Skip to content

Kris Allen’s New Single Debuts: Live Like We’re Dying

September 21, 2009

MJ posted the goods earlier today. If you haven’t heard it yet, here’s your chance.

I will listen to it as soon as I get home, promise. Allegedly, Perez Hilton already shit all over it, which means I am 100% going to buy it even if it makes my ears bleed (which I don’t think is going to happen, based on the 23-second snippet released last week). I don’t even know how Perez listened to the entire thing, really, given that his head may permanently reside up Lady Gaga’s butthole these days. And how much do you want to bet Perez creams all over Adam Lambert’s first single regardless of what it sounds like? Because OMG ADAM LAMBERT IS GAY.

Sorry, Perez. Adam Lambert will never sleep with you. And you have zero input over what becomes successful music. No one cares about you after you punched the Black Eyed Pea and called him a faggot. You’re a pitiful excuse for a human being and I would venture your tiny dog Teddy is actively planning his exodus from your WeHo condo a la The Shawshank Redemption. You cannot even get a leading LGBT non-profit to accept your money because you’re such a worthless piece of shit. I also imagine you can’t get any sort of play on ManHunt.com these days, which makes me laugh because EVERYONE can make a friend on ManHunt.

Ok. Totally went off tangent there. I just can’t stand Perez Hilton. Anyway, listen to HBD’s single and let me know what you think. I will be checking it out as soon as I get home. And if you haven’t yet, go read Jim Cantiello’s morning interview with Kris Allen.

(BTW, I kind of like the lyrics. They’re kind of dark, even though its one of those “uplifting” songs. Me likey dark.)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly permalink
    September 26, 2009 1:27 am

    I have a sneaky suspicion you’re not 24. I never cared about stuff like this when I was 24. I was out destroying brain cells and vowing the next day to never to do it again. Kris reacts like a normal 24 year old. If he doesn’t think older women hitting on him is cool, then that’s his choice.

  2. JD, 24 permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:08 pm

    Wow. CRAP COVER. Another reason the Idol machine sucks balls. Lazy and cheap of Kris to release a cover when he calls himself a “singer-songwriter” and his fans continuously build him up by shoving that in everyone’s face. Reminds me of the time he took Adele’s exact version of Make You Feel My Love and stood there foolishly saying, “I wanted to take an original song and make it my own.”

    To the deluded fans who think this guy is perfect, look past the Southern accent and “pretty boy” face. His reaction to a 30 year old woman caling in and politely saying, “I like the song, I think his voice sounds sexy” was “ew”. He called his fans “crazy, scary, messed up”, he insulted his mature fans on his Twitter by saying the older people should be in bed sleeping. There’s plenty more and it’s amusing what you can get away with with a boy next door surface image.

    • JD, 24 permalink
      September 22, 2009 7:09 pm

      *CALLING

    • deez permalink
      September 26, 2009 1:48 am

      When and where did he say these things? links? Out of context paraphrasings don’t count.

      Lazy and cheap of whom? Kris? Kris now runs Jive?

    • Claire permalink
      September 27, 2009 4:45 am

      So because HBD is releasing a cover song as his first single, which was chosen by his label, he is no longer considered a songwriter even though he wrote an entire album a few years ago? Do those songs no longer count?

      I’ve never heard Adele’s version, the original, or the other two covers of TMYFML, so I can’t exactly make any comparisons, but when he said, “I wanted to take an original song and make it my own,” did he actually mean that literally? Like he was going to re-arrange it to his style and try to pass it off as his? I took his comment to mean that he was working around the theme by doing a song that’s not technically Country but was covered by a Country artist. Hell, Adele isn’t exactly original herself considering she covered a song that was already covered twice before. Isn’t she also a “singer-songwriter?” Adam did Dilana’s (sp?) version of Ring of Fire from Rockstar Supernova that same night, so apparently covering a cover is perfectly acceptable when you’re on a show where you do nothing but sing cover songs aside from the cheesy coronation song. And yes, Adam did acknowledge that he borrowed her arrangement during his EW Idolatry interview after the season ended.

      As far as insulting his older fans via Twitter by saying they should be in bed sleeping, the only tweet I remember even remotely being related to this was when he was up late at night watching infomercials and said that it didn’t seem logical that they are on the air when their target audience is most likely asleep. Of course I don’t follow him on Twitter, so who the hell knows.

  3. September 22, 2009 1:20 pm

    I agree with everything you said about Perez!

  4. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    September 21, 2009 11:16 pm

    It’s good for a first single that’s not a coronation song. I think the melody and beat compensate for the cheesy lyrics (which in full are not half-bad). It’s more radio-friendly than any of David Cook’s singles. For me (for you), it sounds like a potential chart topper.

    Since the album is still in progress, it’s safe to say this is not the best song on the list, just one that makes a good introduction for Kris Allen: recording artiste.

  5. SarahBeth permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:21 pm

    Ok, here’s my opinion.

    I’ve listened to it a few times and I’m very meh over it. I think its catchy and will do well on radio, but for now, I’m not sure if I like it too much. I think its too…..rushed maybe? And I feel like HBD gets drowned out on the vocal. I think the more I listen to it, I’ll like it, and I think when I hear it live I’ll like it. I’d like to hear an acoustic version, because I think that’s what will make me like it a LOT.

    • September 21, 2009 9:09 pm

      Ooh, yeah, an acoustic version. Tht would be lovely.

  6. kimberly permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:13 pm

    “What is originality? Undetected plagiarism.” — William Ralph Inge

    I stumbled across the quote and thought it was funny. I hate Perez, as well. To quote myself from another blog, “I have no respect for the parasite, especially after calling a woman the “C” word and then calling Will i am (how the hell do you spell that guy’s name?) a Fag. I can barely look at the guy he’s so damn ugly. (I threw up in my mouth a little when they panned to him on the VMAs.) Lady Gaga and Perez are the “IT” couple from Hell.”

    Like The Script, like Kris Allen. Put them together and you got a Top 40 Hit. Kris stated that he wrote a few songs on the CD and liked “I Need To Know”, the best so far. Need to make the money to feed the music making habit. I think this song is a great start. I’m loving it actually and am ready to buy the I-tune.

    The media, of course, being lazy asshats will now pounce on the covergate shit. Talk about unoriginality. I find that the saddest statement of all. Kris will win in the end.

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 21, 2009 8:52 pm

      “I Need to Know”?? PLEASE tell me its an original and not a cover of the Marc Anthony crap from 10 years ago! (Shit. Now THAT song is in my head.)

      • Lauren permalink
        September 21, 2009 8:55 pm

        Its not an original, its a cover of some group called The Script. I’ve never heard of them before…

      • badmood permalink
        September 21, 2009 9:01 pm

        I Need to Know is one of the songs he really co-wrote and it’s his favorite track on the album. You gotta admire the radio host in NY for managing the feat of extracting that info.

        • Lauren permalink
          September 21, 2009 9:03 pm

          Oh haha I thought you guys were talking about the single. I’m so out of it right now.

  7. Lauren permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:13 pm

    Glambert back again! From the 20 sec snippet I thought I wasn’t going to like Kris’ single but I listened to the full version this morning and it rocked! It reminded of why Kris Allen has always been my second favorite idol throughout season 8. He is so talented and I really think this is going to be a hit 🙂

  8. badmood permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:08 pm

    Nothing mindblowing or new. Very catchy, lyrics leaning toward cheesy but are at least substantial. Only real disappointment is that it was barely changed up from the original, but the general consumer masses probably won’t care. It’s great mainstream music, people will probably eat it up.

  9. September 21, 2009 7:39 pm

    Over produced pap, done a million times before. Nothing original. Entirely generic and forgettable.

    Clay Aiken likes ManHunt.com

  10. wino permalink
    September 21, 2009 7:34 pm

    As a general rule, fat/unattractive slobs shouldn’t have blogs that talk smack about others. If perez thinks people care about his opinion, he is in deep denial. HBD’s debut song is catchy and has a bit of an urban flare to it. not bad considering the AI machine loves to turn everything into Velveeta. I have hopes for his album, I actually think I can listen to it publicly w.out hackling from my peers.

  11. September 21, 2009 7:15 pm

    I really love it. Very catchy. I’ll probably have the melody in my head for a few days.

    Perez could just stay quiet, it’d be much better for his own image.

Leave a Reply

