Skip to content

Adam Lambert fans in Charlotte, NC: Middle-Aged Manic Panic

August 1, 2009

My mom would call the bitchy old women at our grocery store blue hairs. Sometimes, she claims, they would also pay no heed to my hands which clung to the sides the shopping cart (I liked going for rides!), and bang into them without even acknowledging her, myself or apologizing for their rudeness.

I guess these women are blue hairs, too. But not because their silver rinse offers a tinge of blue in just the right light, as they do sort of range in ages, but because they actually dyed sections of their hair…blue.

I bet Adam Lambert clicks his heels together three times before he goes on the stage at each and every Idol tour stop, repeating with all his might, There’s no place like WeHo, There’s no place like WeHo, There’s no place like WeHo.

Adam Lambert's Glamberts in Charlotte...with beautiful blue streaks

42 Comments leave one →
  1. MattFan permalink
    August 23, 2009 3:34 am

    The blonde on the right w/ the pink shoes is my friend Kari, and she is actually more of a Matt fan than an Adam fan

  2. Kari permalink
    August 23, 2009 2:42 am

    First and FOREMORE, YOU- who wrote this bullshit- FUCK YOU. You’re asking for a backlashing. You’re the fucking idiot to write such IGNORANT things. I’m 23 years old. YES- I dyed my hair. Not b/c of Adam, but because I WANTED TO. I’m not a “GLAMBERT”! I was there to celebrate my friend’s, daughters 13th birthday & to enjoy the show. I hope you feel like a complete and TOTAL asshole for making this post even. I’m in the dress, bottom row,to the right, short, blonde & multi-colored hair. Are you just so jealous that you can’t STAND that someone ELSE met Adam. Boo-FUCKING-HOO. Adam unlike YOU is NOT a hater, and doesn’t give a SHIT when people come together to have fun, and meet up for a dinner. It’s people like you who give “fans” a bad name. If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. I have a real job, and got MANY compliments not just from people @ the concert, but also from people at my place of business. Before you go posting people’s pictures you should fucking THINK. I understand this is supposed to be a good hearted, and laughing/joking kind of blog. But you have officially pissed me the fuck off. Don’t post pictures of people, and then not expect them to get mad. No, you did NOT say my name, but you referred to people who are MY friends. And I don’t take well to people talking smack about ANYONE who is my friend. Why’s it your concern anyway how old anyone who’s a fan of anyone is. Get over yourself, and get a fucking LIFE!!!!

    • August 23, 2009 6:32 am

      Adam unlike YOU is NOT a hater,

      Unless you’re fat and smelly.

      get a fucking LIFE!!!!

      From th Big Book of Tard Cliches.

      • Kari permalink
        August 23, 2009 5:24 pm

        Is that what you are? Fat and smelly? Is that why you write such horrible things about people? Did you see the Meet and Greet pictures? And can you ALSO see that I’m not fat, nor am I smelly? Get a clue, seriously.

        “From the Big book of tard cliches”? WTF is that anyway? You must’ve written it apparently. Do you live in some sort of DREAM world or WHAT? You have nothing better to do than sit on your computer all day and talk shit to people that you don’t even know? Ha… Great life… Hope one day all of you grow the FUCK UP- and learn that life isn’t about being skinny, or pretty, or what color your hair is, or anything else for that matter. Life is way too short to worry about superficial bullshit, and ALL OF YOU- should be completely ashamed of yourselves!

  3. Glambert2212 permalink
    August 23, 2009 2:41 am

    I am the one with the blue streaks in my hair and I find what you have to say about our little gathering highly offensive! I am a 35 year old mother of two who runs my own business. As well, I do event planning on the side and that is why I volunteered to organize this wonderful group of people so that we could meet in person and socialize. My hair was dyed in honor of my daughter. This was her trip for her 13th birthday! If you have a problem with it, I am sorry. But my daughter was thrilled, and that means more to me than anything you could ever have to say. My customers have gotten a kick out of the whole thing and I am still a highly respected member of my community. Adam actually really like my hair, and that also means more to me than anything you could ever say. I hope that someday you are able to open your eyes and your mind and see things from a more enlightened perspective. And may I also remind you that as humans, it is not our place to judge. If I have done something wrong in enjoying to the fullest a weekend trip with my children (the little boy in the pic is mine too), then God will judge that in the end!

  4. BeeBee permalink
    August 9, 2009 5:16 pm

    The music itself, such as Whole Lotta Love and Mad World, belongs to a much earlier era, from 30-35 years ago. Led Z. was big in the 70s, when many of these ladies were in their teens and early 20s and listened to and saw Led Z.
    Tears for Fears’ Mad World- a bit later.
    With a few exceptions, the Idols are singing music from those eras, so it is natural that these ladies would be glad to hear the music – THEIR music. It is also natural for them to rave about Adam, because he looks exquisite and sings everything beautifully.

    • deez permalink
      August 9, 2009 7:54 pm

      I agree with everything you said. However, I still fear that he will wake up one morning in a strange bed to find a fiftysomethingish woman standing beside him with a sledge hammer and a piece of 2×4.

      • TopIdol permalink
        August 9, 2009 8:16 pm

        You mean a sledge hammer, 2×4 and glittered & stenciled tard sign.

        • d. b. cooper permalink
          August 9, 2009 9:21 pm

          The sledge hammer is glittered and stenciled as well.

  5. Robbinsroost permalink
    August 8, 2009 9:16 am

    Deez, I could not upload the article to which you were referring, but if an older Glambert (or a younger one for that matter) has Adam’s eyes tatooed on her, that is creepy. Most likely it was not Adam’s eye, but a copy of his tatoo, the Eye of Horus, which is an Egyptian symbol of protection, which he had applied after making the Top 36. I don’t have any tatoos, nor will I ever have any. Still, the picture you posted was not that of crazy older people, with shell Adam busts, or Adam eyes tatooed all over their body. I think we would all agree that is fanatic. You choose to post a picture of a few fans of all ages, gathered for a meal in a nice restaurant, with one 35-year-old with blue in her hair, along with her 13 year-old daughter. No one else in that picture had blue hair, or Adam busts, or Adam tatoos. You should expect to be criticized when you post a picture of a group and set them up for derision, by using them for your post about Adam fanaticism, when the subjects posted are of all ages, and not in that category. Yes, I think Adam’s star is the sort that will breed this sort of far out fan–like that Elvis and Michael Jackson, and they will be of all ages. Yes, Adam probably does have a large amount of older fans who are just now going to concerts and being more excited over him than anyone since Elvis, but I would say, and imagine that he would agree, that that is a good thing for him, and it’s not harmful to the fans, as long as they keep an eye on reality, and respect Adam’s space. I suspect being an older Adam fan, and going to a concert, even with black nails and blue tinted hair, is a better stress buster than drinking or taking drugs!

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 8, 2009 10:36 am

      No one has a problem with older fans. I have repeatedly said I think people of all ages should enjoy whatever music they happen to like. It’s that simple.

      The problem lies more in over-the-top fandoms. Do I think a 70-year-old woman has no right liking Adam Lambert? Absolutely not. More power to her! Do I think its strange for someone to get a tattoo of Adam Lambert? YES.

      http://www.idletard.com/blog/archives/10080 (Deez, was there another one?)

      • deez permalink
        August 8, 2009 11:41 am

        No pictorial evidence of another tatoo…just the comment from the girl at the concert.

        Robbinsroost:
        The way she stated it (for me) showed shock that someone had Adam’s eyes tattooed on a body part. (not the Eye of Horus, eye of a needle, eye of a potato, but “Adam’s (possessive) “eyes” (plural))I do not find that hard to believe, I’m sorry to say. That person probably owns the shower curtain (https://topidol.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/adam-lambert-run-while-you-still-can/ ) as well, LOL.You have to remember that there are crazy people and AI seems to attract a large portion of them.

        As far as the picture is concerned, I tried to explain about that in my previous post.(not too well, I guess) Top Idol is not making fun of the people in that picture personally. She doesn’t know them from Adam (sorry). It’s just a picture, it could’ve been ANY picture of any random group of fans. Top Idol’s blog is meant to funny, I rarely see anything truly mean-spirited here (well, maybe sometimes in the comments). She’s made fun of things that a little close to home for me too, but geeze, people, you gotta have a sense of humor while you’re here. Life is too damn short.

        Nothing personal. AND….chances are, if you are reading this blog instead of weaving a scrapbook cover from your own hair, then you have nothing to worry about.

  6. deez permalink
    August 7, 2009 8:15 pm

    Sorry, couldn’t resist, here you go:

    redcoloredstarsOmfg…creepy older Glambert near us got his eyes tattooed on her. CHRIST ON A CRACKER. we’re the youngest in front row lol
    less than 10 seconds ago from mobile web

    copied from: http://community.livejournal.com/ontd_ai/1618635.html?page=2

  7. Kareen permalink
    August 4, 2009 9:57 pm

    You explain the point you are trying to make.

    • deez permalink
      August 5, 2009 12:36 am

      alrighty then………
      re-read the comments from myself, Starkvegas, and SpinningFasterandFaster,…you are only seeing what you want to see. SOME fans are delusional. They are 60 yrs old (for example) and spend time and money making papier mache busts of Adam so that they can personally do his hair and make-up. They scream and writhe as if they were 14 and the new issue of TigerBeat just came out. They dress, talk, walk, and tweet cool acronyms as if they honestly believe that they are indeed fooling everyone. It is ridiculous, and I will laugh.

      NO-ONE, I repeat, NO-ONE is laughing at a 60 year old fan who attends a concert with her nails painted black and cheers for Adam (or anyone else). I’ve seen some 60 year olds who, quite frankly, put younger women to shame. (if you look closely, however…none of those particular ladies will be dressed like Madonna from her “Like a Virgin” video as they paste together a macaroni shell vest to give to Adam at the 14th M&G they’ve been to so far this summer)

      The point is, the particular people in this photo notwithstanding(they are merely a representation…a microcosm of a much greater lunacy), that we are poking fun at the CRAZY OTT Tin-foil-hatted obsessives. If you believe that these flakes do not exist, then your name is probably to be found among their ranks.

      • deez permalink
        August 5, 2009 12:41 am

        And…I mean “your” in the sense of anyone who reads the comment…not you personally…I am snarky, but do make an effort to not be rude.

      • TopIdol permalink
        August 5, 2009 2:23 am

        Right now, I am leading the “80s Movie Clap” for Deez. YES YES YES!!

        Beautifully said. Well done.

  8. deez permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:59 pm

    So many people missing the point.

  9. Kareen permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:08 pm

    For the life of me, I don’t see anything wrong or unusual about the picture.
    The very young ones shoud remember that someday they also will reach a riper age and that being older or mature doesn’t mean you are dead.
    I should know. I am 72 years young and enjoy Adams music and voice.

  10. LauraFleurs permalink
    August 4, 2009 12:55 pm

    I am in this pic – dead center behind the girl with a pink shirt, and I’m 31 years old. My nails are painted black – as they have been before. Black nails have been in style BEFORE Season 8 of AI and Adam, btw. But, first, why would you hate on a group of people that chose to have a civilized dinner at a nice restaurant? Secondly, the “middle-aged woman” to whom you’re referring is 35 YEARS OLD. Thirdly, it was her 13 year old daughter’s birthday, and she asked her mom to dye all of their hair in celebration. Fourthly, they all had Meet & Greet passes and the FIRST thing ADAM LAMBERT said to her was nice hair! Blue, silver, and black are Adam’s tour colors, which is why they dyed it in the first place. There is no need – and it is just downright rude – to make such hateful comments and call ANYONE a “tard.” Adam would be embarrassed by such behavior.

    Sorry you weren’t there to join us and have the great time that we did. Most of the group, myself included, got to meet ALL of the Idols, including Adam, and quite frankly, jealously isn’t becoming. Besides, if the “middle-aged” people hadn’t been there, then neither would their tweens. Someone had to take them.

    To put people down to make yourself feel better is really just a reflection of your own sadness. I hope you feel better soon.

  11. Robbinsroost permalink
    August 4, 2009 9:59 am

    You know, I was in that group, and I am 62 years old, though I don’t think you can see that in the photo as I am not in the front. We had a nice dinner in Charlotte with a group of Adam’s fans. We were all ages, all professions, and it was fun. That’s the first time I have ever joined a group like that, but thanks to the internet, that is now possible. There were several career professionals attending the dinner, and no, I chose not to have blue hair, or black nail polish because that is not me, and I would have felt ridiculous. Anyone who wanted to do that, though, is ok with me, as long as they remain respectful of Adam’s space, and everyone did that I could see. I think it is amazing that Adam has fans from tweens to the 70’s. This will make him the huge megastar that he deserves to be. Older professionals have the money to spend on concert tickets and cd’s (I took my 31 year old daughter with me). It was amazing to see the generations together, having fun. The lady next to me in the Greensboro concert (yes, I went to that one too), was 55, and she said she came just for Adam, and had not been to a concert in years. She did not have blue hair or glitter, and neither she nor I, screamed, but we were up dancing and enjoying the music. In the words of the famous poet, Robert Browning, “Grow Old Along With Me, The Best is Yet To Be.”

  12. deez permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:05 pm

    Crazy people never realize that they are crazy.

  13. rickey permalink
    August 3, 2009 9:37 am

    really, what’s wrong with dying a streak of hair blue? from what i can see in this pic, no one’s really going over-the-top with the makeup and clothes they wore. they seem respectable enough and to embarrass them in this blog in NOT cool at all! why the fixation to detract adam’s fans? let them, no let US fans, enjoy and support him in any way we can. we adore him and for us, He is THE IDOL! nothing you negative bloggers can say or do that can sway our belief that Adam will go a long way in the music industry.

  14. GerryinNJ permalink
    August 3, 2009 9:10 am

    I’m a 71-year-old man who LOVES Adam. His music is awesome! I can hardly wait to see him in Philadelphia on August 20th. I’ll buy any record he makes.

    • Starkvegas permalink
      August 3, 2009 12:25 pm

      It is great that you love Adam, but it isnt about age. Just don’t show up to the show covered in glitter, blue streaks in hair, squeeing like a 13 yr old-only then will we make fun of you!

  15. peter permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:05 am

    i need avid secks with a goat

  16. SpinningFasterAndFasterToNoWhere permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:02 am

    wow, these Glamtards are so sensitive. This blog is just for fun. Chill out.

  17. winnie permalink
    August 3, 2009 2:34 am

    d. b. ;

    The title of the piece is Middle-Aged Manic Panic. Did you overlook that in your little commentary? Tsk tsk.

    I do agree with deez in that some of these ‘fans’ go way over the line. They seems to think that they have a propitiatory stake in him for some reason. They are so embarrassing that I would never want to join any of the various fan groups, even though I am a fan of Adam Lambert. I wish him a long and successful career, and hope that he can still have some semblance of a normal life. The fact that he may not can be laid right at the feet of these so called ‘fans’.

    • Starkvegas permalink
      August 3, 2009 12:34 pm

      The title is because she wasn’t making fun of the kids…just the crazy old ladies who do this shit. Kids doing dress up is cute, middle-aged women not so much.

      I thought for a brief moment about going to the show with colored extentions in my hair ala Alison, then I realized that I am a freaking sane adult and I would look ridiculous!!!

  18. d. b. cooper permalink
    August 3, 2009 12:50 am

    Proof that a little reading comprehension can go a long way:

    Top Idol said:

    I guess these women are blue hairs, too. But not because their silver rinse offers a tinge of blue in just the right light, as they do sort of range in ages, but because they actually dyed sections of their hair…blue.

    discostix said:

    I guess I’m just not sure what the point is of making fun of and degrading people simply because they are older and happen to enjoy Adam Lambert. Do you supposed when you’re older you’ll just shut yourself up in your house and just wait to die? I think it’s pretty cool that he has inspired some of these older fans to be excited about something. They are accepting him for who he is which is amazing since many come from a generation where being gay was not acceptable.

    Not to mention I don’t see anyone in that picture who looks to be so old that they’d cause Adam a moments pause.

    I don’t think Adam for one second wishes he was back in WeHo being the understudy in Wicked. He’s living his dream and EVERY fan is making that happen for him, even the “blue hairs”

    itsallgood said:

    WTF is wrong with you Topidol? Do people older than your tween years frighten you for some reason?
    I see a variety of ages in this pic, all enjoying themselves however they want to. So what do you mean by middle-aged manic panic?

    peggy said:

    I for one enjoy Adam singing and dancing on stage and get to see him in Kansas City the 30th of August and I happen to be 74….I care less what people think of an old woman loving music….avid Elvis and MJ fan all my life….

    cimi said:

    I DON’T think age should have anything to do with who and what you like. God…why don’t you just dig a grave for me, throw me in it, and be done. jeez! I hope when I turn 50 I still have the right to enjoy life! gimmie a break

    This post had nothing to do with age. It had everything to do with a group of people dying their hair blue because of Adam Lambert. Which is hilarious.

    • deez permalink
      August 3, 2009 1:23 am

      People of all ages should (and do) enjoy music…..but delusional, crazy 60 year olds who dress up like they are 16 (and believe that they look awesome), and spend hours painstakingly gluing glitter patterns on a toddler’s onesie before fitting it on a stuffed unicorn and shoving in the face of a 27 yr old singer as they shake uncontrollably….do in fact, need to be made fun of.

    • August 3, 2009 4:26 am

      This is what tards do, see. They grab hold of something they find offensive and go with it. It doesn’t matter what the real point is. It doesn’t matter if you meant that in the first place.
      THEY HATE YOU CUZ YOU MAKE FUN OF THEM AND YOU ALWAYS WIN.
      Oh, these Tard Wars.

  19. cimi permalink
    August 3, 2009 12:28 am

    I DON’T think age should have anything to do with who and what you like. God…why don’t you just dig a grave for me, throw me in it, and be done. jeez! I hope when I turn 50 I still have the right to enjoy life! gimmie a break

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 3, 2009 12:42 am

      People of all ages should enjoy whatever music they want, I thoroughly believe this. However, it’s a lot of the behavior associated with many of these women…like the bras, et al.

      • Nich permalink
        August 3, 2009 12:49 pm

        ITA. No one says you can’t be a fan once you hit a certain age but if you’re over 40 you can’t act like a teenager, IMO.

  20. peggy permalink
    August 2, 2009 9:05 pm

    I for one enjoy Adam singing and dancing on stage and get to see him in Kansas City the 30th of August and I happen to be 74….I care less what people think of an old woman loving music….avid Elvis and MJ fan all my life….
    so just keep rockin’ and singin’ that music Adam….You are the best that has come along in a long time…….

  21. itsallgood permalink
    August 2, 2009 2:59 pm

    WTF is wrong with you Topidol? Do people older than your tween years frighten you for some reason?
    I see a variety of ages in this pic, all enjoying themselves however they want to. So what do you mean by middle-aged manic panic?

    Considering your generally snide blog posts, I find it much more scary that you run an entire blog dedicated to all things Idol, and yet manage to sneer at most of it.

    Is it that your life is generally unhappy?

    • August 3, 2009 4:24 am

      Yes, TopIdol, tell us your problems.
      I think the reason tards drive you crazy is because your life is generally unhappy.

  22. discostix permalink
    August 2, 2009 10:00 am

    I guess I’m just not sure what the point is of making fun of and degrading people simply because they are older and happen to enjoy Adam Lambert. Do you supposed when you’re older you’ll just shut yourself up in your house and just wait to die? I think it’s pretty cool that he has inspired some of these older fans to be excited about something. They are accepting him for who he is which is amazing since many come from a generation where being gay was not acceptable.

    Not to mention I don’t see anyone in that picture who looks to be so old that they’d cause Adam a moments pause.

    I don’t think Adam for one second wishes he was back in WeHo being the understudy in Wicked. He’s living his dream and EVERY fan is making that happen for him, even the “blue hairs”

  23. August 2, 2009 4:48 am

    LOL “There’s no place like WeHo” BAHAHAHAAA.
    Indeed there is not.

  24. d. b. cooper permalink
    August 2, 2009 2:26 am

    I think the one dressed in all black at the far right has the best chance with him. Very butch.

  25. deez permalink
    August 1, 2009 10:35 pm

    There are just so, so, SO many things wrong with this picture.

Leave a Reply

