Skip to content

Regarding those pesky Danny Gokey Twitter Trends…

July 10, 2009

Danny Gokey: Don't Ever Make This Face Again

This is a timely and interesting article about Twitter Trends / Spamming in today’s Mashable. Check it out. I thought about these same issues last night when I discovered a certain top-ranking Twitter trend when I hopped online.

While part of me finds the whole #sophiasheart response to last month’s #gokeyisadouche Twitter Attack utterly laughable, it does help illuminate certain truths.

First off, all those Twitter trends are just becoming spam central. It’s obnoxious and annoying. It’s one thing if you’re trying to market something tangible (i.e., #moonfruit or #evpwsop), its another when its just SPAM. Once something starts trending, then people just attach all sorts of obnoxious spam to it, rendering a lot of these top trends useless.

(And in general, Twitter is annoying…but I don’t have time to get into my opinions on Twitter in regards to sociology and pop culture, nor do I have time to do any textual analysis so…)

Second, Gokey fans launching a Twitter attack on the anniversary of their beloved Idol’s wife’s death? I believe this may have been on command from him? Not sure, but while I’m sure people want to do things for charity, this isn’t the way to do it. And frankly, the guy should mourn in private rather than on…Twitter? He might have gone about this shit in the wrong way, but everyone loves to air their personal bullshit on Twitter these days. Of course, his fans seemed to run with this and hell, I’m sure they really piled on the tributes and memorial donations in the hopes he would notice them.

I didn’t care for the guy on the show and most of the stuff he says and does makes me cringe, but I can’t go so far to say he is a horrible person. I don’t know the guy and from what I’ve seen, a lot of his actions could be out of naivite or stupidity…or the fact Pastor Rolex has served as a role model spiritual leader for the last several years of his life.

Pastor Rolex is always lots o’ fun on Twitter. He talks about eating out a lot. And movies he sees. And the treadmill. He eats a lot, then he talks about going on the treadmill to burn it all off. He also seems to travel a lot. Must be on church business, of course. Tithe away, FBIM Faithful, tithe away!

Let’s check out some of Pastor Rolex’s recent Twitter gems.

Here is one Tweet where I think he may display a tinge of homophobia, but I’m leaving that up to you. The guy has a habit of talking out of his ass. Most obviously, he is once again actively voicing his love for both food AND material consumption.

Also, why does it feel like my manhood is in question if I’m with another guy and we both order soy lattes?!
about 1 hour ago from UberTwitter

Right before talking about Sophia Gokey yesterday, Pastor Rolex pimps out his church service. Like, seriously…he pimps it …

Can’t wait for church tonight @ FaithBuilders Milwaukee! Gonna be off the CHAAAINN!Kickin it old school with my homies!Meet ya @ the crib 7p
10:14 AM Jul 9th
from web

The Pastor Rolex goes into the Danny & Sophia Gokey stuff, but it takes about 3 or 6795 Tweets because he is so verbose. I’ll just post them all in one string…

Those who love & care about Danny Gokey please remember that today is the one year anniversary of Sophia’s death! It would be great if u…
10:59 AM Jul 9th
from web

(cont) Please pray for Danny and Sophia’s family! Maybe send Danny an encouraging tweet!:) Sophie was the best and she is in our future!
11:01 AM Jul 9th
from web

@dannygokey Been praying for u today! Just read your tweet! I can’t tell u how proud I am of u! Sophia was the crowning jewel in ur life…
about 22 hours ago from UberTwitter

(Cont) that was always evident! U loved her and always took care of her and she ALWAYS did the same for u! Thank u for fighting thru the…
about 22 hours ago
from UberTwitter

Pain to live out one of Sophia’s dreams for ur life! You are honoring her desire! Love you man!
about 22 hours ago
from UberTwitter

Like I said, I don’t know about Danny Gokey being a douchebag, but I’m 100% positive Pastor Rolex is one. Sure, I hated most of Gokey’s performances,  the heart hands, the “godly way” stuff with Sarver, the Jesus shit, et al, but sometimes I just think the guy is clueless and/or naive rather than a bastion of complete and utter evil douchebaggery.

Basically, I pretty much just wonder if the guy would be a bit easier to take had he not stumbled into Faith Builders International Ministries for services one day, don’t you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:18 pm

    This guy is not going anywhere in the music business. Saw him in Tampa and he has no excitement about him and I guess he just refuses to get the advice of a stylist. God he needs one. I predict in a year we will hear from him pushing his charity and selling his self produced CD. He should be able to squeak out a living from being the head of the charity and he can sell his CD in small bars around his home town. I just hope I never hear of him again.

  2. July 11, 2009 8:36 am

    Why does this fat loser try to sound like he’s down in Harlem with his gang bangers?

  3. deez permalink
    July 10, 2009 11:26 pm

    DAMN YOU!!!Top Idol! I was not prepared for that monster mugshot. I just made a noise like one of those tennis players and it’s a good thing my chair is situated on this springy swivel thingy, otherwise I’d be on the floor right now.

    • TopIdol permalink
      July 11, 2009 1:20 am

      You must want me to post Quatto, no?

  4. Catttt permalink
    July 10, 2009 3:01 pm

    Homophobic? Oh, yeah. He has several such comments just today. I plan to stay far away from this guy. Example from twitter today:

    “pastorjpruitt I must be old school…I don’t even feel right about going in a grocery store w/ another guy! Is that bad? #fb #sophiasheart
    about 4 hours ago from UberTwitter

    FaithPrevails @pastorjpruitt 1st soy latte now the grocery store! Juz stay away from the fruits & nuts area! lol
    about 4 hours ago from web”

    • TopIdol permalink
      July 10, 2009 3:07 pm

      Oh wow…

      Good thing he’s attaching the #sophiasheart hashtag with it! Way to promote hate, Pastor Rolex!

Leave a Reply

