Skip to content

Kris Allen continues to be awesome without even trying

June 18, 2009

Kris Allen wonders why Danny Gokey is here, too

If you read my blog during this Season 8 of American Idol, you will know that I liked Kris Allen from the beginning. Hot By Default is a LIKABLE and talented guy, so it actually annoys the shit out of me when people say there was some bullshit conspiracy and Adam Lambert really won. Whatevia. Lambert is on the cover of Rolling Stone. Neither one of these dudes are crying.

Granted, I don’t blame either one of them for crying during and after the impending Fraumageddon, but hey, I hope both of them do okay…in spite of the two big things they have going against them — coming into prominence on American Idol and subsequently gaining legions of obsessive, batshit crazy fans.

But in a couple of interviews posted today by MJ, we have discovered yet ANOTHER reason to like Hot By Default — in addition to him actually being a musican and finding no difficulty in reconciling his love for that Jesus dude AND gay people.

Hot By Default has a TRAGIC BACK STORY WHICH ZOMG WAS NOT PIMPED ON THE SHOW EVEN AFTER THEY MAY HAVE FIGURED OUT HE WAS NOT GOING TO BE THE CANNON FODDER AS TBTB INTENDED.

What is one thing that fans dont know about you?
“I don’t know if people know this or not: I actually had a tumor when I was 13. I had to have one of my ribs removed. I don’t think a lot of people know that. And I have a sweet scar now. It’s awesome”

So you’re telling me this dude had a tumor and a rib removed when he was barely a teenager, yet he did not make tumor shapes with his hand when telling people to vote for him? And shame on you, M.R.S. Katy Allen! Why weren’t you holding up ultrasound photos of his tumor when they showed you in the audience?

YAY, Kris Allen! Keep rocking on your humble, viola/guitar/piano-playing, bible-reading, missing-a-rib, homo-loving self.

(ETA: He needs to be sitting next to Quatto! HBD needs to talk Quatto out of hiding. Only he can do it. A new photo from Matt Giraud’s Twitter)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Isidra permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:37 pm

    I realize this is an old post, but if you’d like another reason to like Kris Allen, apparently his backstory is even more interesting than the tumor thing indicates at least according to this article.

    The show missed a really good opportunity to exploit the whole started writing music after a near death experience thing.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 31, 2009 10:28 pm

      I read about that awhile back. I love how he didn’t pimp it. Hell, Scott McIntyre didn’t even mention his kidney transplant.

  2. Tessa permalink
    June 24, 2009 6:27 pm

    Kradam awesomness; interviews. Interviewing each other. With a water bottle. Enough said.

    😉 They’ve warmed my heart.

  3. June 19, 2009 3:29 pm

    Excellent.

  4. Kovacs permalink
    June 19, 2009 9:00 am

    Another reason why Kris is awesome, it’s because MRS Boring Allen (I keed, I love the Barbie wife) is awesome too!

    http://www.kxmc.com/News/393319.asp

    “As for his wife having a problem with Adam, Kris says his wife told him let Adam know “that she had a crush on him.”

    • Deez permalink
      June 19, 2009 11:07 am

      That is gonna be one interesting summer tour!

    • SpinningFasterAndFasterToNowhere permalink
      June 19, 2009 8:31 pm

      I read that on Billboard.

      That was a very cool response. Also Adam texted Kris saying “I am so embarrassed” and Kris replied “don’t be embarrassed”. Then Kris told Adam that Katy said that Katy had a crush on Adam.

      Love the exchange.

      lol OK…I am fangurling now…lol

  5. June 19, 2009 7:27 am

    YAY, Kris Allen! Keep rocking on your humble, viola/guitar/piano-playing, bible-reading, missing-a-rib, homo-loving self.

    heh….this.

    Yes, I have joked about going to the Central Park thing, but don’t think I could stand the crowd of inevitable crazies. I admit to being a little bit of a fangirl 🙂 but not in that chase them across the country kind of way. I will be content with my tour stop. But I refuse to wear any designated color or hold a glittery sign lol Am I still a fan? lol

  6. Deez permalink
    June 19, 2009 12:05 am

    I also read somewhere (Krisallenation maybe?) that he contracted a disease on one of these missionary trips and spent weeks sick in a hut and almost died. That pretty much trumps heart hands, designer frames, and harps.

    • June 19, 2009 12:08 am

      As one of his batshit crazy fans, that is true.. but I don’t remember where I read it. He said he lost 20 pounds from that and that’s when he realized it’s good to have people helping him out when he was sick. Okay, now i really wish I was obsessive so I can remember the exact scenario.

  7. Sammy permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:58 pm

    he actually didn’t say Adam was to a snake what he was to a koala. He said he’d probably pose with a koala on the cover of RS. Man I hate when people misquote, especially when it seems they are trying to make someone else looks bad.

    • Andrea permalink
      June 19, 2009 12:27 am

      No harm meant, dude. Really. Koalas + Kris just makes me laugh.

  8. June 18, 2009 10:45 pm

    haha.. tumor shaped hand signals. dude, the wife totally should have flashed a picture of him post operation to gain some sympathy votes. wait, he didn’t need it =)

    Also, I am not afraid to admit that I am one of his batshit crazy fans. hehe

  9. Andrea permalink
    June 18, 2009 9:20 pm

    The best part of the chat was where HBD said that as Adam is to a snake, he is to a koala.

  10. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    June 18, 2009 8:54 pm

    He mentioned that he had one less rib in his top 36 interview. That was the first time HBD revealed his dry sense of humour. And again he mentioned it in an interview with OK mag. Dude is awesome. TI, I think we must have some photo or video evidence of this sweet scar, yes?

Leave a Reply

