, Adam looks pretty hot on the cover, although I still like the photo of him sans makeup in the AfterElton top 100 list best. Gorgeous!!

  13. June 9, 2009 10:28 pm

    I bet he brushes his back every morning.

  14. SarahBeth permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:28 pm

    I don’t really ever see the need for fan fiction, so I’ll just tell you what I think is the best part about that quote, because its not Lambert admitting to a crush on Hot By Default. It’s the fact Lambert insinuates Hot By Default may actually believe being gay is part of one’s biological and chemical makeup, not a lifestyle choice. And wait…he also said liberal along with open-minded, so…I’m kind of thinking Kris Allen may have even voted for Obama.

    In the ongoing culture war of religion vs. reason, I can’t help but to think about all those Jesusfreaks who may have voted for Hot By Default because of his wholesome Arkansas upbringing and worship leader cred. You chose a guy who was more represntative of your beliefs, yet you’re too hypocritical to realize this guy is more “Christian” than you will ever hope to be. Just as sexuality doesn’t define us, neither do religious tenets. Sadly, this is a concept not everyone seems to grasp.

    But being accepting of others? Isn’t that how we should all define ourselves, regardless of who we sleep with or what we do or do not believe?

    I completely agree with this. Adam is not only well spoken, but he isn’t ashamed of who he is, nor will he hide it. Plus he tells it like it is, without the bullshit. Its why I am really looking forward to this article.

    I’m so not going to lie, that is a hot ass picture.

Leave a Reply

