Skip to content

Kris Allen’s LOGO Interview

November 23, 2009

Check out Kris Allen’s interview with Logo.

He advocates going outside and reading books. What’s not to like about this guy? So go out and buy his album, dammit. And stop asking him about waxing his hairy feet.

70 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie Sparkles permalink
    February 9, 2010 12:37 am

    Euh…part one of the video has been deleted and I cannot find it ANYWHERE. Does anyone know where the transcripts are?

  2. deez permalink
    November 25, 2009 5:22 pm

    http://newsroom.mtv.com/2009/11/25/kris-allen-interview-outtakes/

    Hilarious “Krim” out-takes. If Kris was any more relaxed, he’d need a blanket and slippers.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 25, 2009 5:28 pm

      I saw that earlier and died of the cuteness πŸ™‚
      KRIM IS REAL!

  3. Burgundy LaRue permalink
    November 24, 2009 6:28 pm

    Numbers are in for last week’s album sales. Kris comes in at #10 with just under 85K. Not super great, but nothing to sneeze at with the way things are going for most in the music biz.

    What I appreciate is that he did it without the overblown drama. I’m hoping that someone high on the music/entertainment food chain took notice so HBD can get some of the praise he deserves. He really did put together a good album.

    • deez permalink
      November 24, 2009 9:20 pm

      I wish it wasn’t so, but the thing that will get focused on is that he will have the lowest selling winner’s album ever for a winner. There are a lot of contributing factors to this, of course, but all some people will look at is the numbers, and I have a feeling Taylor Hicks comparisons from some camps are on the horizon.

      Too bad. I think the album is really good. Hopefully things will pick up. The release of another more sing-along type single that might actually get played on the radio would help. (I have not heard LLWD once on the radio).

      • deez permalink
        November 24, 2009 9:22 pm

        Dammit. Why don’t I proofread?”Winner’s album for a winner”. Really me? (the Dept of Redundancy Dept)

      • Sherena permalink
        November 24, 2009 10:06 pm

        I thought LLWD was doing well on the radio. It’s somewhere in the Top 20s in HAC, right? And sales have been pretty steady. I don’t know if Kris can get an actualfax hit that’s heard on the radio ALL the time (I’ve heard LLWD a few times). But as for singalong, Alright With Me would work. It’s catchy. Or Can’t Stay Away.

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:27 pm

      We can pull out stats until the (sparkle) cows come home like they do on MJ’s, but it is still a poor first week for HBD. I hope he sticks around though. And never resort to famewhorish tactics.

      • deez permalink
        November 24, 2009 10:49 pm

        I can’t see him going that route. I honestly don’t know what on earth he would do for attention anyway. (kiss a dude…no, kiss a chick…no, simulate sex…no, offensive lyrics…no, slap a flight attendant or throw a hotel phone…no) Sadly, his career may be over.

        We might get a drunk tweet.

        • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
          November 24, 2009 10:59 pm

          Or a shirtless photo.

          /tard

          • deez permalink
            November 24, 2009 11:18 pm

            Hmmmm…a dripping wet HBD emerging from a nice heated hotel pool could be excellent PR.

            • themightyrose permalink
              November 25, 2009 4:08 am

              “a dripping wet HBD emerging from a nice heated hotel pool”

              kill meh. now.

        • themightyrose permalink
          November 25, 2009 4:07 am

          “Sadly, his career may be over”

          wtf?

          • Isidra permalink
            November 25, 2009 4:37 am

            Idol bubble. It’s the only place where being in the top ten on the sales chart (projected, anyway) is a bad thing and means the end of a career.

          • deez permalink
            November 25, 2009 5:20 pm

            Just a ‘lil sarcasm.

  4. November 24, 2009 1:26 pm

    He most definitely doesn’t need to wax his feet. Trust me, I understand the hobbit feet. There’s nothing wrong with mine, his, or anyone’s! I think slightly hairy feet are sexy on a guy.

    All this body shaving is ridiculous. Yes, let’s all wax our jungle asses to work that mankini next spring.

    • November 24, 2009 2:01 pm

      Do you have a crush…lol…i think every male(straight\gay) does….I thought Jim was gay for forever

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 24, 2009 2:05 pm

        Haha not all straight males have a crush on Kris, just Jim. And Jim is quite an atypical straight male. Haha I love him πŸ™‚

      • November 24, 2009 2:40 pm

        Haha, I’ve never denied that I find Kris to be the most attractive (male, at least) Idol finalist to date. It is definitely enhanced by his endearing and slyly-humorous personality though, which is typically true of any men I date IRL.

        Also, Jim, he’s a conundrum, haha. Until TI mentioned his wife, I was sure he was gay. But married to a woman =/= straight, either. He could easily be bisexual, which is his personal/private business to share with whom he wants, when he wants, on his own accord. So I’d rather not label him as straight (just as wrong to assume as gay), but simply say “he’s got a wife and a mancrush on Kris”. That’s all the explanation one needs!

        ….But srsly, if those flailing hands could talk….

        • November 24, 2009 2:52 pm

          “But srsly, if those flailing hands could talk….”

          and Kris’ limp wrist…I swear….those two screw up my gaydar..lol

          • November 24, 2009 3:09 pm

            Haha, indeed. It’s refreshing though. They manage to reestablish orientation roles and eschew stereotypes. Kris is so comfortable and thus it makes him a role model for how straight guys should act. (I’m fortunate to have a “band of breeders” who are similar…um, if not more extreme.)

            Also, this GIF is possibly one of the most amusing ever:

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 24, 2009 3:15 pm

              Haha! I remember him doing that! I ❀ Kris! We should just all be like him πŸ™‚

      • deez permalink
        November 24, 2009 3:59 pm

        Yep. No shirt guy just lost with that endorsement. (Kris is right though…in a voting contest, Arkansas vs Ohio, Ark wins every time. Lol)

        I read somewhere (sorry don’t remember) that Kris said that they weren’t allowed to show their personalities on the show. I wonder if he was speaking for himself or for everyone? Mormon Joy, and DWD seemed to be given free reign (unfotunately-on the part of the latter. I know more about him than I want to) I wonder what the purpose of that “rule” is. He’s a funny dude. It would’ve been nice to see that earlier, yet all we heard was “boring”, “inarticulate”, “vanilla”….not the case.

        Margie- I think you may be right about the mancrushes. There are several (supposedly) straight guys at IDF who claim to have mancrushes on Kris.

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 24, 2009 5:24 pm

          What I think is interesting about HBD is that he kind of let the music do the talking. Since he was so “vanilla” and overshadowed by Lambert and for no explicable reason DWD, he sort of had to establish himself through his songs. I always found it interesting that the majority of the guest mentors seemed most impressed with him over the others, particularly Jamie Foxx and Quentin Tarentino, who may be able to discern who’s just acting and who’s being real considering their line of work. I think I just “bought it” more when HBD sang over the others, perhaps.

  5. November 24, 2009 12:48 pm

    Haha! Kris Allen political endorsement video for Cale Mills – Bachelor of the Year 2009:

    http://newsroom.mtv.com/2009/11/24/kris-allen-hottest-bachelor/

    “Paid for by friends of Cale Mills, and fans of beards.”

    Nice choice of words =).

    • November 24, 2009 12:54 pm

      lmao

      MTV really does love Kris….poor.guy-with-no-shirt

      • November 24, 2009 12:57 pm

        I seriously want Kris to star in a show, preferably co-hosting with Jim. It would be magnificent–and, OMG, music-related. Ya hear that, MTV?

        I also cannot wait for Jim’s post-Snuggie SoirΓ©e Tweet Beat. That’s gonna be amazing…especially the pic of Kris dressed like a Jaguar Jesus.

        • LeighKat permalink
          November 24, 2009 5:12 pm

          “Jaguar Jesus”! LOL!!! funny shit.

  6. spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
    November 24, 2009 5:39 am

    lol…this guy. His personalty and humor have made me a fan. He is who he is. No flash, no big ego…just himself.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 24, 2009 12:44 pm

      I agree. The more I see of him, the more I like him. It was that way on the show, and its that way now. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed the interviews with any other Idol contestant this much. Granted, I never sought them out before doing this blog, but you know what I mean. The guy is just so down to earth and personable, and most of all, funny. I really like his sense of humor.

  7. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    November 24, 2009 4:12 am

    He is so wonderfully strange it almost annoys me, but then I realise I would really like to live in this make-belief country where reading is the law.

    Also, in case his adorable randomness isn’t yet apparent, he tweets stuff like this:

    • November 24, 2009 5:16 am

      Hahahaha. Loved it.

      Even better: “Backwards @alexwtrugs–Truggie!”

      Dead.

      • on the edge permalink
        November 24, 2009 12:26 pm

        I read my tweet updates backwards… and NOW that makes sense!

    • auntieaimee permalink
      November 24, 2009 11:23 am

      Kris Allen is funnier than some of the professional comedians I follow on Twitter. He seems to find great humor in the absurd. πŸ™‚

      • November 24, 2009 12:36 pm

        I love his humor…trying hard not to become a Kristard

        • auntieaimee permalink
          November 24, 2009 1:17 pm

          Me, too. I keep trying and I keep failing.

        • Starr permalink
          December 12, 2009 8:02 am

          Resistance is futile.

  8. wino permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:30 am

    “they’re idiots”….ahhh, yup, another reason to like HBD

    BTW, can we please clone this guy and replace most of LA’s (douchey) male population. it would make my dating life so much better

    • Starr permalink
      December 12, 2009 8:02 am

      Amen. JFC if only cloning applied to personalities too. Although I would totally still go for a Kris Allen clone with none of his personality but all of his hotness. What can I say? I can be superficial, too.

  9. themightyrose permalink
    November 24, 2009 2:19 am

    i love kris allen. that is all.

    • November 24, 2009 2:40 pm

      Me too. He just tweeted congrats to Adam on his album and to go get it. It made me cry.

  10. Sherena permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:05 am

    Also waxing doesn’t hurt that much, Kris.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 24, 2009 7:30 am

      Haha are you serious? I guess it probably wouldn’t or your feet but still…

      • Sherena permalink
        November 24, 2009 8:18 pm

        Idk it’s never hurt me that much after the first couple of minutes afterwards. I guess I just don’t have super sensitive skin.

        • November 24, 2009 8:25 pm

          This comment was rather bizarre out of context in my inbox O.o;;;.

          • Sherena permalink
            November 24, 2009 8:33 pm

            haha omg… I can imagine

          • lauren722 permalink
            November 24, 2009 8:43 pm

            OMG! I agree James. I was like, what in the world is Sherena talking about? And then I came back and it all made a lot more sense.

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 24, 2009 8:43 pm

          I cry from a simple eyebrow waxing. I guess I’m just a wimp πŸ™‚

          • Sherena permalink
            November 24, 2009 8:49 pm

            aww you’re not a wimp. It just hurts more for some people.

  11. Sherena permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:03 am

    Loool too cute. I love this guy. Go outside and read books? AMEN.

  12. erinnthered permalink
    November 23, 2009 10:07 pm

    Kris fans need to be more proud of their dude. He’s turning out to be a pretty good winner.

    Those are not easy reads. I doubt the CS Lewis he’s talking about is all related to Narnia. Very cool. I just wish he’d give up the Switchfoot love. So much of his musical taste seems so good, then…that.

    Thanks for reminding me. I need to go buy the album this week…

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 23, 2009 10:38 pm

      I have no idea what Switchfoot is and I don’t think I want to.

      • saskin permalink
        November 23, 2009 11:23 pm

        The kid is a good Christian. What’cha gonna do? But to be fair, he never played that card.

        I think all the Idols are like mixed nuts. You know, you always think that there will be a lot more cashews, almonds, hazelnuts and a lot less peanuts before you open the box. Then you open the box and it is 90 percent peanuts with 2 cashews, one almond and 3 hazelnuts in it… Disappointing.

        That said, go buy the kid’s album. It has less than 50 percent peanuts in it. While you are there, buy the other kid’s album too. Because who doesn’t like peanuts?

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 23, 2009 11:47 pm

          I think my preference of peanuts made the analogy not work for me. What were you trying to say?

      • erinnthered permalink
        November 24, 2009 12:30 am

        I want to be you right now.

  13. saskin permalink
    November 23, 2009 9:21 pm

    I really like Kris Allen fans. They’re like:
    KA Fan1: “KA’s single is in the top 20. yay?”
    KA Fan2: “I think so, but am not sure. Let me see what David Cook fans did. ”
    KA Fan1: “Maybe if we do it really quietly?”
    KA Fan2: “Yeah, whatever, no harm right?”
    Both of them together: “yay??”

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 23, 2009 9:27 pm

      They are adorable! I just want to hug them all! I still can’t get over the one I met at the concert that thought I was going to beat her up and continually found the need to tell me that she really did like Adam too.

  14. auntieaimee permalink
    November 23, 2009 8:30 pm

    He really is endearing.

  15. Michelle permalink
    November 23, 2009 7:00 pm

    There’s a part 2:
    http://bit.ly/7jDVab

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 23, 2009 7:19 pm

      “People should just be nice to people.” I love Kris Allen. So much.

    • LeighKat permalink
      November 23, 2009 7:37 pm

      loved how he talked about how Adam would come up to him and talk about some cute guy.
      And that line about how Katy would kill him if he ever posed with naked girls.
      Kris Allen is one cool mofo. Real, down to earth dude. Seems like the kind of person anyone would want as a friend.

  16. lauren722 permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:46 pm

    Ok. That made me like Kris even more, which I was not aware was possible. Kris, I will live in your country and read not a book a week, but a book a day πŸ™‚ And I don’t think anyone really thinks Adam and Kris have a ROMANCE! They just think it would be really hotttttttt and thus write creepy fic about it πŸ™‚

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 23, 2009 5:49 pm

      I like that he says he has many bromances, but his and Lambert’s is the only one that has been televised.

      People who don’t like Kris Allen are probably also the ones who kick puppies.

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 23, 2009 5:57 pm

        People really need to stop telling him their bizarre fantasies to his face. Haha
        I agree! I mean what about him is possible to not fall in love with?

    • yuppie permalink
      November 23, 2009 6:09 pm

      Sadly, there are people who do actually believe they have a romance. They range from thinking they’re in love, but unable to act on it because of Kris’s wife and TPTB to those who think they are having a real-life affair. I am not kidding.

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 23, 2009 6:12 pm

        Haha scary but for me Kradam is just in my head πŸ™‚

  17. Carlisle permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:35 pm

    The only thing not to like about Kris Allen is that he establishes unrealistic standards for what one can expect to find in a real live male (i.e. a guy who, so far as one is concerned, does not exist solely on one’s TV).

    • Starr permalink
      December 12, 2009 7:59 am

      *sigh* Sadly, I agree. HBD has ruined all men for me. I know, I know. I’m such a Kristard, it’s annoying.

  18. Burgundy LaRue permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:35 pm

    HBD is hilarious. Jive needs to book him for some guest appearances on some sitcoms. Not 2 and a Half Men, though. That show is AWFUL.

Leave a Reply

