Skip to content

The Greatest Banner Ad Ever Created — Goth Chat City

July 24, 2009

Thank you, Shosh.

Last night, Shosh and I were talking via the Twitter and she was talking about some random free chat site she stumbled upon. Given I had just come home from having a few drinky drinks and was laying in my bed with my laptop unwinding for the evening, I asked her what the link was because it sounded rather bizarre.

No, I don’t go chat on free sites for weirdos, which must be the second coming of the infamous Party Lines, which inexplicably are advertised on various television networks past midnight on a daily basis. Who calls these things? Who ever did? I remember calling them when I was in 8th grade and then giggling and hanging up. I’m convinced most of the people who called these things back in the day were also junior high students doing the same thing.

Anyway, it was worth clicking the link because lo and behold, on the right side was the GREATEST BANNER AD OF ALL TIME!!!

Goth Chat City -- The greatest banner ad of all time

As a writer/copywriter, I really want to meet the person who wrote this incomparable gem. I have a feeling they just churn out banner ad copy for random websites, but hey, let’s give some credit to the designer, too! They found the most awesome piece of stock art EVER to help promote Goth Chat City. Look at that chick. She’s like Claire Danes on My So Called Life, but rather than the short-haired blond woman, she was birthed by the Runaway Bride lady.

I love this banner. It is the greatest banner ad of all time. (Even if we all know every young goth isn’t a real goth. Goth died with the advent of Hot Topic. The final nail in goth’s vampiric coffin was Twilight. )

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 1:15 am

    I like the banner ad I found a while ago, which actually also incorporated glitter into it, also advertising pretend Goth stuff.

    Twinkle twinkle!

    • TopIdol permalink
      July 28, 2009 1:38 am

      Apparently, Goth Chat City is THE place for goth to chats.

      NEVER BE ALONE WITH YOUR THOUGHTS AGAIN!!!

      (Duh. Why the hell do you think I have Oskar?)

      • July 28, 2009 1:43 am

        If you combine Goth Scene and Goth Chat City, do you get talkative goths who fart glitter?

  2. July 28, 2009 12:56 am

    Wow. Are banner ads the new shark jump? Can a flat-brimmed hat/tom hardy belt chat room be far behind? 100% Douchebag all the time?

  3. July 24, 2009 9:34 pm

    OH RIGHT and um I am no longer polite about my recap starting tomorrow.

  4. July 24, 2009 9:34 pm

    HAHAHAHA.
    Dude I got bored of that site FAST. No one has a sense of humor. They’re all sexual predators or just horny people who want cybersex.
    But that ad. I got it several times and I would just burst out laughing.
    Wow.

Leave a Reply

