Skip to content

Allison Iraheta’s Debut Single “Friday I’ll Be Over U” will leak MONDAY!

October 2, 2009

PopEater will be leaking Allison Iraheta’s debut single, Friday I’ll Be Over U, on Monday!

(I think I’m going to listen to it immediately after The Cure’s Friday I’m In Love, relive every relationship and breakup I’ve ever had in under 7 minutes through the power of chipper alterno-pop music.)

WHOO HOO! La Princesa del Mariachi! I can’t wait to hear it! From what I hear, it is Pink-ish pop-punk.

(Thanks for the tip, Blur!)

63 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul IDOL permalink
    December 30, 2009 10:15 pm

    I am the official Topidol and have had this name on AOL for about 10-15 years. There is a family of IDOL’s in the USA since the Revolutionary War (1776–) The Topidol comes from My home, Topeka,KS, & my last name. We are the “Real American IDOL’s”. All IDOL’s are related since only one German immigrant changed his name in the late 1700″s. The one exception is Billy Idol, the Rock Star. He just assumed that surname. Look me up on the internet under Colonel IDOL, Retired U.S. Army.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      October 5, 2009 6:32 pm

      Yeah, I’m thinking she wanted her first single to be “the shit”, not just plain old shit.

  2. Sherena permalink
    October 4, 2009 9:10 pm

    As what, a serious rock singer? She wasn’t ever going to be that, anyway. Rock is dying and it’s especially hard to make it as a female in that genre. Any record label that picked her up, had she not gone on Idol, would’ve taken her in the exact pop-rock direction she’s being taken now. It makes sense. She’s 17. There’ll be time for her to develop and mature her sound, if and when she wants to. Plenty of people take Pink seriously, for example, and that’s a direction Allison could go.

    • Sherena permalink
      October 4, 2009 9:11 pm

      My comments don’t seem to be going in the right places lately…that was meant to be a reply to Idletard’s comment below.

    • October 4, 2009 9:12 pm

      Rock music will never die. Music trends cycle over and over, you clearly have no idea what has been charting for the past 40 odd years. Just because crap from Disney is in the top 40 nowadays doesn’t mean people immediately put down their guitars and take up synths. Read some music history. Your ignorance is showing.

      Pink sings pop music. That’s not rock.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 4, 2009 9:17 pm

        Alright. Ignore that one point, because I don’t feel like arguing and do concede that I could know more about the current state of rock. The rest still stand: it’s hard to make it as a female rock singer, especially someone as young as Allison, therefore she very likely would’ve been taken the pop rock route regardless of Idol, and it’s possible to make meaningful music and get recognition as a pop rock singer as well. Therefore, the example of Pink, who is no Disney starlet (just as I don’t think Allison will be).

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 4, 2009 9:32 pm

          I think Allison will be just fine, especially because she didn’t win. And she’s still young. I think her poprock (can we agree to call it poprock?) sound is probably going to be much like Paramore’s, with a little Pink, on this first album.

  3. October 3, 2009 3:33 pm

    On another post we were talking about “concern” trolls over at TWoP, and I mentioned one that likes to post on Allison’s thread. I was looking over there today, and wouldn’t you know it, they struck again.

    It’s posted by someone who’s “just tuned in”(I think that means they are new) they said:

    “I think Allison has been in trouble for a while now. There has been very little buzz or PR surrounding her. The announcement of her single has been so low key. And if they are not promoting her with any Idol ties, it means that 19E doesn’t have a lot of confidence in her. 19E is all about making money and they would never let anyone go if they felt they were marketable. I find it strange that there still isn’t a release date on her album. I think the tour was the breaking point. It was a great opportunity for her to turn things around as someone who didn’t have a strong fan base from the show. But she dug a deeper hole for herself when criticism often surfaced that she was rude and not always fan friendly. And it’s all about the fans. They are the ones that will buy the album and go to the shows – or not. “

    Then, funnily enough, someone else who’s “just tuned in” posted to agree with them. Sorry for the long post TI, it’s just that inept concern trolls amuse me so.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 3, 2009 3:57 pm

      Especially since they’re completely misinformed and her album is set to be released on December 1st.

      Why do these people think tearing down one Idol for the sake of another even matters? It’s so idiotic. You don’t have to just like one. Kris, Allison and Adam all have their own styles. The show is over. No reason to compare apples and oranges anymore. The voting lines have closed.

      • October 3, 2009 4:23 pm

        I don’t understand it either, but I’m not surprised. After all, the Clay/Ruben, Hicks/Daughtry/McPhee wars are still going on. And didn’t the Kelly and Clay tards fight over their concert? They weren’t even in the same season.

        • October 3, 2009 5:46 pm

          Correction: It was only the Clay tards who would constantly diss Kelly. Mostly because they were afraid that Kelly would take their man. It’s funny now that you think about it. They also alternated closing the show so if it was Kelly’s turn to close, they would be mean.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 3, 2009 4:08 pm

      What Glamtard is working at Amazon?

      http://www.amazon.com/gp/meters/A1F673D557FYUO?ie=UTF8&ref_=pd_zg_lm_w_2p_c

      Like I said. Why must there be comparisons?

      • deez permalink
        October 3, 2009 11:47 pm

        Is it normal to have an Idol poll on Amazon?

        Weird.

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 4, 2009 12:56 pm

          That’s what I said! Why does it even exist?

      • Sherena permalink
        October 4, 2009 1:29 pm

        For hits.

        • Bubba57 permalink
          October 4, 2009 8:11 pm

          I don’t think they grasp the concept that you can buy 1, 2, or all 3 of the idols albums. But, some people to just tear down everyone else to make their favorite look best.

          Why can’t all 3 of the idols be successful. They are 3 completely different artists, with different markets…they can all be successful. Its not winner takes all type shit.

          • TopIdol permalink
            October 4, 2009 8:31 pm

            And I believe we’re all in agreement we hope Kris, Adam and Allison to be successful. As noted, Allison basically finished third. And a Gokey album, when released, is probably gonna be a big, big fail. Especially the fact that it’s country and…he’s not.

            • October 4, 2009 8:43 pm

              I would like to see Kris successful because it would make the fat frauen Madam army cry. Plus Madam’s album has songs by Kara Dildo and Ryan Tedder. So rawwwwk šŸ™„ aka instafail.

              And I’d like success for Allison. But I wish she’d never gone on Idol because now she’s going to have to sing utter shit. Forever.

              • Lauren permalink
                October 4, 2009 8:55 pm

                I for one will not cry if Kris is a success. Yeah the fact that Kara wrote for Adam is bothering me too…but I still hope for the best!

              • Sherena permalink
                October 4, 2009 8:56 pm

                But, reality check: if Allison’d never gone Idol she wouldn’t be singing anything right now. She wouldn’t be signed, and she likely would never be signed to a major label. It’s give and take.

                If she’s successful, and when she’s older she’ll get more creative input.

                • October 4, 2009 9:04 pm

                  She would do better away from the Idol schlock machine. Doubtful anyone will take her seriously now.

                  • Bubba57 permalink
                    October 4, 2009 9:37 pm

                    That’s the idol stigma right there…When these idols get their own music out there, Nobody really takes them seriously. They see idol as a Karoke show and shit (which it is…)

                    I believe out of all the 4 record deals–Allison is the one with the perfect fit. The perfect artist and label. She’s young, her music style (pop/rock) is huge on Top 40 radio, with decent radio spins Allison will be fine.

                    From the snippet that I heard, some might say it sounds a little too pop, but it was catchy and it was one of those ear worms–gets stuck in your head. Its got potential for good success on the radio.

  4. October 3, 2009 12:30 pm

    Oh noooooo! It says “U”!
    WHY, La P? WHY?!

    • Bubba57 permalink
      October 3, 2009 1:57 pm

      Its definitely a Max martin trademark: remember “Since U Been Gone” and “U + Ur Hand”

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 3, 2009 3:54 pm

        And “Slave 4 U”.

        It may now be a Max Martin “trademark”, but the originator was PRINCE. šŸ™‚

        • Lauren permalink
          October 3, 2009 3:58 pm

          If any of Allison’s songs are similar to that I just might die.

  5. kimberly permalink
    October 3, 2009 12:50 am

    The song seems to fit into the mold of female pop/rockers on Top 40, HAC today. It’s radio-friendly and could do well, but I’m not sure if there’s anything that sets it apart from Kelly and Pink or God forbid, Demi Lovato. It is far more rockish, with a harder driving guitar, and her vocals are a bit grittier than Kelly C., but it still sounds more pop than hard-hitting rock. This will sell. I love her interpretation of Bonnie Raitt’s ICMYLM, so I’m hoping there’s some bluesy rock on the CD, as well. All for old school rock ‘n roll. I’ve no doubt Allison can deliver, but the question is will they let her.

    • October 3, 2009 3:39 pm

      I thought it sounded like Kelly also, but I think I’m going to have to wait until Monday to decide, b/c the cell quality distorted it too much. I was really hoping for old school rocker, but I’m not surprised it’s much more poppy. She’s so young though, I could see her going the way of Pink…starting out with pop, and then getting more rockish as she gets older.

  6. Sherena permalink
    October 2, 2009 7:56 pm

    I’m excited. I liked what I heard of the snippet. The tune is not only catchy, but one that won’t get on my nerves after a few listens. ONE thing– I’m hoping the real single sounds much less autotuned. I’m pretty sure it will, since the nature of the recording I heard is tinny as a whole (I hate autotune with a fiery passion).

    Appropriate cover, LOVE the fonts, especially the Allison Iraheta with the trailing A’s. Perfect. Thumbs up for whoever designed it.

    • October 2, 2009 8:42 pm

      Agree with what you said. And I hate autotune too, especially when they don’t need it. I think Allison’s voice is fine w/o it. For me, autotune ruined alot of the itunes downloads for many of the idols. They’d sound fantastic on the show, and then I’d listen to the dl and it would sound so soulless and blah.

  7. October 2, 2009 6:47 pm

    I hope this doesn’t suck but I fear it will. She so ain’t a 00’s pop singer. Needs to sing some rock/blues/old school style.

    • Bubba57 permalink
      October 2, 2009 7:23 pm

      Right now..her bets bet is to go with Pop/rock style its the safest way since this is her first album..if her first album is a success..then they can experiment

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      October 2, 2009 9:42 pm

      I agree with you. I think I read somewhere that her influences are Janis Joplin and Heart, but I guess she can move towards that as she matures.

      But I’m not feeling the snippet.

  8. deez permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:42 pm

    Found a link @ mj’s

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LUXQCPHV

    Is it just me or is the guitar a little reminiscent of The Kinks “All of the Day and All of the Night?”

    (Haha- I hate it when people do this, but actually it’s the first thing that struck me. IDoubt a lot of kida are familiar with The Kinks, anyway)

    It sounds good so far.

    • deez permalink
      October 2, 2009 5:44 pm

      Typo….”kids” are familiar with….

      • Carlisle permalink
        October 2, 2009 6:19 pm

        Well, the kids *should* be familiar with the Kinks. Everyone should be.

        I can’t hear the sample well enough to be able to tell what it actually sounds like, but I’m excited to hear the real thing!

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 3, 2009 2:06 am

          The kids are alright…

  9. d. b. cooper permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:35 pm

    Hoping for the best, expecting the worst.

    She’ll actually have to do something appealing to sell music. There will be no rush to pre-order based on nothing but a release date and how people swoon over her. But that’s how it should be.

    • Bubba57 permalink
      October 2, 2009 6:06 pm

      I like the clever strategy with Jive…use technology to generate buzz (use cell phones and twitter.)

      Plus, getting the stream on AOL’s “First listen”…

      Just don’t release the single on itunes on Friday (that’s like a dead zone)

      • Myolie permalink
        October 2, 2009 7:08 pm

        Charmqn- Your passive agressiveness is showing.

  10. Ali permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:18 pm

    So they went for the teens and pre teens audience? The snippet is more Miley/Kelly Clarkson than idk, Heart. She could have totally pulled off old school.

    Man why did they autotune her voice? Her raw, husky tone is what made me love her so much. Here, she sounds a little squeaky, it’s like they’ve smoothed out all the rock. At least it’s catchy and mainstream and people will buy it.

  11. October 2, 2009 4:30 pm

    The little clip sounds like a Miley Cyrus song. So much for not going the Miley route..

    • Bubba57 permalink
      October 2, 2009 4:46 pm

      it does not sound Miley to me..its definitely got this 80’s pop/punkish sound to it..plus..its hard to tell when its cell phone quality…

      but this is clever strategy by Jive (using cell phones and twitter to create buzz)..better then Kris.

      • October 2, 2009 4:55 pm

        I love how you can tell me how it sounds but then also admit its hard to tell because of the cell phone quality.

  12. Bubba57 permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:55 pm

    You can hear a preview here:

    Allison4Realzzz Aight homies you guys wanna hear a sneak preview of my NEW SINGLE?! Call me to hear it at 323-982-8897. Ohhh shnaaaapssss4 minutes ago from Echofon

    • Mary permalink
      October 2, 2009 4:36 pm

      Just make sure not to call with your cell phone, or else you’ll start getting marketing text messages (or am I the only one dumb enough to have just done that)…

      • deez permalink
        October 2, 2009 5:23 pm

        OK. So I wanted to hear the clip, but if Ido I’ll start getting texts that I must then pay for? I got 1 text said “Join the mob to get texts and updates”….Errrrr, how do I just hear the clip?

  13. Lakshmi permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:02 pm

    I hope that you are right. She’s the perfect counterpoint to Miley, Demi and all of the other Disney princesses.

    • Lauren permalink
      October 2, 2009 3:10 pm

      I like the actual disney princesses (Belle, Mulan, Ariel)…but the new disney packaged stars are just horrific…None of them can sing and very few can act. I actually feel like there is more of chance Allison’s single will be good than Adam’s. Allison has more of a set style that we all know is amazing, and while I think Adam is amazing, he is all over the place.

      (sorry for bringing Adam into something that has little to nothing to do with him)

  14. Lauren permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:01 pm

    Yay!!!!! I am so excited! I’m sure it will be awesome šŸ™‚

  15. deez permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:21 pm

    I have a hunch that after all the agonizing over HBD and Adam, she could be the one who makes it big.

    • Amelle, 22 permalink
      October 2, 2009 3:20 pm

      Adam’s my fave and I love Kris but yeah, I have a feeling Allison will do better than them both. She’s f-n badass talented so I hope I’m right. I just really, really hope they don’t try and market her to teens and pre teens only. She’s NOTHING like Miley freaking Cyrus.

    • Penn permalink
      October 2, 2009 3:23 pm

      Yessss. Love Allison.

      PS. This was an ontdai exclusive, the OP got the exclusive before Top Idol, lol.

      • Penn permalink
        October 2, 2009 3:24 pm

        Don’t approve this, I posted it on the wrong site anyway.

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 2, 2009 4:57 pm

        ONTD_AI did not have confirmation. They had rumors. The rumors had been circulating for the last 12 hours.

    • Sherena permalink
      October 2, 2009 7:59 pm

      She could. And the great thing about Allison is that she’s so young. They’re going to take it slow with her, and build her fanbase up from the bottom, not like an Idol artist so much as just a new girl on the scene. Best case scenario: something like Rihanna. Moderate success, subtle changes in style, and then BOOM. And even if that doesn’t happen, she’ll get a lot of chances. I’m so excited for her ā¤

  16. SarahBeth permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:41 pm

    WOOOO!

    Exciting! Can’t wait to hear it! šŸ™‚

  17. Bubba57 permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:32 pm

    yeah the poster said that its Kick ass

  18. Nich permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:26 pm

    I cannot wait to hear this one. I hope we don’t get Glambed.

  19. Bubba57 permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:19 pm

    Topidol, The poster who leaked this said the single sounded awesome, very rockish and Pinkish

    most likely a Max martin track

Leave a Reply

