Skip to content

India’s Lil Champs is JUST LIKE American Idol. Only the contestants are younger and shorter.

October 24, 2009

I think we could all use a bit of culture this evening. So let’s head on over to India via YouTube and check out tiny singing sensation Yatharth Rastogi.

Zee TV’s Lil Champs is a talent show for kids ages 8-14 — think the Star Search kiddie competition + American Idol. And the contestants seem oddly familiar, too. This season’s chosen one, Yatharth Rastogi, even seems to be a miniature Adam Lambert! Spikey hair! Gyrations! PLEATHER! And when you get to the end of the clip, it almost seems as if he’s competing against a midget Allison Iraheta and Danny Gokey…oh yeah, and there was the pleasant-looking little boy in the plaid shirt who seems to be participating, too.

Still not convinced about Rastogi Lambert? They might have the same stylist.

Rastogi was the big favorite. He even has crazy older fans calling him Romeo. And making Blingees, of course!

Yatharth Ratnum Rastogi -- Banarasi Romeo

Did I mention he is only 12!!!

BTW u looked soooooooooooooooooo hot in black n white at the Grand finale I ♥ U so much !!! Never change – jsut stay how u r I ♥ U!!!

He’s a rock star!

come on Yatharth-Our New Rockstar! we are all with you!

Oddly enough, comments on some fan forums indicate Lil Champs viewers were tiring of the judges’ pimping and Rastogi’s voice. Many thought he, uh, had a tendency to just yell the lyrics.

He is good in songs which don’t require grace… or modulation… and all he has to do is yell ….  liked the way he messed the impromptu on Saturday…

And does anything else on the fan forum seem reminiscent of, uh….things you may have read before?

no need to request the ones who dont respect Yatharth because like in every post related to Yastharth, they’ll speak fuss against him which is not tolerated by me……

Sorry for abusive language anti Yatharthians.

Yatharth is the best from day one.

I disagree with one of your things that other two have been singing well from last 5 performances.

I dont think Hemant has ever sing well.

Yatharth should win or l’il champs sucks!!!

The Lil Champs final was held tonight and unfortunately, Rastogi lost to wild-card contestant Hemant Brijwasi, an “earnest kid from Northern India”. I think Hemant also won a Sony Bravia.

Congratulations to Brijwasi and Rastogi, who are now both household names in one of the most populous nations on earth. While we all may come from different places, some things — like batshit crazy and reality TV archetypes — never get lost in translation.

(l-r) The Top 3 -- Yatharth Rastogi, Hemant Brijwasi and Shreyasi Bhattacharjee

(l-r) The Top 3 -- Yatharth Rastogi, Hemant Brijwasi and Shreyasi Bhattacharjee

(Thanks to Lakshmi, who really should have gotten me into this show when it began airing in July!)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. ALI SHA permalink
    February 20, 2010 2:53 am

    I LIKE YOU YATHARTH YOU FOOL

  2. kutub uddin permalink
    January 8, 2010 9:08 pm

    hi yatharth, i am kutub, from bangladesh. how r u ? i miss u. you are great. u r my best friend. please muja email koro. all the best my friend.

  3. December 5, 2009 6:27 pm

    yatharh i love your voice sooooooo muchhhhhhhhhh and your personalité

  4. gopna permalink
    November 18, 2009 3:14 am

    yatharth i luvvvvvvv uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

  5. lauren722 permalink
    October 25, 2009 2:39 pm

    Oh my! Please say that photo-shop was created by some adorable obsessed preteen not the 80 year olds that create the Adam ones!
    That being said, those kids are so cute. Haha I love how the “Allison” was enjoying “Adam’s” performance but “Gokey” was just glaring! Made my day!

  6. Lakshmi permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:58 am

    Their fourth place finisher was like a mini-David Archuleta. And I mean mini, the kid was born in 2001.

    It was pretty wrenching when he was voted off because he cried and cried and it really hit home that 8 is too young to do things like this.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 25, 2009 1:12 am

      8-years-old seems quite young. Perhaps if they did ages 10 from 16? Who knows. I’m always wary of child performers and their parents.

      • deez permalink
        October 25, 2009 1:37 am

        Stage parents are the worst. Although maybe not much worse than “Little League” parents. I once saw two grown men get into a fistfight at a girls’ youth softball tournament.

        Some guy heard another parent say something about his kid (I guess) and jumped down 3 rows of bleachers (over a 4 yr old little girl) and started pounding the other guy. Idiots.

        The worst part is they ruin the fun for the kids. These little “performers” feel like they have to put on a perfect show for Mommy and Daddy to love them.

        Ugghhh. Don’t get me started on that crap…

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 25, 2009 1:48 am

          At one of my nephew’s baseball games in 2001, my niece and I were going to the bathroom and nearly walked into a Dad vs. Dad fight which ended with one of them splitting the forehead of the other. Lovely. She was cool with it, but I did the whole protective, stay out of the way thing. And then I bought her an Icee.

  7. deez permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:54 am

    Hmmmmm….so every country’s talent show has the same cast list? I guess nobody wants to figure out halfway thru the season that they are the “Gokey.”

  8. Lakshmi permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:19 am

    I’m honored that I inspired a Top Idol post. 🙂 And I’ll make up for not telling you about the show earlier by keeping you posted about the adult version of the program, which I think starts next week.

    Oh, and this comment on one of the Facebook groups also sounded very familiar:

    I am sorry that you came second.Sometimes the person who takes second place becomes the real star!Your talent will take you places!Best of luck for the future!

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 25, 2009 12:31 am

      I love the photo I found of the Top 3. However, I guess they had the good sense to knock out their Gokey before their La Princesa?

      I also just want to dance Bollywood style now. I think I actually grooved a little bit while playing these. (Yes, I’m blushing.)

  9. Smartie permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:15 am

    The story remains the same, there are tards in every country.

Leave a Reply

