Skip to content

Kris Allen is Funny (and he hung out with Adam Lambert the other night)

November 20, 2009

From his recent Q&A with EW’s Michael Slezak!

(I bet $100 he’s been forced to see Legends of the Fall a lot (aka Helena is a bursting metropolis). I hate that movie. I think HBD does, too. But he totally remembers how bear cuddling is symbolic.)

Thanks for sending over, Yuppie. My EW always arrives today. Now if you haven’t yet, go download Kris Allen’s debut album.

Meanwhile this week, in addition to releasing his first album, Kris Allen joined Adam Lambert on the red carpet for some arbitrary “best of” event for that bastion of journalism — US Weekly. MTV did an “awkward” interview with Lambert (Glam God of the Year) and Allen (Victor of the Year…come on, they could have thought of a more creative arbitrary title). The reason it was awkward was because Jim Cantiello wasn’t doing it. Obviously.

HBD’s wife, Katy Allen, was also in attendance. I’m sure Kradam-shippers have already had a field day with the red carpet photos. Hmmm…are there Kradamy(?) people, too? Hell, there are all types out there on the interweb, particularly LiveJournal. (Some guy from Glee was also there. Sorry, folks. Not into it.)

54 Comments leave one →
  1. Ina permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:13 am

    It’s Kradamaty. Yes, that fandom exists.

  2. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    November 21, 2009 12:17 am

    I think I’m becoming a Jim and Slezak tard.

    Kidding (mostly).

    Also, the fact that he snarked on a bunch of famewhores in a single article makes HBD that much more awesome.

    • deez permalink
      November 21, 2009 1:16 am

      Lol, one more question from Slezak, and he could’ve worked “Speidi” in there as well.

  3. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 20, 2009 10:39 pm

    Ok, I just read the fine print. “Bear Cuddling?” This is how the homo-erotic-kradam-tinhatting-crap starts. He says things like that and your mind just goes there. Did anyone see the Ford performance? He and Adam where so funny together.

    • deez permalink
      November 20, 2009 11:58 pm

      Lol. I might tard over Adam as well if it weren’t for Glamberts. I remember being on the edge of my seat for his performances during the season…but the enthusiasm faded, which is a shame. Maybe by hanging out with you “Saneberts”, I’ll eventually get it back.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 21, 2009 2:23 am

        The crazy behavior of that faction is troubling. I don’t agree with their sense of entitlement or their bullying tactics. These are not reasonable people. These are desperate people that are clinging to each other in some co-dependent addiction.
        This is why I do not associate with them. Adam is recreational for me. I feel sorry for them. I also feel sorry that Adam has the weight of their actions attached to him like an albatross.

        I have found most people who dislike Adam Lambert have been been driven to that opinion as a direct result of some over invested fan’s actions or remarks. I, personally, would never allow myself to be manipulated like that.

        I believe Adam is very talented. I get a strong sense of creativity and even genius from him. I don’t need others to validate that. That’s why I can come here and not get my nose out of joint. I will debate. I will tease. I will joke. But I will never take anything I read in a blog about Adam Lambert to heart. 🙂

        • deez permalink
          November 21, 2009 11:43 am

          Correct on all counts.

          Glamberts(as well as other crazies) need to read and sign on.

        • Mithra permalink
          November 22, 2009 1:12 pm

          “I also feel sorry that Adam has the weight of their actions attached to him like an albatross.”

          I don’t. I think he, by his actions and hubris, is proving himself to be a complete douchebag rivaling Constantine. He’s certainly passed up Blake and Gokey in the race.

          As for the OTT fans, seems like the old saying “like attracts like”…

          • TopIdol permalink
            November 22, 2009 2:16 pm

            I’m going to have to agree a bit with Mithra on this one. I think some of Lambert’s comments to the media have been a bit arrogant. While he’s been performing for years and had some success in theater and was hugely popular while on American Idol, he is still starting out in the business. And you really don’t want to piss anyone off until you’ve “made it”. I think every Idol contestant has a bigger uphill battle than most newly-signed artists. It’s a struggle to be taken seriously after appearing on the show. Therefore, arrogance should be kept in check until they’ve proved they can make it on their own outside of the Idol bubble.

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              November 23, 2009 8:09 pm

              I know it may be hard to believe because I am so shy and reserved, but I was once a cocky-know-it-all too. I got over it (for the most part) so will he. 🙂

              People who know him say he’s really a nice guy. We may be experiencing his outer self that he wears for protection. I suspect this is all pretty scary stuff for him. I would be crapping my pants daily if I had to deal with all this. At least he’s not crapping his pants. 🙂

      • Claire permalink
        November 21, 2009 7:34 pm

        Yeah, the Gamberts ruined it for me too. I wasn’t exactly on the edge of my seat during Adam’s performances, and there were two, maybe three, people I preferred on the show (clearly I’m a jealous homophobe with horrible taste in music), but I really enjoyed pretty much everything he sung during the Tracks of My Tears through rock night period. Then I started reading the post-finale Glambert comments at MJ’s and TWoP, and that pretty much killed it for me. Way too much condescension and hyperbole.

        • Claire permalink
          November 21, 2009 7:36 pm

          *Glamberts, not Gamberts.

      • spinningfasterandfastertonowhere permalink
        November 21, 2009 10:16 pm

        Same for me. I actually liked Adam, but some of fans just turned me off. Many of Adam’s fans had no problem with Kris up the point when Danny left. Then a lot of them turned their venom they had towards Danny to Kris when he won the show. Kris who appeared to be a really cool person. Many swarmed all over the internet trying to destroy Kris, who by all accounts from everyone is a really nice person. I mean REALLY destroy him. One of my roommates is a Kristard and would read stories about Kris and then look down at the comments are they were really terrible and many were from Adam fans and proudly proclaimed it.

        Some of Adam’s fans also act like Adam is the next coming of Jesus/Elvis, which is really over the top and makes you kinda want to vomit. They are acting worst than the Claymates.

        I know it is not all of them, but some are extremely nasty and crazy and that turned me off.

  4. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 20, 2009 10:14 pm

    I don’t have a problem with all of you Kristarding. He is a lovely boy. His wife, is using her maiden now. I don’t know why. It could be because she plans to do some acting. I think it’s O’Conner.

    • yuppie permalink
      November 21, 2009 11:16 pm

      She is not using her maiden name now. Some photo caption used it for some unknown reason. I saw a casting sheet for her, and she’s using Katy Allen.

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 21, 2009 11:47 pm

        I bet it set some of the Kradam shippers into a tither, right?

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 22, 2009 4:59 pm

        I saw it on Gossip Candy. Thanks for the clarification.

        • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
          November 22, 2009 5:13 pm

          The people at Gossip Candy are seriously nuts with the Kradam tinhatting. For a while it was amusing but they’ve really bought into the notion that HBD isn’t really happy in his marriage and that something is truly going on between him and Adam. It’s just disturbing.

  5. deez permalink
    November 20, 2009 9:38 pm

    Ohhh snappp!

    MTV Shows

  6. Margie permalink
    November 20, 2009 9:15 pm

    I don’t understand why we weren’t shown this side of Kris on AI. He is really funny…love dry humor. Plus his album is..gasp..actually good.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 21, 2009 2:30 am

      Being thrust into the spotlight sometimes takes time to adjust too. Kris may just now be feeling at ease enough to let us all in.

      • erinnthered permalink
        November 21, 2009 2:17 pm

        True. He was also cannon fodder, so there’s a chance they just didn’t want us to see the snarky guy. He may also have just repressed it for the sake of his narrative.

        I think the most revealing part of that video interview with Slezak was when he said he “knew his part” on Idol. Just when you think you know who was the most calculating contestant in a season…

  7. erinnthered permalink
    November 20, 2009 7:50 pm

    Count me among the rapidly descending into Kristard-dom. It’s so much easier than Cook because his album doesn’t make me wince, and much much easier than Blake because his behavior doesn’t make me wince. sigh

    Who was the blogger who called it USWeakly? Jann Wenner, how very far you’ve fallen…

    Glee really is good snarky fun. I’m not a musicals fan, but I still love it. It’s getting much tighter as it goes on. I didn’t recognize Sarah Drew at all! Poor Kitty. If you like Jane Lynch, do you watch Party Down?

    OT:
    I need to catch up on Flashforward and V. I’m still scarred from the original V. I’m barely keeping up with Fringe right now. Too much decent TV to watch!! Modern Family and Community are my two fave new comedies. I’ve heard Parks and Rec got better, and that so has New Adventures of Old Christine. Anyone watch those? Is it worth catching up? The only other network comedies I watch right now are Big Bang Theory and HIMYM.

    • deez permalink
      November 20, 2009 8:58 pm

      I love BBT. I am waiting for them to screw the show up by inexplicably giving Sheldon a sex-drive and pairing him up with Penny.

      • erinnthered permalink
        November 20, 2009 10:18 pm

        I’m no Sheldon/ Penny shipper, but I certainly think it makes more sense than LeoNERD and Penny. That storyline needs to die a quick death. Honestly, I’d rather they just all dated other people, and even though dating should be an aspect of their lives, I’d rather it be mostly in the background.

        I just doesn’t think Sheldon is asexual, but sexually immature and more interested in his work. The recent episodes seem to support that. Maybe it’s because I’ve known a couple of asexuals who turned out to just be really late bloomers. One everyone thought was gay and repressed turned out to be straight, and one everyone assumed was truly asexual who turned out to be gay. Besides, even if Sheldon is asexual he can still fall for someone. That would make for some good storylines.

        On topic: The new Jim C videos are adorable.

    • Trish permalink
      November 21, 2009 1:37 am

      erinnthered, consider the source here (because as much as I love Kris, I actually think Cook’s album was much better), but I do still enjoy V, Flash Forward and Fringe. In my mind, however, Fringe is far superior to the others (love, love, LOVE Joshua Jackson). If I had to bag one, it would be V, but I thought I heard next week’s episode was the last? It’s kind of comic bookish, but it’s fun. Flash Forward has so many actors I love, I don’t really care that the whole premise is coming apart, and Fringe is just, well, fantastic. If only Lost could hold my attention as well. Love all those bald dudes popping up all over the place (including So You Think You Can Dance and Idol, LOL). And exploding hedgehogs! Good stuff.

      • erinnthered permalink
        November 21, 2009 2:13 pm

        V is doing a split season. It’s really bad marketing, IMHO. They’re going to bring it back in February or March. How close is it to the original?

        I’m having the same problem with Flashforward as I did with Lost. My interest keeps waxing and waning. I finally gave up on Lost in the second season, but I think I’ll catch up later. Yes, Fringe is definitely the best of the three. I think JJ Abrams learned a lot about complex storylines and how to maintain them from Lost, plus they have those X-File-ish one-offs to fall back on…and, of course, Joshua Jackson. 😉

        There were observers on Idol and SYTYCD?! I totally missed those! That’s pretty awesome!

        • Trish permalink
          November 21, 2009 5:54 pm

          This is from last season. You needed to be paying close attention, but my kid and I both spotted him:

          This is from this season (different “Observer”):

          OMG, he showed up on an Eagles game. They’re my team and somehow I missed it, LOL:

          And the All Star Game too!

          FOX has always been brilliant at shameless. self-serving cross-promotion, so I’m not all that surprised. I enjoy these though.

          • erinnthered permalink
            November 21, 2009 9:48 pm

            That is just brilliant marketing. The actor is a good sport too.

            Have you been to that Fringe East Eggs site? Those symbols at the commercial breaks are actually a simple substitution code, and they have hints to the next episode within each current episode. It’s incredibly intricate.

  8. Wino permalink
    November 20, 2009 5:09 pm

    damn you HBD, damn you. im trying hard not to trek into fantard territory, but the guy makes it difficult.

  9. Trish permalink
    November 20, 2009 12:58 pm

    OMG, my life is over: You’re not into Glee??? Just when I thought I really knew you, TI.

    Well, Ms. Smartypants, did you know that Kitty Romano (Sarah Drew) from Mad Men guest starred on Glee this very week? She was so fabulous as the Schuetard Suzy Pepper that I did’t even recognize her! I didn’t figure out who she was until I googled her name.

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0237711/

    I guess you hate Glee because you’re a homophobe.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 20, 2009 2:54 pm

      I love Jane Lynch, though. She’s hilarious. Of course, I am also a huge fan of Sandra Oh yet I won’t watch “Grey’s Anatomy”.

      • Wino permalink
        November 20, 2009 5:13 pm

        you need 4-5 episodes to really get into glee. i had it on my dvr and finally broke down to watch a mini marathon of the series. slowly it gets you hooked, the characters, the acting, the cheesy singing etc. It might not be the BEST new show of the season but its up there along with Modern Family and Vampire Diaries (sorry!!! i know this is an anti-vamp zone). Im still on the fence on V and FlashForward.

        • deez permalink
          November 20, 2009 6:55 pm

          I started watching Flashforward, but it’s gone into stupid territory. It seemed like interesting science fic at first, but now I’ve lost interest.

  10. blacklisted permalink
    November 20, 2009 11:37 am

    I assumed Kris meant ‘bear’, like the type you find at the Castro or Chelsea. Boy was my mind somewhere else.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      November 20, 2009 11:42 am

      😀

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 20, 2009 12:58 pm

      Is Lambert hairy or just freckley?

      • blacklisted permalink
        November 20, 2009 1:11 pm

        Neither, but he’s ten pounds from bear status. Ruh-roh.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 20, 2009 6:00 pm

        Freckley, mostly. But, hairy in someplaces. 🙂

        • erinnthered permalink
          November 20, 2009 7:36 pm

          Oh, you know he waxes everything. He’s vain enough.

          • Mithra permalink
            November 20, 2009 9:12 pm

            Unfortunately, because of reading the sparkle cows on MJs, in the things I wish I could unremember but can’t, is that he TRIMS his ginger fur.

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 20, 2009 10:09 pm

            Oh, but he doesn’t. His hair is strawberry blond so it’s not always noticeable.
            but, it’s there. He sometimes waxes or shaves his chest, but not lately.

      • Smartie permalink
        November 21, 2009 11:52 pm

        He’s a red haired fat bear.

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 22, 2009 12:12 am

          You think they’re drinking Ginger Beer to celebrate this #adamseve? 😉

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 22, 2009 4:56 pm

            No, because the are drinking GLAMBERTINIS.

  11. yuppie permalink
    November 20, 2009 11:10 am

    It’s Kradamaty. Duh.

    Kris’s response about the bear sounds like something one of his fantards like me would say. “Kris Allen is so precious that if he encountered a bear in the woods, he would make the bear like him, and they would end up cuddling in a cave somewhere.”

  12. deez permalink
    November 20, 2009 10:43 am

    Well (don’t know where to post this, so I’ll put it here) , yet another Gokey song that I failed to listen to in its entirety:

    http://mjsbigblog.com/danny-gokey-new-single-my-best-days-are-ahead-of-me.htm

    Complete with Lenscrafters mugshot. Snore.

    • auntieaimee permalink
      November 20, 2009 11:19 am

      “My best days are ahead of me”. Well, that’s subtle.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 20, 2009 12:58 pm

      I’ve grown to wince when I hear is voice.

  13. deez permalink
    November 20, 2009 10:04 am

    Ruh-Roh. Glamberts accuse Top Idol of Kristardery in 3…2…1…

    • on the edge permalink
      November 20, 2009 10:17 am

      Kristard-hater-homophobe!!!1111eleventy!!11

      😛

  14. November 20, 2009 9:55 am

    Kris Allen is funny? But….but… all along I’ve been told he’s boring and has no personality!

    Everything I’ve known is a lieeeeee!

Leave a Reply

