Skip to content

Adam Lambert’s “Entertainment” to debut Friday morning

October 29, 2009

Well, only if you live on the West Coast.

Adam Lambert will be debuting the first single — Entertainment — off his debut album For Your Entertainment (aka One of the Worst Album Covers Ever) on Ryan Seacrest’s KIIS FM morning show at 6:55am PST…so that’s 9:55 for all of us on the East Coast, 8:55 for those in the Central United States…I think you can figure out the rest.

As reported by MJs Big Blog, Lambert announced the news via his Twitter account (i.e., Twitter will eventually kill the business of flacking).

I would be willing to be $25 its better than Time For Miracles. It’s gotta be. I hope its awesome (I swear!) And I really, really hope its better than his album cover. I don’t care what Lambert or his most diehard fans say, it’s not camp. It’s crap. And there’s a fine line between the two.

Let’s look at it again, shall we?

Adam Lambert For Your Entertainment Album Cover

61 Comments leave one →
  1. Katey permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:50 pm

    OH. MY. GOD. I love everything about adam lambert, but this cover, this cover made me just about poo my pants

  2. lauren722 permalink
    October 30, 2009 3:06 pm

    Ok, I just listened to it and I think I might cry. And NOT in a good way. I am so disappointed…this sounds just like a Britney song until the end when it actually starts to sound like him. Sure the beat is fun…but his voice throughout most of the song is kind of…annoying…
    I can’t believe I just said that… My world has literally shattered.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      October 30, 2009 4:04 pm

      Aww! 😦 It’ll be ok, kiddo.

      • lauren722 permalink
        October 30, 2009 7:09 pm

        thanks. I’m just being melodramatic…I really shouldn’t be this upset that Adam put out a song I didn’t like. There is still hope for the rest of the album.

        • Sherena permalink
          October 30, 2009 8:34 pm

          Oh bb. Hopefully there will be some more rock-ish or ballady songs for the album for you to like. Or some where his voice is more smooth like it usually is πŸ™‚ There is definitely hope, cuz like he’s said it’s an eclectic album.

  3. Trish permalink
    October 30, 2009 12:17 pm

    I liked it, but his voice isn’t recognizable until 2/3 through it. Still, this is pretty much what I expected when he described the kind of music he loves and what he hoped to do. I think he has a hit on his hands. But can we put the whole “rock star” meme to rest though? Because this is not rock-n-roll, and every time Adam proclaims that he can’t wait to play rock star I cringe for him.

    Oh, and for 8sourcandy wherever he/she is, I *love* the cover art on the single. Maybe he can switch it out with the horrible album art.

  4. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:43 am

    Not my cuppa at all, but then I can say the same for almost all the Top 40 songs these days. I guess it’ll do really well then.

    And the single cover is a bajillion times better than the album cover.

  5. kimberly permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:43 am

    I had said in another comment that the album cover art would have worked better for me if it had been done in black & white. I love the contrasts of Adam’s skin with his eyes and hair. The single cover is a perfect example of that. The color hues from eye shadow to background to the hair was not aesthetically pleasing to me at all on the cover art. That CD would have ended up underneath a pile of other CDs in my house, which means it wouldn’t get played too often.

  6. on the edge permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:42 am

    So sue me, I actually like it. Very danceable, will likely go on the iPod shuffle I use for working out. No guarantee I’ll get the album, though.

    And the single cover should have been the album cover…even though I see that weird metal hand thing and automatically I start humming “if you liked it then you shoulda put a ring on it…”

  7. kimberly permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:34 am

    The song is fun, danceable, but wasn’t recognizable as Adam until the end. The wailing works well here, very cool. This is exactly what I expected music-wise from Adam. Electronic/Dance/Pop — not Rock ‘n Roll. With the Idol machine behind the song, it might do well. It’s as catchy as say a Jording Sparks’ song. It gets going towards the end, as I said. But, really will kids who buy Miley, Selena and Demi, as well as, Justin Beiber, even care about Adam’s upper register like the glamberts do? It’s just another song to them. I can’t see any of these kids geeking out over his vocal skills.

    Nothing innovative here as far as I’m concerned, but it is good.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 30, 2009 1:12 pm

      I refuse to find out who this Justin Beiber is and I will never listen to anything his name is attached to. I’m sick of hearing about this kid. He’s up there with fraking Twilight nonsense. Make it stop. All of it!

      • October 30, 2009 7:59 pm

        I had Mtv on around 2am last night(they play music during the night apparently) and finally saw him. He makes Aaron Carter look tough. That so many kids like him makes me shed tears.

  8. Burgundy LaRue permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:02 am

    Listening to FYE right now. It’s not great, but not bad. In certain spots, it sounds like Sam Sparro’s ‘Black & Gold,’ but not nearly as interesting. I wouldn’t have know it was Adam right away because it seems over-modulated at the beginning. It kicked up things toward the end and finished pretty well.

    All that said, I think it’ll do fine on radio. It’s catchy enough and will blend in with the likes of Laga Gaga and Katy Perry.

  9. October 30, 2009 11:01 am

    This song sucks. Tfm is better than that pile of crap and that should say alot.

  10. 8sweeeeetcandy permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:01 am

    For Your Entertainment…

    MASSIVE! EPIC! Unapologetic SQUEEEEEEEEEE!

    AND the single cover art is gorgeous. Fuck off detractors…any negativity in regard to this song is misplaced and unsubstantiated.

    Flail. Flail Flail. πŸ™‚

  11. Mimi permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:56 am

    Running and screaming from MJs… too much OMFG it’s the best song ever BS. Anyway, as I thought it sounds like it will be a hit… but where’s the revolutionary sound like everyone around him was suggesting– actually not suggesting– stating!?! I think you could throw Britney’s vocals in it no prob. I think it’s good– although I could have done without that crazy synth keyboard breakdown part and his trademark screaming.

  12. October 30, 2009 10:18 am

    I just heard it. I don’t hate it, but I’m not like OMG either.

    It sounds like a lot of other songs out right now. But the one thing is you can hardly tell it’s Adam singing in the verses because he is like….grunting through them. I can’t even explain.

    You can only tell it’s him when he starts doing his rawk~ screams towards the end.

    • deez permalink
      October 30, 2009 10:36 am

      Yeah I noticed that. When I tuned in, the song was about halfway thru. I honestly didn’t think that was him, until I heard the line “for your entertainment”. It was odd. The song was harmless fun though.

      • October 30, 2009 10:48 am

        I think the song will do well. LIke I said, this is the kind of stuff on the radio right now.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      October 30, 2009 10:51 am

      It’s not really my style, but it’s fun. A little bit Britney, a little Michael Jackson.

  13. deez permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:05 am

    OK…Just heard it on Seacrest…It was exactly what I expected. Dancy and fun. I liked it.

  14. blacklisted permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:51 am

    He looks really beautiful in the singles cover. Why oh why couldn’t that have been used as CD cover art?!!

    I really hate that TfM was included in the album. They must assume that the shitty song is going to help the sales, bleh.

  15. lauren722 permalink
    October 30, 2009 6:24 am

    What? TFM is going on the album??? How did I miss that? Ughh now I have to waste money on two songs…I really hate getting duplicates of songs because I feel the need to buy the single first. About the whole debut thing…Kris already has an album, Adam does not. There was the whole Hi-FI thing but they only released the first single and then trashed the idea because nobody bought it. I am proud to say that Want and No Boundaries are the only two of Adam’s songs I don’t have on my I-pod. Maybe Entertainment isn’t exactly his debut now but I would consider it an album single at the least.

    • Isidra permalink
      October 30, 2009 6:48 am

      The hi-fi album’s actually coming out under a different name. It’s available on Amazon. Sadly, it’s got a much better cover than his actual, legitimate album.

      Kris’s “previous album” was a self-produced cd and not exactly the same thing. Though I wouldn’t consider either BNS or the hi-fi thing to be “debut albums” anyway.

  16. Steph permalink
    October 30, 2009 6:20 am

    Damn. Bitch and you shall receive I guess. Here I was just complaining how his album cover was doing more talking than his actual single.

    This single better be good Adam. And you better hope people “get it”

  17. saskin permalink
    October 30, 2009 12:27 am

    I’m not so positive about the “good responses” part but whatever. Maybe with some luck and so-so music he might avoid his name becoming a verb next year as in “I really hope they don’t lambert my idol” or “I have a feeling they’re going to lambert the runner-up”. Of course there is a big chance that the fans of the next year’s winner will be worried about the ‘allenization’ of their idol too. That’s not going too hot either.

    And please don’t bother calling me another idol’s fan or homophobe or whatnot… I’m neither, they are all OK kids and so-so singers trying to make it as far as I’m concerned. I’ve been following this post-idol crap for the first time since I happened to mention on the twop board that the finale was reality TV at it’s best and a crazy glambert called me all those names. I don’t even watch AI but now I’m mesmerized by the craziness of all. And as an objective observer, they really messed up everything about the Lambert debut album. Including it not being a debut at all. I don’t know if idol debuts are always this sloppy, but this release is sloppy.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 30, 2009 12:29 am

      You’re right. It’s not really a debut album.

      I think I only keep following this stuff because the craziness, while scary as all hell, is strangely compelling.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        October 30, 2009 1:36 am

        Who are you talking about Adam or Kris? This is Adam’s first album. I think Kris had produced an album before idol. Both sold original songs from their myspace accounts. And yea, very compelling. I would not be here every night if it weren’t.

    • Sherena permalink
      October 30, 2009 12:36 am

      It’s his major label debut. I don’t get what you’re saying here…?

      The responses to TFM were good enough that they decided to change their minds about including it. Maybe the decision was made when it first cracked the ITunes top 10, and they thought it would stay longer there than it did. But back to my main point: FYE *is* his first single, unless you want to get caught up in technicalities. I don’t. I don’t consider Heartless Kris’ first single, for instance, even though it’s been released and it’s on his album.

      All the idol rollouts seem sloppy this year. The whole cover song debacle for Kris, the Friday release, the release and then taking back of Allison’s single, them taking so long to release Adam’s first single… this is my first year following Idol contestants too, so I don’t have much scope for comparison, but there’s been some facepalm worthy stuff.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 30, 2009 12:43 am

        First album single, not first single.

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 30, 2009 12:53 am

          Why have I never seen this before?
          Image and video hosting by TinyPic

          • Steph permalink
            October 30, 2009 6:18 am

            Lisa Frankbert lives!!!!

          • Sherena permalink
            October 30, 2009 8:15 am

            There’s a better version. With cake.

  18. Smartie permalink
    October 29, 2009 11:43 pm

    That’s not a fine line, that crap frau made shitfest of schlock is 100000000 miles from camp. πŸ˜†

    And I still guffaw when I see it.

    • TopIdol permalink
      October 30, 2009 12:16 am

      What I said was that there is a fine line between camp and crap, not a fine line between that album cover being camp and crap. That’s 100% crap.

      And I still can’t get over the shit fonts they used, either. The AD on this should be fired…or they shouldn’t be doing album covers for major labels.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 30, 2009 1:21 am

      I think I am going to need a Smartie to English dictionary soon.

    • freedavidcook permalink
      October 30, 2009 8:41 am

      All the squeeing and anticipation over this crapfest is making me feel sick to my stomach. Of course this song is going to blow and suck at the same time but the frau are so hypnotized by his glitter-sheen that they won’t even notice. I expect no less than that from someone with a photo on his first cd that looks like the bastard love child of Lisa Frank and old fat Elvis.

      • TopIdol permalink
        October 30, 2009 1:06 pm

        Fat Lisa Frankvisbert

  19. deez permalink
    October 29, 2009 11:24 pm

    I fully expect all kinds of awesomeness…I really do. Adam’s style of music isn’t really something I’d choose to listen to (at least some of the past stuff isn’t)…but I was always entertained (yep) by his performances. (Showtime!!!!) Unless I’m wrong about what it is I’m expecting to hear, I’m expecting something dancy,fun, and innocuous. I hope people don’t try to analyze the lyrics, like they were doing with Kris.

    I think I’ll listen to the song and ignore the comments section…don’t know that I can take a sparkle-cow stampede.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 30, 2009 1:44 am

      Expect the song to be very out there. It will shock a people. Stupid people will not get it at all. Clever people will be like “told ya so” and the fence-sitters will leap to one side or the other. Tomorrow is the day of reckoning. Oh, crap I just had a Lil flashback.

      • Trish permalink
        October 30, 2009 12:22 pm

        I don’t find the new single “shocking” in the least, but I’m obviously one of those “stupid (and tackily-shod!) people” who just don’t “get it.” All I know is it’s a fun dance-pop tune, and I’d guess it will sell well. (And the cover art is cool.)

        • TopIdol permalink
          October 30, 2009 1:14 pm

          What was shocking about it? πŸ™‚

          It’s got a good beat and you can dance to it. That’s about it. I like it for what it is, ya know? It’s definitely not earth-shattering, so I have no idea where those freaks are getting that one, but they likely pull all opinions from the bowels of their asses.

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            October 30, 2009 7:43 pm

            Some people where shocked that it didn’t suck.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          October 30, 2009 7:45 pm

          I’m SHOCKED that you like it. Adam is wooing you Trish, and I think you kinda like it.

          • TopIdol permalink
            October 30, 2009 7:51 pm

            Idiot Sparkle Cow comments on DListed, proving once again she knows nothing about gay culture. She used the name “sparkle”, btw.

            “Listen to Glamberace’s song below and tell me if it’s about getting gay raped in an S&M disco club.”

            Michael K. are you wishing that would happen to you? Are you in the closet maybe? Weird that you would think about it when listening to it it never crossed my mind. Your mental imagery matches who you are… disgustingly vile.

            Yeah, Michael K. is a self-loathing homosexual. Riiiiight.

  20. saskin permalink
    October 29, 2009 11:21 pm

    This is not his first single. His first single was Time for Miracles. It is on his album and he released it as a single ergo it is his first single from his album. His first music video was Time for Miracles too. Because (say with me) it is on his album and he released it as a single. He keeps re-writing history. The other album that dude is releasing is not his music either because “he didn’t write it”. Now he claims he didn’t write TFM. Well, he didn’t write his second single either so if it fails is it going to be “it is not my single because I didn’t write it”? Anyhow, I think they thought TFM would be his first single (and video) and would promote both Lambert and the movie at the same time but when it bombed and then the disastrous album cover was released they had to hurry and release another single. Since it is hurried it will be a mess. Music might be OK but everything else (radio promotion, i-tunes release etc.) will be all messed up.

    • lauren722 permalink
      October 29, 2009 11:24 pm

      I’m sorry but unless Adam doesn’t know what is on his own album, TFM isn’t on it. He has said on numerous occasions it is a completely separate project and will not be on his album. Thus IMO it should not be counted as a single. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

      • Sherena permalink
        October 29, 2009 11:38 pm

        No bb I think it’s changed. I think TFM is going to be on the record now, per a statement from Columbia Pictures (I think). I’m hoping it’ll be a bonus track because otherwise it might mess up the ~flow.

        • Sherena permalink
          October 29, 2009 11:39 pm

          Whoa how many times did I just type “I think”

    • Sherena permalink
      October 29, 2009 11:40 pm

      It was the plan from the beginning to release both TFM and an album single. TFM wasn’t originally going to be on the album, but due to good responses to it they decided to include it.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 30, 2009 1:16 am

      What are you ranting about? TFM was recorded for a soundtrack. Because it did well the greedy Idol machine decided to include it on the album as a bonus track, much like they did by including Heartless as Kris’ bonus track. It is not the first single release. The way Heartless (which was released on itunes during Idol) was not Kris’ first release.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        October 30, 2009 1:17 am

        The above comment was intended for saskin.

      • saskin permalink
        October 30, 2009 3:00 am

        I’m really chatty tonight apparently. Yes, including Heartless on Allen’s album is lazy and exploitative at best. If you want to call it his first single then call it his first single for all I care. I don’t know what that would prove but go for it. Maybe some Allen fans (if they exist) might argue that they included it as a bonus because it worked with the album. I would not. I would call it lazy and exploitative. Same thing for the Time for Miracles.

        My point is they released it, it is on the album so it is safe to assume that it represents the album/it works with the concept of the album, both he and his fans made a big deal out of it (Oscars anyone???) and when it bombed both he and his fans are trying to disown it (but it was going to win the Oscar!!!). Well, it cannot be undone. It is released. 50 thousand poor souls bought it, a lot more people who are marginally interested in AI heard it and didn’t buy it and 2-3-4-5-whatever hundred thousand viewers saw the video online, admired it or made fun of it and made their decisions. So for all practical and technical reasons it is his first single from his album. It is how he/RCA/Sony introduced him to the public. Just like his album cover. It will be the second song he will release from his album. When you buy the album, you will have to pay again for 16 percent of his album that you already paid for (assuming you bought both singles). And guess what? His other debut is a week before that. If you think he can sing the phone book and make it other-worldly, buy that one. It is not the phone book. It is songs.

        I don’t hope he fails. I don’t know him from Adam (heh). I hope he succeeds. Honestly. Cross my heart. I just think RCA/Sony is setting him up to fail. I think they tried to cross promote Lambert and that piece of sh** movie 2012 and failed miserably and the chances are Lambert will pay for it.

        Finally, if I’m ranting, I guess I’m ranting for all the normal people that are harassed by glamberts in real life and on the net. It feels really good actually. Yataaa.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          October 30, 2009 4:59 am

          TFM does not represent anything but the movie that it serves. It is a bonus track, lazy, I agree. Never the less, to say it represents a “For Your Entertainment,” is ridiculous. You know thatβ€”you just want to get a rise out of someone.

  21. lauren722 permalink
    October 29, 2009 10:46 pm

    Why release it then???????? I’m going to be in school 😦 One you guys has to record or something and post me a link!

    • October 29, 2009 11:11 pm

      lol. don’t worry. this will be on youtube like 2 seconds after it happens. i promise

      • lauren722 permalink
        October 29, 2009 11:21 pm

        I wish I had a phone with internet access 😦
        I could watch it during lunch! Sigh, I guess I’ll have to wait until 2:10

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 30, 2009 1:09 am

      Lauren,
      The internet will be exploding with recordings. People will be running in the streets singing it. Birds will fly by your school window chipping out the tune. You will hear it, don’t worry.

      • lauren722 permalink
        October 30, 2009 6:34 am

        Haha my teachers would probably slam the windows on those cute little birdies 😦
        Ughhh gtg to school now 😦

  22. Sherena permalink
    October 29, 2009 10:22 pm

    Everything hinges on this single.

    And it is happening…tomorrow.

    /drama

    But no really, it kind of does. I’m simultaneously petrified and excited.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      October 30, 2009 1:06 am

      This is the only thing I haven;t felt uneasy about.

Leave a Reply

