Skip to content

American Idol Tour — Boston: My Recap is Coming Soon…

August 19, 2009

American Idol Tour -- Boston -- August 18, 2009 -- Don't Stop Believin

I took one for the team last night and went to the American Idol show at the Boston Garden.

It only cost me $30, which was good, but I did need to have a few of those overpriced beers served in Dixie cups to get me through the show. Not that it was the most terrible thing I’ve ever seen, it just…I was at an American Idol show.

Sadly there was no dancing Pop Tart. (Pop Tards, though…) But I did laugh my ass off at the STELLAR background graphics. Those are one thing you don’t read too much about in the individual recaps of the shows, and I’m going to change that. The background graphics…well…WOW. They gave Megan Joy a Literal Music Video and poor Anoop was stuck with “rain”, causing people to get up and go to the bathroom. And then Danny Gokey was shadowed by a SUNSET and then SUN STREAMING THROUGH THE TREES and okay, I need to stop now…

I also played around on the Twitter throughout the show. It was actually kind of fun, although the awesome MJ had to endure all sorts of crap for dining with me before the show, mainly because some Adam Lambert fans freak out over stupid crap with predictable regularity. I guess Idletard and I are homophobes? Yeah. Homophobes and haters.

Pretty ridiculous. I don’t expect everyone to read what I write on this blog, but I do expect people to refrain from making insane allegations just because I voice my opinions regarding Adam Lambert AND the behavior of Adam Lambert fans. Yes, I think a lot of Adam Lambert fans are asshats for throwing shit on stage and engaging in overall buffoonery. No, I do not think Adam Lambert is the second coming of Elvis. I don’t think Adam Lambert can fly or shit unicorns. I’ve never said the guy wasn’t talented or that I didn’t like him. I just do not believe him to be a deity…which obviously means I am a homophobe.

I must say, the morning after? Just thinking about a supposed Idol Twitter Scandal of the Boston Show is making me laugh my ass off. What has this world come to, anyway?

57 Comments leave one →
  1. Cubra86 permalink
    August 20, 2009 2:43 am

    Heard youon the VFTW radio show..you were so on point.

    So true, if you don’t say that Adam is the 2nd coming of Jesus/Elvis/MJ…then you are wrong and you don’t know talent

  2. Lil Lulu permalink
    August 19, 2009 11:58 pm

    “If you don’t buy his album, you support Prop 8.”

    Damn it! I forgot to put my NOH8 twibbon on my Twitter account! What kind of Adam fan am I? See, Adam fans are very active regarding gay rights. Their methodology? They put twibbons on their Twitter avis, and they call people who don’t like Adam homophobes! Martin Luther King would be so proud.

    Oh well. I’ve got more important things to worry about than Adam’s career or his insane fans. But, damn it! I was having fun being an Adam fan this season. I hate it when the career-fans ruin it for the rest of us. No fair.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 20, 2009 12:05 am

      I have a feeling a lot of Adam fans don’t really know any “gay” people. Hell, they also capitalize Gay when referring to gay.

      • Lil Lulu permalink
        August 20, 2009 11:33 am

        So, they “Gay” is a proper noun like Episcopalian?

      • Brett permalink
        August 20, 2009 11:49 am

        Yes, the Glamberts do love their capital letters. Have you noticed that Adam is never just Adam, he’s ADAM. Apparently lowercase letters fail to convey the enormity of his talent.

  3. August 19, 2009 11:56 pm

    I’ve always lurked here, but love your site. After that ridiculous showing by the frau last night at MJs, I wanted to say I enjoyed your twitters, and can’t wait for the recap. And the tards were still at it today! MJ was doing her best to defend you, but they still kept up with their lunacy.

  4. yuppie permalink
    August 19, 2009 11:52 pm

    Wow. I was not aware of all that went down via Twitter last night. The Glamberts are a special breed of crazy. It’s not enough for them if you say he was great. You have to say that everyone else was like a nursery school student singing “Mary Had a Little Lamb” in comparison. If not, then you clearly have no appreciation for extraordinary talent, are homophobic, and are clearly deserving of death.

    Thanks for the info on Joanna Weiss. Her words on Kris were exceptionally mean-spirited, I thought. A buzzkill second only to the intermission? Seriously? That’s just ludicrous.

    • August 20, 2009 12:11 am

      You hit on why I can’t stand them. If you don’t say it was the “AdamLambertShow”, then you don’t have any taste, and clearly don’t know what music is. Another thing that went on yesterday, is the frau were saying that Kris is exploiting the Kradam thing and using it to ride Adam’s coattails. Poor Adam is just an innocent victim, getting taken advantage of by everyone. Then they act as if anything any of the others do was due to Adam, as though none of them have any knowledge of music. Nothing existed before him. UGH! Cooktards did that with him last year, and it really turned me off toward him. I think Adam tards will be even worse.

      • August 20, 2009 12:14 am

        That’s because Madam tards ARE Clay and Cook and every other psycho tard pack known to exist. They have come together in one enormous delusional mass of madness.

      • deez permalink
        August 20, 2009 12:29 am

        Ah yes, the Kradam opportunist discussion. That was probably the stupidest thing I ever read(well it was fairly stupid). HBD is purposefully using the Kradam friendship to gain fans.(because “fans=$$$”)The bubbletweets, the Kradam dance, the “top” jokes, etc are all a calculated ploy to gain fans…because, of course, without an attachment to Adam, he certainly wouldn’t have any.

      • Caitlyn permalink
        August 20, 2009 1:43 am

        That whole thing was really, really bizarre. I don’t post at MJs but I do go there sometimes for info, and I don’t understand where those people were coming from. I’m a huge Adam fan (and a huge Allison fan, and a Kris fan as well), and his friendship with Kris is lovely. Both guys are talented, even if their talent isn’t your cup of tea, and the fan base warring is stupid. My friends and I are in college and we would never act that immaturely. All the Adam fans I know in real life are perfectly logical people who don’t think he’s God and most of whom like Allison and Kris as well. Crazy flourishes on the internet.

        I wasn’t following you or Idletard on twitter, but looking now, the only potentially offensive thing I see is idletard callign Adam a “fat gay guy.” I would think it was rude if someone referred to Allison as “a fat Hispanic girl” or to Lil as “a fat black girl” but nothing worth getting worked up over. People freak out way too easily on the internet because it’s anonymous and they can.

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 20, 2009 1:48 am

          No one was offended by my insinuation that Lil Rounds had a camel toe. In fact, I don’t think anyone noticed. But I said something about a Glambert crotch video and OH NOOOOOOOOEEEEZZZZ

        • August 20, 2009 2:20 am

          But he is a fat gay guy. Duh.

  5. Steph permalink
    August 19, 2009 7:57 pm

    I don’t normally post, lurker, but I do read your site religiously and when I saw all this go down I was just shocked at how some people react to things.

    I’ll be the first to admit I love me some Adam Lambert but its this…entitlement that Glamberts feel to Adam that turns me off immediately. They don’t know Adam anymore than the next person but the fact that they feel the need to protect him against anyone who doesn’t think he’s the second coming….disgusts me.

    At this rate if the fans react this crazy over things people say and get this bent out of shape, grown adults at that matter, over something that I don’t think Adam would have taken nearly as seriously as his “protectors” seem too, its just going to get uglier.

    The Glamberts will ruin it for Adam just like the Claymates ruined it for Clay before Clay drove it home himself.

  6. August 19, 2009 6:40 pm

    *snickers* God I love setting up morons. They fell for it hook, line and sinker 😀

  7. Cubra86 permalink
    August 19, 2009 3:31 pm

    Oh Know..you did not drink the fantard kool-aid..you actually liked someone other then adam..how dare you? He’s supposedly the Star of Idol..the second coming and all…

    Remember the Bo Bice/Carrie thing…Bo Bice was very popular, and people thought he should have won over Carrie..they felt Carrie was boring, Like Kris..but, who has the better career.

    Now, I don’t know how Kris career will go, but I would not be shocked if Allison and Kris have a longer and more successful career

  8. Cubra86 permalink
    August 19, 2009 3:24 pm

    So true..if you mention that Adam was tired or not really 100%, you have these adam fantards jump on you..

    I like Adam, but guys he is not the 2nd coming of Christ..he’s not Elvis (will never be Elvis), he’ll have a good career..but honestly I see Allison being the breakout star of this season

  9. deez permalink
    August 19, 2009 3:11 pm

    Seeing all the crazed (yet organized) passion that the seemingly unending droves of Glamberts have for their man, can someone please explain to me how in the hell HBD managed to win this thing??

    • August 19, 2009 5:02 pm

      Glamberts are somewhat equivalent to Claymates and Clay didn’t win either.

      • TopIdol permalink
        August 19, 2009 6:08 pm

        I am starting to believe the Glamberts are going to out-crazy even the Claymates. Poor guy has obviously attracted all the crazies from all the other fandoms, too.

        • August 20, 2009 2:21 am

          Glamberts ARE Claymates. And Soul Patrol and Confrau etc etc etc. It’s an amalgamation of all the crazy.

  10. August 19, 2009 2:50 pm

    Oh my gosh, you’re such a homophobe because you didn’t think that he was the only good one. How dare you acknowledge that other people even slightly have talent?! Why do you even have an opinion?

    Yeah, that’s all so ridiculous. I’ve read your blog before and think your stuff is hilarious! I can’t wait for your recap!

  11. SarahBeth permalink
    August 19, 2009 2:42 pm

    So excited to hear your recap. Down with the haters, seriously.

    Loved your tweets too. 🙂

  12. tinawina permalink
    August 19, 2009 1:52 pm

    Sometime lurker, now inspired to log in and offer some support. I love your site (and your sense of humor) and felt you got a raw deal last night. Please don’t think you did anything wrong. Your tweets were funny! I can’t wait to read the recap, especially your take on La Princessa. Chao!

  13. Starkvegas permalink
    August 19, 2009 1:08 pm

    My favorite part was how awesome and hilarious they thought your tweets were until you got to Adam. And you didn’t even say anything bad about Adam! And how dare you like the original version better than the karaoke one! They also said you hate pale blonde people (I guess for calling that one girl Powder)

    Thank you for tweeting last night! It ended up being a pain in the ass I guess, but I enjoyed it. I love your snark…it warms my little black heart!

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 19, 2009 3:50 pm

      I do hate DUMB pale blonde girls, mainly because the ones on SYTYCD and AI tend to be idiots. It has nothing to do with the pigmentation of their skin.

      I fully admit to hating on those chicks. I did read that comment. I almost responded like, yeah, what is your point? I know I do.

      • Caitlyn permalink
        August 20, 2009 1:32 am

        I thought you went over the line sometimes with your comments about Kris’s wife during the season. Other than that, hate away. 🙂

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 20, 2009 1:47 am

          I was more or less kidding with a lot of that, and I have a feeling she’s probably a pretty cool girl. But hell, Idol didn’t want anyone to think HBD was that cool of a guy, so…

  14. d. b. cooper permalink
    August 19, 2009 12:15 pm

    *goes to read MJs live thread, crosses fingers the best stuff wasn’t deleted*

    • d. b. cooper permalink
      August 19, 2009 12:46 pm

      Agh, it’s pretty much all gone. If only MJ had a big pile of all the deleted comments, I’d pay to see them. So much good material, lost:(. MJ really went to bat for you, though it’s not good snark unless someone is offended. Looking forward to the recap.

      I’m so looking forward to when Adam’s inevitably crumby, watered-down, typically Idol first single comes out and these people have to pretend it’s the second coming so as not to lose face.

      You tone-deaf, homophobic bastard.

      • Caitlyn permalink
        August 20, 2009 1:28 am

        I’m really, really hoping that TPTB leave Adam’s and Allison’s voices alone, even if the first singles themselves are not great songs–those voices are too amazing to destroy with overproduction. Kris’s voice is lovely too, and it would be a shame to cover that up. But hopefully most fans are rational enough to not expect greatness from an Idol album produced in a few months.

        • Caitlyn permalink
          August 20, 2009 1:30 am

          Are those icons randomly assigned?

          • TopIdol permalink
            August 20, 2009 1:46 am

            Yes 🙂 Randomly assigned “monsters”. I thought they were more interesting than geometric shapes. 🙂

            • deez permalink
              August 20, 2009 1:28 pm

              That’s uncanny…..Mine is almost like looking in a mirror 🙂

              • Lil Lulu permalink
                August 20, 2009 6:36 pm

                I like my monster! She looks like she’s getting down at the discotec.

  15. August 19, 2009 12:14 pm

    I was reading the hysteria on MJ’s last night and was going to jump to your defense as well as Idletard’s, but MJ locked the comments. Which is probably a good thing.

    Apparently, anyone who doesn’t think Adam is the second coming is commiting a hate crime. Adam’s fans toss the term “homophobe” around like little kids who don’t get their way with their peers so resort to name calling. Except, calling someone a homophobe or racist is a pretty serious charge. It pisses me off.

    I adore Adam. He’s awesome and talented, and I hope he does well in the biz. But, he’s definitely not everyone’s cup of tea. Who knows? I might not like his album. It’s happened plenty of times before with other singers I adore. But, I guess I’ll have to buy it, anyway. Not buying his album will apparently mean I’m against gay rights.

    Anyway, glad you had fun at the concert! I can’t wait for the review.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 19, 2009 1:38 pm

      If you don’t buy his album, you support Prop 8.

  16. August 19, 2009 12:00 pm

    EFF THE HATERS! i so wish i was with you!

  17. _nannie permalink
    August 19, 2009 11:55 am

    Does anybody know what these spaniel sycophants WANT?

    They don’t really think Mr. Ohmyrockgawdsextoy has an amzing voice. When the dude sits down to sing a ballad, they don’t even listen to him. Here’s their chance to worship and they’re squealing in church.

    Are they hoping he’ll stop the show and try on one of the bras? Write his phone number on one and chuck it back? Maybe he’ll pull one of them up out of the audience to dance with him like an old Bruce Springsteen commercial?

    They GET a concert and potentially permanent damage to the inner ear, but do they fantasize about licking his boots? Or what the heck?

    • deez permalink
      August 19, 2009 1:53 pm

      He’s a nice looking guy with a great voice, but I don’t understand the sexual-frenzy. I fail to see the appeal for women here, although he certainly is trying his best with that performance…but I have more of a thing for baseball players, so obviously different tastes. (I could totally understand someone swooning over David Wright or Joe Mauer, however)

  18. Holabola permalink
    August 19, 2009 10:53 am

    The guy is good but “some” of his fans are not. Just sayin.

  19. deez permalink
    August 19, 2009 10:48 am

    You and Idletard did cause quite the stir last night. It was entertaining…I got popcorn and everything. Glambert meltdown. How DARE you merely LIKE him???????? You must proclaim him OMGGLITTERYROCKGODOFTHEUNIVERSEOMG!!!! or you are probably either tone deaf, a homophobe, from Arkansas, or employed by AT&T (maybe all 4).

    I anxiously await your sure-to-be-hilarious recap…I’ll then pop another batch and wait for the ensuing comment smackdown that is sure to follow.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 19, 2009 10:57 am

      I’m tone deaf and from Missouri. I think that’s enough to burn me at the stake, no?

      I think someone called for me to be arrested because I was dangerous or something. That’s a new one. Idletard sent me something on Twitter which I thought nothing of, something about throwing something, which was a reference to the Lambert fans who throw things on stage and then all hell broke loose. And it was determined I was a violent person who was a danger to everyone.

      I’m sad that you know top idol personally and feel the need to defend the behaviour. But I’m sorry, when someone tweets about throwing something hard at Adam’s head, that is threatening murder and should not be taken lightly. TopIdol and her partner should be charged with threatening a life. Talk about Adam’s fans being OTT, this vile talk should not be tolerated against anyone and I should hope that it is being reported to the authorities.

      • August 19, 2009 12:01 pm

        holy eff. you are the least dangerous person i know. i am PROUD to know you personally. what a bunch of shite!

      • deez permalink
        August 19, 2009 12:08 pm

        Oh…they are still talking about you today. Well that, and the review from the Boston Globe (have not read it) which apparently has dubbed Adam a megastar and called HBD a “buzzkill”. So yeah…thinly veiled taunting abounds in the comment section.

        On August 18, 2009 Top Idol and Idletard refuse to ingest the koolaid.
        August 18, 2009, a date which will live in infamy. (at least on Mj’s big blog)

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 19, 2009 1:17 pm

          The Boston Globe’s Joanna Weiss is an admitted Lambert tard. Remember the column she wrote in May regarding her Cougarship for Adam?

          While I usually balk at the tards when they rip on critics for bashing the contestants in their reviews, I am going to state the fact I believe Ms. Weiss, for all intensive purposes, had already written her review of the evening’s show before stepping inside the Garden. Would any of the contestants sell out an arena on their own accord? Probably not, and most of them never will, however, this whole “Lambert is the ultimate star” crap is bullshit. Allison Iraheta and Kris Allen are just as talented, if not more so (hey, we don’t know), but are just different kinds of performers.

          Judging by the audience response and his performance, I would venture Matt Giraud has picked up a lot more fans on the tour than during the show. He was energetic and wholly entertaining in a way we never saw on the show. I don’t know if he will end up having a decent career, but if I saw the guy playing in a bar, it would be a good time. I was surprised at my appreciation for his performance, although I cannot forget the sad fact of his sole responsibility in Quatto’s demise.

      • allie permalink
        August 19, 2009 9:13 pm

        I’m thinking the something they wanted you throw
        was a brick..No?

        • August 19, 2009 10:50 pm

          No 😉

          Stop making shit up.

          • TopIdol permalink
            August 19, 2009 11:14 pm

            I still can’t believe Lambert got popped in the knee with a DILDO. Wonder where the dildo is now.

            I wonder these things…I can’t help it.

            • deez permalink
              August 20, 2009 12:33 am

              Well, if it was widely known that it actually TOUCHED a part of Adam’s body…..I shudder to speculate……

              • August 20, 2009 12:41 am

                Ewwwwwwwwww! Now I am going to have nightmares.

            • _nannie permalink
              August 20, 2009 6:15 am

              I thought it was BAD that Adam kicked the dildo back into the crowd. Unless he has an—as yet unrevealed—soccer career, some little girl, or somebody’s mama probably got it in the face.

              Hmnn… pain and suffering, personal injuries, severe psychological damage, nightmares…

            • _nannie permalink
              August 20, 2009 5:22 pm

              Wait! I just had an epiphany! (and we know how painful that can be)

              The kind person who threw the dildo, saw Adam either pumping up the microphone stand or with his hand in his crotch for 50% of the song and was just trying to help?

  20. Brett permalink
    August 19, 2009 10:47 am

    I caught some of the witch trial at mj’s last night and I have to say I’m not surprised. You did, after all, have the temerity to mention that you thought Kris and Allison were both (gasp) good. The Glamberts don’t take kindly to any suggestion that someone else may share the rarefied air of their glittery alien. Clearly you are repressing a deep-seated homophobia that results in you being blind to his magnificence. Seriously, check this out (snippet from an absolutely gut-busting tour recap at mjs):

    Literally, the air changes. There is a molecular change to the fabric of the stadium. This tired old basketball hall shimmers like a new shiny night club. It’s smaller, almost intimate. The audience is his. But more importantly, he is ours. Unlike old, stud muffin Rock’n Roll, Adam is not trolling for the cute one in the third row to come service the man later. He’s going to serve our desires. He’s called himself an entertainer, often, in interviews. And that’s what he is. A voice of incredulous ability with one goal: Give each of us, personally, a joyously great time.

    Adam was everything I expected. With a few surprises. The lightness and radiant joy was unexpected. His physicality is incompletely conveyed in the tour videos. All that pelvic stroking to the beat of the bassline, back and forth, never missing the groove, is certainly compelling. But live, it’s actually just like a good bass: Anchoring, essential, but not the main focus. His face and magnetic expressions are much more prominent. And the voice is spell-binding, even when he’s ramping up the potenetcy of one of Rock’s stud muffinest throbbers. His voice paints the crevices of the arena and penetrates every rapt member of the audience.

    It goes on. But if I copy/paste any more I think my keyboard may vomit.

    • deez permalink
      August 19, 2009 12:00 pm

      OMG…I think I read that….there were like seven paragraphs (not seven total…seven on Adam)

    • Caitlyn permalink
      August 20, 2009 1:22 am

      To be totally fair, that recapper loved Kris and Allison tremendously as well–it’s fine to think her language is ridiculous, but she’s not a crazed Glambert incapable of recognizing the talent of others by any means. Here’s what she wrote about Kris:

      “Kris – Many of you may have become aware, post season, that Kristopher Allen is a sly dog. If this were the Wild West, and he sweethearted his way newly into town, all shy glances and wide-open preacher boy smile, he would – probably – not steal your horses and ride your women. But it would not be because he didn’t know how.

      Kris astonished me in performance. Didn’t matter that I had already been clued to the potential complexities under those interchangable plaid shirts by his just-behind-the-back-beat answers in interviews. Watch him get questioned. There is a nano lick before he answers. It’s not taking a breath, it’s leaving an almost imperceptible space in the expected rhythm of reply. Forcing you, the listener, to lean forward. Watch Brad Pitt and George Clooney together and you’ll feel the same pacing, luring you in. All calm, dry awareness. Like a pilot announcing massive turbulence wrapped around a rapier sense of humor.

      It doesn’t matter that Kris isn’t performing his own songs during his set, he makes it his own music. And apparently he takes music very seriously. It tears out of him. Like the only time he’s willing to reveal himself, his eyes closed it’s so personal. Just like his interview answers, you lean in as close as you can, listening for every word.

      The man can sing. Really sing. Lower register heaven. His unedited, ever-moving face a non-stop commitment to his belief in the power of music. Off stage, he may look like a boy band dreamboat. Onstage he’s a grown man, all passion and slow-burning fire. And I was totally unprepared for the sexy. Especially ten feet away. Kris has a much more complete relationship with that piano bench than Adam does with the mic stand. Loved every song. He can completely control an arena. The crowd was with him all the way. Everyone sang on Hey Jude. And what a panther rock god growl, Mr. Allen. Hard to believe he just turned 24.

      Marketing-wise: Will weep if they la-la him up and take the power and edge off his music. Or tart him into over-produced white-boy-wall-of-fuzz sound. If they don’t, then long, long success ahead of him. Maybe not for everyone, but to a much wider audience than power-voting tweens.

      Had a fabulous time. Want to see Adam and Kris singing right in front of me as often as possible.”

      • deez permalink
        August 20, 2009 2:26 am

        That’s pretty over OTT as well. Oh well, at least she spread the love.

Leave a Reply

