Skip to content

1st Listen Snap Judgment: Allison Iraheta’s “Friday I’ll Be Over U”

October 5, 2009

Alison Iraheta: La Princesa del Mariachi

Finally! Now we can hear the entirety of La Princesa del Mariachi’s debut single, Friday I’ll Be Over U at Popeater. I actually never checked out the preview via telephone hotline posted on Friday because I heard the sound quality was mediocre and it was an elaborate setup for me to get barraged with text messages from Jive Records (although you could have avoided this by calling from a non-mobile). However, I really just wanted to listen to it in one piece and make a fair decision.

Whoa autotune. Was it really necessary to screw with the levels so much when this girl clearly has kick ass pipes?

Getting into it more during the first chorus. Wondering if the heavy production — also a distinct element of Kris Allen’s Jive debut, Live Like We’re Dying — was more or less used because these kids had to lay down tracks for their albums on days off during a three-month tour?

It’s pleasant. It’s catchy. I dig the message about not being some bastard’s doormat. I can actually see it doing better in Europe. Some people have compared it to Pink, but I think that may be the lingering memories of our beautiful La Princesa del Mariachi performing So What on tour (which, incidentally, I actually thought was the weakest song of the set), but I still say its more Paramore-ish. Emphasis on the ish.

Max Martin’s handiwork obviously brings shades of Kelly Clarkson, but the heavy autotune does a disservice to Iraheta’s gorgeous, throaty vocals for more than simply distorting her distinctive voice. In all of her Idol performances, you had to slap yourself for always thinking OMG SHE IS ONLY 16. La Princesa is now 17, so hey, she’s still a kid and I don’t really want to hear her (Or anyone else, for that matter) sing Bonnie Raitt’s I Can’t Make You Love Me, but the excessive autotune removes much of which made her so memorable. Friday I’ll Be Over U makes me think, oh she is 17. It prevents the song from being in the feisty-girl-power-pop realm as Clarkson’s Since You’ve Been Gone or My Life Would Suck Without You and turns it into something more akin to the catchy-yet-juvenile See You Again by Miley Cyrus.

I do like it enough, and yes, I will download it and give it a few more spins to see how I feel — Live Like You’re Dying has grown on me, as its the perfect movie trailer song, one I enjoy pressing repeat on while either working out or riding the T home/to another bar with a slight buzz after a few drinks. But right now…meh…its a solid first effort, yes, but I can’t wait to hear what else La Princesa del Mariachi has to sing…on this album and every subsequent release thereafter. The kid’s gonna be a-ok.

Friday I’ll Be Over U: B-/C+

47 Comments leave one →
  1. deez permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:56 am

    Does it mean that I’m a sad, sad person if finding a comment from “THE Diva Kalina” has been the highlight of my week thus far?

    • d. b. cooper permalink
      October 6, 2009 12:05 pm

      Yes?

    • THE Diva Kalina permalink
      October 6, 2009 12:26 pm

      No Deex my darling – it means YOU’RE GLORIOUS! xox

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 6, 2009 12:28 pm

      Diva Kalina may be the highlight of my year. Next to Burning Man and Jon Hamm being behind my apartment, of course…but he’s in VERY GOOD COMPANY 🙂

    • Lauren permalink
      October 6, 2009 3:10 pm

      Definitely not…because that would make me a sad, sad person too lol!

  2. THE Diva Kalina permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:26 am

    This song sucks more dick than me in the back of a truck at the Big Butler Fair. I read an interview in which Allison stated Max Martin pulled this out of his “Magic Box”. I think she needs to try another box…maybe a “Hot Box”…maybe her own box. However, any of us that are rabid music fans know that in most cases, the singles tend to be the weakest link in any album. For example, Allison’s idol, Pink. If it were solely for “So What”, Fun House may have totally tanked. I don’t know how well it did, but I love it. I have faith that Red’s album will be just fine, but the way the media has dubbed her as “on her own” or “free from Idol” is not entirely true. 19E is 19E my babies. They have a receipe for churning out pop stars, and at 17 I think she’s going to listen to it, whether we agree with it or not. Autotune happens to be one of the ingredients. But just think, if there was no Autotune, there may be no homo bars, and if that were the case, then what would over-weight girls in their mid-twenties be doing with their weekends? Auditioning for More To Love?

    Kris Allen on the other hand better grow a set fast. Your looks won’t last forever, Peanut before you have to turn to sexual favors – this is showbiz after all.

  3. kimberly permalink
    October 6, 2009 10:18 am

    reminds me alanis morrisette. i like angry, not suicidal. i’m thinking that didn’t make the album. the melody is good, the lyrics — yikes! A million kids will be slicing their wrists to it. jokingly said, but i don’t take it lightly. when I was 14, a friend told me he was going to kill himself. i told an adult, but nothing was done about it. shortly after he’d killed himself. he was 12.

    this song even puts me in a bad place. ::grin::

  4. Bubba57 permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:50 am

    Well I read that Allison also recorded this song, the poster does not know if it will be on the album, but the song is dark:

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 6, 2009 1:07 am

      The lyrics seem to be an excerpt from Danny Gokey’s diary!

    • Vera's Wang permalink
      October 6, 2009 9:57 am

      I feel like I should go cut myself after listening to that.

  5. 8sourcandy permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:37 am

    It suits her age but, not her talent.

  6. kimberly permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:45 pm

    One thing I read in the little blurb about Allison that caught my eye was “now that she is on her own.” I read that as no longer affiliated with American Idol, moving her away from the stigma of IDOL. Another words, take her seriously, people.

    Maybe TPTB are waking up to the fact that have to look at these artists’ and their careers more long term and as artist in the real world. They’ve seen how far and how long batshit fans can carry an IDOL, but ultimately cannot sustained careers.

    I’m hoping for legitimate music cred for Kradison and of course, Cook. I really think 19M is finally getting it. At least, I hope so.

    • October 5, 2009 11:47 pm

      This song is too cookie cutter production line to take seriously. It doesn’t even sound like her, thanks to all the fucking with her voice that they’ve done.

      • d. b. cooper permalink
        October 5, 2009 11:59 pm

        I think the personality and tone shines through, so the autotune doesn’t kill it for me. If you didn’t tell me it was Allison Irtaheta I would still know it was her.

        The lyrics on the other hand…

      • Bubba57 permalink
        October 6, 2009 12:12 am

        Honestly, its not that autotuned to me..Plus, there are songs out their that are overprocessed to within a inch of its life.

    • blacklisted permalink
      October 6, 2009 12:34 am

      Out of all of them, she is the one that can most easily get rid of AI’s albatross.

      Allison is a super marketable new act. I have a feeling that while the first album will be geared more toward the younger fans, as Allison matures and releases future albums, she’ll acquire a more varied fanbase and be allowed a ‘rockier’ vibe closer to who she really is.

  7. d. b. cooper permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:09 pm

    Autotune: unfortunate, but necessary for radio
    lyrics: vapid, hoping when she starts writing her own lyrics that they’ll be more clever
    beat: pretty effing cool
    melodies: extremely catchy
    likelihood of this being a hit: better than 50/50, it sounds like a hit to me
    likelihood of this being incredible in concert: the only way she could screw it up is by lip-syncing, 99.9%
    Judging from the name on the production and the overall quality of the song, Jive clearly knows what they have on their hands and they are going to pull out all the stops to position her as one of the biggest acts in pop music. I’m grudgingly impressed.
    I’m pleasantly shocked I like this song as much as I do: A

    • Bubba57 permalink
      October 5, 2009 11:14 pm

      I forgot that she will be able to perform this live…She of course will kill it.

      Also allison fans have been petitioning to get Tim stewart from the idol band to be her guitarist for her band haha. Its actually real cute (and both allison and tim would love that)

      • d. b. cooper permalink
        October 5, 2009 11:26 pm

        Ha, I wrote my reply to you while you wrote your reply to me (I read the previous replies after I wrote mine).

        I have every expectation that she’ll assemble a kickass rock band to back her up, whether it’s people we know or not. Seeing the concert and watching the Conan performance it is obvious they have a ton of chemistry, so it’d be cool

        • Bubba57 permalink
          October 5, 2009 11:42 pm

          From what I have been hearing: Jive LOVES her, she has all the heavy hitters on her team, and they will do everything to get her to succeed.

          Bottom line: If teens love it, she’ll have a hit single.

        • Bubba57 permalink
          October 5, 2009 11:43 pm

          yeah, I saw the idols live and seriously Barracuda was so fucking killer. Tim and allison were so amazing.

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 6, 2009 3:30 am

        I bet they call them Timison or something, too, right? Ha.

    • October 6, 2009 12:03 am

      I pretty much agree D.B. It’s a little too poppy for my taste, but I love the chorus. I wish they wouldn’t have autotuned her voice though, it might have made the song sound a little more unique.

      • d. b. cooper permalink
        October 6, 2009 12:08 am

        Last post for me tonight:

        To paraphrase Donald Rumsfeld:

        You go to war with the pop landscape you have, not the pop landscape you wish you had.

  8. Bubba57 permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:08 pm

    I know you want Rocker chick allison. But, honestly allison best bet is Pop/rock. right now. She needs to be able to establish her non idol fanbase first–she has to get that radio success first. This single may be too pop, but I can hear this on Top 40 radio and such. Someone said that they heard a radio DJ debut this track and the audience gives their opinion–overwhelmingly everyone loved the song.

    I see her having a Pink type career..Pink started off R&B, but then she got to venture towards Pop/rock. I think that is what we will see from Allison. If her first album is successful, she might be able to experiment a little more on the second.

    Also, I read she is working with Howard Benson…so we might get some heavy stuff from that collaboration.

    • d. b. cooper permalink
      October 5, 2009 11:19 pm

      dang Bubba, dropping knowledge on ’em son

      I co-sign

      Idol should be forgotten, it bears no relation to pop music. The landscape is Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Kings of Leon, Kelly Clarkson (who doesn’t count as Idol), Kanye and Kid Cudi, Ipod commercials, and terrible southern club rap.

  9. Bubba57 permalink
    October 5, 2009 10:53 pm

    This is from someone who works in the industry:

    Nope….she didn’t win Idol. The labels and publishers are aware, that Idol fans aren’t the most trustworthy. By next season the majority of you guys, will be going crazy for another artist. Chris Sligh (or however you spell his name) was an ass, because he said what he said, but it’s the truth.

    The point is starting from scratch, as a brand new artist. So Allison can only make pop/rock music. She needs to create a fanbase. Her older listeners are basically out of luck. It’s very cut throat and harsh,but it’s reality. Who knows, next album she might get more Rock. Only time & God will tell….

    But, from what I read from other people they like it and their friends/family who are teens love it.

  10. October 5, 2009 8:18 pm

    I think the best song she did on Idol is Papa Was a Rolling Stone. This doesn’t even sound like her. She needs something with an edge of funk as well as rock to it.

    • on the edge permalink
      October 5, 2009 8:48 pm

      That was the only song from Motown week I bought. I was pissed they insisted on using the original instrumental tracks because it defeated the whole purpose of Kris’ covering James Taylor’s version of “How Sweet It Is” and Adam’s acoustic take on “Tracks Of My Tears.” But with La Princessa it actually worked…doesn’t hurt that THAT particular instrumental is funky and bad ass.

  11. kimberly permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:08 pm

    One thing that struck me odd was the weird accent. When did Allison ever pronounce her words like that? It just sounded forced and so not Allison.

  12. kimberly permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:53 pm

    16 year old son — not song. lol

  13. kimberly permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:52 pm

    I’m torn between, yes, she’s only 17 and this song is what’s selling VS her vocals are so much better than this. I bought my 12 yr. old daughter Selena Gomez’s CD and I was surprised by the rock-edge some of the songs had, which unfortunately reminds me of Allison’s new single. My 16 year old song called it an Epic Fail and told me to turn it off. I think it’s catchy, ear-worm that’s radio-friendly, but will Allison stand out with this song. She’s not only competing with Miley, Demi, Selena, but also with the likes of Kelly and Pink. I have no doubt once she gets established, she’ll out sing and outsell the Disney faction, but Jive has to be willing to put time and money into it, rather than a “puppy-mill” mentality.

    I bought the AI Season 8 CD for my daughter. My favorite song on that CD is Allison’s ICMYLM. Yeah, maybe too old for a 17 year old … but then again what 17 year old girl hasn’t had her heart broken. Allison is young, but she has an edge to her, tough. Her swearing comes to her as naturally as breathing. Makes me laugh.

    • on the edge permalink
      October 5, 2009 7:58 pm

      YES, puppy mill, God that’s the perfect analogy. I feel like she was Miley’d. I’m also getting the impression that Jive autotunes ALL of their artists (maybe they’re shareholders in the company?).

    • on the edge permalink
      October 5, 2009 8:00 pm

      And as to the rest. God I REALLY wanted her to have a good single. Guess that’s what we get for thinking they would do ANYTHING other than run her through the Idol washing machine (gets rid of grass stains, blood, and any semblance of originality!).

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 5, 2009 8:36 pm

      Her Give Into Me RULES.

  14. deez permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:51 pm

    Yeah. I was hoping for something a little more “classic rock” I guess.
    I still think the beginning has a little “Kinks” flavor. I don’t know how I feel about this song yet….I agree with the autotune overproduced aspect though. Thank God Janis Joplin isn’t a current artist or they’d have her sounding like Demi Lovato.

    It’s a little too frenetic, I think…but it may have that “get stuck in your head” quality that LLWD does. *sigh*

  15. blacklisted permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:37 pm

    Someone needs to inform Max Martin that this isn’t 1999 and he ain’t working with Britney Spears! Fucking-A, I feel like crying over Allison’s beautiful, unique voice getting washed out with auto-tune shit.

    There are two good points for it. First the song is really catchy and second, this is the type of thing that the young kiddies love.

    Cantiello’s review implies that Allison has some ballads on her album and that those aren’t auto-tuned thus maybe it won’t be a complete wash. *crosses fingers*

  16. October 5, 2009 7:20 pm

    Allison is way better than this song. I think part of the problem is that she is 17 so they want her to appeal to a young audience, but I don’t get why they need to cut out the grit in her voice. Seriously, if she had waited a year, I think she could have won Idol and be able to have a rockier song since she wouldn’t be considered a kid anymore.

    The song itself is kinda ehh, and reminds me of a mix of a Miley and Avril song- kinda bratty.

  17. LeighKat permalink
    October 5, 2009 6:59 pm

    This seems to be the general feeling circulating on the internet. What kills me is that the quality of her voice is lost in this song. I wanna hear the raspy, throaty voice that won me over on the show.
    I think the best is yet to come.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 5, 2009 7:08 pm

      I still haven’t listened to it again…not in a hurry to do so. Maybe that says something?

  18. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    October 5, 2009 6:10 pm

    I don’t like it.

    It’ll probably do well.

  19. October 5, 2009 6:02 pm

    Sucks badly. Could be anyone singing. Formulaic shit.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 5, 2009 6:04 pm

      It’s pleasant.

      It’s also forgettable. For some reason I can picture hearing it overhead while at a Top Shop or H&M in London or Europe, though. I have no idea why, but it reminds me of that. Like I said, it’s not auditory torture, but its entirely forgettable.

      • Lauren permalink
        October 5, 2009 6:05 pm

        It just not Allison-ish enough. She is super original so I’m surprised that her first single, while enjoyable, isn’t.

      • October 5, 2009 6:14 pm

        It’s not pleasant.

  20. Lauren permalink
    October 5, 2009 5:57 pm

    I agree! The song is good but it is missing some of the uniqueness of her voice. Autotune needs to die! Hopefully they will leave the rest of the album alone

Leave a Reply

