Skip to content

Danny Gokey wants you to take your next vacation in Milwaukee

October 6, 2009

Danny Gokey has filmed a Visit Milwaukee video for the city’s tourism bureau.

Gokey opines Milwaukee must hold more festivals than any other city, which makes me certain he’s never wandered around NYC in the spring/summer through the endless sunglasses-sausage-tshirts street fairs. But its a good thing Milwaukee holds a lot of festivals, because that will most likely be his bread & butter.

I have two friends who briefly lived in Milwaukee and both referred to it as the armpit of the earth. Neither one of them knew the other, so I often wondered whether or not maybe this was a city slogan or something? License plate motto? I didn’t think it could be that bad, after all Laverne & Shirley were from there…and Lenny & Squiggy…and the Fonz. Granted, that was all a soundstage in Hollywood but still, armpit of the earth is pretty bad. I’m sure Milwaukee has its charms. Since I’ve never been there, I can’t make a decision about its status as the earth’s armpit, even if it is the hometown of Pastor Rolex.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lint_Licker permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:57 am

    Unfortunately Milwaukee has embraced Gokey to a ridiculous degree. There is still the small town mentality going on so a chance to be on the national spotlight made the city of Milwaukee pretty much bend over for Gokey. So I’m not thrilled that he’s made to be the face of Milwaukee but what are u gonna do

  2. Ash permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:19 am

    I’ve never been to Milwaukee, but they make Harley’s there so I’d consider it.

    Although weighing it up, the utter epicness of Harleys against the abominations that are Miller beer, Pastor Rolex and of course the NecroPimp himself, I’ll probably pass. Especially if it means DWD makes more money for more glasses and ways to keep Sophia locked in his basement. (No I don’t think she’s dead).

  3. October 6, 2009 9:50 pm

    “Come visit us, bring money. Lots of money! Pastor Rolex will be thrilled to have you. Bring money!”

  4. deez permalink
    October 6, 2009 9:34 pm

    I have no predisposition for or against Milwaukee. Alcoholic beverages and cheese are both things I like….which tilts the scale a little. Gokey’s presence however, tends to balance it right back to neutral.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 6, 2009 10:27 pm

      I love cheese and beer. I forgot about the cheese (food cheese not “Jesus Take The Wheel” cheese) factor. I suck.

  5. Lint_Licker permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:57 pm

    As a former long time resident of Milwaukee I’m going to defend the good name of the city. Armpit of the earth? Hardly. Milwaukee may lack some of the excitement of the bigger cities like New York or Chicago but it’s still a hell of a lot of fun and the people are great (granted I havent had to deal with the likes of Pastor Rolex).Especially compared to some of the other holes I’ve been to (Hello Detroit? Cleveland? All of Jersey?)

    Where are your jelluz hater friends from anyway? Fuck ’em in the ear with Gokey’s micropenis. LOL

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 6, 2009 6:05 pm

      Don’t worry. They’re both idiots. One of them’s nickname in high school was Fat Elvis…even though he wasn’t fat.

      And being from St. Louis, I know what its like…I defend. I’ve never been to Detroit either.

      So, Lint, what do you think about Gokey shilling for your former home?

  6. Lauren permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:55 pm

    “But its a good thing Milwaukee holds a lot of festivals, because that will most likely be his bread & butter.”

    I hope you are right but now that he actually has some sort of country album contract he might succeed. I hope he doesn’t it but he certainly wouldn’t be the worst person America has embraced and made a star. It sounds mean, but I’m praying he will be reduced to the county fair circuit.

Leave a Reply

