Skip to content

More reasons I really, really, really like Kris Allen

August 22, 2009

Kris Allen in Boston (August 18, 2009) -- American Idol Tour Season 8

I finally got around to reading the Los Angeles Times’ four-part interview with Kris Allen.

Best part:

That sent you through to Simon, Paula, Randy and Kara. What was that like?

We waited forever for the judges to get there. Finally I’m the next one to sing and I have to pee so bad. I’m really nervous and I have to pee, and I’m thinking, “I’m going to pee on myself on national TV. That cannot happen.” I asked, “Can I go to the bathroom?” I was told, “No, there’s no time.” And then by the grace of God or something, Paula spilled her drink on herself and they had to take a break. I ran to the bathroom and Simon and Randy walk in. I was at the urinal and I don’t know if I was supposed to be in this bathroom. I was going in the closest one I could find. And they surround me at the urinals. Simon’s peeing next to me on the left and Randy’s on the right and they’re having this conversation. I was really nervous before and now I wasn’t nervous anymore. They pee like the rest of us.

Kris Allen is humble, self-depreciating, pleasantly unfiltered, supportive of his fellow contestants, knowledgeable about music and dryly humorous in every interview. Kris Allen’s parents show ZERO signs of being greedy grifters who will sell fan club packages priced at $400. Kris Allen talks about urinals and PAULA SPILLING HER DRINK. Kris Allen plays the VIOLA. Kris Allen writes his own music. Kris Allen talks about urinals and PAULA SPILLING HER DRINK!!!!!

After perusing a monster thread regarding the Adam Lambert Smellygate interview on MJs a few times today, I couldn’t help but wonder (yeah, I was having a Carrie Bradshaw-voiceover moment):

Doesn’t it say something when a lot of Idol bloggers seem to universally agree on a particular contestant? While the Adam Lambert Glamberts are entering Claymate-levels of batshit craziness and Danny Gokey fans make hand hearts, if you frequent the blogs, you would see most Idol bloggers (independent and otherwise) seem to all really, really, really like Kris Allen. Perhaps it’s because I write this shit blog that I think there is something to be said about this observation. I sort of think Kris Allen may end up being the most critic-friendly of the majority of male Idol contestants and/or winners.

Yeah, I’m counting myself as an Idol blogger. Also counting MJ, Jim Cantiello, Michael Slezak, Rickey and even VFTW and Idletard. We all like Kris Allen. I don’t think any of us would make a puffy paint shirt proclaiming our feelings towards Kris Allen, but hey, at least we always spell his name correctly.

This Kris Allen fan spelled his name wrong with the puffy paint (Boston -- August 18, 2009)

84 Comments leave one →
  1. deez permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:32 pm

    http://community.livejournal.com/ontd_ai/2077548.html?page=2

    Found this @ MJ’s. A fan had a Kris/Anoop/Matt&Casey Carlson
    sighting(with pics) at a hotel bar.

    Matt is slowly making his way thru the S8 female contestants, lol, the lingering power of Quatto?

  2. deez permalink
    August 26, 2009 10:58 am

    http://www.twitvid.com/2C05D

    errrrr….serious, joke, or drunk??

  3. Caitlyn permalink
    August 24, 2009 11:45 am

    I’m a huge Adam fan and I love Kris–he’s a wonderful person and an extremely talented singer and musician, and I fully intend to buy his album, as well as Allison’s. I’d never watched the show before this season and accidentally stumbled across it and got hooked on Adam’s performances first, then Allison’s, then Kris’s, and those were the three who stood out on the show and continued to do so on tour. I don’t think the crazies will hurt his career at all (and I do think Kris has his crazies who are way too into him and too hateful towards Adam, based on what I’ve seen, they’re just not as numerous–and they won’t hurt him either), but the internet does seem to be a place for craziness to flourish, so I just wanted to say hi as a sane fan of these guys.

    I’m just curious, though–don’t all those bloggers like Adam and Allison too? IIRC, Kris was Cantiello’s favorite (their interviews are hilarious), Allison was Slezak’s (and yours, right?), and Adam was MJ’s (and Rushfield’s?). I don’t think that any one contestant was universally liked artistically during the season, but those three seemed to garner the most widespread praise, and pretty much everyone seems to like them as people, and they seem to be getting the best reviews on the tour (which doesn’t guarantee success, but it’s a nice starting point). As cliche as it is to mention Allison’s age, she’s only 17 (which feels condescending to say since I’m only 3 years older than that, but those 3 years do make a difference), and she’ll get better at interviews with time–but Adam seems to fit a lot of the criteria you were talking about–supportive of fellow contestants, humorous, musically knowledgeable, musically talented, widely liked, etc.

    I genuinely think that Adam, Kris, and Allison could all have extremely successful careers, and any one of them could be more successful than the other 2 or they could all have relatively equal success. I guess I’m just wondering why, based on the criteria you mentioned in this article, you think that Kris will be more successful than Adam and Allison? Again, he very well could be and I hope it’s clear that there’s no hate here for that opinion–I’m just confused because Allison and especially Adam seem to fit all those criteria as well, so maybe I’m missing something?

    Sorry for rambling.

    So,

    • Caitlyn permalink
      August 24, 2009 11:54 am

      “Either Adam is exciting while Kris is boring, or Kris is laid-back and chill while Adam’s a fame whore. It’s so annoying when both are actually really nice and interesting. You seem to lean toward the latter, which kind of saddens me after watching stuff like this interview.”

      I agree with this–people trying to pit them against each other or building one up by tearing the other down is idiotic. And I do feel like there can be a little bit an anti-Adam sentiment based on all the exposure to him or something along those lines, which makes me a little sad too.

      I already apologized for rambling, but one more thing: I do think that Adam, Kris, and Allison want to be famous and successful. Adam and Allison have mentioned the whole rock star thing, and Kris has said a few times that it’s always been his dream to play to arenas of 20,000 people. That only makes sense–who doesn’t want that kind of success?–and it doesn’t make any of them fame whores. But I do think that part of what makes those three interesting is how much they love music–they just want to make music and make a living while doing so, and I think that kind of authenticity attracts people.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 24, 2009 2:01 pm

      I think I stated in a comment (or maybe on MJ’s) that I felt the insanity towards Adam would be beneficial to both Allison and Kris, perhaps, but do I think one will be more successful than the other? No clue. It’s really too soon to tell, if I was judging by what I know about Idol, I would then go with Allison because male contestants have a tendency to not gain the widespread popularity/adulation within the mainstream as the notable females from the show. I do, partially, blame this on a lot of the fan behavior.

      Just because I was saying Kris was “all those things” doesn’t mean I do not think the same about Adam or Allison. Nor do I think other bloggers preferred Kris Allen over Adam or Allison, I don’t think many of us really cared who won (well…I don’t think many journalists/writers/bloggers/critics were rooting for Gokey, but…). Basically, I was posting what I thought was a pretty solid interview with Kris Allen and adding my typical commentary. While it doesn’t really surprise me at this point in my “Idol Knowledge” that writing that post would further brand me as an “Adam Hater” (which is beyond ridiculous considering I was THRILLED there was actually a gay Jewish guy from the West Coast on a show which seems to champion “wholesome, Southern Christians”).

      My favorites were Allison and Kris, but I liked Adam. I think he’s very talented, yet I appreciated the emotional investment witnessed in the performances of La Princesa and HBD because they were more believable than Lambert’s.

      • Caitlyn permalink
        August 24, 2009 4:33 pm

        I hope it was clear that I was definitely not branding you an Adam-hater? I know that others were, but you can obviously have him not be your favorite–or not like him at all–without being a hater. So, I hope it was clear that I was just wondering about some of what you were saying, but definitely not thinking that you were hating at all. 🙂 I do think that backlash against Adam because of all the attention/hype during the season can sometimes cause people to be more negative towards him than they would without that, but that’s a whole other thing.

        I’m still slightly confused because I thought you were saying that since Kris is all those things (which he is), you thought he might be the most critic-friendly of the bunch, which is a totally valid opinion, obviously. But if Adam and Allison are those things, too, then I don’t understand how being those things would make one more critic-friendly or successful than the others? I must still be missing something, and I’m sorry, I’m probably being stupid–I’m home with an unpleasant cold/fever thing, and my reading comprehension skills are clearly not at their best.

        Emotional connection is an interestingly subjective thing. For me to really love an artist, he or she has to make me feel something, so my favorite singers/bands are people like Tom Waits, Janis Joplin, Bowie, Radiohead, Queen, Wilco, and Gillian Welch. And that was what initially drew me to Adam when I first saw a clip of one of his performances–yes, his voice is amazing and he’s a good performer, but he just seemed so intensely emotionally invested in the music, and seeing theatricality combined with that kind of emotional honestly was really interesting. For me, he seems like the most emotionally connected of the bunch, which makes him the very powerful and involving for me to hear, and I think that is what a lot of people feel with him. And then Allison and Kris are emotionally connected and powerful as well, which is part of why I ended up loving them too, along with just their voices. But not everyone is going to share that opinion–not everyone connects to every singer, and not everyone is going to feel that investment from Adam or Allison or Kris. And I’m new to Idol fandom, but I definitely don’t get why ostensibly mature adults would hate on someone who doesn’t happen to love the singer they love. I guess it probably happens with every fandom, but it’s still weird.

        Sorry for rambling again. 🙂

        • Caitlyn permalink
          August 24, 2009 4:34 pm

          *emotional honesty (that was probably obvious, but just in case)

        • deez permalink
          August 24, 2009 5:08 pm

          Hmmmm my take on what she said would be this: While all three have their fanbases, Kris seems to have the most “general” appeal. Some call it safe, some call it boring…that’s not really how I see it. I see it as “honesty” in his music and performances. I really can’t credit Allison with that just yet, and as far as Adam goes, I think his “theatricality” hurts him. Everyone knows he’s an actor. His ability to do everything well hurts him somewhat b/c it doesn’t come across as honesty. It comes across as playing a part. This is probably a misperception to a certain extent. Adam seems a nice, intelligent, funny guy, but onstage he becomes “OMGSEXYROCKGAWDARARRRRGGGHHHH!!!!!”

          I think when Kris is onstage, you get the sense that real-life HBD and onstage HBD is the same guy. This works against Kris as well, b/c some people are looking for “different.” Kris doesn’t provide that…thus “boring/bland/vanilla”. That particular demographic aside, I think this is why Kris is said to have a wider appeal.

          Apples and oranges, really. I like them both. (although I can do without the horde of lunatics that surround Adam…Kris’s loonies are dressed in plaid, and give him clay skunks…they are harmless)

        • Caitlyn permalink
          August 24, 2009 7:30 pm

          deez:

          for some reason I can’t reply to you, so I’m replying to myself.

          I see what you mean, and I agree about Kris possibly having the broadest appeal and how that could both help and hurt him–and how Adam’s and Allisons’ more specific appeal could both help and hurt them. And I agree that Kris offstage and onstage is the same person–to each their own, but I personally don’t consider that vanilla or boring at all. That’s just how he is, and I love it. I really couldn’t imagine him any other way, and I wouldn’t want to.

          For Adam–I do agree with you that people seem more inclined to believe that he’s acting because they know he’s an actor (IIRC, he said at one point that he wished he had just said he was a sessions singer so that people wouldn’t be automatically thinking about him in connection with theater). It’s interesting–Adam is a performer in the vein of (has been said many times, so this is an extremely unoriginal comment) Mercury or (maybe more accurately) Bowie–he’s theatrical, he’s something else onstage, he’s not exactly the same onstage and off. And I could see that coming across as dishonesty to people, and some people just don’t like that kind of performer, which is fine. But what I like about Adam is that while he does change onstage, creating different characters, etc., it always feels to me like he’s pouring all of himself into each song. So, while he changes from song to song, it always feels emotionally honest because that’s just how he naturally interprets that song, and so it always seems like him (which is similar to how I feel whenever I watch Bowie). And to me, that’s just as emotionally honest as simply being yourself–it’s just a different kind of honesty. As you say, apples and oranges, and some people only like apples or only like oranges, and some people like both. 🙂 I like both too.

          Allison seems to me like she’s somewhere in between the two styles, though that could change as she develops–she’s definitely not transforming into something different each time she’s onstage, but she’s not exactly the same offstage and onstage either. I’m interested to see where that goes.

          That’s part of what makes these three exciting, IMO–they’re passionate about music, they’re creative when it comes to music, and they’re all three really different in style.

  4. whiskers permalink
    August 23, 2009 6:11 pm

    I just listened to last week’s VFTW radio show. You were a great guest!

  5. whoknew permalink
    August 23, 2009 6:02 pm

    This cracks me up completely. VFTW, idletard and topidol endorse Kris so he must be great. I do like Kris, but I think it is funny how you all lie about people to get your point across. There are very few people that actually post at your these three sites. I read VFTW, idletard and topidol periodically and you all just circulate from site to site. Do you really think Kris is going to give his album away for free. Guess what, he will be marketed just like all of the other idols and the record company will offer expensive packages. He will have crazy fans following him around. He is no different than any other idol. He has talent and so do other idols.

    I’m amazed at the amount of time you people spend stalking crazy fans. Yes sometimes you are funny and sometimes you are downright mean and not truthful.

  6. deez permalink
    August 23, 2009 3:27 pm

    If someone is as boring/bland/vanilla/forgettable as Kris has been branded, why all the stalker hate? I’m actually surprised some of these people havent written “you suck” with glitter glue on rotten tomatoes and lobbed them at him during “Heartless”.

    All this is nothing more or less than a one-upsmanship war.

  7. Carlisle permalink
    August 23, 2009 2:32 pm

    I adore Kris for many reasons (musical above all), but I must say that I got a kick out of watching him win over (almost) every cynical AI blogger during the course of the season. Lots of fun.

    • aerina permalink
      August 24, 2009 5:13 pm

      Even wehateidol.com gave Heartless the rating 10/10, I think the highest rating ever from the site. Considering all other ratings of the night were under 4 (Apologize got 4/10 as second best) and this coming from snarky haterz, I think Kris has proven himself that he is not bland and boring.

      The Glambertz also seem to think he is a threat for the allmighty rock gowd so they are trying to attack him in every articles and not just ignore him…….

      #I actually like Adam too, but most of his fans are just OTT and annoying, it kinda push me over

      • Caitlyn permalink
        August 24, 2009 7:46 pm

        I think it’s a fairly small contingent of crazies who regard Adam or Kris as a threat to the other and go around making mean remarks about one of them. A lot of people love both–Adam’s my favorite but I love Kris, ontd_ai is a community of people who love both, etc.

        I don’t really think it’s fair to let mean comments about your favorite make you dislike the other, though. When I was at the concert, there was someone behind me in a Kris shirt who kept calling Adam a “tranny” in a really derisive tone, and on most Adam articles there are some people saying very mean things, often related to the fact that he’s gay. But I would never, ever allow that to negatively influence my opinion of Kris. Most of his fans aren’t like that in real life, and the ones who are are not his fault.

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 24, 2009 8:09 pm

          It’s ignorant to ever call him a tranny or deride him because he’s gay. Those people suck donkey balls.

  8. ron permalink
    August 23, 2009 1:55 pm

    I like Kris. Even adam fans who hate him obviously remember him well enough till now. He’s a lot like Daughtry, Carrie, and Jorin, ‘boring” but fit in to an already popular genre. I think he has a good if not the best chance of getting success.

  9. beinghonest permalink
    August 23, 2009 12:13 pm

    Lol i still dont get it? They both will be has-beens trust me i call it the idol curse the only one that will survive the idol curse is Jennifer Hudson. Even Daughtry is slipping dam that cheesy ass show.

  10. yuppie permalink
    August 23, 2009 10:38 am

    Well, it’s finally happened in full-force, Top Idol. The Adam fans have found your blog entry that dares to say that Kris might just maybe have a better career than Adam, and have pounced. How dare you have such an opinion! Obviously, you didn’t get the memo from Brian May!

    BTW, Tim is the lead guitarist in the tour band.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 23, 2009 12:02 pm

      I’ve been going back and forth writing my recap and was trying to think of something to post, since I don’t have much time to post stuff during the week.

      I really had no idea I would be at over 50 comments in less than 18 hours for a post I really didn’t think was um, controversial?

      • yuppie permalink
        August 23, 2009 12:08 pm

        Silly you! Any post that deigns to suggest that Kris might have a leg up in any way on Adam is, by its nature, controversial. It is heresy against the gods of singing and superstardom!

        Also, you’re a homophobe.

      • Snotty permalink
        August 23, 2009 6:01 pm

        You said you liked Kris Allen. HOMOPHOBE.

        Yeah, I don’t get it either.

  11. SpinningFasterAndFasterToNowhere permalink
    August 23, 2009 7:04 am

    I don’t even think Kris cares if he becomes an “OMG!!11 AN INTERNATIONAL SUPERDUPER STARR!!111”

    • tardssavedmylife permalink
      August 23, 2009 9:03 am

      yeah agree. and his forgettability(?) will actually help him out. 10 years from now, if things doesn’t work out (although I wish him the best), when other AI doomed finalists are begging to be on DWTS and I’m A Celebrity or going on roadtrips to cater to fraus, he’ll go back home (where does he come from again?) live with his wife and 3.2 children and still be respected coz he won AI.

  12. EDIT. permalink
    August 23, 2009 3:12 am

    Kris is awesome. As Adam said: “Y’know, everyone should be like Kris. He’s nonchalant, loves everybody, he’s an amazing person and so, so talented. Friend for life. I adore the guy.”

    But WTF is with the Adam hate? Hate his fans all you want, I do, but WTF is with the Madam tag? Just because he doesn’t have a Southern accent and doesn’t look like your boy-next-door doesn’t mean he’s not a sweetheart. That is f-n retarded. He’s a beautiful person. He suffered depression in school and he still deals with SO, SO much unjustified hatred and vile prejudice and now he has to deal with f-n psychos.



    Some of his fans are MJ levels of batshit but they all have crazies. Kris’s fan literally stuck her tongue down the boy’s throat – snogging him.

    I think it says more btw that all the Idols, Kris included, said Adam was the one they leaned on. They could have said anyone (like idk, Danny the preacher or Kris) but they all said Adam.

    “If anyone one of us were uncomfortable about what the producers were doing, Adam would have a polite word. He took no BS and led us and it was amazing when we ‘won’. He’s an amazing team leader and an amaaaaazing person.”

    Kris: “Oh my gosh yes, I love Adam to death………..He’s loyal and fun to be around, really easy to talk and always there for you………..You can always trust Adam. He’s so genuine and seriously the nicest guy. — “Who are you closest to?” – Adam. Me and Adam spend a lot of time together. He’s my best friend. Adam is amazing. As a performer and as a person. I don’t think we’ll ever lose touch.”

    Matt: “I love hanging out with Adam, he’s so funny. He’s just great, he’s just one of the coolest people.”

    Anoop: “And he’s also one of the most truthful. He will tell you exactly what he thinks and it’s SO nice to have someone who’s unfiltered like that.”

    Michael: “He’s always got good things to say about everything that he’s faced. No matter what we’re doing in the day, he’s thinking about it in a positive way.”

    Scott: “Adam has quite the vibrant personality! I don’t think it would have been as fun without Adam *lol*”

    Allison: “Adam Lambert has to be the most crazy, outgoing, awesome, sweeeeeeeetest guy you could ever meet……….Oh my God I love Adam, he’s like my brother…………he is always there when you need to talk to someone or just need a hug.”

    Megan: “My favorite thing about Adam? He makes me feel beautiful. *voice thins as he puts his arm around her* Always.”

    Lil: “He’s always there for you. If I was having a hard day I’d go to him, or he’ll come to me and say “Are you alriiiight?”

    Danny: “Adam is fun! He’s fun to work with. He just brings out the best in people.”

    ETC. ETC. ETC. ETC. ETC.

    I’m glad he has Slash, Zeppelin, May, Manson, Tim Burton and all these other legends on his side when there’s so much hate. And I’m glad he’s grown into a strong person with thick skin, I couldn’t handle all this BS. He has a right to be so bigheaded carrying all that f-n talent and INSANE versatility around (who goes from WLL and SLOWRIDE to MW like it’s another voice completely with that much ease?!!!) but he doesn’t. He’s intense onstage and sweet and caring and laid back offstage. He has a hilarious sarcastic sense of humour, he’s human. Don’t know who will do better career-wise, Kris will probably surprize a lot of people though.

    • jayz permalink
      August 23, 2009 4:38 am

      good grief.

    • deez permalink
      August 23, 2009 10:34 am

      Who doesn’t like Adam? The “Madam” thing is just a term of endearment…ie Mormon Joy, HBD, La Princessa, etc….

      All in fun. Anything that seems directed towards Adam is probably done merely to incite the rabble (b/c it is really easy to do).

    • Snotty permalink
      August 23, 2009 5:58 pm

      Holy crap, it’s downright scary in here.

  13. deez permalink
    August 23, 2009 1:12 am

    Uh-oh. Apparently we’ve all been duped. Here’s a new theory from a poster @ Mjs:

    “Though speaking of video: someone point me to the best video of the best version of Kris’ guitar solo. One that shows his hands. One that, preferably shows Tim, too. Much as I like both Kris and the MFB, I don’t entirely trust them. I’ve seen another Idol fake play something actually played by Tim. It was obvious that was happening, even while fans were praising the Idol’s skillz. I don’t believe that’s what’s happening this time, but I want to see it with my own eyes.”

    HBD has been FAKING the guitar on stage???? And where are MATT and SCOTT while he’s “playing” that piano????

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 23, 2009 2:34 am

      Who the hell is Tim?

      • deez permalink
        August 23, 2009 10:36 am

        Tim is the band’s lead guitar player (should it be a source of embarrassment to admit that I know such things?)…the one who’s on stage with Kris at the end of “Bright Lights.”

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 23, 2009 10:38 am

          Has anyone made a Flat Tim yet?

  14. badmood permalink
    August 23, 2009 1:02 am

    But most tour reviews seem to rave over Adam and then become lukewarm about Kris. It is a little sad. I will agree that a lot of influential Idol bloggers give him due credit (Cantiello, Slezak) and that’s only a good thing.

    I don’t know if this is because I’m biased and thus optimistic, but I don’t think the crazy fan base should hamper Adam’s chances at success. You actively scour the internet for instances of these fans being batshit, and forget that the audiences the Idols hope to win over probably don’t give a damn about these things.

    Plenty of people who have heard of Adam don’t even watch Idol, let alone follow the tour shenanigans. And the most important part is that he may have the crazies on his side, but he also has the celebrities and media hype (Brian May, Rolling Stone) so people way beyond the AI bubble will be interested.

    It may sound weird to you, a blogger dedicated to documenting what goes on in the dank underbelly of the Idol fanbase, but it’s possible they’ve never even heard of the term ‘Glamberts’.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 23, 2009 2:33 am

      Oh, I agree. I had no idea any of this stuff existed outside of Clay Aiken until a year and a half ago.

      Most people don’t realize it, Idol is just something they watch when it’s on the air (if they watch at all). I just think it is being exposed more on the “mainstream” blogs lately (i.e., the lame douchebag Perez) and elsewhere.

      • badmood permalink
        August 23, 2009 3:11 am

        Hah, I’m just annoyed at the stupid logic in some of the comments here about ‘not having crazy fans’ corresponding to success for Kris. It’s a great thing, but irrelevant in the overall scheme.

        When people on Idol fail, it’s not because of their fans’ reputation. It’s because they suck, period. I am choosing to believe no one is exempt from that rule…no, not even Clay.

        • Lil Lulu permalink
          August 23, 2009 1:46 pm

          I agree with you Badmood. I posted something similar at MJ’s in that crazy-ass long thread. I didn’t discover TwoP until well into Season 3. (Back when it was still snarky and fun.) I was …. uh…. stunned by the passion of the fans. But, I still had NO idea about fansites, fanboard wars, people from fansites going to concerts in groups and suddenly considering each other bffs, the crazy signs and shirts, the bus stalkings. Then I discovered Survivor Sucks, and, ultimately, VFTW. My eyes were opened wide.

          However, I could have cared less about the crazy fanbases. If I liked music an Idol put out, I’d buy it. I really think that’s the norm. The crazies make for good copy, and can be fun/pain-in-the-asses on boards. But, if I’m in the car and hear a good song, I don’t think, “Oh hell no! I refuse to listen to this because his fans wear puffy-paint shirts!”

          On the other hand, I do think people who hang out on fanboards tend to be very competitive. Cheering for an Idol is like cheering for a sports team. You want the other guys to lose. So, along with the OTT fans of one Idol, there are the fans of other Idols who spend their days trolling the fanboards, putting down other people’s favorites. This brings out the bat-shit-crazies. And the bigger the fanbase, the more BTCs there will be. This season, I’ve noticed that Adam’s fans are out in force defending every slight against him, calling people homophobes, and berating bloggers and reviewers, while Kris’ fans have been out in force whining, playing the victim, and leaping on any piece of bad press they can find about Adam as proof he’s doomed to fail. So, if I were to support someone based on whether I liked their fans’ behavior, I’d guess I’d have to go with Scott. His fans seem very well-mannered. 😉 But, no. I like Adam, Kris, and Ali and hope the three of them find success. If they don’t? So what? Let his fanbases continue to argue about it for the next 5 years. Once next season starts, I’m onto the next crop.

          • TopIdol permalink
            August 23, 2009 2:07 pm

            If I hear someone’s song and I like it, that’s all I need.

            But I think some people, particularly younger fans, may be turned off by what they witness at some shows. Who knows. As for myself, the only thing I can really say about avoiding a show because of the fans…the David Cook show in Northampton I attended. It was EXHAUSTING. The shoving, the rudeness. I had never quite experienced anything like it before, and I’ve been going to shows all my life. Last season, I enjoyed Jason Castro on the show but his OTT fans (and family) ruined any chance of me buying his album. I hate saying that, and perhaps I would have been interested in the music he is putting out had I not had to deal with some of the fans or hear about their gift giving, their ass kissing to the family (of which the family completely ENCOURAGES), et al.

            I still do not understand why MJ or Rickey, or even myself, have been branded as “Adam Haters”. Regarding the OTT fans, many of them claim its “all about the music”. No, it’s not. Just as Lil Lulu said, there is the competition factor, almost as if many of them are “uppers”. It’s a competition of who is more devoted, who got to meet him, who got the better “fan moment”, who donates more to charity, blah blah blah.

            I haven’t trolled any of the Kris fan groups, or many of this season, in all actuality. MJ’s threads have provided much entertainment in that department and a lot of my observations are due in part for comments I receive here. I may have to go look for Kris fans whining, although I guess they have to go on the defense a bit when it becomes an Adam vs. Kris argument (which I will always think is so goddamn stupid to begin with since there is no animosity between the two and for all intensive purposes, BOTH OF THEM WON.), Obviously, I haven’t caught too much heat from Kris fans on here, but then again, the Glamberts have branded me a Kris Tard and a HOMOPHOBE. I don’t know if the Kradam fans hate me? I’ve always made fun of them but in the way I make fun of everyone, but maybe the bulk of them have always understood where I come from regarding them and their time on the show. I always said their “bromance” was very likable and very nice to watch. The finale would never have been endearing had Gokey been standing next to either HBD or Lambert. La Princesa del Mariachi would have been adorable with either HBD or Lambert, and why she went home in 4th place, I will never understand. Wait. I do. Because women make up the bulk of the whacko fans and we know how obsessive they get over the male contestants. But I will always say the Top Two was how it should have gone down, regardless of who won, and I think it was better this way. Lambert is still regarded as the star but HBD has the title, and hopefully this will allow HBD to go on to have a relatively successful career. What I have always found so refreshing about the latter, however, is how laid back and humble he is. The kid just wants to make music. I think the whole being “a star” thing is completely secondary.

            • blacklisted permalink
              August 23, 2009 2:50 pm

              Some fans do get turned off when exposed to the OTT fantard. I attended a few shows and was disgusted by what some of these battle-axes were saying about Adam (ie it is NEVER cool to talk about sex with a gay guy young enough to be your son, in front of your daughter and her tween friends) and their entitled behavior (e.g holding up a merchandise line or pushing children at the barracades).

              From what I saw, they are not the desired fanbase for the new Lord Gaga. Most of the OTT fans seem to fall in a particular category (straight, Caucasian, middle aged females) and I imagine Adam wishes for diversity. He can’t be ‘hip’ with that albatross around his neck. He wants them as fans but he doesn’t want them to be ‘representative’ of his fanbase.

              Regarding MJ. I always thought she was fair. During her chat after the finale it was a little surprising when she told Rickey and Jim that she thought Adam should have won. She’s always been very supportive of Adam (and the rest). It’s crazy when the Twats and others imply that MJ’s an attention seeking hater. Without her, they wouldn’t be getting half as many ‘spoilers’ or opportunities to gush.

              I know the Kradam fans on ontd_ai are mostly even tempered and laugh at themselves. Of course, most of them are young women and not bitter, dried up hags who only find enjoyment in trolling blogs and media outlets that make positive statements of idols other than Adam. I’m not sure what they expect to accomplish with that behavior except turning the rest of us off.

              • wino permalink
                August 26, 2009 4:51 pm

                I am actually embarrassed for these OTT fans, who claim Adam re-energized their life. how fked up can one’s life be if a reality show contestant has brought back meaning to your world? frankly, its pathetic. sorry TopIdol, the mere mention of Adam’s CRAZY fans in the same article about the awesomeness of Kris will bring out the haters. God forbid you or anyone else likes Kris, it means you are homophobe. Embrace the label and see you at the next Prop 8 rally. Hey, after we’re done, maybe we can drive around and pelt blind people w. stones. After all, I did read on MJs blog that you condone violence 😉

            • badmood permalink
              August 24, 2009 2:34 am

              Aww girl, I hope the tards didn’t actually intimidate you with their attacks. I thought you’re a pro at this sort of thing! Of course they’d label and accuse you immediately if you don’t worship Adam, they’re fucking Glamberts. It’s their job to be idiots, right? There’s nothing to understand about their behavior.

              I think the Kradam fans are the best of both worlds (of course I’d say that) except for the ones who make creepily intimate pictures of the two together and then bring them to shows to have them signed. Sadly there are extremes for every case.

              I hate how people can only see their personalities as a stark contrast. Either Adam is exciting while Kris is boring, or Kris is laid-back and chill while Adam’s a fame whore. It’s so annoying when both are actually really nice and interesting. You seem to lean toward the latter, which kind of saddens me after watching stuff like this interview. I really don’t think he’s what the haters make him out to be.

  15. Kimberly permalink
    August 23, 2009 12:16 am

    I believe the dislike of the Sam Harris comparison is due to the Broadway VS Rocker issue. Adam as Rocker does not work for me. Yes, he can belt out Queen, which is in his wheelhouse, namely the operatic stylings of Queen, the touches of Gilbert & Sullivan, the theatrical Queen — which I do seriously LOVE.

    Although, I believe Adam has lofty ambitions, right now he wants to be a recording artist. The genre he’s going for takes a good five minutes or more for him to explain. 70s glamrock fusion electronic dance pop … I think.

    Kris takes all of five seconds to tell us pop/rock. Both nebulous– whether it’s a thousand words or two.

  16. blacklisted permalink
    August 23, 2009 12:12 am

    Of course I meant “five margaritas” not five “margarita’s” since the latter would indicate an orgy. So sorry for drunk posting.

  17. blacklisted permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:34 pm

    As a typical shallow, 30-something year old music lover with disposable income, no children and a 3 concert a month habit, I do have to say that Kris has a leg up on most male idol winners in that he’s pretty and can play an instrument.

    Besides the ‘musician mystique’ (which makes grown women act like morons), singing ability and charm, Kris is also nice to look at. That might carry a mediocre first album and tour.

    Appearance wise he reminds me of Billie Joe Armstrong, of course, without the double chin. Oh how cruel mother time can be to the (formally) cute and adorable! I almost cried after seeing BJ’s neck flab up close and personal at MSG…but that’s another story.

    Anyway, with any luck, Kris will have a core group of fans hooked so that even the ravages of age and chocolate cake won’t deter the fantards from buying his albums.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 22, 2009 11:39 pm

      Appearance wise he reminds me of Billie Joe Armstrong, of course, without the double chin. Oh how cruel mother time can be to the (formally) cute and adorable! I almost cried after seeing BJ’s neck flab up close and personal at MSG…but that’s another story.

      “Mother time” is not used nearly enough.

      • blacklisted permalink
        August 22, 2009 11:47 pm

        As a feminist I never know if that makes me pro-women or if I’m insulting our brethren…uh, well maybe brethren is also insulting to our sisters.

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 22, 2009 11:52 pm

          Hmmm…how is father time different from mother time?

          Now you have me wondering about trivial shit again 🙂

    • Gene permalink
      August 22, 2009 11:49 pm

      Sadly, Kris is balding.

      • blacklisted permalink
        August 23, 2009 12:10 am

        Unfortunately, the English language and terminology is much too difficult to consider…especially after five margarita’s. Which is why sadly, I have no answer for you TopIdol.

        I will say that ‘mother time’ has been co-opted by breeder frauen to indicate something about ‘mommy time with little no-neck monsters’, thus a perfectly good feminist term has been turned on it’s head.

      • Isidra permalink
        August 23, 2009 12:15 am

        Fortunately we’re not going to be listening to his hairline.

  18. Kimberly permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:10 pm

    “I sort of think Kris Allen may end up being the most critic-friendly of the majority of male Idol contestants and/or winners.”

    I’ve said the very same thing myself not that long ago. I can’t shake the belief, no matter that I’m a realist. I’m hoping for both critical and financial success. Even the reviews of biased critics or the blogging of overzealous, over-invested fans of Adam Lambert can’t seem to shake my belief. The majority of critics without an axe to grind seem to really appreciate Kris Allen. He has held his own throughout the tour even while following the “heliospheric” vocals and flashy trappings of Adam Lambert.

    For myself, Sam Harris comes to mind when thinking of Adam Lambert. I recently listened to my Sam Harris’ albums, reinforcing my opinion of Sam = Adam. Though Sam’s albums initally were mainly pop songs, it was the standards and classics people longed to hear him sing. Even as a very young girl, it was the medley of Always/The Bells/I Need You, as well as, Over The Rainbow, that I played over and over again. It was perfection.

    Why Adam fans feel it’s an insult to compare Sam Harris with Adam is beyond me. Sam Harris is a gifted actor and singer. Adam is a gifted actor, singer and dancer. Adam sees himself as a chameleon. I do, as well. I see a variety of incarnations of Adam Lambert in the entertainment industry.

    Musically, Kris Allen is my favorite of the Idols this year. I tip my hat to Adam Lambert’s talents. Their musical paths will never cross.

    Hopefully, Adam can rise above the smothering “love” of his fans and be seen as a serious artist and not a punch line to a joke. I think he might very well be rebelling against them now.

    I wish Kris and Adam both future success.

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 22, 2009 11:12 pm

      Kimberly is kind of wise.

      Why are Glamberts insulted with the Sam Harris comparisons? I haven’t heard about this.

  19. interestfree permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:08 pm

    What impresses me about Kris is how forgettable he is. Sure, he’s likable. He has pleasant parents and a pretty wife. He’ll have a modestly successful but short-lived career in the music industry before returning to college to finally get that elusive business degree. And except for a handful of bloggers and the entire state of Arkansas, most people won’t remember him or his music for more than a couple of years. Sadly, it’s his destiny to be remembered as “the idol guy with Adam Lambert”.

  20. Adam Lambert's Dildo permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:06 pm

    OMG!!!1111 Adam Lambert is so much better then Chris. He is like the Dark Lord Glitter Unicorn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111 Stop saying Chris is going to succeedd!! Just stop !!! Lalalalalalallalalalal *I’m not listening* lalalalalalalala

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 22, 2009 11:08 pm

      Adam Lambert’s Dildo, I really hope you have a Twatter account. I want to read what you have to Twat.

      • Adam Lambert's Dildo permalink
        August 22, 2009 11:22 pm

        I better make a twatter account asap so i can send Adam daily twats.
        Adm loves twats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111111111 (Despite reports to the contrary.)

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 22, 2009 11:24 pm

          He twatted after the show tonight about how great Pittsburgh was…

          I think you’re onto something about him being taken to task for insinuating he didn’t like the frauen. Ruh roh. He may be forced back into those M&Gs now.

  21. beinghonest permalink
    August 22, 2009 10:35 pm

    ARE YOU PEOOPLE SERIOUS DONT GET ME WRONG KRIS IS LIKABLE BUT HE WONT LAST HE’S JUST TO WHOLESOME PRETTY SOON THE MEDIA WILL TEAR INTO THAT ASS LIKE THOSE BASTARDS DID MY BELOVED MJ. SHAME TOO HE SEEMS LIKE A GOOD GUY. O AND TOPIDOL I WATCHED THAT CONTAGE FUNNY SHYT. MAN HE REALLY IS A DORK I WAS KIDDING BEFORE BUT DAM HE LIKES TO SIGN BOOBS LIL GRLS BACKS AND FLIRT WITH HIS STUDENTS WATA JACKASS…LOL
    WHO DOES HE THINK HE IS ? FREAKIN JOHN DENVER WTF?

  22. Lil Lulu permalink
    August 22, 2009 9:48 pm

    I think Kris is going to outsell Clay by 6 million albums. Also? When he’s in Spamalot, he’ll get the lead!

  23. sammy permalink
    August 22, 2009 9:37 pm

    what’s not to like about Kris Allen? He’s so completely unobjectionable. Nothing he does is offensive, even his hair and clothing are unable to offend. The boy is like ice cream and apple pie. Idol bloggers love that type of thing. Y’all eat up the bland with a spoon and then wonder why you’re still hungry and in need of more five minutes later.

    Blogger opinions aren’t music critic opinion or industry opinions so while it’s true that Kris (and his equally bland fans) are idol blogosphere favorites actual music blogs, frequented by MUSIC fans and people who want to be excited about music and be entertained by a performance aren’t nearly as enamoured with Mr. Allen.

    The music reviews from the concerts also tell the tale of how Mr. Allen is faring outside the Idol bubble so while it’s nice that in “idol world” Mr. Vanilla is the bees knees, in the real world where these artists’ career will live and/or die Mr. Allen is coming up woefully short.

    • deez permalink
      August 22, 2009 10:10 pm

      Imagine how you know all that and the tour isn’t even over yet….quick, who do I bet on on the Superbowl???

    • Isidra permalink
      August 22, 2009 11:40 pm

      How are reviews of the idol tour showing how he’s performing “outside of the idol bubble?” They’re not reviewing Kris Allen’s music. They’re reviewing a glorified karaoke show that is idol.

      In the “real world”, it’ll be his single and album that determines his success. Personally, I think he has what it takes to do well. We’ll find out soon enough.

      • Gene permalink
        August 22, 2009 11:55 pm

        Most of the reviews I’ve seen in the press suggest that the critics don’t even like American Idol. And it seems to me that Kris gets lukewarm reviews because he just doesn’t have the superstar-quality. He will do well in the US but I really don’t think he will become one of the most successful idols.

        • TopIdol permalink
          August 23, 2009 12:01 am

          I think it is difficult to judge on the tour, because it is bland and it is karaoke. They do the same songs (other people’s songs) every night, and yeah, most critics aren’t into Idol.

          The albums will be the real test, even if the winner is typically guaranteed a gold record (1M) and I would imagine Lambert will get one, too.

        • Isidra permalink
          August 23, 2009 12:14 am

          If the critics don’t like Idol at all, they’d be more likely to give him a negative review. The fact that they give him even lukewarm reviews is a good sign.

          And really, many of his less favorable reviews seem to focus on the letdown effect of following Adam Lambert. That’s not going to be an issue much longer. He’s going to sink or swim on the merits of the music he makes, not the Idol tour.

      • Gene permalink
        August 23, 2009 2:51 am

        “If the critics don’t like Idol at all, they’d be more likely to give him a negative review.”

        But, Adam and Allison usually get rave reviews from non-Idol fan critics.

        • Isidra permalink
          August 23, 2009 3:12 am

          What does that have to do with Kris?

          A decent review (and lukewarm from someone who hates Idol is pretty decent) is a decent review regardless of whether someone else gets a better one. Reviews generally don’t operate on a bell curve.

          Adam, Allison and Kris are all going in very different directions in their albums by the sound of it. They’re not competing anymore. So even if you do assume that reviews of a karaoke performance would be a good indicator of success (since live performance is the be-all and end-all of a music career, right?) then we can draw the conclusion that with decent reviews for Kris and excellent reviews for Allison and Adam, that all three ought to have fairly promising careers.

    • SpinningFasterAndFasterToNowhere permalink
      August 23, 2009 6:56 am

      You apparently haven’t been reading Kris’s tweets. Sure he is not OTT, but he is far from bland.

  24. Gene permalink
    August 22, 2009 9:01 pm

    You seem to hate Claymates but will Kris sell more records than Clay Aiken? I doubt it. Kris is perfectly ordinary as far as I’m concerned and maybe that’s his appeal, but he just doesn’t have the star quality, charisma.

    • deez permalink
      August 22, 2009 9:44 pm

      He also doesn’t have the Claymates. Maybe that’s his appeal.

      • Gene permalink
        August 22, 2009 10:27 pm

        Kris has some crazy fans, like some female fan who stuck her tongues down his throat.

        • deez permalink
          August 22, 2009 10:43 pm

          OK so that’s 32476899056489723612346788933489 to 1.

          You’ll have to do better.

        • SpinningFasterAndFasterToNowhere permalink
          August 23, 2009 6:52 am

          ah, the same “Kris had a fan stick his tongue down his throat so he has crazy fans” re-post.

          Actually Kris is pretty cool, and it is hard for me to say that, since I am the ultimate hater. I didn’t pay that much attention to him until after the show. He is just cool to me. He is unpretentious, mellow, laid-back, snarky, a good friend, self-effacing, and doesn’t take himself to seriously, and doesn’t over do it to be famous. I also really believe he didn’t want to even be there (on AI). It was his brother who wanted to be on Idol, and Kris just got in. I think he was put in to be ‘filler’ and cannon fodder for the spotlighted contestants. Yet he kicked butt. I don’t think he even wanted to win. REALLY. That is what I now like about him. It is like he could give a good crap about winning AI or being famous.

          Who knew, and I always disliked most Idol contestants.

          Top Idol, you are very brave. I see you already got the typical responses.

      • Gene permalink
        August 22, 2009 10:54 pm

        Like it or not, lots of successful acts have crazy fans. And Clay Aiken became one of the most successful idols because of his dedicated fanbase.

        • August 23, 2009 12:24 am

          And now he’s basically mocked and doesn’t have a career.

        • deez permalink
          August 23, 2009 12:27 am

          uh huh.

          All this posting is surely cutting into your sign-painting and cheese-scuplting time.

      • Gene permalink
        August 23, 2009 1:09 am

        He has signed with Universal Music recently. I’m not a Clay fan, I just recognize the fact that he is one of the most successful idols.

  25. Lil Lulu permalink
    August 22, 2009 8:18 pm

    Who’s Chris Allan? Is he from Australian Idol?

    • TopIdol permalink
      August 22, 2009 8:24 pm

      Isn’t he the guy on Dateline who busts the sex offenders?

      • Lil Lulu permalink
        August 22, 2009 8:47 pm

        No, I think that’s Kris Handsome.

  26. LMFAO permalink
    August 22, 2009 8:02 pm

    Kris is harmless but you’re all pretentious tards. You’re trying too hard.

  27. August 22, 2009 7:44 pm

    I like Kris, I think he’s a nice chap and hopefully thanks to the frauen clinging to Madam, he’ll have a chance to build a nice career for himself. Sans crazies. I think he showed far more versatility than Madam did, on the show, and he stands a good chance of having some long term success.

    That photo is hysterical.

  28. yuppie permalink
    August 22, 2009 7:37 pm

    As a full-fledged Kris tard and Top Idol groupie, this makes me very happy.

Leave a Reply

