Skip to content

Tonight is the night when the Glamberts everywhere THUD/SQUEE

November 22, 2009

The American Music Awards air tonight on ABC. Adam Lambert will be closing out the show with his new single, For Your Entertainment. This is the greatest moment in the lives of Glamberts everywhere. Lambert has described the production as very 1930s Berlin.

So is Lambert’s obsession with the cane as a prop some sort of phallic statement? I’m not sure how I feel about it. Is it avant garde ringmaster or creepy old man surveying haunted carnival? I cannot decide. In any case, this is a huge deal for Adam Lambert’s most devoted fans (they were even made #adamseve a Twitter trend last night…

I am impatiently awaiting this INCREDIBLE MOMENT IN HISTORY!!! This is going to be EPIC!!!!!! It will be the performance of the CENTURY!!!!!!!!I SOOOο»Ώ CAN’T WAIT! LOVE ADAM WITH EVERY FIBER OF MY BEING!

I have not watched the AMAs since I was in junior high, but perhaps I will catch them tonight. I remember when the AMAs made their debut, and being a music-crazed child, I watched all music awards shows. By high school, I just stopped caring about that crap, perhaps because I was no longer listening to many of the nominated artists.

The AMAs were started by Dick Clark and the winners are chosen by YOU. No offense to Dick Clark, who is an American treasure, but the AMAs are only slightly higher above the People’s Choice Awards on the Legitimate & Respectable Awards Scale. Call me a snob but you can’t really trust the general public at large to vote on this crap, especially when everything is online. Spam spam spam! Devoting hours to the mere act of voting…typically for crap.

OMGFREAKINGOSH!!!!! THIS IS GOING TO B SO AMAZIN!!! ADAM IMο»Ώ SUPER EXCITED IT IS ALL I TALK BOUT RIGHT NOW!!! Im going to start crying with joy when i see u come on the stage!!!!!! Ur amazing and i love u so much!!!!

DONT FORGET TO VOTE HIM FOR PCA EVERYONE!! COME ON LETS MAKE HIM WIN!!!!! WHAT ELSE R FANS FOR???

Hey, I can’t help it. I prefer my entertainment awards to be selected by other snobs, those who are most likely even snobbier than myself. (Of course, the Emmys suck for ignoring Battlestar Galactica in major awards categories, especially the work of Edward James Olmos and Mary McDonnell. Sigh..I digress.)

Tonight’s star-studded lineup of the AMAs is Idol-friendly (Kris Allen is presenting! And a bunch of other former contestants will be there doing much of the same or singing), of course, with the likes of Lady GaGa, Janet Jackson and Whitney “Crack is Whack” Houston among many others either performing or presenting. And while I can’t wait to see Paula Abdul, seriously, AMAs, PEREZ HILTON? WHY WHY WHY? I really hope that one Black Eyed Pea kicks his pompous whiny ass backstage. (And don’t even get me started on Seth Green. Why the hell is he there?)

Anyway, join me tonight (on here and Twitter) to weigh in on all the squeeing and thuding.

71 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 10:11 pm

    I’m just throwing this out there… Hayden Pantierre would’ve made a great Bella Swan. http://bit.ly/4G5pT1

  2. lauren722 permalink
    November 22, 2009 6:52 pm

    Lamberkitten, I have to reply here. It won’t let me reply to your post.
    Haha if Smartie feels the need to reveal my real name, I don’t think many will be shocked. My name is…drumroll please…LAUREN!!!!! I absolve you of your sin for spelling “humour” correctly. That has got to count for something πŸ™‚

    • November 22, 2009 7:00 pm

      Thanks for the drumroll Lauren… don’t think could have taken the shock of sumthin different πŸ™‚ And I am from the UK so humour is spelt as humour here, what more can I say? But maybe will change my name to Lauren or even my own real name! Lamberkitten is obviously a red rag round here πŸ™‚

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 22, 2009 7:06 pm

        Haha aw, I thought you were an American trying to be smart 😦
        You should! Lauren is an awesome name lol.
        red rag? Is that British or did you mean red flag?

        • November 22, 2009 7:26 pm

          Sorry hun, been sidetracked trying to catch Adam on red carpet of AMAs, but yep am lot older than you I suspect but please don’t hold that against me. Red rag here is like “red rag to a bull” like spanish bullfighters holding up a red cloth to get the bulls all angry an stuff. But yes, Lauren sounds sweet to me to me too πŸ™‚

          • lauren722 permalink
            November 22, 2009 7:30 pm

            Haha! That’s on already? Wait is it 8:00 where you live?
            Oh, that makes sense πŸ™‚
            It might get people confused between the two of us though xD

  3. blacklisted permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:54 pm

    Kris and Demi Lovato are presenting an award which I PRAY will go to Taylor Swift. The height difference between Taylor and the teeny tiny Kris and Demi will make a hilarious photo op.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 22, 2009 5:59 pm

      What award is this? I LOVE Taylor Swift!

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 22, 2009 6:04 pm

      Why are they making HBD present an award with a Disney-fied teenager? That annoys me. Demi Lovato is more in the realm of David Archuleta, not Kris Allen.

      • blacklisted permalink
        November 22, 2009 6:25 pm

        Demi might just be the shortest chick presenting and they wanted to have someone height compatible with HBD. That was the only thing I could come up with.

        I don’t think we know what award they are presenting just that they are presenting together.

        BTW David Cook tweeted Kris some words of encouragement since he’s presenting at his first major awards show. A few sparklecows seem to feel chagrined because DCook didn’t tweet his support to Adam. Oh no.

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 22, 2009 6:26 pm

          Oh for chrissake. Frau war!!!

          I am actually kind of enjoying following HBD on Twitter. His tweets are pretty funny.

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 22, 2009 6:26 pm

          Oh no! I’m gonna go beat up DC now!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

        • November 22, 2009 6:33 pm

          Cook hates Adam. Fact πŸ™‚

          • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
            November 22, 2009 8:23 pm

            Cook hit on Adam at GMA but was rejected. He retaliates by getting friendly with HBD, who is open-minded like that. True story πŸ™‚

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 22, 2009 8:26 pm

              Lol! I do not recall this. But HBD is married! *gasp*

  4. Smartie permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:35 pm

    He’s apparently the last act of the night, so hopefully the screeching will be cut off by the credits.

    • November 22, 2009 5:41 pm

      LOL! More cut off by squees and orgasmic wailings. You just know you wanna hear all that. But hey, good night for Adam surely, I hope you will wish him good luck πŸ™‚

      • Smartie permalink
        November 22, 2009 5:42 pm

        Actually hopefully the set falls on him.

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 22, 2009 5:48 pm

          Aw Smartie, even though you don’t like Adam’s music, you wouldn’t really wish harm on him, would you?

          • November 22, 2009 6:10 pm

            Smartie does wish Adam harm, he really does. Don’t worry Lauren, as much as there are nasty folks out there, there are a million glittery good souls to take their place. And should Adam so much for half a second wobble on that dangerous looking contraption of a stage set piece, you just know there will be a thousand large, bouncy, glittery, squeeing sparkle cows congregating round the floor begging to cushion his fall. It’s covered honey.

            • TopIdol permalink
              November 22, 2009 6:19 pm

              The image of that made me a bit queasy.

          • Smartie permalink
            November 22, 2009 6:11 pm

            Fuck yes. Fat poser loser that he is.

            Shouldn’t you be charging your batteries for your masturbation session, Deborah?

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 22, 2009 6:16 pm

              Smartie! However you think of him is no reason for wishing him an injury. Though, I am going to stop commenting because I have a feeling you are just provoking me. πŸ™‚
              Who’s Deborah?

            • November 22, 2009 6:19 pm

              You know my real name? Is that an “outing” of some kind? Should I be embarrassed about something? Maybe cos am an Adam fan. Surely should bury head in shame for ever. I dunno. You tell me.

            • November 22, 2009 6:28 pm

              Sorry TI, the image was meant to make everyone laugh. Is not going to happen as am sure the security at these events is tighter than Danny’s butt when Adam in the room. Only chance frauen will get to defend or cushion Adam is on harmless blogs πŸ™‚

        • November 22, 2009 6:01 pm

          Harsh bastard! πŸ™‚

          • lauren722 permalink
            November 22, 2009 6:22 pm

            Oh that’s you! πŸ™‚
            I was confused before.

            • November 22, 2009 6:45 pm

              Yeah, that’s my real name. I am an actual bone fide (legitimate) real person with a real name. Not just a kitten for Lambert’s pleasure as name implies, or as I would wish. Be careful if you sin against TPTB – you might get your real name exposed. Sinning in this case means – I can only suspect – that I am guilty of being an Adam tard/fan/frau/bitterbert etc. A sense of humour, or willingness to explore the anti-tard community is no redeeming quality it would seem.

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 22, 2009 7:00 pm

                I keep meaning to click on your website but always forget, and I think I will do so right now.

                And it makes me sad I’m not in the UK. And because its against the law in MA to tint brows and lashes. Bastards. Need to do it the next time I’m in NYC.

                • November 22, 2009 7:02 pm

                  What! Mine? Gee, thank you πŸ™‚

                • November 22, 2009 7:04 pm

                  Any time you passing by, I promise I won’t wax the whole of your brows off, nor make your brows too dark like Groucho Marx or make your tan too orange! Promise πŸ™‚

  5. November 22, 2009 5:34 pm

    As much as I believe Adam shoulda won American Idol I would hate to see the situation where Kris having to give Adam an award. That would bo so embarrassing for them both! But TI “Call me a snob but you can’t really trust the general public at large to vote on this crap”. I know you aren’t talking bout AI there, but you might as well be.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 22, 2009 5:39 pm

      Oh gosh! I didn’t even think of it that way. I mean it’s an honor for both of them. Being asked to present or winning an award. Though I guess the Glamberts would get cocky about it and ruin a possibly adorable moment 😦
      I agree about AI. It’s the general public’s fault Gokey got 3rd. I don’t really blame anyone for Adam losing. Kris is talented, but how could Danny beat my homegirl Allie?!?!?

      • November 22, 2009 5:55 pm

        Lauren, I would hate to see that moment precisely because of what the “glamberts” would make of that moment, even though I am a glambert myself. I suspect both Adam and Kris are both sensitive and evolved souls, as much as they would cope with such a moment, it would be uncomfortable really. And I know!!! Almost eleventy!!! No way Alison shoulda lost to Danny -but you know, as is becoming increasingly apparent, the general public have no taste with these competitions and often the losers do far better. You heard of JLS? Just had two number 1’s in the UK, won 2 moby awards (music of black origin) in UK and prolly set to be best boy band to take crown from Take That. They were RUNNERS UP last year on Xfaxtor (the UK equivalent to American Idol). ~Tonight JEDWARD were knocked out. But don’t be downhearted if you are a fan, they will inevitably rule the world.

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 22, 2009 6:05 pm

          I love Jedward. This was sad. The hobbit-y looking guy who went first and sang “Faith” should have been booted.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 22, 2009 5:48 pm

      I’m talking about most of pop culture in general. I think the right guy DID win Idol this year (and last), but Gokey should never have gotten that far…but no, I was more talking about awards based on public voting. The People’s Choice Awards are a joke. Look at the nominees and the winners. These sorts of shows just praise the crap people without much taste enjoy. Like that Twilight crap and the TV show Two and a Half Men. Who watches that show? I’ve only met one person, yet its one of the top-rated shows every week.

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 22, 2009 5:54 pm

        Your comment makes me sad. I have found everyone I talk to online and most of my friends all hate Twilight. Why? New Moon was actually good! And I enjoy the books, despite what you may say about Mormon undertones. *ducks and hides from wrath of TopIdol*

        • November 22, 2009 6:00 pm

          I never read the Twilight books series but wish I had rather that watched the film. Really it was entertaining , just not that memorable. But the ads for the New Moon one. Hey, now you are talking. Seems like a must see. I will get the books at some point, suspect will be much better experience πŸ™‚

          • lauren722 permalink
            November 22, 2009 6:08 pm

            Twilight (the film) was extremely mediocre. New Moon (the film) was absolutely fantastically amazing! Lamberkitten, I’m not sure of your age, but Taylor Lautner is gorgeous!!!!!!! Get the books! Books are always better than movies.

            • November 22, 2009 6:17 pm

              Yeah, far too old to recognise horny qualities of Tayler Lautner am sure – but who was the fit young Indian boy that me and my neice were squeeing over when I saw the amazing ad for the film? Prolly some other dude :). Yeah love books and really been meaning to get these and even though meant for teen audience, I hear the ever so slightly older woman would love them too.

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 22, 2009 6:20 pm

                Men in movies can have nice abs but that doesn’t mean I will ever sit through their film. See nearly anything with Matthew McConaghay and that 300 shit.

                • November 22, 2009 6:36 pm

                  Yeah I get ya with Matthew McConnaghay (is that how its spelt?) but had to watch 300 with my boys – it didnt hurt quite as much as i though it would πŸ™‚

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 22, 2009 6:21 pm

              Sorry, I really have no idea how old you are from ages 0-100. My mom likes Taylor too but she doesn’t squeal over him because people would call her creepy xD. Actually Taylor isn’t Indian I believe. He just looks it πŸ˜›

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 22, 2009 6:22 pm

                Creepy xD? I’ve never heard that phrase. Perhaps I am getting old. Ha.

                • lauren722 permalink
                  November 22, 2009 6:24 pm

                  xD is a smiley TopIdol!

      • blacklisted permalink
        November 22, 2009 6:03 pm

        Twilight is shit. Stephanie Meyer is a hack. I can see a little girl liking it b/c they don’t know no better, but grown ass women? They should be really embarrassed if they think that Twilight is anything other than pure unadulterated dreck.

        • sosad permalink
          November 22, 2009 7:01 pm

          But they are all so pretty when they SPARKLE IN THE SUNLIGHT11!
          Come on now.

        • deez permalink
          November 22, 2009 7:07 pm

          I’m disturbed at the sheer number of grown-ass women who think these books are well-written. The books are dreck; the first film was dreck. I got to the part where they were lying in a field and were all “sparkly”; I felt an urge to vomit. Bad acting and bad writing =hit as long as the actors look like heroin-ravaged models (vampires), apparently.

          I guess when your only exposure to literature is romance novels, that the “Twilight” series might seem like the collected works of Jane Austen. (who am I kidding…no it wouldn’t)

          • lauren722 permalink
            November 22, 2009 7:12 pm

            Although, I’ll admit Meyer’s writing isn’t good, I wouldn’t call it dreck! Have you read The Host? Her writing is vastly improved in that. RPattz and Kristen just don’t work together. Taylor and Kristen on the other hand…
            No one says Twilight is a classic (and if they do, they are absolutely insane) but that doesn’t mean it isn’t an enjoyable series.

            • TopIdol permalink
              November 22, 2009 7:16 pm

              Twitarding is out of control. Enjoy πŸ˜‰

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 22, 2009 7:19 pm

              Oh, oh my. TopIdol you are right. I am a TwiHARD but I would NEVER get a tattoo regarding it. Not quite as bad as the woman with Adam’s eyes on her back though.

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 22, 2009 7:22 pm

                These may be tie for a very close second:

                Image and video hosting by TinyPic

                • lauren722 permalink
                  November 22, 2009 7:25 pm

                  The one on the right wins. At least the left one came from a poster. Never seen that other pic before though 0.0

  6. sosad permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:02 pm

    I’m really looking forward the the pimp cane.
    Should be awesome.

    • November 22, 2009 5:39 pm

      Was uproar on AO by one person! Surely cane was symbol of pimp! And therefore degradation of all women! Soon lost will to live after reading, more to do with obsessive nature of over-analytical fan rather than possible pimping out of women by Adam, which, to be honest was the preferred option for me.

  7. blacklisted permalink
    November 22, 2009 4:30 pm

    Cane and 1930’s Berlin makes me think of a knockoff on Cabaret and Joel Grey. Not a good idea for those of us who have a) seen Cabaret, b) think that only Alan Cummings could imitate Joel Grey, c) don’t want to be reminded about the Nazi’s gaining power in 1930’s Berlin.

    Lucky for Adam, American’s are really ignorant about history and/or brilliant movies/shows such as Cabaret, therefore, no one will be the wiser.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 22, 2009 4:34 pm

      I thought the Nazi’s gained power in Germany, not Berlin! *waves American flag*

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 22, 2009 4:37 pm

        Berlin is in Germany πŸ™‚

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 22, 2009 4:43 pm

          I know TopIdol! I was trying to seem more American πŸ™‚

          • TopIdol permalink
            November 22, 2009 4:54 pm

            Oh, my bad. Hey, I’m tired! πŸ™‚

            Smileys make everything brighter!

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 22, 2009 5:19 pm

              It’s fine. Though I was rather insulted you could think I was that dumb…
              I still love you πŸ™‚
              (The power of smileys!)

  8. lauren722 permalink
    November 22, 2009 4:28 pm

    I don’t think Adam can win Breakthrough Artist. If you go to the website, it seems he didn’t win the final four. Kris presenting an award to Adam would be undeniably cute though πŸ™‚ *Gets ready for head explosion tonight*

  9. deez permalink
    November 22, 2009 3:41 pm

    If Kris presents an award to Adam (is that a possibility?) Glamberts with get some mileage with that, I think. Kradamite heads will explode.

    I think it might be a cute moment…but I suspect that something will be made out of it.

    • deez permalink
      November 22, 2009 3:42 pm

      That would be “will get” not “with get”.

  10. Gag Me! permalink
    November 22, 2009 3:39 pm

    Lambert is already preparing to win “Breakthrough Artist” by wearing nipple tassles.

    http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/popwrap/adam_lambert_nipple_tassles_will_FC455lWrF0KgMBNm2WNTSL

  11. on the edge permalink
    November 22, 2009 2:46 pm

    I’m just a stickler for details, so this is my no means adding “legitimacy” to the proceedings, but…the AMAs are fortunately semi-immune to spam-voting. By “chosen by the people” they mean it’s a combo of sales (including music and concert tickets) and actual polling by market research folks. In other words, unlike those unscientific “vote here!” polls you see on news websites where anyone can vote eleventy-billion times, you have to get a call from one of these survey people.

    Of course I guess some pollster could have the unfortunate “luck” of calling a “Glambert” household…

Leave a Reply

