Skip to content

Danny Gokey’s Honky Tonky Dreamin’

November 10, 2009

Keith Urban lies! And what polite, gracious liars are he and his lovely wife, Nicole Kidman.

From Danny Gokey’s Twitter:

Wow I met Keith Urban. He proceded to introduce me 2 Nicole Kidman & said that she got him into American idol & that they were cheering 4 me

So Danny didn’t get to meet Mr. Urban at the Idol Finale in May? Alas. It’s nice they’re letting him do the red carpet perp walks at all these big country events (Tonight the BMI awards, tomorrow night, the CMAs), but I’m still not sold on whether or not he will be embraced by Nashville. And I certainly hope he’s not bringing Pastor Rolex as his date.

Oh Gokey, stop talking while you’re ahead:

I was told by a few media outlets that Keith & Nicole liked me while I was n american idol. Now I heard it first-hand~Amazing! Never give up

Sigh…oh Gokey, I swear I’ve tried, I swear. I’ve tried.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. stef permalink
    November 11, 2009 10:31 am

    Realizing this is a site that exists to snark on Danny and other AI finalists, you’ve just got the facts wrong here. Keith & Nicole are on record from the AI season as being AI watchers and fans of Danny Gokey in particular.

    Print interview here in a country music blog http://www.theboot.com/2009/04/17/keith-urban-on-piano-serenades-and-idol-worship/

    or http://music.aol.com/video/qanda-do-you-have-any-america-idol/keith-urban/bc:19538483001

    Three separate interviews with Keith Urban in which he talks about Danny. Danny’s not delusional, he’s perfectly correct.

    • Wino permalink
      November 11, 2009 5:04 pm

      just lost respect for them both…”kind eyes” Nicole? really?…… well, then again, she did marry Looney Cruise. it seems her judgement has always been Fked up.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 11, 2009 11:42 pm

        She must have a thing for men with an over-inflated sense of self.

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 12, 2009 12:16 am

          And membership in a cult?

  2. pattyluponey permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:15 am

    I wanted nothing more than to punch Mr. Gokey in the face during this past season of AI…then I saw the tour…he redeemed himself a bit with his live performance. I thought I might, and I mean might, give him a chance, but only if he recorded a good country song (and I knew that was a very slim to none chance). All of his interviews and twitter posts have quickly brought him down. He’s so full of his own importance. That combined with his ignorance of music and the world in general, make him seem such a doofus. Then I heard his debut single. I don’t want to punch Danny in the face now, I want to punch myself in the face for listening to that…I don’t even want to call it music…UGH! That is the AI machine at it’s absolute worst. I’m glad 19E is recognizing Allison as the true 3rd place winner. (BTW I’ve been a long-time lurker…Thank you TopIdol for the many belly laughs this past year.)

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 11, 2009 12:16 am

      I love your screenname.

      • November 11, 2009 12:22 am

        Lolz…it’s a big joke with me and my geeky theatre friends…I left to be a starving artist. Patty Luponey, my My Little Pony is my travel companion on my blog…

    • November 11, 2009 12:18 am

      Me too!

  3. November 10, 2009 11:57 pm

    Sure, he’ll be embraced by Nashville. I am guessing that by the law of averages, there must be some old tranny ho named “Nashville”.

  4. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 10, 2009 11:43 pm

    “Media Outlets?” Does he know that the “WE (heart) GOKEY” e-newsletter is not a media outlet.?

    TOP IDOL
    I went to Hulu and Mad Men past episodes where not there. Where else (online) could I find them?

    : )

  5. November 10, 2009 11:43 pm

    I’m so happy Danny is fulfilling his life-long dream of becoming a country star.

    (…by lifelong, of course, I mean the past five months or so. Ever since he realized he had no shot in hell of getting signed in any other genre.)

Leave a Reply

