Skip to content

By Popular Demand: The Jon Hamm Appreciation Post (10/31/09)

October 31, 2009

Jon Hamm is hot as hell

If you read this blog at all, you probably know all about my love for actor Jon Hamm. (Wiki is a good place to start if you have no clue who I’m talking about.) Not only is he super hot, he appears to be an all-around good guy. He is also from St. Louis (like me) and a University of Missouri graduate (like me!), so perhaps those commonalities just kind of endear him to me even more so.

Call me a Hammtard. I don’t give a rat’s ass. Jon Hamm is awesome. See Exhibit #1 — photos taken (by me!) from when he was filming The Town behind my apartment building.

If you missed him on last season’s 30 Rock, you have to watch the hilarious episode entitled The Bubble.

And if you haven’t yet, go Netflix or iTunes Mad Men Season 1 and Season 2. The season 3 finale airs tomorrow night, which means we all will be deprived of new Mad Men until next summer. Bastards. But that gives you all the time in the world to catch up, so you best be getting started.

Read Jon Hamm’s Vanity Fair Q&A with Bruce Handy to discover more reasons you should adore this man. For more about Hamm and Mad Men, read Handy’s feature from the September 2009 issue. Sample goodness:

When I met him for an interview he had a thick carpet of hobo stubble on his face and a greasy St. Louis Blues cap pulled down low on his forehead. Lisa Albert told me that the first day she and the other writers met him he was so casually dressed, even by the unexacting standards of a TV production office, they thought he was delivering lunch. (Related observation: people in L.A. are accustomed to incredibly handsome delivery boys.)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 4:12 am

    Ooooh, ya know what else he is starring in, TopIdol? The Allen Ginsberg biopic, “Howl”, starring current in-demand hotness James Franco!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howl_(2010_film)

    (Article composed by moi–fun fact of the day.)

    Hamm plays this lawyer with celebrity clientele, Jake Ehrlich, who was a public defender (often taking cases pro bono) and had a somewhat infamous motto: “Never plead guilty”. He’ll be defending Ginsberg’s book of poems with all of its delicious homoerotic content, which was put on trial (along with a bookstore owner) for being lewd and too-naughty-to-handle.

    The point of mentioning all of that?….Courtroom Jon Hamm will be SIZZLING up the screen; there’s no doubt in my mind.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 4, 2009 8:40 am

      I was wondering about his roll in that…

      James Franco + Jon Hamm…holy shit. That might be up there with The Men Who Stare at Goats, which I cannot wait to see. First off, it won’t suck because the title is great, Second, check out the cast (including my longtime favorites Clooney and Ewan MacGregor. Yay!

      • November 4, 2009 9:08 am

        I cannot wait for The Men Who Stare at Goats either–this Friday! The trailer was a hoot, and the film in general looks lmao-hilarious. Ewan’s been a long-standing fave of mine, too–hence why I am counting down the days until I Love You, Phillip Morris is released in Feb. ’10. Ewan macking on Jim will surely be all kinds of hot. Plus, it’s kind of awesome that two well-known actors of their stature in this day and age are proving that they’re comfortable having actual love scenes, rather just “a little kissing, and then a whole lot of after-drama”.

        But yeah, Howl–Franco & Hamm will be an amazing combo. Franco might get an Oscar nomination (robbed for Milk or Pineapple Express, imo)…yes, I’m one of those predictor people. Note: The role of Franco’s lover is gonna be portrayed by Aaron Tveit. Apparently, he was on Gossip Girl or something, but I know of him as the hot son from that Broadway musical Next to Normal. Here’s a promo pic of them:

        Back to Hamm, since I assume you watch Mad Men (silly to jump to conclusions like that), how incredible was Episode #11 with, ya know, “the reveal”? Stellar work right there. If he doesn’t win the Emmy this season after that episode, there’s a GRAVE INJUSTICE that will need to be dealt with. Also, I want more Christina Hendricks, so Joan better be in more episodes. Lots, lots more.

        • auntieaimee permalink
          November 4, 2009 11:07 am

          Regarding Mad Men:

          So true. As tremendously flawed as Don is, he still manages to be a sympathetic character. He is reaping what he has sown and he manages to make you feel sorry for the guy!

          I also want more Joan. At first she seemed like just a bitch, but as the layers peel away she breaks my heart! Also, the scenes between Joan and Peggy are fantastic. They are jealous of eachother but for different reasons, and neither has it as good as the other one thinks.

          Hoping they will bring back Sal, too. I was gutted when he was fired– by Don of all people! Argh!

          • Wino permalink
            November 4, 2009 5:56 pm

            the Joan – Peggy relationship has always had a big sister, little sister vibe for me. there is jealousy, but in some ways, they do respect and look up to each other. i love watching them on screen together. Yes more JOAN! im guessing next season might open up with her hubby in a casket? the writers have to find a way to bring her back to sterling cooper. as a widow, she can at least save face in front of her co-workers.

            • November 4, 2009 6:10 pm

              Oh yeah, same here. Joan/Peggy are two of the greatest female characters on television. (Although Peggy is wrongfully underwritten this season and the writers should be cuntpunted for devoting WAY too much time to Betty–although I am loving her lately, after confronting Don and turning the tables by having her own affairs.) And I completely agree, that while Joan has minor animosity toward Peggy for moving up the ladder so quickly and Peggy envies Joans looks and sex appeal, Joan definitely admires her and always tells the secretaries and sometimes men to respect her while Peggy clearly has love for Joan as well, given that she was her mentor at first. On the lawnmower episode (ROFL), they both seemed to be saying how they hope to still see each other from time to time. Aw.

              Anyway, time for theories and speculation!

              After this past Sunday’s incredible episode, the wheels are in motion. It basically set up the fact that Pete will be leaving Sterling Cooper for Grey’s (where Duck works), and I have a feeling Peggy might possibly go with him as well, since she is sleeping with him and all. (Side note: Who expected Mark Moses to look THAT GOOD shirtless?! Dayummmmn.) Either way, I definitely feel that Pete is taking off. And if you recall, Roger was asking around trying to find Joan a new job. Well, perhaps…since Pete ran into her at the boutique that one time…he will take Joan on as his personal secretary! Now, all that would be left to make this perfect is that Sal will apply for art director with Duck and work for them; thus, foreshadowing that Season 4 will be primarily about the rivalry between the two ad agencies. What do you all think?

          • November 4, 2009 6:02 pm

            Aw, but the firing by Don wasn’t something Don WANTED to do himself. Don is forward-thinking, and also accepts most people because he knows what it’s like to hide a secret, after all. He did what he had to do because he had enough of a shitstorm from Roger, whom he kind of hates right now. He isn’t pleased that creative has to work without Sal’s artistry, and I think that a light might shine upon that storyline in next week’s finale.

            UGH, over already. WTF?! I demand some sort of future time travel ASAP. Perhaps the “artists” behind Adam’s album cover hold the key? ^_^.

            • TopIdol permalink
              November 5, 2009 8:21 am

              If Sal was art directing Adam Lambert’s album cover, I wonder what would have been…

  2. Claire permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:45 pm

    I just now realized there’s been a picture of JH hanging on my wall at work for the past year now. It’s on a broadcast calendar among pics of the Jonas Brothers, Dennis Leary, Jon Stewart, Lebron James…basically a bunch of Cable TV/sports personalities. He looks very serious and distinguished in his power suit. Good to know I have some eye candy to look at during the week.

  3. Wino permalink
    November 3, 2009 2:52 pm

    awwww, why he so purrrty? I recently saw a high school photo of him in a football uniform (in a random magazine, not by online stalking). and i will admit, i was slighly turned on. puma alert! BTW, cant wait for the Mad Men finale. If Jon Hamm doesnt receive an Emmy for his work on episode 11 (the gypsy and the hobo), I will shake a baby. I must say the last couple of episodes have been stellar, great writing and acting.

  4. LeighKat permalink
    November 2, 2009 11:27 pm

    oh my! I have just learned about the gorgeousness that is Matt Bomer- he’s one of the stars on this new show called “White Collar”. Giving Mr. Hamm a run for his money!

    http://www.usanetwork.com/series/whitecollar/theshow/characterprofiles/neal/index.html

    Oh, and the show is actually good too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 2, 2009 11:29 pm

      Hmmm…maybe in a few years? He’s still kind of baby faced.

      Jon Hamm is King!

    • blacklisted permalink
      November 2, 2009 11:54 pm

      I remember Matt Bomer from his Guiding Light days.

      I wonder how the frauen are reacting to the fact that he’s married and is raising three rug rats with an older dude who’s a big wig at PMK? My how things have changed at PMK. Back in the days they were terrified of anyone knowing that one of their stars were gay.

      I have to agree that Matt looks baby-faced but he’s in his 30’s so maybe he’ll look more grown up in a few years. He and Jon Hamm do have that easy masculinity that appeals to a broad audience…or should I say, broads.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      November 3, 2009 2:08 pm

      He’s too “pretty” for my tastes.

  5. d. b. cooper permalink
    November 1, 2009 11:13 pm

    This reminds me, I need to get a new roll of Jon Hamm’s John Ham.

    • Trish permalink
      November 2, 2009 11:39 am

      OMG, thank you! I’d forgotten all about the Jon Hamm John Ham:

  6. blacklisted permalink
    November 1, 2009 11:33 am

    Jon Hamm is one tall drink of water. He belongs to an era when Hollywood men played working class smucks trying to make good (ie Brando).

    Gawd, would I love to see him work a dirty wife beater while slinging his hammer, changing my oil, feeding the kitty, packing the meat, rolling in the hay, fixing my plumbing…uh, you all know what I mean.

  7. Trish permalink
    November 1, 2009 11:30 am

    I haven’t even read the post yet, but I had to give it five stars just because it’s about Jon Hamm!

  8. auntieaimee permalink
    November 1, 2009 9:55 am

    *swoon*

    I adore this man. Especially after seeing him on 30 Rock, goofing on his dreamboat image a bit. And when I found out he was friends with Paul Rudd my head almost exploded, because I love him, too!

  9. LeighKat permalink
    November 1, 2009 3:08 am

    Oh TI, you devil you! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for this. As if I need anything else to tard over! lol!

  10. kimberly permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:58 pm

    I believe it was the second season of The Division when Jon Hamm showed up on it. Unfortunately, the show bored me a little, but Jon Hamm most certainly did not. He did get some meatier storylines after awhile, but still not enough character development as far as I was concerned. Bonnie Bedelia and Nancy McKeon (sic) were the stars. Jon Hamm was the stud of the show. I know they were going for the whole strong female show, but I only wanted to watch Jon. lol

    He always stood out to me, even when he played the role of an average guy. I started to watch Madmen when it first came on, but I kept missing it. I think my sister might have the first seaon DVD. I’ll have to aske her tomorrow. The only show that’s caught my attention is The Sons of Anarchy and Damages. I’m a big fan of Timothy Olyphant. After watching Deadwood, my favorite word was fuck.

    I knew there was something special about Jon Hamm. Now this guy is far more deserving of our time and energy. I’m happy for his new found success. I see him gracing the cover of PEOPLE’s Most Beautiful or Sexy or whatever the title is very soon. Move over George Clooney, there’s a new leading man in town. ::grin::

    Thanks for the Vanity Fair article.

  11. freedavidcook permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:42 pm

    Hot diggity dog! I love Mad Men and borderline tard for Jon Hamm

  12. October 31, 2009 8:29 pm

    Minor correction – I think next week is the season finale, not this week. So you have one extra week of looking at that handsome devil up there. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

