Skip to content

Kris Allen performs at Miami Dolphins Tailgate Party

October 25, 2009

Kris Allen performed four songs off his new album, as well as a few “old” favorites today in Miami. MJ is posting videos as soon as she gets them, so check over there for updates.

Allen sang Baby One More Time (He is sooo a Travis fan.), Live Like We’re Dying and the previously unheard Can’t Stay Away and Before We Come Undone.

Although the only videos I’ve seen thus far have been mediocre in sound quality, I gotta admit I’m definitely feeling this Can’t Stay Away. In some parts, it reminds me of  I’m In Love With A Girl by Gavin DeGraw, however, I HATE THAT SONG. And I really like Can’t Stay Away…although I’ve only heard about 1 minute of it from some crap quality video.

I would love to hear more of Before We Come Undone, but the videos are worse than Can’t Stay Away. I couldn’t even make out any of the lyrics, but I’ve heard enough to know I really do want to hear the rest of Allen’s album. And I don’t think it sounds like Daughtry or David Cook, which I’m sure some people are claiming…oh yes, they are. Nor does it sound like Jason Mraz or John Mayer, but granted, I don’t know much of Mraz’s music and I hate John Mayer. If hate were measured by planets in our solar system, my hate for John Mayer would be Jupiter. And all of Jupiter’s moons.

If you catch a few more of Allen’s performances on YouTube, watch out for the crazies!

Didn’t he take voice lessons after idol because he realized he won due to the homophobes and cheaters?……… well…………………..bas ed on this clip he sounds like he needs a few more years of them.

Just fade Kris….your only hope was to be a talented & original song writer and……..ya just ain’t.

Oh, here were go again with the homophobes. Everyone’s a homophobe. If you hate the guy so much, why bother watching videos posted of him on YouTube. And in case you didn’t know, season 8 of American Idol is over. Finito. Even the tour is just a distant memory.

If I’m a homophobe, this whacko is definitely a real-life-o-phobe.

If you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the set list for Kris Allen’s self-titled debut album, scheduled for release on November 17th.

  1. Live Like We’re Dying
  2. Before We Come Undone
  3. Can’t Stay Away
  4. The Truth
  5. Written All Over My Face
  6. Bring It Back
  7. Red Guitar
  8. Is It Over
  9. Let It Rain
  10. Alright With Me
  11. Lifetime
  12. I Need To Know
  13. BONUS TRACK — Heartless
50 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 5:43 am

    this is a nice post.. worth reading and informative..

  2. on the edge permalink
    October 28, 2009 12:22 pm

    Amazon Germany has snippets from Kris’ album:

    http://www.amazon.de/Kris-Allen/dp/B002UANQWM/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&s=dmusic&qid=1256741964&sr=8-11

  3. October 28, 2009 7:08 am

    What’s even more awesome about Kris Allen and his superiority to Adam Lamebert is the fact that Allen co-wrote the MAJORITY of his new tracks. Whether or not they’re amazing or just pleasant, he gets major credo for actually having a hand in his work, which I think is laudable and commendable no matter what.

  4. blacklisted permalink
    October 26, 2009 7:18 pm

    Kris Allen Official posted a recent photoshoot. Holy crap, HBD is looking good.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 26, 2009 9:14 pm

      I hate the Corey Feldman hand-me-down jacket.

      • auntieaimee permalink
        October 27, 2009 9:54 am

        Oh, man, did you ever see the two Coreys reality show? Who ever would have thought that Feldman would turn out to be the relatively normal one? Yikes.

        But, yeah, he needs to lose that jacket. Why would they want to cover up his nice arms and hands? Dumb.

  5. Margie permalink
    October 26, 2009 11:50 am


    Written All Over My Face
    HQ


    Can’t Stay Away
    HQ

  6. Nich permalink
    October 26, 2009 11:18 am

    I could only listen to Can’t Stay Away before the terrible quality of the sound made me stop. But I was thankful to have these sneak peeks. I already like Can’t Stay Away. It’s making me hopeful for the rest of the album.

  7. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    October 26, 2009 9:57 am

    I really like the songs I’ve heard so far. They’re not life-altering, but I would listen to the songs from start to finish on the radio. Also, I enjoy how into the music he gets.

    No, it doesn’t sound like Mraz or Mayer. Although Mraz is a great songwriter, IMO. Plenty of tongue-in-cheek songs.

    I can picture David Cook singing Before We Come Undone. I can also picture the song rearranged with classical strings. I only spent half a day thinking about this.

  8. LeighKat permalink
    October 26, 2009 1:01 am

    I am in the ultimate fangirl heaven right now. What did you expect? I am a Kris fan and the fantard came busting outta the gate with today’s listen to his new songs.
    Glad you guys are feeling the songs, for the most part! I, for one, could not be more thrilled.

    And now for my bitching. What is it with Adam fans? All the Kris fans I have interacted with acknowledge Adam’s talent and say they look forward to hearing his music. They, on the other hand, insist on tearing Kris to shreds. I will never understand. It usually doesn’t bother me but, on days like today, when Kris proves he is talented, their heads are still stuck up their asses, bitching about homophobes and the lot- well, it just pisses me off.
    Gonna go and watch some clips of the Indian Lambert child star to cheer me up 🙂

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 26, 2009 1:05 am

      Don’t you love Lil Champs? I was so pissed. I found it on my cable guide today and of course, I’m not subscribed.

      • LeighKat permalink
        October 26, 2009 1:16 am

        What? you could actually watch that on cable? lol! when does the next season start? I can’t miss that 🙂
        Are you going to check out the one for the “older” contestants?

        • Lakshmi permalink
          October 26, 2009 10:38 pm

          Next season starts next summer! Mark your calendars! 🙂 Apparently auditions for next season were held last month.

          You guys have to ask your cable company for the South Asian package- you get 4 channels and it’s insane. These shows are so scripted that you don’t need to speak the language to truly appreciate it.

          There’s also a Hindi version of what looks like that “I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here” show and of course, Indian Idol, which I think starts in February.

  9. blacklisted permalink
    October 26, 2009 12:02 am

    Even without a clear version, I like all three songs. Can’t Stay Away has a great beat. Written all over my face is radio friendly and Before we Come Undone will probably be one I’ll listen to when I’m mellowing out.

    Now on to the important part…Kris’ bandmates are smokin’. The dude wearing the white shirt (Andrew?) looks totally fuckable in that ‘I’m too cool for school’, snotty white boy way that warms this sister’s heart.

  10. deez permalink
    October 25, 2009 11:51 pm

    Lol…Here’s a comment from a Glambert @MJ’s. (can’t say anything there or I will get modded)

    “Soberba
    October 25, 2009 at 9:39 pm
    That was just bland and boring. Kris just sounds bland and boring, his vocals are always the same, like he is singing the same song, and they all sound like the same song to me.

    Edit by the poster: I didn’t mean the start fan warring, so I edited my post to not mention Adam.”

    She edits the post to not mention Adam, yet still mentions Adam, LOL. This argument always cracks me up. “he always sounds the same…he sings the same song over and over.”
    IMO that criticism applies as much to Adam as it does Kris.

    I think LLWD is the worst song I’ve heard so far off the album. (Of course, I guess I haven’t heard the same ones Rickey did!)

  11. kimberly permalink
    October 25, 2009 11:02 pm

    First I have to say, I’m really loving Can’t Stay Away and Written All Over My Face. It’s like a whole different persona when he’s singing, really self-assured and really into the music. This guy is very cool and his voice is instantly recognizable. I think this cd might earn some critical respect. It’s good.

    Now on to Adam’s track list: I believe Lyndsey Parker mentioned one song reminding her of The Sweet. She mentioned some obscure album or somthing so maybe they’re better than I remember. I was pretty young at the time, but I do remember the Ballroom Blitz. Really OTT and campy.

    As far as, The Darkness, the guitar is pretty good, but the vocals are so-so. I think they were around in the 90s, not sure. Cavallo was the sole producer, I believe, on David Cook’s CD. There’s been far more name-dropping on Adam’s CD, like it’s a shoo-in because of Max Martin or Katy Perry or Gaga. The hype is ridiculous. To be perfectly honest, I only knew of Kevin Rudolph guy because of the lame song, Let It Rock, it doesn’t seem to die. Is his name Kevin or Kenny? lol

    Adam’s music might be interesting. The question is will people get it?

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 25, 2009 11:14 pm

      Some Max Martin stuff is doable, but I haven’t heard anything lately. Well, I don’t really care for Katy Perry’s stuff after three listens so perhaps I’m basing it off that, while I’ve always enjoyed the stuff he’s done with Kelly Clarkson. While catchy, I was not blown away by Allison’s first single, so I’m interested to see what he’s doing for Lambert. It seems Martin mainly works with female artists these days and hasn’t worked with any big male superstars since 10 years ago — *NSYNC and the Backstreet Boys. Oh wait…he’s helping the latter do something for their comeback.

      Oh wow. Had no idea he did stuff for Bo Bice or Daughtry’s Feels Like Tonight…the latter of which I felt was meh. (I will fully admit to loving It’s Not Over for whatever reason, though. I know its crap but its likable crap.)

  12. lauren722 permalink
    October 25, 2009 9:09 pm

    Before we come undone sounds kind of boring but I also have not heard a version with good quality so I’m not going to make any decisions yet.
    On the other hand, I absolutely adore what I have heard of Can’t Stay Away! I am really excited for his album.
    I am even more excited for Adam’s but also more fearful at the same time. The fact that he and Kara wrote a song together is terrifying. What is worse is that it is called “Strut!” *shudder*

    • Smartie permalink
      October 25, 2009 9:18 pm

      If it was a cover of this, done sarcastically, it would be brilliant.

      Unfortunately, it won’t be.

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 25, 2009 9:27 pm

        It’s a shame because he even has the outfit.

        Why has no one ever attempted this on Idol? Pussies.

        Wait. I totally forgot about Sugar Walls. 🙂

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          October 25, 2009 10:08 pm

          “Sugar Walls” is an homage to the vagina—hardly Adam material. But, a riotously campy version of “Strut” would be splendid.

          • TopIdol permalink
            October 25, 2009 10:21 pm

            I thought the vagina homage would be funny 🙂

      • lauren722 permalink
        October 25, 2009 9:29 pm

        I agree! I can see Adam being brilliant at that song! LOL!
        Pahaha he probably does have an outfit similar to that already.

  13. SarahBeth permalink
    October 25, 2009 9:01 pm

    I have heard a good audio version of Can’t Stay Away and also a slightly muffled version of Before We Come Undone, and I am SO EXCITED for the album, I think its going to be fabulous. I can’t wait for the album.

  14. Smartie permalink
    October 25, 2009 8:49 pm

    Unlike Madam’s trainwreck, with tracks written by Kara Dildo and various leftover songs from people who dislike the songs so much they threw them away, I think this album may be so so. Bearable. Tolerable. At least I hope I don’t laugh when hearing it. I know I’ll laugh and probably not be able to make it through Madam’s album in one sitting because of the screeching 😆

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 25, 2009 9:00 pm

      I don’t think I’ve laughed at the guy unless its a photo of him. Like, the football photos which are intentionally funny. I have no idea what will be on Madam’s album, but so far the few songs I’ve heard from HBD’s are likable. They’re nothing I would turn off the radio.

      I remember Kelly Clarkson’s Christina Augiliara leftover. Never cared for Augilara, and Miss Independent was a lame song except for the chorus, which I now think was the first we actually saw of Kelly Clarkson. I still dismissed her as AI crap until Since You’ve Been Gone because I had never seen the show and everything else I had heard sucked. But I always did like the chorus to that lame song.

      Shit-For-Brains should NEVER have been allowed to write another song after this shit, which I would definitely use if I somehow kept political prisoners and thought it was a good idea to torture them. I would play it over and over. Like Chinese Water Torture. Granted, I don’t have any prisoners and I’m not into that Abu Graib shit, but if I was a sick ticket, I would so play this song…over and over again…

      • Smartie permalink
        October 25, 2009 9:04 pm

        Madam’s albums track list:

        1. Obsession” Ryan Tedder, J_Skins
        2. “Music Again” Rob Cavallo, Justin Hawkins
        3. “Suburban Decay” Rob Cavallo
        4. “Winners” Rob Cavallo
        5. “What Do You Want From Me” Alecia Moore, Max Martin
        6. “Strut” Adam Lambert, Kara DioGuardi
        7. “Loaded Smile” Adam Lambert, Linda Perry
        8. “Aftermath” Unknown
        9. “Entertainment” Claude Kelly, Lukasz Gottwald
        10. “Sleepwalker” Aimee Mayo, Chris Lindsay, Ryan Tedder
        11. “Unknown Title” Lady Gaga
        12. “Thirteenth Coming”

        Reject songs by Gaga and Pink 😆

        Suckfestarama!

        By comparison, hopefully I won’t laugh and will be able to sit through all of Kris’ album in one sitting. I honestly doubt I’ll be able to listen to the above shit in one hit.

        Strut – if only this was a cover of the Sheena Easton song 😆

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 25, 2009 9:12 pm

          That’s ALL I can think of when I see that…Sheena Easton. And then it gets in my head for hours. Uh oh, it might be there again.

          I hate Ryan Tedder. Nice to see his song for HBD got cut. And isn’t it lovely how this is these are the first releases by Idol finalists to not include the coronation song, yet Shit-For-Brains DioGuardi still has a job?

          • Smartie permalink
            October 25, 2009 9:17 pm

            She’s gotta be blowing someone. Fuller, mebbe?

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              October 25, 2009 10:42 pm

              That’s assuming she’s better at blow jobs than she is song writing.

            • lauren722 permalink
              October 25, 2009 10:44 pm

              8sourcandy, didn’t you see her strip on live television? I’m sure she is more than experienced at the art of giving blow jobs

              • TopIdol permalink
                October 25, 2009 11:06 pm

                Prince wrote Sugar Walls. Oh wait. We’re talking about Shit-For-Brains DioGuardi and Open Toes.

                Oh yeah. It’s bad. There are no words to even describe its suckitude.

                • deez permalink
                  October 25, 2009 11:32 pm

                  • deez permalink
                    October 27, 2009 9:14 am

                    Funny radio prank call featuring HBD trying to get lessons from a vocal coach.
                    (The coach seems peripherally familiar with AI, but somewhat confused, lol.)

          • Nich permalink
            October 26, 2009 11:22 am

            I immediately started singing it too. Which sucks b/c I barely know the chorus.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          October 25, 2009 9:54 pm

          Everything Smartie stated has passed through my head at some point–with the exception of feminizing his name in some lame attempt to disparage his masculinity. Leftover songs, crazy-Kara collabs, Tedder! Yikes!
          But then I take a deep breath and say it’s Adam f*cking Lambert. He will beat the machine. He will transcend mediocre. I keep going back to The Zodiac Show and songs he co-wrote like “Glamorize” and “Crawl Through Fire.” They are good songs. He has a unique and distinct sound. And, he is amazing to watch.
          Even the album title makes more sense now that I know it is taken from lyrics of one of the songs. Yes, Adam Lambert scares me at every turn but, he always seems to pull it off. Don’t count him out just yet.

          • lauren722 permalink
            October 25, 2009 9:58 pm

            I certainly hope you”re right!

        • Sherena permalink
          October 25, 2009 11:45 pm

          Where did you get this track list?

          • blacklisted permalink
            October 25, 2009 11:50 pm

            It’s not the solid track list Sherena. It’s something that has been posted by Adam fans who are following the song titles and contributers. No one knows yet what the final track list will be.

            • Sherena permalink
              October 26, 2009 12:23 am

              Oh. Thank you, that makes more sense. I was confused by the lack of RedOne tracks. I hadn’t heard of Thirteenth Coming before though, so I guess I learned something new!

        • blacklisted permalink
          October 25, 2009 11:48 pm

          I’m jonesing to hear Linda Perry’s contribution.

          I pray that Ryan Tedder and Kara’s songs get kicked to the curb. Talk about dull and derivative.

        • Nich permalink
          October 26, 2009 11:21 am

          I don’t know why but the title “Strut” makes me giggle.

        • RheaTard permalink
          October 28, 2009 2:39 pm

          Madam just tweeted that the upcoming single was produced by Dr. Luke. So going by this list (even though I know you said it isn’t final), looks like the next single is going to be “ENTERTAINMENT” and not the Pink song.

          Unless of course Dr Luke produced more than one song.

      • girl from mars permalink
        October 25, 2009 9:59 pm

        I just listened to some of Open Toes and all I could think about was that creepy toenail fungus commercial with the animated fungus who lifts up a toenail. Shudder. It’s amazing that Open Toes exists, it rivals La La by Ashlee Simpson (also written by Dildoguardi) as the worst song ever written.

        • lauren722 permalink
          October 25, 2009 10:02 pm

          She wrote La La? Wow Strut is going to be crappy 😦

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            October 25, 2009 10:13 pm

            I actually liked that song. I had no idea crazy-Kara wrote that.

      • on the edge permalink
        October 25, 2009 10:37 pm

        I actually got through 39 seconds of that. After that I would have told you nuclear codes and where all the “undisclosed locations” were. I’d even confess to making a whole movie theater audience puke like Chunk did in “The Goonies.”

      • October 26, 2009 2:29 am

        I’ve been hearing about Open Toes but never listened to it, and now I can say I have… well 34 seconds anyway, that’s all I could sit through. I didn’t think it was really about shoes, but it is. It’s a song about open toed shoes. I always thought Kara was crap, but my opinion of her songwriting just went even lower. The wretchedness that is No Boundaries makes more sense now.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 25, 2009 9:13 pm

      I hope Kris’ album is good. The sound quality of the video sucks so it’s hard to say whether I like it or not. I recently downloaded Kris iTunes pass thing and LOVED the way he sang “Bright Lights.” I am hoping for a similar sound on the album. As for his voice, I have heard him perform live on three occasions and was pleased with each performance. Also, the “Crazy” duet he did with Adam at Ford, demonstrates he can hold his own vocally.

      • lauren722 permalink
        October 25, 2009 9:15 pm

        I FREAKING LOVE CRAZY!!!!!!! THEY BOTH SOUND FANTABULOUS!!!!!

        and out comes my inner tard…

Leave a Reply

