Skip to content

Quote of the Day: Kris Allen

November 10, 2009

From the Kris Allen Q&A with New York Magazine’s Culture Vulture:

One track that’s not on the album is “No Boundaries.” Why not?
I think there was a discussion about it. But we felt like we had a lot better stuff than that song to go on the album.

And by the way…I’ve listened to Kris Allen’s debut a few times. The weakest song is definitely Lifetime and Alright With Me screams Kenny Loggins…but I kind of dig it. Heartless (“remixed”) and Before We Come Undone have grown on me, but the definite winners are Bring It Back and Can’t Stay Away. I don’t hate any of it, nor do I agree with the crap about it being Daughtry or David Cook leftovers–the only song which I could remotely see Cook doing is Is It Over, perhaps.

What I do know is that for something recorded in only a few months time WHILE TOURING, this is a solid debut album. And it is by far the least Idol-y of any contestant who received a 19E contract. Kris Allen never claimed he was going to reinvent the wheel–and he didn’t, but his first release is worth a listen. It shows considerable talent. The guy is a musician.

I’m pulling for this kid to make it outside the Idol bubble. Doesn’t make me a Kristard, either. And while we’re on the subject of Kristards, which one of you people left this comment on the aforementioned article??

He makes boob sweat look hot.
(Oh, and the album preview I heard yesterday is really good too.)

(BTW, NY Mag also has a excellent article about the season finale of Mad Man. I can’t believe we have to wait until next summer for more Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce. BASTARDS!!!)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. spinningfasterandfastertonowhere permalink
    November 11, 2009 7:08 am

    “He makes boob sweat look hot.”

    I thought they were talking about themselves, but when I re-read it I lol’d.

  2. November 10, 2009 9:45 pm

    I guess Kara is relegated to the runner ups’ albums now…first Katharine, now Adam. I love how Kris was such a controversial win and still got to call a few shots (or have good shots called for him). Kudos to Kris for that hilariously honest quote.

  3. Wino permalink
    November 10, 2009 3:49 pm

    This might be self serving…but you should think about covering Mad Men next summer. Just saying……and Yes, kris’ album is not half bad. I think he will come into his own on his 2nd or 3rd try. Just remember the circumstances that these kids (allison, adam etc) recorded/put together their debut albums. Insane. I will reserve full judgement until their sophmore effort. But as of now, he is showing some great potential. As much as I hated the way the show was produced and pimped this year, we got 3 solid potentials out of it.

  4. blacklisted permalink
    November 10, 2009 3:40 pm

    I still think that it was Kris himself who pushed for NoBo to be dropped from the tour and the album. He’s the one who seems most aware of who he is an artist and who will negotiate with the label to have his vision represented.

    • Burgundy LaRue permalink
      November 10, 2009 5:00 pm

      If so, that was smart on Kris’ part. NoBo is awful and having that albatross on an otherwise solid album would just be terrible. It would also explain why DioDummy didn’t contribute any songs to Kris’ album–he wants no part of the mess she’s offering!

  5. November 10, 2009 3:15 pm

    Woohoo!

    I’m more excited to discuss Mad Men though. What a phenomenal finale! Elisabeth Moss finally got an amazing scene, which she hasn’t really had in weeks because the writers focused way too much time on January Jones (who can at least probably get an Emmy nomination, finally). Moss’s finale performance is Emmy-win-worthy. Jon Hamm, I maintain, should win at last if he submits the big-secret-episode. (Not that I trust the Emmys to make good decisions ever, sans Neil Patrick Harris.) But most of all, who expected such an upbeat, promising finale? The only thing missing was Sal. Is he gone for good? I still hope he goes to work for Duck and it ignites jealousy within Don.

    • deez permalink
      November 10, 2009 3:31 pm

      OK. I’m gonna have to get Madmen Season 1 and start watching this. So many like-minded people loving this can’t be wrong. (I just knew Hamm from 30 Rock)

      The last time I avoided a series (Deadwood) and finally took everyone’s advice and gave it a watch, I wasn’t disappointed. (Deadwood was awesome. I may have to dust off those DVD’s as well.)

      • SarahBeth permalink
        November 10, 2009 4:50 pm

        Ok, add me to the Mad Men bandwagon. I’m going to have to get it too and start watching it.

        So many like-minded people loving this can’t be wrong.

        This is true.

  6. kneipho permalink
    November 10, 2009 2:21 pm

    Haaaa Haaa!

  7. saskin permalink
    November 10, 2009 1:30 pm

    This is so cool. I just wrote something about Paula for the Allen album thread then decided it was irrelevant and didn’t send it. I’ll post it here:

    I’m not ready to give Idol people any credit for being smart or even being able to plan things. I think Idol people are retarded, if they weren’t they would know that Paula is essential for manipulation: if even Simon says something is good; “it is really good”, if even Pauler cannot say something is good; “it is really bad”. Now who is going to let us know what is “really bad” since we are totally incapable of thinking for ourselves, geniuses?

  8. SarahBeth permalink
    November 10, 2009 1:01 pm

    BEST QUOTE EVER.

    Idol FAILS for keeping Kara. But good for 19 for not forcing Kris to sing that song on tour or put it on his album. Or rather, good for Kris for fighting to get it dropped and also not on the album. That song SUCKS. I actually don’t think any radio stations played it. Did they?

    The new Heartless I didn’t think I’d like, but I really love the funky edge to it. 🙂

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 10, 2009 1:12 pm

      I heard Lambert’s No Boundaries at a Denny’s once, a week after the show ended.

      • girl from mars permalink
        November 10, 2009 1:35 pm

        Too… many… jokes…

      • Smartie permalink
        November 11, 2009 3:20 am

        Did you order cow snot?

  9. Carlisle permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:49 pm

    Hey, TI, I saw your comment that you don’t want any “deep interpretations” of Kris songs in the comments, but if anyone tries to convince me that the weather metaphor in “Let It Rain” (about struggles with the record company) wasn’t inspired by being forced to sing about “weathering the hurricanes” in “No Boundaries,” I won’t believe them. 🙂

    I like the album a lot – it’s very good, considering the time constraints under which it was made. I think “The Truth” is the Cook-y song on it (and the weakest song, or at least the one I like least).

    • on the edge permalink
      November 10, 2009 12:55 pm

      If that’s true and “Let It Rain” IS about being forced to sing Shit-For-Brains’ song, I will have no choice but to tard over this boy.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 10, 2009 1:09 pm

      I should amend my post to say I do cringe in Lifetime with the poker face line.

      Only Cartman or Christopher Walken can talk about poker face now.

      • blacklisted permalink
        November 10, 2009 3:34 pm

        I really hate that poker face line in Lifetime. The whole first part makes me want to skip the whole song.

  10. November 10, 2009 12:48 pm

    HAAAAA!
    I’ve known it since he dropped that shit from his tour set.
    Way to go, HBD + 19 + Jive. =)

Leave a Reply

