Skip to content

An innocent NBC entertainment reporter from Dallas incurs the Wrath of Glamberts

November 7, 2009

Greg Janda, a reporter in Dallas-Fort Worth, wrote a snarky review of Adam Lambert’s Time for Gargoyles video. If anything, it was about the ridiculousness of the video and 2012 rather than Lambert’s vocals. Of course, one look at the title (Explosions Nearly Make Adam Lambert’s Guyliner Run) and you knew this was not going to end well. It only took about two seconds for the stampede to begin.

Note to NBC… When presenting an article critiquing a music video, it would be to your advantage to have the author at least minimally qualified. I didn’t check the ‘mood’ button because ’embarrassed for you’ was not a choice.

Yes. Of course. Anyone who speaks even mildly ill of Adam Lambert (or David Cook or Clay Aiken or Danny Gokey or insert former male Idol contestant here) is not qualified to be a journalist.

Have you never before seen a video?

And Wow. You have to be at least 13 to comment on this blog but, obviously, you don’t have to have the maturity of one to write a review on this site.

Please send us a music critic. Oh, that’s right. NBC probably can’t afford one anymore.

His review probably isn’t much like the one I would have written, but it doesn’t mean Janda is a bad writer. And what makes you qualified to infer he’s not a music critic? Because you write 900-word reviews of every Adam Lambert appearance on Idol Forums or Adam Lambert Official?

Of course the video is ridiculous and the song is cheesy. But Adam is a brilliant singer just doing his job. Your personal bias is showing. That’s not what a critic should do.

And you’re a moron. He was critiquing the video more than anything. But this must be because…

I think your review stinks. Vocally this song is amazing and it is a music video, not part of the movie. Get over your prejudice and try to be objective.

You know what prejudice means…

I guess you ARE just showing your age as you said. Terrible lead in “explosions nearly make Adam Lambert’s guyliner almost run”. I guess this goes along with the terrible article. And as information Adam has proven to have tons more fans than Kris Allen and he would have won American Idol if there weren’t so many homophobic “christians” in the conservative bible belt. He is already a worldwide star and his album hasn’t even been released yet.

Sorry for you and your poorly written article.

BINGO! Naturally, since he’s in Dallas and does not think Adam Lambert shits unicorns with bedazzled-leather saddles, he’s a homophobic “christian”. Oh, assumptions. Just like being “jellus”…and miserable people…

OUCH!! Unhappy and bitter much? What sort of video did you expect from the theme to an over the top disaster film? But of course you didn’t seriously review the video or the song, because this article is just an excuse to vent your irrational hatred of a brilliant singer. Perhaps you’d be better served starting a blog and not pretending to be a journalist. I know I would be.

Yes. We’re all unhappy and bitter, us hater bloggers. And hey you, stupid, its a blog written as part of a larger media entity (NBC). Get a fraking clue. Don’t you know anything about how traditional media is nearly on life support and how big media entities are using blogs and other diverse online content in an attempt to at least recoup some of their heavy losses? Yeah. It sucks.

You like explosions?? Take a step back because Adam Lambert’s career is about to blow sky-high!

I bet you thought that was really, really clever. It wasn’t. Go drink some more Flavor-Aid.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. Carole H permalink
    November 8, 2009 6:34 pm

    I am not even an Adam fan but I personally like the video. His voice comes through beautifully and even though the background is somewhat melodramatic, that’s the film and I would expect nothing else.

    I am a big Clay fan so I know how hard it is to accept knocks against your idol. I know a lot of over-zealous Clay fans did some damage to his career and radio play in the beginning so I would like to give you a couple of tips.

    1. If someone writes a good article about Adam, don’t hesitate to email him/her and send thanks for the great article.

    2. If someone writes a bad article, ignore, ignore, ignore.

    3. Don’t request radio play more than once a day and be polite about it.

    Good luck everyone.

  2. carrmuse permalink
    November 8, 2009 1:13 pm

    Hey guys!!! We need to all chill! This reporter wrote a critique about a video. They said some really nice things about Adam Lambert and made some valid points about the videos production. The reporter wrote his opinion way late in the game I might add. I personally didn’t agree with him, but it is his job to write a review. Just as it is my right to express my opinion. The two sides to this are the reporter needed more hits to his article so he would look good to the powers that be and then a few fans can’t deal with people who disagree with them and are critical of their artist. OK so the world is about all different types of people with all different types of opinions. God bless every one. How boring would the world be if we were all in perfect agreement all the time. Controversy is a good thing. Keeps our minds working.

  3. kimberly permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:49 pm

    I lost focus looking at a close-up of Paula Abdul’s armpit wrinkles. I’m still laughing.

    I get what the guy is saying and it’s about time the journalists/media man-up and write the truth about the music/video/cover art and just get over the fear of being labeled a homophobe. If they like it fine, but if they’re just following the crowd out of fear of reprisal, no thanks. I despise chicken shits.

    And nuts is nuts.

    • cimi permalink
      November 8, 2009 3:19 am

      That’s just mean Kimberly. One day you will be old as well.. would want folks making fun of your wrinkles?

      • kimberly permalink
        November 9, 2009 12:08 am

        Cimi — seriously? I just thought the whole thing was absurd. A closeup of someone’s underarm. I thought it was funny and truthfully I was a little surprised by the wrinkles. Paula seems to be in such terrific shape. Don’t you find it absurd? I laugh at such things. As far as underarm wrinkles, I’ll be hiding ’em as best I can if it comes to that. Dressing appropriately and such. I still have nightmares from AI’s Disco Results night. That was a horror show!!

        Sorry if I hit a nerve. I seem to do that a lot here. Yikes!

  4. SarahBeth permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:40 pm

    *headdesk*

    WTAF is wrong with people? Seriously.

    Yeah, ok, Adam has way more fans then Kris. Whatever. That’s why Kris is getting good reviews on the single/album/video (have you seen the LLWD video, TI? its really quite good) and is being established as his own artist OUTSIDE the Idol bubble.

    Hmm, this is kind of all over the place. I had a point and I dont really remember what it was. I need more coffee, clearly.

  5. rehabilitard permalink
    November 7, 2009 11:04 am

    8sourcandy, LOL, I like the rules. Can we add one more? Don’t try to dress like Adam. Some people at AI concert looked really creepy with the ton of eyeliner, glitter and home made T-shirts.

    I do like Kris and I have “Heartless” and “Falling Slowly” on my MP3 player. I would never dare to say this on AO.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 7, 2009 3:26 pm

      I wore a plaid shirt a couple of times this week. Must mean I was trying to dress like Kris Allen.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 7, 2009 8:29 pm

        You are such a plaid-wearing KRISTARD! 🙂

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 7, 2009 4:56 pm

      Have you heard/seen his “Bright Lights” Idol pass performance. That’ s the best I ever heard him sing. (Paula-speak) And he looks very hot too.

      As for Adam’s attire… Black nails, layered chains, graphic tees, leather jackets, python boots…that IS my style. However, I will never sport blue hair, anything studded or striped pants. I will never apply my make-up with a trowel either.

      • rehabilitard permalink
        November 7, 2009 11:02 pm

        It was mostly targeted at 50+ frauen. I have seen some scearry picture from the tour.

  6. freedavidcook permalink
    November 7, 2009 9:49 am

    Oh man! The Sparkle Cows seem to have the emotional IQ of about 12.

  7. Steph permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:10 am

    When I was 14 and a fan of one of those “boy bands” every time some journalist said something negative about them someone in the fanbase would start the “email them and tell them to shove their negativity up their ass” post and tell them how GREAT they are….

    I must have been a sane 14-year-old because even then I knew that wasn’t a good idea.

    The sad thing is….I was 14 as was most of the fanbase give or take a few years.

    These women are old enough to know better.

    When are they going to realize that harassing someone for a negative opinion of their chosen one never helps the cause, and it sure isn’t going to help Adam’s.

    It’s called an OPINION. It doesn’t have to match with yours.

    On another note, watching the tards come out is always entertaining. 🙂

    • saskin permalink
      November 7, 2009 8:42 am

      Yes to this. Don’t harass. Bad idea. Especially don’t harass journalists and radio guys. So don’t do things like this:

      I emailed our local radio station today and asked what their intensions were on giving TFM radio play. Their reply was that at this point, it appeared that his only fan base was a hyperactive minority group.

      (a poster on a board. I collect the craziest ones, with the spelling mistakes)

      And also if you are old enough to remember buying LP’s from music stores don’t talk about how sexy your idol is. Come on. Ewww. And don’t assume that people cannot guess your age just because they can’t see you. They can. Eww. See if you can guess how old this lady is:

      I have to admit that the lyrics is something. I had very wholesome love for Adam all this time, until I wondered what he was doing to the girl when he was going to “be rough on you until you scream” and had a reaction that I do not want to discuss any further. Uncomfortable, in a good way…

      Bold is mine. Ewwww. Ewwwww. Ewwwww.

      So if I may add a rule:
      – Unless you are 16 or younger don’t talk about how sexy your idol is. And if you are 16 or younger; go to bed or do your homework, what are doing on the computer all day? Sheesh.

      Yeah also don’t post crazy stuff on the internet because people might save them to make fun of you later.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 7, 2009 10:08 am

        I can’t promise that I will never talk about how sexy Adam is, but I will refrain from giving explicit details. The eww factor is always in the details.

        • saskin permalink
          November 7, 2009 12:43 pm

          Yeahhh… talk. Just don’t write. You’ll have to trust me on this one (or a good friend who does not watch Idol); none of the Idol guys are lookers except for Allen whose real talent seems to be looking really pretty when smiling and an other one named Michael (I forgot his last name) from previous seasons.

          If you don’t believe me go read TWOP thread on Blake Lewis. At one point people were admiring his belly button. Yes. That Blake Lewis. I know. This crap really blinds common sense.

          • WhoEver permalink
            November 7, 2009 3:23 pm

            If you don’t believe me go read TWOP thread on Blake Lewis. At one point people were admiring his belly button.

            SCARRED. FOR. LIFE.

          • TopIdol permalink
            November 7, 2009 3:27 pm

            jotrhbhtosrhgouheosghrieahgrioehaiosghrioeha

            I did not need to know such things. You just gave me the piss shivers!

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 7, 2009 5:22 pm

            Saskin,
            Adam, Kris and Allison are the only Idols I care to invest my time caring about. Kelly Clarkson is good too. The rest are fine for fooder, but nothing more.

            Adam IS very attractive to me. AND I have an unapologetic and inexplicable fascination with the Glambulge, which seems to be it’s own entity at this point. So I think that rule may need some tweaking.

            10) Comments about Adam’s attractiveness should be kept to topics that address his attractiveness/non-attractiveness.

            11) Sexual feeling you have for Adam should remain private.

            How’s that?

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              November 7, 2009 5:23 pm

              *fodder.

            • cimi permalink
              November 8, 2009 3:14 am

              You just keep posting you inner-most thoughts SC–I for one love ’em

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 7, 2009 5:26 pm

            Saskin,
            Adam, Kris and Allison are the only Idols I care to invest my time caring about. Kelly Clarkson is good too. The rest are fine for fodder, but nothing more.

            Adam IS very attractive to me. AND I have an unapologetic and inexplicable fascination with the Glambulge, which seems to be it’s own entity at this point. So I think that rule may need some tweaking.

            10) Comments about Adam’s attractiveness should be kept to topics that address his attractiveness/non-attractiveness.

            11) Sexual feeling you have for Adam should remain private.

            How’s that?

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              November 7, 2009 5:27 pm

              Oh no, I think I broke Top Idol. The comments are doing crazy things.

            • TopIdol permalink
              November 7, 2009 6:31 pm

              SHHHHH…I don’t know if I can permit Glambulge talk here. I’m pretty lenient, but…please, no Glambulge mentions, pretty please?

            • blacklisted permalink
              November 7, 2009 7:14 pm

              Unless it’s to mock the frauen, there shall be NO discussion of the glambulge on Top Idol. As a Kradison fan, I implore you all.

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 7, 2009 3:25 pm

        I love this:

        I emailed our local radio station today and asked what their intensions were on giving TFM radio play. Their reply was that at this point, it appeared that his only fan base was a hyperactive minority group.

        Can you imagine taking that call? Some lunatic asking you about your INTENTIONS? Of course you wouldn’t oblige her. Never. And yes, his fanbase is mainly a hyperactive minority group and will remain as such, especially when the lunatics call radio stations inquiring about their INTENTIONS.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          November 7, 2009 5:37 pm

          Who calls radio stations? It would never occur to me to call up z100 and say, hay play me some Lambert or else.

          I said it before, I’ll say it again these FANTARDS are doing more to undermine Adams credibility than help it.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          November 7, 2009 8:10 pm

          I am pretty sure I mentioned it in at least two posts. But, both times it was for comic relief. I will do best to curb my bulge remarks. 🙂

      • Lauren permalink
        November 7, 2009 3:42 pm

        16! But homework isn’t fun 😦
        And you actually think teenagers sleep?????

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 7, 2009 3:46 pm

          Teenagers barely need any sleep. During the summer, I used to go out and not go to bed until 2 or 3 regularly and get up for 6am swim practice. Hell, I don’t think I ever went to bed before 1am at all, even during the school year with swim and marching band (I was a flag girl…) practice at 5:30am. I still go to bed late, but could never get up before 7:30am. Yikes.

          • Lauren permalink
            November 7, 2009 3:49 pm

            That is a talent! I need sleep, I just don’t get it. haha

  8. rehabilitard permalink
    November 7, 2009 1:53 am

    8sourcandy, I will join your Normal Adam Fans group. I started loosing my interest in Adam because of crazies on AO.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 7, 2009 2:12 am

      So that makes three.

      Here are the rules.
      1) Don’t be an asshole
      2) Don’t bring large obnoxious signs to concerts
      3) Don’t speak about Adams as though you know his thoughts
      4) when debating someone about Adam be respectful of their point of view
      5) Don’t assume everyone is a homophobe who doesn’t like Adam
      6) Don’t bring Adam’s name up on blogs that are not about him
      7) Don’t hate Kris for winning

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 7, 2009 2:18 am

        8) Don’t force your love of Adam on other people.

      • Wnb permalink
        November 7, 2009 2:37 am

        I like Kris. He is going to be great once the Idol machinery releases him to do his own thing. His single is good, looking to see how the rest of the album will be like.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          November 7, 2009 9:56 am

          Yes, if the machine just gets out his way he will be fine. I think his single is over produced. If it were stripped down a bit I think it would sound more like the music he wants to make. His voice sounds better when there is less “noise” around it. I heard some snippets from his album that are distinctly Kris Allen’s sound. This song just doesn’t fit into that description, though it is catchy.

      • Lauren permalink
        November 7, 2009 3:40 pm

        Yay! I believe I qualify!

  9. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:23 am

    The First comment was funny—then they got progressively worse. By time I got down to the forth one I was cringing with embarrassment. IT IS NOT FAIR!!!! I am a fan and I have to hang my head shamefully because of there actions. I went to a site today to see Kris’ video and of course there was the obligatory grudge fest. It’s exhausting. These fans are ridiculous. I want to start a new fan group called NORMAL PEOPLE THAT LIKE ADAM! My only fear is that will be it’s only member.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 7, 2009 12:26 am

      *their not there. That’s a Sex in the City faux pas

    • deez permalink
      November 7, 2009 1:00 am

      There are others. I’ve seen them. Not often enough, 3 or 4 here…3 or 4 there. They can’t really hang in packs for fear of being found out (there may be a secret handshake)

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 7, 2009 1:01 am

        I think the non-crazy ones all hang out here?

        • Wnb permalink
          November 7, 2009 1:19 am

          Yep. I am still shocked- just discovered your blog today. Love Adam but come on! These folks are crazy. Had no idea.
          And I guess I am one of the last few who was expecting a rock album- I really haven’t followed closely since AI. Too bad, he would have been great with a classic rock sound.
          8sourcandy- I will join your fan group.

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 7, 2009 1:49 am

            Yea!

            • Lauren permalink
              November 7, 2009 3:39 pm

              Haha, can I join too? Or should I be classified as crazy?

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          November 7, 2009 2:05 am

          Without undermining my non-crazy status, I have to say that I read the above mentioned review and thought is was lame. He didn’t even know that Roland Emmerich directed the film.

          • TopIdol permalink
            November 7, 2009 2:13 am

            Hey, it’s nothing that I would have written but naturally, the crazies missed the entire point.

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              November 7, 2009 2:36 am

              Your review would have been funny and timely. The video has been out for a few weeks. Who is even going to read it at this point?

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 7, 2009 2:56 am

                The Glamberts who found it on Google Alerts 🙂

        • blacklisted permalink
          November 7, 2009 6:13 pm

          “I think the non-crazy ones all hang out here?”

          Guilty.

    • cimi permalink
      November 8, 2009 3:08 am

      I have been reading your posts and, I like you. I feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

