Skip to content

Idolfanlandia’s Rorschach Test: Adam Lambert’s Swastika Jacket

October 5, 2009

Adam Lambert's Swastika Jacket

Someone bought Adam Lambert’s jacket off eBay for $2000. Hello stupid. And don’t even say you did that shit to benefit charity — I don’t recall it being auctioned for charity though, as it sold through a private dealer who also has “other Idol clothing”.

People are freaking out because there appears to be two swastikas on the little penned-in design. Other people are claiming they’re Hindu Swastikas because Lambert is “very new age”. Hindu Swastikas typically have dots. Swastikas have actually popped up in many cultures throughout history, as I recall there being evidence of them in Ancient Greece and other pan-Euro cultures.

It totally looks like a Nazi Swastika, but I really don’t give a rat’s ass about the “controversy” surrounding this crap. Nor do I think it’s Lambert being subversive or Lambert being New Age-y. No one even knows if he drew that shit. I’m more curious as to what the hell that entire doodle is supposed to be. Seriously. WHAT IS IT? When I first glanced a headline about it being racist, I thought it was a poorly-inked squat Chinaman with a fan or something. Is it supposed to be a little cartoon Asian? After looking a second time, I saw the swastikas. Yeah…um…those are totally not Hindu swastikas. But, hey, I don’t really care.

How many times did Lambert even wear that shit? If I ever meet an Idol contestant, I’m going to have a spare t-shirt in my bag. And I’m gonna be like, hey, put this on, sign it, lemme take your photo, ok thanks, now give me back the shirt. And then I’m gonna sell that shit on eBay to some idiot for $1000. Because frankly, let’s talk about how stupid it is to buy that shit for $2000 when you don’t even have the “it was for charity” excuse and your only reasoning was that you were hoping to lick dried Lambert sweat and make it the focal point of your bedroom, which has probably become a shrine to all things Adam Lambert.

So why did I post this? I really don’t think Lambert is a self-hating Jew and would go out of his way to deliberately piss off the Jewish community just to be “subversive”. I have no idea why he’s even thought to be subversive? What? Because he likes eye liner, dudes, wears a bunch of stuff with snakes and went to Burning Man? If he was gonna go out of his way to be subversive, he would do it in some ridiculous Lady GaGa-type fashion. Yeah, he probably shouldn’t have worn it. And if he drew it, he probably should not have drawn it. Maybe it was some other contestant who was a JELLUS HATER who drew it without his knowledge. You could go on-and-on with the conspiracy theories on this crap. And I don’t care.

It’s ignorant to wear anything with swastikas. But please oh please oh please will someone tell me what the rest of that lame ass drawing is supposed to be? Am I a horrible person because I see a squat Chinaman* in this photo? Is this as acceptable because it’s “cartoonish”? Or maybe its not even a squat Chinaman and it’s just some random doodling…which kind of sucks. Because I have no idea what else it is, and I’ve stared at it a few times.

Of course, I’ve never been able to see the sailboat in one of those stupid Magic Eye drawings which were all the rage about 15 years ago.

* And yes, I am being SNARKY when I use the term “Chinaman”. I love everyone except ignorant asshats. I am very close to my Asian cousins, the daughters from my Jewish aunt’s (my mother’s sister) first marriage to a Taiwanese doctor, so if some Glambert calls me a racist homophobe hater, I might just throw down.
98 Comments leave one →
  1. Wino permalink
    October 13, 2009 6:23 pm

    how do we know the seller didnt just doodle that crap on the jacket? or by the time it got in the seller’s hands, it might have crossed paths w. a nazi lover. or maybe in context w. the other crazy drawings, its supposed to make sense. BTW i see the mushroom character/graphic from the Super Mario video games.

  2. Rebecca permalink
    October 12, 2009 3:06 pm

    I just thought I should point out that the ‘tweet’ from Adam about Tokio Hotel was sent right after another tweet in which he was doing a shoutout for Blake Lewis’ new album. He has mentioned Tokio Hotel before – he is a fan. I can’t imagine, in my wildest dreams, that Adam would respond to a tweet from someone asking him about swastikas on his jacket. He rarely ever tweets, and even more rarely tweets in response to people’s questions. In fact, the only people he has responded to were his friends, unless he was having a ‘twitter party’. This is getting pretty ridiculous….

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 12, 2009 3:17 pm

      Hey, Rebecca:

      What high school did you go to?

      (I swear this is not a strange question based on the fact I can see her email address)

  3. oneafter909 permalink
    October 9, 2009 2:17 pm

    Hey, he (Adam) is really talented but the Glamberts are very scary fans.If you say anything about him…uh, they go ape-goo on you even if’s it’s something flattering. They have entitlement issues about him that seem very sad for them and miserable for him because they insert themselves into every discussion like a virus or a trojan.

    I really don’t know how he can stand those Glamberts.

  4. Mona permalink
    October 9, 2009 10:22 am

    The Nazis not only killed the Jews, but also gays and the handicapped, so I’m going to guess that Adam isn’t a Nazi sympathizer. But seriously, I’m beginning to yawn and get sleepy. Wake me up when there is something with real meaning to focus on. This is just ridiculous.

  5. deez permalink
    October 8, 2009 1:14 am

    There’s a lot of discussion about this being drawn by someone (Adam or someone he knows), are we completely sure this wasn’t done by whomever designed the vest? If so, that person probably has used similar symbols on other pieces. I remember they did a “behind the scenes” where Adam went shopping in LA. He took the interviewer (Nancy O’Dell I think) into a shop that he really liked. If anyone remembers the name of the shop, it could be a clue to figuring out something about it anyway.

    It’s not an accident. People don’t draw swastikas by mistake. And how hard is it to add dots…or turn it the other way? I don’t believe the person was simply confused either. The drawing seems meticulous (even though I still don’t know what the hell it is). An artist would NOT just simply begin drawing random crap when they could destroy a possibly expensive piece of clothing. Nope. It doesn’t work that way (there would be rough sketches and if the vest was custom, they’d have to be approved). The drawing contains exactly what was intended…the question is why? Knowing what some of the other symbols mean, who did it/where it was purchased, or what on earth the thing even IS would be helpful in determining the intent.

    • October 8, 2009 4:20 pm

      There’s photos of the jacket at the start of the tour shitfest, and the drawing is not on there. Someone added it not long after the shitfest started.

      • October 8, 2009 5:47 pm

        Shitfest! LOL! You kill me, seriously. Shitfest! Tears rolling down cheeks. I think I love you.

      • October 8, 2009 6:28 pm

        But shitfest aside – and I am seriously struggling to put that aside – I just know I will wake up in the middle of the night cackling at shitfest! But who, what, why, what. why, who, seriously, what who why would draw that? And if Adam is making a statement to be edgy, and even I know Adam is not subtle, why would the drawings be SOOOOO small?

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 8, 2009 7:01 pm

          I don’t even think about it as edgy…what kind of person would find it edgy anyway? It doesn’t fit with his other attempts at edginess. Unless it was by mistake…who knows. Maybe his boyfriend did it? I hear there are Glamberts who are fiercely anti-Drake and all for this Cheeks person, wanting them to get back together, all that jazz. (And no, I’m not accusing anyone of doing it, I’m just trying to continue fanning the fires while I enjoy my dinner.)

        • deez permalink
          October 8, 2009 8:09 pm

          Size doesn’t matter…lol. He knows that his fans put everything he does under a microscope.

          There are blown up cropped pics of his eyes, crotch, and everything else…why should they not notice it? If I were him, I’d write “Leave me alone crazy stalker bitches” in about 4pt font size on my ass and see how long it took somebody to find it.

          • TopIdol permalink
            October 8, 2009 8:19 pm

            There are blown up cropped pics of his eyes, crotch, and everything else…why should they not notice it? If I were him, I’d write “Leave me alone crazy stalker bitches” in about 4pt font size on my ass and see how long it took somebody to find it.

            YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              October 9, 2009 12:03 am

              LMFAO!!!! He should really do that!

      • deez permalink
        October 8, 2009 8:00 pm

        Well…if that’s the case,then he certainly knows they’re there! If someone drew a sizable whateveritis on my jacket, I know I’d look at the thing and try to figure it out. I guarantee he saw them, and if he’d objected,he’d have added dots himself, or just enclosed the arms into a box.

        He left them there for a reason, he’s not stupid. Controversy is better than no attention, right? Maybe he’s trying to thin out the Sparkle Herd? Bombarding them with swastikas would seem like a good idea. However, if broadcasting your gayness, calling them smelly, and telling them sense of entitlement is uncool, did NOT work….what makes him think a couple of symbols of attempted genocidewould do the trick. psshh.

  6. Sherena permalink
    October 8, 2009 12:29 am

    @Isidra

    I appreciate you explaining nicely, I really do 🙂 But. I think that there’s a huge difference from wanting to shock America with sexual lyrics and wanting to shock them by supporting the use of a symbol that represents a regime that slaughtered millions of people. Even if Adam weren’t Jewish, I doubt he would ever do something so ridiculously insensitive to the point of nastiness as draw the NAZI symbol on his shirt. His “rebelliousness” has always been around being sexual, gaudy– never politically polarizing, and in fact he’s tried to avoid speaking on political issues, such as the time when he dodged the question on Michael Vicks.

    I could believe that there is a small chance that he wanted to draw the Hindu symbol, and perhaps show that the Hindu symbol =/= the Nazi symbol and that it’s a shame that it’s become culturally taboo due to the association. But there’s a difference between doing THAT and drawing the Nazi symbol for the intent for cheap shocks only. And the latter is what Idletard heavily implied Adam was doing. I completely agree that the chances of Danny drawing that symbol are virtually nil. I also believe the chance of Adam drawing the Nazi symbol as some inexplicable shocking political statement (on what? That the Nazis were misunderstood?) are also virtually nil. And frankly if someone actually believes that there is more than a 0.0001% chance of that comes off to me as cray cray as the cray cray-est of Glamberts. And this is not about you specifically. But on this site I’ve found people who are willing to turn any little thing into an attack against Kris… I’ve also found similar when it comes to Adam, often from the same people who criticize the former people.

    Genocide is something I feel strongly about (personal history I won’t elaborate on as well as just general principles) and that’s why I’m bothering to type up so much regarding this topic at all.

  7. kimberly permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:56 pm

    I think Adam did put it on there for good fortune and luck. Was it for attention? Was it calculated? Only Adam has the answers. Maybe he felt it was time to liberate the Swastika singlehandedly.

  8. kimberly permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:49 pm

    Caitlyn, I’m sure you didn’t mean to imply anything. No problem.

    Adam could have been wearing nailpolish and makeup since he was a young boy. Our hair, clothes, et al is a form of self-expression. To me there is Adam the showman and the real Adam. Most glamberts, fans of Adam, believe Adam the showman is the real Adam.

    The trouble with “fanatics” is that they refuse to see the object of their fantacism as real people. As Madonna said about Michael Jackson, … above all else he was a human being.

    Glamberts and the other factions believe Adam can walk on water. It’s just warped.

    DISCLAIMER — NO WAY DO I THINK ADAM LAMBERT IS THE NEXT ELVIS, MERCURY, BOWIE OR MICHAEL JACKSON.

    • Caitlyn permalink
      October 7, 2009 7:34 pm

      “The trouble with “fanatics” is that they refuse to see the object of their fantacism as real people. As Madonna said about Michael Jackson, … above all else he was a human being.”

      That’s the scariest aspect of fame–the idea that you become an object or a cipher to your fans rather than just a talented person (also, I hope I don’t come across as a fanatic or anything?).

      As for glamberts–I think most Adam fans consider themselves non-glamberts–i.e., sane. I just think Adam’s a fantastic singer, I definitely don’t think he walks on water. 🙂 And while crazy fans seem to be part and parcel of Idol–or maybe just of sudden fame, really (and the stories of glamberts and the fans who do crazy things like trying to french kiss Kris are kind of horrifying)–most fans that I’ve come across don’t seem to be crazy. They think Adam’s amazing, but they don’t think he’s a god or a legend or an icon or whatever. He’s just really good and really interesting. 🙂

      “To me there is Adam the showman and the real Adam. Most fans of Adam, believe Adam the showman is the real Adam.”

      I’m not 100% sure how this relates to him wearing eyeliner in daily life–I think Adam is a theatrical performer in the vein of Bowie or Freddie or MJ (necessary disclaimer: I’m not saying Adam is as talented/iconic/what-have-you as those guys, just that his performance style is comparably theatrical, for reference’s sake), and in that sense, he’s different onstage than off. Is that style not appealing to you (which is fine, of course)? I would hope that most fans would recognize that performers like Bowie or Freddie or Adam are very different onstage than offstage–failing to recognize that about Adam would be like failing to recognize that Bowie isn’t actually Ziggy Stardust in real life. I find that musical style fascinating and, for those performers, totally authentic to who they are as artists. It’s one of a number of performance styles I find interesting. : ) That’s actually part of why I liked Adam, Kris, and Allison so much–they each embodied a different performance style I like, and they all felt like they were being true to themselves while doing it.

      But I can totally get why that style isn’t for everyone. Really, no musical style can possibly appeal to everyone, and that’s obviously fine. Although–I still don’t see why Adam wearing nailpolish and eyeliner in real life would mean that he’s hiding himself? I doubt he wore that stuff in high school–it doesn’t sound like he was even out until he was 17 or 18. But I hope that we don’t have to be exactly like we were in high school to be ourselves. I’m 20, and I’m already pretty different in some ways, including aspects of how I dress, from how I was when I was 17. I think some people wear eyeliner, some people don’t–it’s all just part of who we are.

    • Caitlyn permalink
      October 7, 2009 7:35 pm

      And I’m glad that I didn’t sound condescending. 🙂

    • Caitlyn permalink
      October 7, 2009 7:37 pm

      Wow, that was kind of tl;dr.

      Basically: I think Adam’s style is theatrical, and that of course means that he’s different onstage from how he is offstage in many ways, and I would hope that most fans would be aware of that. David Bowie was not Ziggy Stardust offstage (and again, not comparing them talent-wise, just style-wise).

      But the nailpolish and eyeliner just seems like how a lot of girls and some guys like to wear makeup–they’re not hiding who they are, they’re just wearing makeup because they like it. 🙂

  9. Sherena permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:30 pm

    @Idletard,

    Perhaps Adam drew the Nazi swastika on purpose.

    The chance of that is about as large as the chance that Danny Gokey sabotaged him out of jealousy (or insert equivalent theory).

    I think I’ll stick within the realm of mostly rational for now 🙂

    • Isidra permalink
      October 7, 2009 8:57 pm

      Wow. Gotta say, that doesn’t fit my definition of “mostly rational.”

      Seriously of all the plausible defenses you can choose, you go with that?

      Not saying Adam DID draw it. But there are a few possible reasons he could have had for drawing it: intending to be edgy. Or mistook it for the Hindu one. Danny does not really have any reason…except for his ease as a scapegoat.

      I suppose I’m should just be glad you’re not trying to deny some folks have a reason to be upset.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 7, 2009 9:16 pm

        I actually said in my original comment that I thought he was trying to draw the Hindu swastika, actually.

        I think believing that Adam actually drew the Nazi swastika on purpose in order to be “edgy” requires about as much delusion as it takes to believe someone sabotaged Adam with the symbol.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 7, 2009 9:19 pm

        Here is what I wrote: “I seriously think at this point that either Adam or someone related to Adam tried to draw the Hindu symbol. Adam’s into astrology and Egyptian mythology. It stands to sense that he and his friends would be interested in other belief systems as well.”

        I was specifically responding to Idletard’s reply that Adam drew the Nazi swastika, purposefully, understanding its implications, in order to be “edgy.”

        • Isidra permalink
          October 7, 2009 10:42 pm

          But would it be completely out of character? He does like to provoke people. (Wasn’t there an interview, where he discussed the producer’s reaction to lyrics in Whole Lotta Love, but it was too late to veto the song choice?) I’m not saying it’s the most likely option. But there is some precedence for him liking to shock/tease.

          Heck, one option might be that it was an attempt to slyly thumb his nose at the same managers that wouldn’t allow Michael to wear a necklace that obscured view of his cross or Megan to change out of that awful dress. Again, it’s not the most LIKELY option, but it might not be 100% out of character. He does seem equipped with a defiant streak, after all.

          Anyway, though, there is no precedence for Danny Gokey sabotaging him. I’m not a Danny fan, but that seems to be a blatant attempt to provide a more fan-palatable alternative.

  10. Shakethepoet permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:27 pm

    Twitter
    adamlambert: “Tokio Hotel album is out too!!! Love them Germans!”
    12:11 AM Oct 6th from Echofon

    I do not believe Adam to be an anti-Semite, but I do like that he enjoys playing mind games with people who do. Or, this twitter can be a coincidence.

    • Lint_Licker permalink
      October 7, 2009 5:21 pm

      No coincidence. Adam loves attention. Everything that he says and does is calculated to generate a reaction.

    • October 7, 2009 5:53 pm

      I agree. Wish could have put so succinctly myself!

  11. kimberly permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:00 am

    “Adam may be a bit unusual in how he expresses himself (depending on where you’re from, I guess–nailpolish and eyeliner are pretty common where I’m from ), but it’s authentic, and that’s part of what a lot of people (meaning the non-crazy fans) like about him.” — Caitlyn

    A bit condescending — “I guess naipolish and eyeliner are prety common … blah, blah, blah.” I’m from a large city in the N.E. — I’ve seen a lot. Eyeliner and nailpolish — really trendy, really edgy. What a joke!

    Yeah, I get it, through fashion we show the world who we are or really who we want the world to believe we are. It’s all illusiion, perception. When you strip it all off, that’s the real Adam Lambert. I think Kris and the others got to know the real Adam Lambert.

    I remember a moment when Kris was “interviewing” Adam, I briefly saw the real Adam Lambert. He looked at Kris and asked, “What? Are you mocking me?” He wasn’t upset with Kris; it appeared to me that it was important to him what Kris thought. I saw vulnerability, insecurity and a need for approval. It was sweet. That Adam I like.

    Most of these celebs have major ego. Do you think they’re going to bow down to Adam Lambert? They want people to bow down to them, notice them. They’re all fighting the same fight, keeping inevitable obscurity at bay.

    “But since the Nazis use of the swastika, some people are trying to differentiate the two meanings of the swastika by varying its direction – trying to make the clockwise, Nazi version of the swastika mean hate and death while the counter-clockwise version would hold the ancient meaning of the symbol, life and good-luck.” source * http://history1900s.about.com/cs/swastika/a/swastikahistory.htm

    Even my 16 year old son, who I humbly admit is amazingly intelligent, knew it was used a good luck symbol for eons.

    Adam made the choice to use it on his vest. Post WWII, it will take a lot of time to erase the meaning. But, hey, the Greatest Generation is slowly dying and the Holocaust victims are growing older as well. Pretty soon we can all wear swastikas without recrimination. Isn’t that nice?

    • Caitlyn permalink
      October 7, 2009 1:45 pm

      “A bit condescending — “I guess naipolish and eyeliner are prety common … blah, blah, blah.” I’m from a large city in the N.E. — I’ve seen a lot. Eyeliner and nailpolish — really trendy, really edgy. What a joke!”

      Woah…I didn’t mean anything condescending by that. I was just commenting that that kind of thing is pretty normal fare where I’m from. Sorry if it came across badly. 😦

      “When you strip it all off, that’s the real Adam Lambert. I think Kris and the others got to know the real Adam Lambert.”

      Well–I think that we definitely don’t see the “real” Adam or the “real” Kris or whatever all that often, or at least we don’t see all of it, because they’re in the public eye and they’re not going to relax completely. But in interviews with Kris and Adam, where they were joking around and generally being friends (like the “are you humoring me?” comment), I think that was much more the “real” them than what we saw on the show, because that’s the closest they’ve come to just having fun and being totally relaxed.

      But I just don’t see how Adam’s nailpolish and eyeliner aren’t part of the real him. It’s what he likes, it’s how he often dresses, just like Kris likes plaid and wears it a lot. I’m a girl, I wear eyeliner and nail polish sometimes, and sometimes I don’t. It doesn’t have anything to do with whether I’m hiding who I am that day, it’s just what I think looks good and feels good. It’s just makeup. 🙂

      “Most of these celebs have major ego. Do you think they’re going to bow down to Adam Lambert?”

      Um….I’m not sure what this is in response to. But FWIW, no, I don’t anticipate other celebrities bowing to Adam. 🙂

  12. deez permalink
    October 7, 2009 9:23 am

    My question would be this:

    Where did this jacket come from?

    Is it a bedazzled, hand-drawn tard-made item, or did some designer whip that puppy up?

    I don’t think it’s tard-quality. Mainly because there would be glitter and possibly a unicorn. The granny would also undoubtedly have spread the news by now that HE was wearing her outfit, and there would be a six page long explanation of how every mark on the jacket related somehow to HIM being bigger than Elvis/The Beatles/Rolling Stones.

    That leaves us with “designer”. So, this person is missing a huge opportunity to market himself. It’s not every day that an “iconic genius” wears your sleeveless studded denim vest.
    Were his identity known, we could ask him what the hell that thingy was. (Of course he might be embarrassed, hence…the silence)

  13. Lint_Licker permalink
    October 7, 2009 8:00 am

    I don’t think he drew the swastika

    I don’t think he’s an anti-Semite neo-nazi.

    I do think in his effort to be “cutting edge” and “over the top” he crossed the line. And that makes him a dumbass IMO.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      October 7, 2009 9:43 am

      If he did know they were there, it shows poor judgement. If he didn’t know they were there, then he’s oblivious. Either way, it doesn’t look great. Kind of a braindead move.

  14. terie permalink
    October 7, 2009 4:04 am

    Question: do the idols furnish their own clothes or is there a wardrobe that they can get them from during the tour like they did on the show? Seems to me that Megan Joy was not too pleased with some of the things she had to wear on tour so maybe the stage outfits came from wardrobe. (NOT ADAM’S LEATHER jacket that was a special item) Secondly, if they were provided by AI were these worn by someone else in prior years? If that were the case then they may have already been there when ADAM used it. Finally, WHO gave the clothes that were to be auctioned AI or the guys that wore them. Just wondering ……

  15. Sherena permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:55 am

    Jokes aside, Adam CERTAINLY wouldn’t purposefully draw a German swastika on his jacket. Not many would, plus Adam’s Jewish so that would make even less sense.

    And I doubt conspirators actually made a malevolent plot to soil Adam’s good name by drawing a swastika on his jacket either.

    I seriously think at this point that either Adam or someone related to Adam tried to draw the Hindu symbol. Adam’s into astrology and Egyptian mythology. It stands to sense that he and his friends would be interested in other belief systems as well.

    • October 7, 2009 1:22 am

      Adam CERTAINLY wouldn’t purposefully draw a German swastika on his jacket

      How do you know.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 7, 2009 1:26 am

        Do you actually think he would? Why, for what reason?

  16. cimi permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:45 am

    Once again, I didn’t read the previous posts.
    I don’t even know/see what your talking about TI…. I don’t see anything swasticka(sp). I’m pretty sure Adam L. wouldn’t know of it either…..Ådam has expressed nothing but love in all the time I’ve witnessed him and his personality. so, give it up.

  17. October 6, 2009 11:03 pm

    I WOULD SO PAY THAT MUCH FOR SOMETHING OF ADAMS!

    • October 6, 2009 11:48 pm

      Dana eh? Do you, by any chance, like bananas and Elliott Yamin?

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 6, 2009 11:52 pm

        You just made me spit TheraFlu.

        • October 7, 2009 12:30 am

          You know, a banana has lots of vitamins. You should have a banana.

  18. kimberly permalink
    October 6, 2009 9:02 pm

    “Iconic genius does not listen or apoligise to every diss that comes its way – it gives it the middle finger. That is authentic personality – maybe slightly arrogant – but rock and roll nontheless.”– Lamberkitten

    Are you shitting me? Iconic Genius. Authentic personality – this guys been playing a part since the moment we all set eyes on him. There’s no way in hell you know who he is. ROCK ‘N ROLL — the biggest misconception of all.

    Have a few more JDs, Lamberkitten. And really what’s with the name?

    • Caitlyn permalink
      October 7, 2009 1:01 am

      Also, my guess is lamberkitten is a troll. Or she could be legit batshit. The internet is a scary place full of scary people.

      I mean, I think Adam is a pretty amazing singer and I hope that he, Kris, and Allison have long, interesting careers, but anyone tossing out words like “iconic” right now is either trolling or crazy.

      At this point, I think most fans just want a good album.

      • October 7, 2009 2:36 pm

        She’s been posting here awhile and always talks like that about him, so I’m going to go with legit Glamtard.

        • October 8, 2009 8:52 am

          Funny. But you missed out “batshit crazy”. Personal fave is wackbert . But I dont think I ALWAYS talk like that. I do try keep the tardery under some control. Kinda seeps out when you least expect it. Sides this site wouldnt be half so funny if crazy didnt exist. In fact I think tardery is an integral part of this community and without it something special and important would be missing. Quite frankly, we actually need each other! I feel all warm an fuzzy inside now. A group hug anyone? Anyone?

  19. kimberly permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:40 pm

    “And now Adam is “bo bice” stylie cocky for saying “love them Germans!”. Surely this is Adam showing his “edge”, you know, the guylinery, painted nailwearing, gaystyle, subversive personality – with a smile! – that we all supposedly respect in Adam and what most fans love him for? Adam knows the swastika story is bullshit and is not afraid to tell us so in his own way.” — Lamberkitten

    I take it you’re a glambert with a stupid name like Lamberkitten. Was Bo Bice cocky? Don’t know. Is Adam Lambert? Don’t know. And all the above, all a persona. Adam Lambert is still a strawberry blond, freckled-face guy who was a high school outcast with a good voice underneath all the makeup and nailpolish and eyeliner and black hair. It struck me funny that the scruff/facial hair Adam is sporting had to have been dyed. what lengths he has gone to to be someone else entirely.

    The fans might get it, but maybe other people won’t. He can sing, the rest is starting to get on my last nerve.

    • Caitlyn permalink
      October 7, 2009 12:57 am

      This isn’t to say you shouldn’t be annoyed because hey, we can’t always control what annoys us (and it’s definitely not to say that you should be a fan because we obviously can’t all like the same things musically), but:

      I don’t think that liking nail polish and eyeliner and dying your hair means that you’re hiding who you are–it’s just a different way of expressing who you are. Some people are just artistic, theatrical, what-have-you, and that’s just what comes naturally to them.

      We can’t know who Adam or the others truly are–that’s part of the delusion of reality TV, or of fame in general, really, that it makes you think you really know these people.

      But: one of the things I really loved about Adam–well, that I loved about Adam, Kris, and Allison–is that they seemed completely authentic to who they are, and they all seemed like genuinely really nice people who just want to make music. Adam may be a bit unusual in how he expresses himself (depending on where you’re from, I guess–nailpolish and eyeliner are pretty common where I’m from 🙂 ), but it’s authentic, and that’s part of what a lot of people (meaning the non-crazy fans) like about him. 🙂

      • Caitlyn permalink
        October 7, 2009 12:58 am

        Wow, those smiley faces are obnoxious-looking.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 7, 2009 1:02 am

        I agree completely with your comment.

    • October 7, 2009 2:22 am

      No idea who bo bice is – was just assuming from your earlier comment that he was a former idol who, formerly grounded, had bought into his own hype, and was esteemed to have become cocky – and I assumed that was what you meant about Adam.

    • October 7, 2009 5:05 am

      You are right that no one can know Adam or any other celebrity really – we can only go by the persona they show and the things they say. But you did write “I wonder how Adam is feeling? RS cover and award, constant accolades, media in his pocket …Just maybe he thinks he’s above it all and can do no wrong” – one can only conclude you think he is getting cocky – or at least wanted to intimate that. But if you really don’t know the truth – or don’t care – why put that notion out there?

      My name is what it is. Stupid to you, cute to me. Apples and oranges. I have a glambert number – does that make me batshit crazy? A troll? I will leave you to generalise and be in judgement. – I like it here – people have a great sense of humour. I do get that glamberts are seen as crazy and sometimes they are, and I can laugh out loud at many of the posters comments here that deride the crazy behaviour of Adam fans. I can take that. The language of my posts last night was a little flowery with the iconic talk and I apologise. (Note to self, dont drink and type). But I just thought Adam’s response to the swastikagate thing was cool, and that it would be appreciated here more than anywhere. From what we can gather Adam seems to be taking all the overblown controversies thrown his way with great humour and a huge pinch of salt. Long as his musics gonna be good is all that really matters.

      • magsmagenta permalink
        October 9, 2009 9:30 pm

        Hello:) Fancy meeting you here.

    • sara permalink
      October 7, 2009 8:43 am

      do you think he dyes his chest hair too cuz from what I can tell that comes in kinda dark.

      • auntieaimee permalink
        October 7, 2009 11:38 am

        I don’t think I like where this is going…

  20. October 6, 2009 8:16 pm

    The swastika drawing on Adam’s jacket is minute. I can barely see it and my best guess is that Adam didnt notice it either. I read today that logo on Adam’s jacket is of a skull and is an emblem of some fairly famous rock band. I did read the name of the band and recognised who they were. But that was earlier. Since had a coupla JDs and can no longer remember the name, is of no consequence anyhow. Is much juicier to envelope the whole debacle in controversy and mystery surely? And now Adam is “bo bice” stylie cocky for saying “love them Germans!”. Surely this is Adam showing his “edge”, you know, the guylinery, painted nailwearing, gaystyle, subversive personality – with a smile! – that we all supposedly respect in Adam and what most fans love him for? Adam knows the swastika story is bullshit and is not afraid to tell us so in his own way.

    • deez permalink
      October 6, 2009 9:28 pm

      Try as I might, I don’t see a skull.

      So far, Troll doll with random symbols emanating from the head is the best description I’ve seen.

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 6, 2009 10:26 pm

        Why am I the only person who sees a squat Chinaman?

        • deez permalink
          October 6, 2009 11:12 pm

          Upside down it looks like Jabba the Hut in a grass skirt.

        • October 6, 2009 11:50 pm

          I see it, looks like a kid, some stylised cartoon of the Last Emperor or something like that.

        • on the edge permalink
          October 7, 2009 12:15 am

          I was going to say one of those freaky dancing mushrooms from the Disney movie “Fantasia.”

        • on the edge permalink
          October 7, 2009 12:16 am

          …but with swastikas.

  21. Lint_Licker permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:59 pm

    That figure is a depiction of Eddie, which is the mascot for the band Iron Maiden

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eddie_the_Head

    • magsmagenta permalink
      October 9, 2009 9:21 pm

      It is Eddie and that is Derek Riggs signature too, only I’ve never seen a Nazi Eddie before, and I don’t belive Adam knew what it was, I think he just thought it was decoration. Iron Maiden are not Nazis and neither is Adam, I happen to be a fan of both.

  22. deez permalink
    October 6, 2009 2:32 pm

    Lol….I just found this well-reasoned little excuse over @ VFTW (it’s a cake-taker):

    “What if one of those local cleaning shops employs a skinhead who recognized the outfit and had heard how well Adam was doing on the tour. They’re small enough for somebody filled with hate to make their hate statement and have it go undetected because you’d need to be looking right at the design within a couple of inches to see them and you’d never notice a difference otherwise. And Adam only puts on this outfit after finishing his other set minutes before so he probably wouldn’t have any reason to look at the drawing. And wardrobe is only interested in making sure all the outfits are accounted for and cleaned, so they probably wouldn’t have any reason to look at the drawing.”

    BWAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously? OMG, I cannot fathom the amount of imagination/delusion one would require to fabricate this!

    • auntieaimee permalink
      October 6, 2009 3:07 pm

      He’s got an insanely devoted fanbase. Heavy on the insane.

      • deez permalink
        October 6, 2009 3:31 pm

        Lol. I just took the Idletard Dr Fender Tard Quiz, and scored a “7”. I wonder what the average Glambert score on that would be? The chick who came up with the skinhead cleaner story surely would’ve been in the 90+ category (which would win you some face time with men in white coats).

        • Lauren permalink
          October 6, 2009 3:58 pm

          That was a funny quiz! I just got an 8.5 if you include the age factor, a 17 without. I feel like its a good description of my feelings for “object”, overly enthusiastic but not quite a tard.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 6, 2009 4:57 pm

      That’s one of the most amazing things I’ve ever read. Oh wow…they always manage to surprise me when I think they’ve done it all.

    • October 6, 2009 9:30 pm

      This one has me laughing. I was not aware that the skinhead population were such big watchers of American Idol. Learn something new everyday.

  23. THE Diva Kalina permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:11 pm

    I’m glad that we’ve established Eva Braun does, in fact, live. Knowing now that Adam Lambert is the first fruitcake, Jewish, Nazi that loves psychedlic drugs only makes me want to ride him dirty all the more, however more shocking and appalling is his BLATANT misuse of a JEAN VEST. Is he wearing a pair of Skidz? Maybe stirrup pants? Perhaps he has his jeans pegged at the ankles. Did Allison Irehata and Adam Lambert make this doodle on his denim vest during Ben Stein’s Economic’s class as they waited for Ferris Bueller to come back from his day off?

  24. kimberly permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:35 am

    “Even if he meant it to be a Hindu swastika why didn’t he realize that that’s not the way most people would interpret that symbol?” –Lakshmi

    Unfortunately the Swastika will forever be associated with Nazism. Whatever Adam’s intent, he knew people would see it as a Swastika, but he might not have known the clothes would be put up for auction. I recall an interview where it was mentioned about all the “fires” Adam had to put out and how well he handles things. Adam laughed and said something like, paraphrasing here, “I’m good at putting them out, but I’m good at starting them as well.” He called himself a “firestarter”, thinking it was quite funny. The guy likes to be controversial.

    The glamberts on MJ think he’s being clever, shrugging the whole controversy off by promoting Tokio Hotel and then saying Love Them Germans!

    Bo Bice mentioned during the AI competition how it all could go to your head, getting cocky. Bo Bice seems to be a pretty grounded guy, so if he started buying into the hype, I wonder how Adam is feeling? RS cover and award, constant accolades, media in his pocket …

    Just maybe he thinks he’s above it all and can do no wrong. Personally, he can do whatever the hell he wants, if it bites him in the ass, so be it.

    • October 6, 2009 8:28 pm

      Adam didnt see the swastika on tour! He was too busy missing Drake, fending off bras and answering texts, calls and emails from music industry bigwigs to notice miniscule drawing on his jacket. And now with his comment “Love them Germans” which I find highly hilarious – just shows he has heard of the debacle and is treating it with the contempt it deserves! – he is now too big for his boots! I thought this page was all about satire and comedy – or is that only when it involves your favourite idol? Adam is showing his comedic/rebellious side. I for one, love him even more for it.

      Iconic genius does not listen or apoligise to every diss that comes its way – it gives it the middle finger. That is authentic personality – maybe slightly arrogant – but rock and roll nontheless. And in the end, that is what we want. Not some kiss-ass disney type! Goodnight.

      • October 6, 2009 8:59 pm

        “iconic genius”? Seriously?

        • October 7, 2009 2:28 am

          Yep.

        • October 7, 2009 2:33 pm

          If you think Lambert or anyone whose been on Idol so far is an “iconic genius” you have very, very limited musical knowledge. Just out of curiosity, what do you consider “iconic” or “genius” about him. He’s a good singer who sang on a karaoke contest, and did some stage work. None of that is really awe worthy.

        • October 8, 2009 2:52 am

          HB. I apologised already for my JD fuelled flowery language in my original post. But I do think Adam has been unfairly criticised with this swastika “controversy” – which is a storm in a teacup. And then it was inferred he was getting above himself cos of his flippant response to it. Was just giving my opinion. And after looking up icon in online dictionary which says “image, representation” and “one who is the object of great attention and devotion; an idol” – not too far from the truth as he definitely gives great image and he is an object of great attention/devotion. I suppose the genius part is subjective. I do think his voice is wonderful and his performance skills are pretty darn genius. My other music tastes stem from late 70s/early 80s punk era with The Jam in UK being my first love. But Queen, Prince, Pink, Mika, The Darkness being some of my other favourites so you can see which way my tastes run – and Adam not too great a leap from any of these. Some of Adam’s pre-idol music which he wrote himself does show creative talent and with the help at his disposal now, I have high hopes for his future music. But I have to dispute Adam not being “awe” worthy on Idol – why do you think he has garnered so much attention?

  25. Lakshmi permalink
    October 6, 2009 10:21 am

    Even if he meant it to be a Hindu swastika why didn’t he realize that that’s not the way most people would interpret that symbol? I’m Hindu and I’ve never bought scarves or anything with the Hindu swastika on it because I know that most people wouldn’t get it and instead think of Nazism. Very strange.

  26. girl from mars permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:07 am

    It looks like a poorly drawn troll doll with random stuff coming out of its head. That’s the best I can do, I have no clue wtf it is.

  27. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:06 am

    I don’t even care about the drawing. Don’t know what it is. I’m more curious to know which Glambert blew $2k on the hideous jacket and if they’ll try to clone Adam using his “essence” left on it.

  28. October 5, 2009 11:55 pm

    Hee…”Holy Ghost Crackrock”. That would be a good name for a band.

  29. jolie permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:33 pm

    The jacket was sold by someone in Nashville, TN. The eBay user ID: amazingdesignerfinds. Simply go to eBay, do an advanced search for seller: amazingdesignerfinds, then see completed listings. You will also see that they sold Matt, Danny, and Kris items (clothing) from the tour as well, though they didn’t fetch close to that jacket.

  30. freedavidcook permalink
    October 5, 2009 10:26 pm

    I blame the drawing on Gokey. I just know that Gokey was smoking his Holy Ghost Crackrock and decided to doodle on the Gay Boy’s vest… yeah, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    • Lauren permalink
      October 5, 2009 10:53 pm

      Haha. I. LOVE. YOU. SO. MUCH!!!!!!
      Next time anything bad happens I am totally blaming it on Gokey and his “Holy Ghost Crackrock”

    • Ash permalink
      October 6, 2009 4:17 pm

      If in doubt, blame Gokey.

      “La Princesa’s new single sucks.”
      “It’s Gokey’s fault.”

      “American Idol still exists.”
      “It’s Gokey’s fault.”

      “My car won’t start.”
      “It’s Gokey’s fault.”

      • Lauren permalink
        October 6, 2009 4:48 pm

        That is exactly what people in my school do with our rival school.
        “Oh I just failed a test. Damn you Riverhill High!”
        I’m just going to start replacing Riverhill with Gokey xD
        I have never been more excited for something to go wrong!!!!!

  31. smur permalink
    October 5, 2009 10:19 pm

    weird. i’m seeing an artsy version of a hello kitty character: http://images.fanpop.com/images/image_uploads/My-Melody-sanrio-56140_800_600.jpg

    adam lambert is really a 12-year-old asian girl!
    (i’m asian so i can say this stuff. topidol, YOU CAN’T!)

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 6, 2009 2:47 am

      Angst ridden Emo Kitty with a Nazi fixation.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 6, 2009 3:29 am

      My Melody is ok. I have Kuromi hanging from my mobile 😉

      My Melody and Kuromi hate Hello Kitty. I like them. Kuromi!!

      • smur permalink
        October 6, 2009 8:16 pm

        I had to look up Kuromi to figure out which one that was. My inner seventh grader weeps. Um. I have a Badtz-Maru pen?

  32. Sherena permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:33 pm

    First of all, I see no Chinaman.

    As for the symbol, it’s either a very poorly drawn figure of a stick running man, or someone completely oblivious to modern history decided to draw a windmill and failed.

    Or Adam is a self hating Jew.

  33. Lauren permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:34 pm

    Haha I stared at the doodle for a full minute and I think I am even farther from interpreting it. I’m guessing the only people who know what the hell that is are Adam and the person who drew it (if it wasn’t him). As far as the swastikas go, I seriously doubt Adam is a Nazi…though I will be rather upset if he drew those in.

  34. October 5, 2009 8:16 pm

    He wore it since July on the tour. Just about every night, I suspect.

    And yes, I see two swastikas and some fucked up stylization of a whitey version of Asian people.

  35. auntieaimee permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:08 pm

    I think it’s one of Gwen Stefani’s Harajuku girls. Love. Angel. Music. Baby. Nazi.

    • deez permalink
      October 5, 2009 8:35 pm

      Lol. I wonder when they’re gonna add that one to the perfume collection?

      An amusing little scent with just a whiff of Cyclon B.

  36. deez permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:37 pm

    LOVE the disclaimer.

    I can’t figure out what that shit is either, so I’ll go with this:

    “Maybe it was some other contestant who was a JELLUS HATER who drew it without his knowledge.”

    You know Kris did it, b/c afterall, he did blame the bus fart on Adam….which pissed off Glamberskanks for days on end. He is just a sly dude.

    • Claire permalink
      October 5, 2009 8:33 pm

      Nah, it was either Sarver or Matt. Those guys were so fed up with being asked to be Adam’s messenger bitches on tour that one of them decided to draw an Anti-Semitic symbol on his jacket. Or maybe it was Megan since she was jellus that the rude frau were screaming Adam’s name in her face instead of her own.

Leave a Reply

