Skip to content

Kris Allen’s Live Like We’re Dying video reminds me of…

November 7, 2009

This afternoon, I finally got around to watching Kris Allen’s Live Like We’re Dying video, which debuted on PopEater yesterday. (Hey, I’ve been busy.)

So when Kris Allen’s name is illuminated in big neon lights at the beginning of the video, this is the first thing I thought of — and please get your mind out of the gutter because the words on the vehicle were constantly changing. I just wanted to take a photo when it said this particular word…

Bukkakez art car lights at Burning Man 2009

It’s a crappy photo, too, but not all of them can be winners. Anyway, perhaps because it was neon and in the desert, I thought of my time this past summer at Burning Man, the happiest place on earth (Take that, Disney. In a showdown between Mickey Mouse and Mutant Vehicles, the latter wins every time).

I enjoyed the video’s desert setting (it was shot outside Los Angeles) and I thought it went well with the song. Any desert feels like a post-apocalyptic outpost, therefore the setting works perfectly. I don’t think Live Like We’re Dying will ever be Kris Allen’s best song, but I definitely find it to be thoroughly enjoyable. While I’m sure some Glamberts may believe such end-of-the-world thematics only bolster their ridiculous beliefs of Kris Allen trying desperately to ride the glittery black coattails of Adam Lambert’s disaster film opus, Time For Miracles, I just sit back and roll my eyes. You can’t compare apples and oranges, or Kris Allen and Adam Lambert.

Plus, we all know the destruction Lambert wanders through in the Time For Miracles video isn’t the apocalypse, per se, it’s just the aftermath of the masses being forced to listen to Danny Gokey’s debut single It’s Only. Granted, if violent aliens ever arrive, I will blast It’s Only as a counterattack because I’ve seen enough movies to know the one thing evil martians can’t handle is terrible music.

And while I’m sure you read it yesterday, Michael Slezak has a great take on Live Like We’re Dying.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly permalink
    November 9, 2009 12:25 am

    Very cool video! Like Jim C. said, puts Kris in a league with The Fray, et al. In my opinion, gives him musical cred. I love the whole look of it, very moody and artsy. I watched some of Puig’s other videos and wasn’t sure how he’d mix with Kris. A bit edgier, a bit avant garde. I think Kris has a lot more going on in his pretty little noggin than people realize — still waters and all that.

    Again, very cool video and Kris looks really good in it as well.

  2. Margie permalink
    November 8, 2009 1:27 pm

    Well color me surprised..this is actually not bad.

    Geez Kris is a goodlooking guy.

  3. spinningfasterandfastertonowhere permalink
    November 8, 2009 6:47 am

    I like the video. Kris’s video has a very cool vibe and tells a story.

    Did you stop at Pyramid Lake? A lot of summers we stand along side the road in Nixon and watch the cars go by.

  4. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    November 7, 2009 11:20 pm

    I think it’s a great intoductory video for a new artiste. A lot better than Cook’s Light On video (I will never get over the cheesy teen love plotline). Reading the interview on popeater that accompanied the video, I think it’s great that Kris used it to showcase who he in the industry. And boy looks so pretty doing it.

    And Gokey music as a defense against alien attacks? That needs to be tabled at the next UN summit asap! If his single doesn’t do the job, maybe the Scream On disaster will!

  5. Lauren permalink
    November 7, 2009 10:15 pm

    Yeah, I really liked this video! I hate to say it but Kris’s single is sooooo much better than Adam’s!

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 8, 2009 12:48 pm

      I disagree with that completely. Your music preference may lie within the realm of Kris’ style but, Adam’s song is a really good dance song. Last night at a party I played it among a mix of dance music for a crowd that doesn’t follow AI or have a predetermined like or dislike for Adam. Everyone seemed to like it. When I told some people who it was they were either surprised or didn’t know who Adam Lambert was but are going to check him out. You tube has at least 5 fan-made videos featuring this song that have popped up over the weekend and he is #28 on the itunes pop charts. Kris and Adam are different performers with different sounds. Comparing them perpetuates this competition-grudge-match that doesn’t serve either of them. I have room on my ipod for both artists, as I am sure most music lovers do.

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 8, 2009 12:54 pm

        I actually like For Your Entertainment. I often do like dance music, so it’s not a huge surprise, but I do dig the song.

        • carrmuse permalink
          November 8, 2009 6:39 pm

          Let’s put an end to the comparisons. Adam is on the other side of the universe compared to music style of Kris. So lets let them coexist without the infantile competition. I thought that ended when Season 9 ended. It is possible to like Kris Allen without putting other artist down. Jay Z is a musician but I don’t hear you putting him down because he is competing with Kris. So how about positive energy for everyone. Music FTW!!

          • Lauren permalink
            November 8, 2009 7:19 pm

            Hey sorry gosh…This usually only happens to me on Adam Official. Usually people just look at me, shake their heads and think “Crazy Glambert…” I really love Adam, I swear, I do! I freaking want to have his babies, so people stop making me feel bad!
            Sidenote: I re-read my comment. It did come out much nastier than I intended it to…

      • Lauren permalink
        November 8, 2009 4:10 pm

        Heyyyy, I’m just talking about those two songs. Normally, I prefer Adam over Kris. Adam is my one true love!!!!!!!! But yes, it is totally my preference in that case. I just happen to like Kris’ single more than Adam’s. I wish I liked Adam’s more but I just don’t. Don’t get defensive, it’s only my opinion 🙂

        • November 8, 2009 4:15 pm

          ♥ I wish there were more objective and sane fans like you =).

          • Lauren permalink
            November 8, 2009 4:22 pm

            haha there are a few…:)

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 8, 2009 4:29 pm

          Don’t let the other Glamberts hear you say such things! You’re thinking for yourself. It’s why I know you’ll grow up to be a non-tard! Lauren is a good kid 🙂

          • Lauren permalink
            November 8, 2009 4:34 pm

            Yayyyyyy!!!! I don’t want to grow up to be a tard and have cute little Kris Allen fans afraid that I am going to beat them up!

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          November 8, 2009 11:39 pm

          Didn’t mean to get all preachy, but yesterday every site I went to had fan’s from both camps comparing them in petty ways that just is ridiculous at this point. I love them both. I want both to succeed. Adam’s style and taste in music closely aligns with mine so he is my preference. But, I like Kris’s earthy, soulful delivery of a song it’s raw and personal. My problem with LLYD is what I like most about Kris is lost in all the production. Songs like “Written all over my face” is how I like him.

          • Lauren permalink
            November 8, 2009 11:43 pm

            It’s fine. IMO both of their singles are way overproduced. Can’t they just…sing?

  6. November 7, 2009 9:30 pm

    Major lollercoaster ride re: playing Danny Gokey to counter an alien invasion. Utter hilarity. And trufax. I have no doubt that had it existed in 1998, Bruce Willis would not have had to nuke himself because he could’ve just stuck Danny’s single in a boombox and shoved it into the meteor/comet/asteroid/flaming-turd/whatever.

    I’m glad many critics are giving Kris such immensely positive reviews. I even am seeing many agree that this may be one of the best post-Idol non-coronation singles ever, which is freaking awesome. Now, all Kris needs is for his second single which he actually co-wrote to chart better than this one did. Or maybe the music video helps this? Chart logic escapes me.

  7. Andrea permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:13 pm

    “And while I’m sure you read it yesterday, Michael Slezak has a great take on Live Like We’re Dying.”

    Ha. I see you accept the fact that the snark-loving Kris fans (who already have up-to-the-minute info on Kris news) gather here to enjoy the props you give him.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 7, 2009 8:20 pm

      Oh yes. I know my audience 🙂

      I would have posted something on it last night, but I fell asleep. I was a big slacker in the blogging department this week. But it at least gave me an excuse to post a Mars Attacks video, too. Heh heh.

      Unless I have WONDERFUL READERS who will give me spoilers next season, I only sometimes am the person who gets the info first. So just get more people to start sending me secret stuff, because I will LOVE IT. But this blog, it is what it is in many respects. And it’s probably one of the more random American Idol-centric blogs, which is completely fine with me.

  8. deez permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:41 pm

    I like the video quite a bit…I was a little “meh” on the song initially, but the video sort of makes it better somehow. I did actually read a quote from a Glambert that said this video was an ouright ripoff of Adam. (may have been in the Lindsay Parker review) Really? I saw no comparison whatsoever…until you mentioned the post-apocalyptic thing. I suppose that was what the Glambert meant….IDK. Never seen an “outright ripoff” that had to be explained.

    VFTW even said it was anti-climactic, but not too bad. High praise, indeed.

    • saskin permalink
      November 7, 2009 11:33 pm

      Hmmm. It is a rip off in the sense that he was supposed to be flipping burgers but instead he is making music videos just like ADAM. You have to think oblique. Actually this reply is oblique too (or maybe I had one margarita too many).

  9. blacklisted permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:18 pm

    It wasn’t what I expected. The first time I saw it I wasn’t feeling it. After watching it again I changed my mind. It looks expensive and I thought it related well to the lyrics of the song.

    Jive did a great job. It sells Kris as a singer/musician by having him play two instruments. It also highlighted Kris’ looks which was a smart move.

  10. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:14 pm

    I liked it. I loved the ending with him running in slow motion and the sunset thing.

  11. November 7, 2009 6:37 pm

    After I saw the TFM video I got kinda worried for Kris’. But I am really happy with this. It looks expensive, and it’s not cheesy at all! It is easy to fall into cheesiness when you are talking about living like you’re dying~ but it avoided all that.

    The video embodies Kris to me, as well. Perfect video for him.

Leave a Reply

