Skip to content

20 Seconds of Kris Allen’s first single

September 16, 2009

Kris Allen goes backwoods

Live Like We’re Dying…a cover of a Script song.

Compare both at Randomize Me (courtesy of ONTD_AI)

I think I will have to hear more than 20 seconds before I can make an informed decision. Catchy, yes, but why make such a similar cover of a relatively recent song?

I’m a bit scared 19E is gonna screw Hot By Default over, as they tend to do to say, most of the Idol contestants they sign. Naturally, this will piss me off something fierce!

Thoughts?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. deez permalink
    September 21, 2009 3:23 pm

    If anyone hasn’t heard the full version (I would think if you are reading this, that you have, but….) here you go: http://mjsbigblog.com/

  2. Claire permalink
    September 21, 2009 2:31 pm

    World renowned music critic, Perez Hilton, tweeted about how much he hates the song. For that reason alone I will probably end up loving it more than anything else being played on the radio.

    • on the edge permalink
      September 21, 2009 2:39 pm

      I’ve learned over the last couple of years that I generally don’t like much of what Perez likes, and vice versa. Take from that what you will.

      I like the song, and this isn’t just the inner Whofan talking. I liked it when I heard The Script’s version, too.

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 21, 2009 5:25 pm

      Perez Hilton is a douchebag. I think I will download HBD’s song now, too, Claire.

      I have not visited his site in over 3 months. It’s been awesome.

  3. badmood permalink
    September 21, 2009 3:12 am

    Regarding my earlier statement, Lulu said she thought Danny would be promoted more than Kris and you said you agreed with her post, so that’s why I made the assumption.

    Danny will make it nowhere, only the frau will buy his album. That’s a guarantee.

    And LLWD is ten thousand times better than Light On, and I expect its placement on the charts to reflect that aptly. People, chill, okay? 😀

  4. Lil Lulu permalink
    September 20, 2009 6:28 pm

    The thing is, I think HBD is very marketable.

    He definitely is. At least, if the teenagers and twenty-somethings in my family are any indication. They all like him and like that vibe he’s got – Jason Mraz-Frayish. They also like Adam and Allison.

    As for Danny, country music sells and sells and sells. I have a theory about why they took their time signing Danny. I believe they wanted to push Kris into country/pop – make him a new Keith Urban. He fought them on it, so they pulled in Danny.

    Anyway, I hope I’m wrong, and they do right by Kris. He’s no Taylor Hicks, that’s for sure. And I don’t think they’ll treat him that badly.

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 20, 2009 8:21 pm

      I don’t think they make him sleep on the basement floor and only feed him saltine crackers or anything like that… 🙂

      • Lil Lulu permalink
        September 20, 2009 10:26 pm

        LOL! I know. I just realized I was such a Debbie Downer, yesterday. Geez! I must have been drinking too much of the antidote to that Kool Aid the Idol fanbases pass out.

        I think that, with Clive no longer in charge, there’s less bullshit regarding treatment of the various Idols. Kris will be fine.

  5. deez permalink
    September 19, 2009 7:02 pm

    “I’ve just heard things, that’s all…not songs, but about the songs.”

    Good or bad? (I’m figuring bad if I’m any judge of blog comment tone)

  6. Lil Lulu permalink
    September 19, 2009 3:24 pm

    I think your fear that 19 is screwing Kris over is on the money.

    The Script was the opening band for Cook at his earlier concerts. They’re signed to Sony. I heard (from someone who knows someone) that they are creating a bit of buzz in the industry. So, 19 has them open for one of their Idols, then has their next season’s Idol do a cover of one of their songs? Hmmm. On top of that, Kris is performing at a Breast Cancer Awareness banquet in Kentucky. Opening act is a local band, followed by Kris, followed by a band called Parachute, followed by – you got it – The Script. So, The Script is the headline band? Sounds to me like Sony is using its Idols to promote a band they’re betting money on.

    TPTB do not care who wins Idol. They promote the guy they wanted to win. (See: Daughtry, Kris.) Adam and Danny’s singles will be on heavy rotation in their markets per orders to program directors from corporate. Kris’ single will start out in medium rotation, and will be dropped to random play. It does sound like they’re spending some $$$ on Allison (flying her out to Sweden to work with Max Martin) so there’s still hope for my girl.

    I’m not a fan of Kris. But, I really hate the shabby treatment 19 gives these kids. I mean, I couldn’t stand Taylor Hicks, but geez. They buried the poor guy! I hope they don’t do that to Kris, but I think we’ve all been paying attention and see how this is going to end. 😦

    • Steph permalink
      September 19, 2009 4:23 pm

      I’m pretty sure his single is premiering on Z100 in NY, so I see that as a good sign.

      I never understood why 19XYZ would bury any signed artist, even those who they didn’t expect to win. Why would they cut off their noses to spite their faces when they could potentially make money off any of them given the right marketing. I mean HBD doesn’t have OMGTHEBESTVOICEEVAH!!!!ELEVEN!!!

      • Steph permalink
        September 19, 2009 4:28 pm

        (Oops, hit enter too soon)

        but to me he definitely has a voice as good or better than most of what you hear on the radio. Hopefully the rest of his album has decent material and that proves his naysayers wrong.

        • TopIdol permalink
          September 19, 2009 6:08 pm

          I hope so, too. I’ve just heard things, that’s all…not songs, but about the songs.

          And back to Lil Lulu, all the info about The Script is pretty interesting. So will there be a conspiracy to get the Idol Tour Guitarist, Tim whats-his-face, an actual contract? He seems to get some pretty stellar reviews and hell, you know its not his life’s dream to be backing up Idol contestants all summer long.

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 19, 2009 5:35 pm

      Your whole post makes me sad. Because it’s entirely true. And frankly, they have a tendency to screw a lot of people over, Taylor Hicks being a HUGE one. Hell, Ruben Studdard to an extent, although I never watched the show then. I think they see Allison as a potential cash cow because not only is she a bit “edgy” (see: Pink or Paramore), but she’s also still a teenager (see: Demi Lovato, Taylor Swift), so…and I am curious to see what Max Martin does with her album.

      I don’t think I’ve ever heard a David Archuleta song on the radio, but then again, I don’t listen to the radio much. I have no idea about his post-Idol career besides the few snippets I sometimes see on other blogs.

      I think Idol/19E will frak it up with HBD because they figure they will be able to make enough off Lambert and La Princesa, plus, all the media attention Lambert has received. The thing is, I think HBD is very marketable. He seems like a nice guy with a bit of common sense and intelligent. He doesn’t seem to want to involve himself with a lot of the crazy fan bullshit, either. I’m pulling for him, I really am. Of course, I’m still pulling for David Cook even though I know all the hell he has endured with so many whack jobs, people camping out at the venues so they can get to the front of the stage, people following him across country, lunatics harassing every girl he’s ever seen with…I think the guy keeps touring in the hopes he will lose some of this baggage/garbage, but the poor things keeps touring in an attempt to outrun them and he hasn’t been able to shake a lot of it yet.

      • badmood permalink
        September 20, 2009 3:09 am

        Okay, folks. First of all 19 will NEVER prioritize Danny over Kris. Come on. That takes ‘jumping to conclusions that Kris’ll be screwed over’ to new levels. And this song is actually really radio-friendly if you completely ignore who sang it first and omg-but-Kris-is-a-SINGER-SONGWRITER!!1! I don’t think the general public will be aware that (1) Kris needs to write his own songs to make them good or (2) it’s a cover. So in other words, I think it’s actually a pretty smart decision. Idol bloggers think it’ll do great. I suppose it just depends on whether or not you’re in the overtly paranoid camp.

        Just curious, do Idol fans have a consensus as to who was promoted more between Archuleta and Cook? Because from what I see Cook seems to have done marginally better in the US, but Archie had a bigger international impact. And I know nothing about anyone being intentionally screwed over.

        Of course, I’m still pulling for David Cook even though I know all the hell he has endured with so many whack jobs, people camping out at the venues so they can get to the front of the stage, people following him across country, lunatics harassing every girl he’s ever seen with…I think the guy keeps touring in the hopes he will lose some of this baggage/garbage, but the poor things keeps touring in an attempt to outrun them and he hasn’t been able to shake a lot of it yet.

        Sorry, I don’t follow this paragraph at all. I think his music just isn’t appealing enough to expand his fanbase beyond the psycho cougars, simple as that. That is definitely not the case with Kris.

      • Caitlyn permalink
        September 20, 2009 7:17 am

        I’m a slightly bigger fan of Adam and Allison than I am of Kris (though I really, really like him a lot too), but I find it so hard to imagine why they’d not want to take advantage of his marketability. Hicks, I get–I didn’t watch that season, but I remember seeing a clip of one of his performances on TV and wondering why someone who looked like my middle-aged drunken uncle dancing at my bat mitvah had won the show–not marketable (to my age group, at least). Kris–handsome, sweet, very smooth voice, very good musician, charming, etc.–if they give him decent enough songs, he could do extremely well. So, I hope they’re not stupid enough not to know this. This single isn’t a great song, but it’s catchy and fun and much better than any other idol winner’s/runner up’s single I’ve heard (granted, I haven’t heard many, but still, word-of-mouth is enough), and no one outside of very invested fans cares that it’s an obscure cover. I guess we won’t know for a while, but I think they are probably intending to make as much money with him as they can, and that they know that they have something special. After all, Jive signed Allison–maybe Jive and RCA aren’t as stupid as the judges can be.

        And…I would be shocked it they promote Danny over Kris. It took them forever to sign him and when they did, they did it without fan far of pretty much any kind. I think they wanted him on the show for drama, but they don’t seem that excited about his real-life prospects.

        If they’re at all smart, they’ll know that Adam, Allison, and Kris are all very marketable in different ways, and they’ll take advantage of that.

        • TopIdol permalink
          September 20, 2009 8:19 pm

          I was saying Danny was pimped on the show. Gokey will never be promoted over HBD…is that what it looked like I said? I’m not sure where that came from.

          A Danny Gokey album is gonna fail miserably and he will be dropped from his label. Who else agrees?

        • September 20, 2009 9:04 pm

          *raises hand*

    • on the edge permalink
      September 20, 2009 7:09 pm

      “The Script was the opening band for Cook at his earlier concerts.”

      Just a nit-pick because I’m tardish, but The Script hasn’t opened for any of Cook’s shows yet. Ryan Star was the opening act for the first several months. The Script I believe will be touring with Cook in November/December.

      But as to your point I guess it’s six of one, half a dozen of the other…there’s STILL a connection. I do wonder if they will play LLWD at the shows.

  7. kimberly permalink
    September 17, 2009 10:02 pm

    I’m liking it. I like The Script; in fact, was listening to their CD today with my daughter. They’ve got a very cool sound, singable/danceable. It’s a good fit with Kris’s musical style. Soulful ballads like Ain’t No Sunshine are great, but Kris is 24 and needed to do something more current. I think this song is a really good choice. I already like his vocals in the snippet over the original. Covergate is beyond ridiculous. Love to see how the media spins this one if they’ve the mind to — I’m talking about the ones that seem to love to dismiss this kid every step of the way.

    There might just be some gems on the CD with Kris as co-writer. I’m curious about the Mat Kearney collaboration. What can I say? I like this kid.

  8. deez permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:39 pm

    I’ve been reading some internet bashing because HBD is doing a “cover” and how that’s “embarrassing”…”shows Jive is uninterested”…”proves he’s not really a songwriter”…blahblahblah….it’s started already.

    I intitially had a issue with the song because it really wasn’t what I expected. The song will be released in its entirety on Monday on Z100 in NY. I think I’ll wait til I hear it a few times before I comment on the song again.

    The criticism on the song being a cover is pretty unwarranted. If the only way anyone has ever heard it before is b/c someone found it on YT…who cares? Not like both versions are on the radio. Some people are pissed he didn’t change it up. Why do that if nobody’s
    heard the damn thing before. It’s like scratching some entree off the menu if you’ve never eaten it before, for the sole reason that someone else somewhere once did!

    Yep. *sigh*

    • Claire permalink
      September 17, 2009 3:52 pm

      Most people that will hear this song on the radio won’t even know or care that he did change up some songs he performed on a glorified karaoke show in order to work around the lame themes of the week (i.e Disco). Why does it matter now that he’s getting out of the AI bubble? I’m not a huge fan of the song, but if it’s somewhat obscure then few will even know what the other version sounds like.

      And just because he didn’t write or co-write this particular song doesn’t change the fact that he wrote an entire album of songs a few years ago. So yes, he is still technically a “singer-songwriter.”

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 17, 2009 4:09 pm

      I don’t think any Idol contestant is given a decent shot at making a debut album that will set the world on fire. Hell, Kelly Clarkson didn’t truly arrive until her second release. Carrie Underwood, meh. Not that I ever say anything bad about country singers, but I often think the bar is a little lower for a lot of the popular mainstream country crap…explaining Kellie Pickler actually having a following. (And well, some idiot in Nashville did sign Gokey, so…)

      • deez permalink
        September 17, 2009 5:28 pm

        OOOH…We could have a “Name Gokey’s first single” contest.

        “Boot Scootin’ Douchey” …..”Save a Harp, Ride a Cowboy”….”Your Cheatin’ Handheart”

  9. Claire permalink
    September 17, 2009 2:59 pm

    I love how some HBD’s detractors (AKA the segment of the Glittery Alien’s fans that are still bitter over the outcome) are actually surprised that his first single is (gasp!) radio friendly/generic. Yeah, that’s a first. Because we all know that previous Idols’ poignant first singles will go down in history as this century’s Imagine and Like a Rolling Stone.

    Unfortunately I too see him being thrown to the wolves if his single doesn’t go multi-platinum and prove that he was the “rightful” winner. Sigh.

  10. September 17, 2009 2:37 pm

    I really, really like it.

  11. Caitlyn permalink
    September 17, 2009 2:29 pm

    I think, as someone who loves Adam and Allison and likes Kris a lot, that there are going to be people waiting to jump on both these guys if their albums aren’t award-worthy/don’t sell 5 million copies because they want to prove that Kris was clearly the rightful winner or that no, Adam should have won–but most listeners on the radio don’t care about that.

    The song has very trite lyrics–but it’s catchy and fun and I think it’s genuinely much better than the pop/Nickelback sludge winners normally seem to produce (low bar, of course, but still). It could be a big hit (I don’t listen to the main radio channels too much, but it seems like it would fit in there).

    Basically, I’d just like these three to have decent albums that sell well enough to allow them to make second albums where they will hopefully have more artistic control and more time to make the album what they want it to be.

    • deez permalink
      September 17, 2009 3:25 pm

      There probably is a contigent that wants to see Adam fail as well (just b/c some people are like that), but I honestly think Adam is set. Anything he does will turn to gold, at least initially. They’d have to be pretty dumb to screw that up. (unless tards do it for him)

      Allison, i think, will fly under the radar. She’s been free of the scrutiny that came with the whole Adam vs Kris fanwar. To some degree, some people have forgotten about her. I think she may be the big winner here.

  12. deez permalink
    September 17, 2009 9:28 am

    I feel bad for HBD. It seems that even though the guy won, is genuinely talented, and a decent human being, people are just waiting for him to fail. There’s still a lot of “How Dare He Beat Adam” sentiment out there. It kind of feels as if his first song(I’m waiting to hear the rest of the album) is not award-worthy, people are going to dismiss him. Adam’s single will be out shortly, and the Earth will probably be ripped off its axis with all the squee.

    I was hoping the single would be great (maybe I’ll warm up to it…I WANT to like it)otherwise, I think the boy is about to get thrown to the wolves.

  13. badmood permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:33 am

    I like it a lot. It doesn’t live up to my expectations, but it’s still good enough and will be a decent hit at the very least.

    Still not thrilled about the fact that it’s still a cover, but ah well. Hopefully the whole song isn’t like his studio version of Apologize, which was pretty much unchanged from the original.

  14. Fluffy permalink
    September 17, 2009 5:18 am

    Why not just download an original Script version? Both versions just sound the same to me.

  15. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    September 17, 2009 4:20 am

    I love how everyone either fusses about Kris or thinks he’ll be okay. Personally, I’m not too excited about the snippet, but I’d prefer to listen to the whole song first. The original version by The Script didn’t impress me, though, so I’m not keeping my hopes up. Also, cheesy lyrics.

    That said, I hope he does well just so I can see his cute face around for longer. I’m deep like that.

  16. September 17, 2009 2:44 am

    Like 19 ever puts out decent music. This sucks. Not surprising.

  17. AIFan permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:58 am

    I like the Script version and I don’t like too many songs, so…. Your average radio listener will neither know nor care that it’s a cover. What counts is that it’s a good song.

  18. d. b. cooper permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:53 am

    Bad start, corny and generic. It has worked before though, so…

  19. cimi permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:51 am

    Yeah…I thought the same thing as you, sarahbeth. It’s got a catchy sound to it but not enough to know if it’ll make it .

  20. SarahBeth permalink
    September 17, 2009 12:24 am

    I heard it and I am optimistic. I’ll admit it wasn’t what I was expecting (I was totally expecting a ballad to be honest), but I’ve listened to it a few times and I like it. I can’t pass judgment on it or anything because 20 seconds isn’t long enough for me to do so, but I like what I’ve heard. Its catchy and radio friendly and should do well on top 40. I just want to hear the whole thing and am pretty excited for his album. 🙂

  21. murmur permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:52 pm

    possible parallel? Nothing Compares 2 U was written by Prince and put on his side band The Family’s album, but not released as a single, a couple of years before Sinead covered it. then he started doing it in shows himself after she made it popular. (i don’t know why, but i always think about this song when i think ‘stealth cover’… maybe because it still blows my mind that it took like a decade for me to find out this was a Prince song.)

    … hopefully HBD will have a little more mainstream longevity than Sinead. then again, I can’t really see him ripping up a picture of the pope anytime soon.

    (your blog rocks, btw.)

  22. deez permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:23 pm

    Sigh. I actually thought (silly me) they’d give the guy a little more credit. I think most fans would be willing to wait a little longer to get something that seems less forced. (yeah I know that’s hard to say about 20 sec of a song….JMO)

    I don’t know whether to expect the same for Allison and Adam. I think Adam will probably be handled differently…but that’s just speculation, 19E may crap on everybody equally.

  23. Amy permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:20 pm

    The Script version was a B side of a digital single done by SONY EUROPE. It wasn’t even heard there, and definitely not in the U.S.

    In this country, the song would be considered ‘new’, not a cover.

  24. Andrea permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:07 pm

    I know that this Script song was a B-side on a digital EP. But I have also heard rumors that it was only recorded and never officially released. I don’t know about that. That said, while I’m not thrilled that it is a cover, I don’t think this song is known by many people at all. It is more link a song that someone sent in for Kris. And I think it could do well on Top 40, which is the point of a single.

    I’m looking forward to the entire album. I think there will be a nice mix of sounds, and hopefully some Kris originals or co-writes.

    Maybe I’m just being optimistic?

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 17, 2009 12:15 am

      I agree. I hope there are some originals. I think he is a genuinely talented musician / songwriter and well, 19E doesn’t really like that sort of thing. And then the whole rush job on the albums while doing a nationwide tour. I don’t know how you can get the best possible album out under those constraints.

      • Andrea permalink
        September 17, 2009 10:57 pm

        Yeah, I have higher hopes for his second album, but I am still expecting this one to be passable. Like I said, I’m being optimistic.

        I am starting to believe the possibility that one (or maybe two) of his original tracks from his pre-Idol album may make this record. There are a few really good songs on there. Not radio hit stuff, but still (or because of that?) – awesome music.

  25. September 16, 2009 10:10 pm

    Aww. am I the only one not worried? There are tons of songs out there that have previously been recorded or demoed for a different artist. I think half of Kelly Clarkson’s new album is “covers”. I’m just happy that it’s a radio-friendly song, and not No Boundaries, Part 2.

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 16, 2009 10:17 pm

      No Boundaries is auditory torture, regardless of who sings it.

Leave a Reply

