Skip to content

Who ya gonna call? Jedward! — The X Factor (Show #5)

November 7, 2009

Why can’t American Idol be as good as The X Factor?

And why can’t my job just transfer me to our London office? Because seriously, I’m done with the dog & pony shit talent shows we have on TV in the United States. And they’re still on TV! Because British people are smarter. We already know they’re funnier, but they’re also smarter. They don’t take their piddly little reality talent competitions so damn seriously. They also have Coca Cola Light and I love that shit. And in Britain, I can actually drink Coca Cola Light with Havana Club. I really can’t do that here. And they have Top Shops everywhere. And TESCO. And Pret-a-Mangier. Oh, I could eat those tasty pre-prepared sandwiches for every meal.

They even perform with their own Stay-Puff Marshmellow Man!!!! I still have the stuffed Stay-Puff my parents bought me when I was 9…it was the very last one on the shelf. I’ve had him ever since.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 1:04 am

    Bwah!! This is great. I hope they make it to the end!! And Stay-Puff man rocks!

    • November 10, 2009 3:50 am

      Yeay! Simon saved them. Jedward lives! The uproar caused here in UK cos of Jedward is hilarious. I pray daily they will win. Well not daily exactly. Just when it crosses my mind every now and again. But you know what I mean.

  2. Carlisle permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:24 pm

    We have Pret a Manger in NYC…it’s very nice. Also, the best British reality TV (nay, the best reality TV regardless of country) that I’ve seen in AGES was BBC America’s totally out-of-date reruns of the West End casting shows “How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria” and “Any Dream Will Do” (particularly the latter). The camp is SPECTACULAR. I mean, they’re hosted by Graham Norton. They feature over-the-top renditions of the most terrible pop songs. They are totally brilliant, and I highly recommend seeking them out.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 7, 2009 7:30 pm

      Every time I walk by the Pret-a-Manger in NYC, it’s closed. And oh, how I wish there were more than one. They should be everywhere.

      I will check that out…btw, did you ever see Manor House on PBS? I still think its the greatest reality show ever made. Never could get into 1940s House or Pioneer House, but Manor House was an incredible study in human behavior.

      • Carlisle permalink
        November 8, 2009 10:44 am

        There are a gazillion Pret a Mangers in NY. Seriously, they’re all over midtown. Have a list: http://www.pret.com/us/find_a_pret/. They do close pretty early, though. Have not seen Manor House, but it always looked interesting. I will seek it out when I feel mature enough to flip my reality TV switch from “awesomely stupid” to “actually of merit.” (I’m sure this will happen one day!)

Leave a Reply

