Skip to content

Jon Hamm and Ben Affleck are hanging out in my hood

September 26, 2009

I’ve been watching Ben Affleck and crew shoot scenes for The Town since about 8am this morning.

Here are a few photos of Jon Hamm (Don Draper on Mad Men), who, like me, is also from St. Louis and a graduate of MU. Jon Hamm is awesome. Ben Affleck is even pretty awesome. Hell, I used to love that guy back in college, so it is kind of cool seeing him film something behind my apartment building.  Between Jon Hamm and Ben Affleck, and the fact I’m fascinated by how films are made, how can I not stand around and loiter on a sunny day like today?

Affleck was only shooting today’s scenes, not appearing in any of them. They were filming the climatic shoot-out scene, so I got to watch fake gunfire and some mild stunt driving. Yesterday, on the way home from work, I watched them flip a truck. YAY! Thank you, Massachusetts, for offering tax incentives to filmmakers! It’s also great to see people like Ben Affleck use this to bring opportunity to area residents. Apparently, most of the lesser supporting roles in the film were given to locals with zero acting experience, and Affleck also chose to shoot in real apartments and homes when sets could have easily been built on a soundstage, as well as employ local crews and businesses whenever possible. It seems he also went into the Charlestown and Dorchester neighborhoods himself to not only scout locations, but also to meet residents and cast them. A production assistant I spoke with told me he is adament about making Massachusetts movies and not just Hollywood movies filmed here.

Ok, Ben Affleck. You are finally forgiven for banging Jennifer Lopez.

Jon Hamm filming "The Town" on Boylston St.

Jon Hamm filming "The Town" on Boylston St. (9/26/09)

I went back outside and got even BETTER photos. Hi, Jon Hamm. You are really, really, really hot. And since I’ve already given mad props to Ben Affleck for giving back to his hometown, I also need to point out how much Jon Hamm still loves St. Louis. Yeah, I totally admit wearing my Cardinals hat in the off chance I would inexplicably bump into him on the street. Instant conversation — what high school did you go to? (He went to John Burroughs.)

Jon Hamm is hot as hell

I really wanted to yell out to Affleck that I had actually seen Reindeer Games in the theater. But I didn’t. Because I am classy.

Ben Affleck was behind my apartment directing his movie

17 Comments leave one →
  1. freedavidcook permalink
    October 1, 2009 9:35 am

    I’d hang out in your neighborhood too~

  2. wino permalink
    September 28, 2009 7:25 pm

    damn, you and Hamm both lose cool points. my douchey ex went to Mizzou. agh, i guess everyone has a flaw.

  3. September 27, 2009 9:21 pm

    Hehehe it’s the dumb bubble doctor from 30 Rock.

  4. d. b. cooper permalink
    September 27, 2009 4:49 pm

    It makes me angry that Mad Men stole my life for Don Draper’s character.

  5. September 27, 2009 3:55 am

    AWESOME.
    But it takes all the fun out of L.A.
    Jake Gyllenhaal is filming at my friend’s old school in Pittsburgh (she’s a bit distraught right now that she’s not there), Toronto has been getting throngs of people apparently… no fair. I’m supposed to have all the cool stories.

  6. September 26, 2009 11:54 pm

    MMMMMMMMMMM Jon Hamm. Lucky you getting to see him in person.

    I saw Reindeer Games in the theater too, here I thought I was the only one. Also saw Force of Nature or something like that with Sandra Bullock. I think his movies are much better when he directs rather than acts in them.

    • TopIdol permalink
      September 27, 2009 12:34 am

      I also saw Forces of Nature. I think I’ve seen that movie 30+ times for no other reason than I’ll leave it on if I see it on cable, that sort of thing. It actually had, don’t laugh, a decent soundtrack. I bought the CD used. I have no idea where it is now, but I remember it having Faithless and some other stuff I liked.

      I saw Reindeer Games the Friday it opened. I may even have the DVD lying around somewhere. (Shhhhhh) The only thing about the movie that was any good was Charlize Theron’s turquoise leather jacket.

      There have been a few movies [here] I always wanted to see being filmed, but never got the chance. So this was actually nice to watch all of this going on so close to home. Literally SO close.

      • September 27, 2009 1:01 am

        It does come on cable all the time, now that I think about it. It was actually one of his that I don’t think was a horrible movie, and it had Maura Tierney in it, who I love.

        Wanted to add, I was busy looking at the pics I didn’t finish reading what you wrote, but the stuff about Affleck filming in Boston and using locals really makes me like him more. Didn’t he do the same thing with Gone Baby Gone? He’s always come across as a nice and decent guy, which makes me feel kind of bad that I just can’t get into his acting.

        • September 27, 2009 9:22 pm

          Watch Hollywoodland.

          http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0427969/

          You may be impressed.

          • TopIdol permalink
            September 27, 2009 9:44 pm

            I’ve seen it. I actually watched it as a from-my-sofa double feature with Superman Returns on HBO awhile back (crappy weather). The latter of which are 2 hours of my life I will never get back. I really enjoyed Hollywoodland.

            • September 27, 2009 10:09 pm

              Me too, which I found surprising. I haven’t seen him do anything decent in quite some time. It’s an excellent film.

              • wino permalink
                September 28, 2009 7:27 pm

                he was good in State of Play. granted, he had a minor, supporting role, but the movie itself was entertaining and it starred the delicious Rachel McAdams.

                • TopIdol permalink
                  September 28, 2009 7:47 pm

                  I have that on my Netflix queue. Meant to see it when it was released…also has Russell Crowe and Helen Mirren (the anti-frau) in it, right?

                  I post delicious ORIGINAL photos of Ben Affleck and Jon Hamm, yet…well, I guess neither one of them can compare to the fierce glittery beauty of Adam Lambert now, can they?

                  • wino permalink
                    September 29, 2009 4:52 pm

                    yeah, its a good, solid cast. a think Affleck can turn his career around by continuing to take these supporting gigs (Hollywood Land, State of Play, and the new flick, Extract). Plus I forget what a great job he did in directing Gone Baby Gone. Ha, Jon Hamm vs. Glambert…its an EW.com steel cage smack down that is bound to happen.

                    Why an original, or any photo of Hamm doesn’t elicit more responses? Why is Grey’s Anatomy bringing in 17 mil viewers a week while Mad Men is still struggling? Why is Susan Boyle making music? Some things I will never understand.

                    • on the edge permalink
                      September 29, 2009 5:19 pm

                      Just as an FYI, not all cable companies carry AMC, even if you get the full digital package with all the bells and whistles. I don’t get AMC which means no “Mad Men” and no “Breaking Bad.” I also don’t get E!…no great loss really but I was a big “Girls Next Door” fan and had to buy the last two seasons on iTunes. Metrocast sucks donkey balls.

                    • TopIdol permalink
                      September 29, 2009 6:04 pm

                      I got in a fight with Comcast today b/c I think they’re charging me too much. They said, well, do you watch your Preferred package. I asked, what is on the preferred package? They list off a bunch of stuff, including IFC, Encore, The History Channel, Biography and The N. I replied, yes I watch those. Most of them. That’s BASIC CABLE!!

                    • TopIdol permalink
                      September 29, 2009 6:02 pm

                      I post photos of Jon Hamm on my little blog and they’re ignored in favor of Adam Lambert. Some things I will never understand.

                      Wino, you said steel cage smackdown! You know how much I adore cage fights, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

