Skip to content

Preview Allison Iraheta’s Debut Album “Just Like You”

November 10, 2009

Click here and hear snippets from Alison Iraheta’s debut album, Just Like You.

Even though Robot Love sounds kind of Brittney, I have to love it because its called Robot Love, but I’m kind of worried about the rest of the album. What do you think? I am not feeling Don’t Waste the Party, and I’m guessing Scars is the one written by Pink? Come on! This is La Princesa del Mariachi! I want MORE oomph.

46 Comments leave one →
  1. blacklisted permalink
    November 11, 2009 9:43 pm

    Finally heard the clips. Beat me up makes me wanna dance…which makes me feel guilty b/c domestic violence shouldn’t make ya’ wanna party.

  2. ShaqAttack permalink
    November 11, 2009 3:13 pm

    She got her braces off like a week or so ago.

    When you compare other Idol debut albums, I think this is one of the better ones. All the songs have a good radio-friendly feel to it.

    For some reason, I think “Beat Me Up” could be a hit for her. I can see teen girls getting hook to it.

  3. AlbumIsGreat permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:59 pm

    Normally 30 second clips are more likely to discourage me than make me like something. For me they are only useful for finding a song I already know but am not sure of the title. That was true for me for Kris and Adams albums when I heard their clips. I decided not to get Adams album because it sounds like his album isn’t the kind of music I like and nothing like he was on Idol.

    In Allison’s case having heard Holiday and one of the other writers demos I already knew two songs plus the single which I like. Holiday is outstanding. The 30 second clips loop and start over again so for me this was like hearing the album play over and over again quickly. After a couple loops I was hooked and want to hear more. Just like you left me egerly wanting to hear the rest. I love where it was going when it cut off. I Liked every song. This is going to be one great album. I’m dying to hear the full songs. I preordered for the first time ever in my life.

    • deez permalink
      November 11, 2009 3:53 pm

      I’m with you here. I’ve already ordered Kris’, and am most likely buying Allison’s as well.
      Adam’s…IDK yet.

  4. auntieaimee permalink
    November 11, 2009 10:59 am

    I am cautiously optimistic despite my visceral hatred of Friday I’ll Be Over You. I think this girl’s gonna be huge, honestly. It might not happen right away, but she’ll be big. Also, did she have her braces taken off? Her diction has improved a lot.

  5. November 11, 2009 4:04 am

    She’s not dark. She’s not cutting herself, either.

    The album isn’t bad. It’s slightly boring/overproduced at times, but I liked Scars, Friday I’ll Be Over You, Robot Love (in a guilty pleasure kind of way) and D is for Dangerous. I don’t like how they’re trying to pass her off as Kelly Clarkson, Jr. Like Smartie said, I hope she sells well enough so that the next album could possibly be a bit more like her vibe.

  6. Smartie permalink
    November 11, 2009 3:19 am

    Listening…

    Friday I’ll Be Over You – meh
    Robot Love – meh
    Just Like You – yuck
    Don’t Waste The Pretty – meh (sure that’s her?)
    Scars – bored, very meh
    Pieces – yuck
    D is for Dangerous – meh
    Holiday – meh
    Still Breathing – meh, boring
    Trouble Is – boring
    No One Else – yawn
    Beat Me Up – meh
    You Don’t Know Me – meh

    this all sounds so much like a million others. It’s less boring than Madam’s stuff but is still very generic. Hopefully this sells enough that she gets another deal and puts out a real album, not this cookie cutter production line stuff.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 11, 2009 10:15 am

      I really hated Scars for some reason. I think it was the most men & boring of the bunch.

  7. November 11, 2009 12:54 am

    Like 4 songs. The rest is garbage.

  8. d. b. cooper permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:07 am

    Flash reaction: I can’t purchase this:(

    Scars, Holiday, and Beat Me Up sound like they might be good. Friday is decent for sure. Overall it sounds awfully generic. Too bad. Maybe the next one will be better?

  9. kneipho permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:52 pm

    Yeah, the Pink and Kelly influences are mighty heavy, but I’ll take it, thank you very much and then greedily ask for more.I like it. It is what it is: a sturdy effort from a very, very talented seventeen year old. Hope the album does well, ’cause I’m dying to hear what La Princesa will produce as she gets older. Her success today will provide her another album or two in the future…

    *Looks about sheepishly*

    I think I’d better take my Tard hat off now and step away from the computer.

  10. eustacia permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:30 pm

    It’s ok. I really find it difficult to imagine how they will market her, because she’s not the usual teenybopper. I’m actually worried for her.

  11. lauren722 permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:49 pm

    Personally, top idol, I adore the snippets! The only one I don’t love is Robot Love. I hate anything that sounds Britney-ish. It’s a little more pop than I wanted but I still love them! Beat Me Up is kinda scaring me too now that I am actually listening to the lyrics. But I have to say El Viernes Te Olvido Yo is fabulous! I like it better than the English lol.

  12. November 10, 2009 9:31 pm

    I’m not gonna listen to the snippets and am going to wait for the album instead. She’s still awesome, but I’ve always enjoyed her more live, because I feel like her grit is lost in the studio (based on the Idol mp3s, but one should never judge on that factor).

  13. Nicole permalink
    November 10, 2009 8:19 pm

    From the clips I like Scars the most. I think FIBOU is one of the weaker songs actually. They should have used another song for her first single. My only complaint is that she sounds too much like Kelly Clarkson/Pink in these clips. I love me some Kelly, but we already have a Kelly…….

    • ShaqAttack permalink
      November 10, 2009 8:28 pm

      Even though there is only one Kelly and Pink, this was the best route for Allison for the debut album.

      I see Allison going the same path Taylor Swift went through: Taylor’s first album did not really do good (sales wise) for some time, but after a couple of singles came out, her album sales went up. I think that is the approach Allison will probably have.

      never thought I would compare Taylor and Allison…haha

    • Steph permalink
      November 10, 2009 8:54 pm

      I hear Pink in these songs pretty heavily. I’ve always thought Allison had a voice that was very similar to Pink’s, but Allison had more edge, grit, rock in her. Whatever you want to call it. While I do hear the Pink reference I do feel it is still very much Allison.

      I think going the Pink route will suit her well as well. I think there is definitely a market for what she is singing right now. I can hear this on the radio.

      What happened this year with Idol?! They’re actually letting the artist have some creative freedom and therefore we are getting albums that are actually representative of the artist themselves…and better yet GOOD?!

      This lot of albums have been the best yet, even snippet wise, from any of the previous years. I personally still think Kris Allen’s album is phenomenal by previous Idol standards, and a really great album just in general. I hope Allison lives up to the same sentiments for me.

      Well every Idol minus whatever garbage Gokey is spewing, of course. 🙂

  14. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:51 pm

    La Princesa sounds like Pink in a lot of the songs. They’re very poppy, but I think for her age and the market she’s suited for, that’s the right way to go. Once she matures and develops some songwriting sensibilities, maybe we’ll see the return of the gritty rocker chick from the show.

    Listenable, but they all seem to sound the same in 30 second snippets. I’ll wait for the full songs to be released.

    Most importantly: Will we hear from Allisontards? Or is that a boys’ club thing?

    • deez permalink
      November 10, 2009 8:11 pm

      Is there a male equivalent of crazy frauen? I don’t think I’ve heard of Allitards…I guess they exist…a lot of people were surprised to learn that Kris had tards. Well, Top Idol has started this thread, and “if you build it, they will come.” We will soon discover.

      • ShaqAttack permalink
        November 10, 2009 8:23 pm

        Allison fans are called Allie-Katz and Alliholics, but they are more calm and mundane then other fanbases. Whether that is good or bad is up to you to decide

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 10, 2009 9:18 pm

        Katharine McPhee has some freaky ass tards. Holy hell, they’re like jiggers and gnats. I think there are some creepy “mauen” in there.

      • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
        November 11, 2009 6:55 am

        Maybe Danny Gokey will come here.

  15. deez permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:49 pm

    Hmmmm, from the snippets, I have a better intitial feeling than I did about Kris’s album.(and I ended up loving it…so, good sign) That’s the problem…snippets are too snippetty. There were about 4 there that sounded (potentially)really great to me. I LOVE her voice though, so IDK, maybe that’s what I was listening to. Her cover looks great, as well…we don’t talk about this girl enough!

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 10, 2009 7:55 pm

      I know! And I love La Princesa. Her voice is incredible. Even if I feel “meh” about a song, her voice still sounds out of this world.

  16. November 10, 2009 7:25 pm

    I kinda wish that the album was rockier in general. I think they were going for Pink/Kelly Clarkson but they ended up with Ashlee Simpson/Demi Lovato. However, I’m hoping the whole songs would change my mind since I don’t want to just judge it on the snippets.

    I will say that I really like the spanish version of FIBOU more than the english version for some reason (and I don’t understand spanish at all but I think they polished her vocals less on this?)

    • Wino permalink
      November 10, 2009 10:49 pm

      yeah, i do wish they could make it more “edgy”, but for a debut album, they wouldnt dare push the teen/pop fan base away. if you recall, pink and clarkson become rockier as their careers progressed. for pete’s sake, pink debuted as an R&B artist ….ha, i actually liked her even back then.

    • blacklisted permalink
      November 11, 2009 9:49 pm

      The lyrics to FIBOU are way better in espanol. IMO she also sounds better in the spanish version.

  17. kimberly permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:16 pm

    Went back to listen. Liking Holiday and not so sure about Just Like You, now. I’m going to listen again later.

  18. ShaqAttack permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:06 pm

    I like it because it the album seems cohesive.

    “Beat Me Up” is a song that will definitely get heads turning.

    I hope they make Scars and Holiday singles cause I truly want to hear her sing these live.

    • November 10, 2009 7:26 pm

      I think those are the 2 I like but I doubt that they would make Holiday a single since Dilana has it in her album which is being released next week I think.

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 10, 2009 7:34 pm

        Who or what is a Dilana?

        • Lakshmi permalink
          November 10, 2009 7:40 pm

          She was the runner-up on Rock Star: Supernova, that show hosted by Dave Navarro, three years ago. Apparently she’s also a songwriter.

          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dilana

          • TopIdol permalink
            November 10, 2009 7:48 pm

            Oh yeah…I recall hearing that name before.

        • November 10, 2009 8:09 pm

          haha. I only know of her because Adam basically did her (or at least I think it’s hers) version of Ring of Fire on Rockstar

          • November 10, 2009 9:30 pm

            Yeah, that was her arrangement of “Ring of Fire”.

  19. kimberly permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:51 pm

    From the song clips, I like Scars, Still Breathing, Pieces, Trouble Is, and You Don’t Know Me. I really have to listen again, though. I love her voice, always have. I think I can hear the real Allison the best on Scars and Trouble Is. Her voice is grittier than Pink’s, but to me the similarities are pretty close. Beat Me Up’s lyrics from what I heard are pretty scary. “Even though you beat me up, beat me up, I still love you ’cause you heat me up, heat me up…” I mean that’s the chorus. WTF is that?

    D Is For Dangerous and Holiday — I didn’t like on first listen. Again just my inital reaction here.

    • Lakshmi permalink
      November 10, 2009 6:56 pm

      Ugh, are those really the lyrics to Beat Me Up? That makes me sad.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 10, 2009 6:57 pm

      I liked Holiday. I listened to the lyrics to Beat Me Up and its more about being constantly screwed over but still going back, although I gotta admit, the title for a 17-year-old girl is a bit, uh….maybe they thought they had the girl power anthems covered with Friday I’ll Be Over U?

      • kimberly permalink
        November 10, 2009 7:10 pm

        I hope the lyrics for Beat Me Up actually empower women by song’s end. I can’t imagine it not going that way. I tried to get my daughter to listen to the clips, but she wants to be surprised. She’s 12 and loves Allison. I’m hoping the song redeems itself or I’ll be having a heart-to-heart wit her about not letting boys treat you like crap, mentally or physically.

        I’ll be buying this CD for her. I started liking Kelly Clarkson after BECAUSE OF YOU and had to backtrack her music. I bought her latest for my daughter. We sing along to KC’s CD and Pink’s. Loved Pink since day one.

        • November 10, 2009 7:21 pm

          The thing is, most teenage girls don’t tend to anaylze lyrics. I think that song’s beat is the catchiest but the lyrics are a little unnerving regardless of how the how song is. I wish they just had a different concept for this song.

          • 12cubed permalink
            November 10, 2009 11:00 pm

            I completely agree. I think people are way too blase about lyrics in general, saying, “Oh, I don’t listen to lyrics anyway,” or “They’re just songs, it’s not that important.”

            How do you know that you’re not being influenced on a subconscious level? I think lyrics ARE important. And I don’t like the words to “Beat Me Up.”

    • shay23 permalink
      November 22, 2009 6:25 pm

      “Beat Me Up” is by far the best song on the album! it’s fun and catchy – love it. I think you’re looking into it a little too deeply….

  20. Steph permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:50 pm

    I didn’t really love many of these. I didn’t dislike them either. It just is more “poppy” than I thought Allison was going to go. It needed more grit or something….

    Not bad, but not great. In “Scars” I though it was Pink singing.

    I’ll definitely wait until I hear the full album to see. It might surprise me like Kris’s album.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 10, 2009 6:58 pm

      I know Scars isn’t the Pink song, but it certainly sounds like it.

  21. ShaqAttack permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:23 pm

    I like it… I am glad that I can hear her voice and its not overproduced like I afraid it would be. And, its not too Teenybopper like I thought 19E would go with Allison.

    TopIdol: Pink and Kara wrote “No One Else”

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 10, 2009 6:42 pm

      Like I said, I’ve often dug Pink…I just scared when I hear about her numerous collaborations with Shit-For-Brains DioGuardi, as well as the rumors of her dabbling in $cientology which surfaced around the time she announced her separation from Corey Hart.

Leave a Reply

