Skip to content

This Week in Twitter with Jim Cantiello…now with surprise guest voice!

October 12, 2009

This weekend, I went down to NYC. When I arrived on Friday, my first stop was MTV Studios.

How cool am I? Well, not that cool. But Jim Cantiello rocks, as do his incredible Tweet Beats. Not only did I get to watch him edit this gorgeous piece of web cinéma vérité, he also let me take a photo with a FIVE FOOT TALL SURI CRUISE!!! (So awesomely creepy…Praise Xenu!)

Cardboard Suri Cruise and Me

Oh. And I forgot. I got to do a voiceover!! In a little voiceover booth and everything.

While you’ve already seen this masterpiece one or two times, please watch it again…and listen to ME play the part of Tyra Banks. Heheheheheheh.

So much fun. And Jim is super cool. He also played the snippet of Adam Lambert’s Time for Miracles for me, given I was on a wi-fi-less bus for 4 hours and wasn’t able to hear it when it broke that afternoon. Sorry, kids! I agree. It’s definitely more Bon Jovi than Bowie!

Love how Glamberts write for Examiner and instantly have their posts in prime Google News returns. It makes it soooo easy. Sample quote:

C’mon, how bad can certain death be when accompanied by the soaringly sexy falsetto of Glambert?

Oh those Glamberts. How many “tribute videos” do you think they’ve made to Time for Miracles by this point?

jim Cantiello Editing Tweet Beat

So tell Jim he’s awesome (he really, really is) for slaving over these Tweet Beats every week. His trusted sidekick / production assistant, Joel, is also AMAZING. For a quick, five-minute video they do once a week, these guys (and a cadre of others, including the individual who made the killer Castro cartoon) really go all out. So get everyone you know to start watching Tweet Beat EVERY WEEK because they’re great, and they’re just going to keep getting better and better.

You may also tell Jim how cool he is for letting me pretend to be Tyra Banks for about 2 seconds. AND let’s thank @jambajim for having HIS version of Party in the USA in my head for the ENTIRE weekend. We’re talking I rolled off my friend’s sofa on Saturday morning and it was still playing. Prior to my late afternoon Tweet Beating, I had never really LISTENED to that song. They lyrics…oh my fraking flying spaghetti monster! They talk about butterflies! Have you heard that shit? I think I prefer Jim’s rendition to the original, don’t you?

(One more thing. Because I saw a lot of Jason Castro’s Twitter page on Friday, it dawned on me…oh wow, his entire background is GRASS. Arby’s…grass…yeah, he NEVER hits the bong.)

31 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 7:58 am

    Princi- pals of these schools know that engaging the community is not just another program to be implemented, but a new way of approaching the increasingly demanding job of the principal. ,

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 23, 2009 11:34 am

      WHY DO YOU KEEP SPAMMING?

  2. October 22, 2009 9:38 am

    With regard to Touchstone, is it true that it will not come with an additional charging cord? ,

  3. Lauren permalink
    October 12, 2009 7:35 pm

    haha how would that offend Adam fans? You didn’t mention him at all, wait is that what is supposed to be offensive? haha i actually do know of some people that would be upset you didn’t mention Adam come to think of it. Kris is gorgeous, I still can’t understand how anyone favored Gokey to win over him or Adam.

  4. October 12, 2009 4:06 pm

    Would somebody please tell me what HBD means? I keep seeing it and am scratching my head!

    • Lauren permalink
      October 12, 2009 4:08 pm

      HBD= Hot by Default
      Top Idol created I believe because of the lack of attention Kris was getting.

      • October 12, 2009 4:12 pm

        Thanks Lauren. So, er, nothing to do with Adam then? Snoozing now 🙂

        • Lauren permalink
          October 12, 2009 4:23 pm

          Haha yes nothing to do with Adam…aw poor Kris 😦

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 12, 2009 5:49 pm

        If you go way back to Hollywood week, I was one of the first to discover HBD, as I was perplexed there was a genuinely good-looking kid up there and he was getting screwed on screentime in favor of some chubby yahoo with a dead wife who enjoyed making heart hands. Idol is total proof people will idolize men they wouldn’t give a second glance to if they walked past them on the street.

        Kris was Hot By Default, given that he was the most naturally hot one of the bunch because frankly, Idol never really has any legitimately attractive men (see David Cook and his Flock of Seagulls hair).

        (I’m sure everything I just wrote will offend the Glamberts. As anything which does not mention Lambert typically does.)

        • October 12, 2009 6:25 pm

          Homophobe

        • Sherena permalink
          October 12, 2009 6:56 pm

          That’s actually more offensive to Gokey fans. But no one thinks of the Gokey fans 😦
          You’re pretty btw. ^.^

          • TopIdol permalink
            October 12, 2009 9:31 pm

            I will accept that as a complement. Thank you. 🙂

            • blacklisted permalink
              October 12, 2009 9:40 pm

              Did you see Kris’ new album cover picture?

              JIVE did something right!

              I’m still hoping Jive uses a title other than Kris’ name, but honestly as long as they use that picture it doesn’t matter. The guy is HBD.

        • deez permalink
          October 12, 2009 7:39 pm

          Lol…I’ve missed Jim’s “Gokey reactions”….He needs to borrow Kristen Baldwin from EW for his next DWD tweet roundup.

        • October 13, 2009 2:55 am

          Think only Danny fans would be offended by this. But I had Kris as cute from early on, and what’s less is that I thought he was talented too! He just didnt pull me in as much as Adam. Hope no-one is offended by that.

  5. Lauren permalink
    October 12, 2009 3:50 pm

    Haha that really was you? Good job at a Tyra impression lol. While I can’t stand Miley’s version, I find listening to Jim sing Party in the USA quite amusing. Oh and I find his obsession with HBD adorable 🙂

  6. deez permalink
    October 12, 2009 10:18 am

    Love the multi-talented awesomeness of Jim!!
    Good job on Tyra, TI…how did you land this gig?

  7. sammy permalink
    October 12, 2009 7:25 am

    shocking that Time for Miracles would be more Bon Jovi than Bowie considering Adam said months ago that it has more of a classic rock production than modern production which is what will be on his album. Jim C is the gayest straight guy I think I’ve ever seen honestly.

    • Isidra permalink
      October 12, 2009 10:28 am

      Bowie is more modern than Bon Jovi?

      • Wino permalink
        October 13, 2009 4:56 pm

        there is nothing modern about bon jovi. never was. even in the 80s and 90s, the guy was outdated.

  8. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:22 am

    Btw, great job TI! You could be dancing the path to greatness. More Tweet Beat cameos, yes?

  9. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    October 12, 2009 1:18 am

    Jim doesn’t hide his mancrush on Kris Allen. I feel second-hand embarassment sometimes but then remind myself that I have publicly tarded over my sports teams on national television. Many times. And Daniel Craig.

    But his version of Party In The USA is fabulous. I think he’s funnier when he’s not all over HBD. This in no way suggests that he should stop being all over HBD.

    • deez permalink
      October 12, 2009 4:46 pm

      Daniel Craig? (check)… If that sports team is the St Louis Cardinals, of whom I am a giant tard (check), then we may have been separated at birth.

      • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
        October 12, 2009 9:03 pm

        So close deez! Maybe distant cousins. I’m a European soccer fan who once flew thousands of miles just to see her team play in the UEFA Champions League finals and fly back again the next day. That’s how big of a tard I am. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 12, 2009 9:44 pm

        I can’t believe they got shut out. Not too happy about it…and then the Sox got their asses handed to them the same way.

        But I can’t be too-too bitter about the Cards since they lost to the Dodgers…Joe Torre. My mother taught me well. I was raised to love Joe Torre. Anyone who hates Joe Torre is un-American. It’s why I had no problem saying I was also a Yankees fan (you really shouldn’t do that in these parts…especially in my neighborhood). The Sox and the Yankees are basically the same now, anyone who bitches about “buying championships” from these parts can suck it.

        I called my mom the other night and asked, “RICK ANKIEL STILL PLAYS???” I had no idea. Ha. And since we’re on the subject of STL sports, I could probably play better than the Rams these days…and now RUSH LIMBAUGH is buying them. I don’t know if I could ever root for them again.

        Deez, I need to tell you about the ultimate Cardinal Tard. My estranged Aunt. I keep hoping to find her tarding over Adam Lambert or something. I swear its why this shit fascinates me. I may have to put the stories of my Aunt in an email to you…you will piss yourself. I doubt you have even come close to her in Cardinal-Tarding. You probably just wear a lot of red 🙂 You don’t make their wives and children gifts, do you? Doubt it.

        • deez permalink
          October 13, 2009 5:33 pm

          I have 3 jerseys: Pujols (of course), Molina, and Rolen (now with the Reds)…I have a Birds on the Bat Sticker on my rear window. I have 2 caps (including the ’06 WS cap). I have a Whitey Herzog and Jim Edmonds Bobblehead on the office shelf, and an ’04 souvenir baseball, WS ticket stubs from game four in ’04 when” we” got swept by the Sox. (which was Ok with me….I think the Sox were due 🙂 ) I am also in the movie “Fever Pitch” (sort of) They were filming that movie @ the game, so if you get a microscope and look in upper deck right field, you might see me. I’m the one in the red sweatshirt ( sorry…lame).

          Yeah…I’m a tard…Guys will come ask me questions if they don’t know who’s pitching, someone’s ERA or batting ave. (I should be embarrassed, but I’m not. You understand if you live in Boston)

          All that being said…I only wear the jerseys to games, and I don’t make gifts. The rest of the stuff sits on the shelf with books and other crap. So I’m only an identifiable Card Tard on gameday. (which, sadly, will not happen again for awhile) Oh… ITA, Torre is a class act!

          • TopIdol permalink
            October 13, 2009 7:33 pm

            In St. Louis, women KNOW baseball. In Boston, you have a lot of little girls in pink t-shirts and jeans with slingbacks who care more about looking cute. I find this disgusting for numerous reasons, mainly that I have never seen an MLB uniform with PINK in the color scheme. Hell, I have problems with teal (See Bernie Miklaz’s brilliant column from October 2004 on day one of the Cards-Sox World Series, which I cannot find at the moment and I am still at work, but…its one of my favorite things EVER.) being in uniforms. That shit is just wrong.

            My mother watches every game. We used to have season tickets (section 248 in the old Busch). One of my best friends sits there with her scorecard for the entire game. My old roommate, Maggie, was writing letters to the Post in 1997 asking them to just stop worrying about whether MacGwire would beat Maris’ record and just let him hit.

            Sure, there are some like that in Boston, but its not quite the same. If that makes sense…at least for female fans 🙂 So Deez, your level of Cardinals tarding seems perfectly natural…at least where I grew up.

            • deez permalink
              October 13, 2009 8:28 pm

              Lol…You gain a lot of respect in “man-world” when you are able to discuss things like opposite field hitting. (Oh, and Ankiel’s still playing….if by playing, you mean riding the pine and consistently swinging at high fastballs that he has no prayer catching up to).

              Kris(I hear he’s a Brave’s fan) should cover John Fogerty’s “Centerfield”, and wear a uniform(Kyle Farnsworth style) for the single cover…I’d buy it!!!!!!!!eleven!!!!!

        • deez permalink
          October 15, 2009 11:26 pm

          Ummmm…I just re-read this , are you saying that she made gifts for the wives and children of the Cardinal PLAYERS???

          At first glance, I thought you meant she made Card-related tard gifts for people in your family…but that’s not what you’re saying is it? (Please let it be what what you’re saying)

          yikes.

  10. Carlisle permalink
    October 12, 2009 12:43 am

    Tweet Beat is a highlight of the week. Jim’s “Party in the USA” worms its way into your brain, and won’t leave. (And he took a lesson from his love, Kris Allen – that rearrangement really made me LISTEN to the words. I’ve never felt so compelled to put my hands up and let the butterflies fly away.) Your Tyra was incredibly convincing – I mean, I thought she herself was telling me about the side effects of eating asparagus. Oh, and the fact that Jason Castro ACTUALLY TWEETED that entire story about the Arby’s and the pickax and the digging trenches? …Yeah. Wow. I assumed Jim had made that up, but then I checked Jason’s Twitter feed…

  11. October 12, 2009 12:21 am

    THE GIGANTIC SURIBOT IS COMING TO EAT OUR BRAINS!

    How could you have not noticed the grass thing until now?

    I unfollowed Jim on Twatter, he’s just too tardy.

Leave a Reply

