Skip to content

Kris Allen & Jim Cantiello: The B-Sides

August 15, 2009

I love Jim Cantiello and I love Kris Allen. So I always love when Jim gets to interview Kris Allen.

Sure, the “real” interview is amusing, but the B-Sides are where it’s at. Jim and HBD talk nasty old women tongue baths, whips (from which I gathered HBD may not be into that sort of thing?) and how the buttons on his shirt keep getting unbuttoned as the tour goes on. I found it particularly hilarious how the talk of a shirt’s buttons caused a segue way into talk about Greasy Constantine Maroulis.

(This was no surprise to me because I completely understand how this sort of thing would happen while giving an interview. If you’re going to talk Idols who show too much chest hair, which one is going to pop into your head? Walking VD, of course!)

I like HBD. I can’t even allow myself to hold it against him for liking Will Smith or Jennifer Aniston. Hell, he even likes John Mayer and I still like the guy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. SarahBeth permalink
    August 18, 2009 4:05 pm

    Just was finally able to catch up and watch this video and it’s TOO funny.

    And if they were to host a talk show? I’d totally watch it.

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      August 19, 2009 5:30 am

      I’ll join the production team. As producer (I have experience!). That way I can make a well-informed decision on the number of buttons HBD should undo on his shirt.

  2. deez permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:53 am

    I will admit that I ,too, love Kris…although he goes all “Mumbley Joe” in interviews (can’t understand about a third of whatever he says.) I know Adam is Awesome and all that…but he’s sort of “meh” for me. (dunno why…maybe the psycho Glamberts are just too off-putting…but, yeah, he prob shoulda won) If HBD does the shirt-button-full-monty, he needs to use Allison’s wind machine during his set, as well.I would take Kris in a Madam/HBD pec match.

    (Jim Cantiello is AWESOME. His “No More Gokey” dance was the next best thing to “No More Gokey” itself.)

    • aerina permalink
      August 21, 2009 5:58 pm

      IAWTC wait, are you me????

      • deez permalink
        August 21, 2009 6:33 pm

        Great minds think alike and are obviously drawn to this blog.

  3. badmood permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:37 am

    whips (from which I gathered HBD may not be into that sort of thing?)

    How so? He even alluded to using it, iirc. I think he’s aware of how he actually fuels the fanfic, which is strange and hilarious at the same time.

    I think both he and Adam are actually really likable in general, I’m kind of glad this is the season that got me interested.

    Also, Jim is my favorite professional Idol expert or w/e they’re called.

  4. yuppie permalink
    August 15, 2009 2:24 pm

    These were awesome! Jim Cantiello is one of my favorite people in the extended family of Idol. I love how he can mock, but also totally embrace all the fantastic cheese and mania that is AI.

    And Kris is really funny. His snark at Jim about Jim hating on Danny (and the look on his face!) was hilarious.

    Seriously, though, I’m beginning to think that it is virtually impossible for anything to ruffle Kris. Woman sticks a tongue down his throat? Yeah, she’s crazy, but whatever. Fans write non-PG-rated stories about him and Adam? That’s cool. No wonder he managed to deal with the crazy stress of AI so well. TPTB showed 13 seconds of me before semis? Whatever. The judges repeatedly threw me under the bus? Eh. Lots of people say Adam was robbed when I beat him? That’s cool because Adam is really great, too.

    I wonder what it would take to really rile him up.

Leave a Reply

