Skip to content

Adam Lambert is just too gay for Good Morning America

November 24, 2009

After Sunday evening’s memorable/disastrous performance (dude, he was OUT OF TUNE) at the American Music Awards, ABC’s Good Morning America told Adam Lambert he could no longer be part of their fall concert series. (You can also now catch the “real” For Your Entertainment video. It was released today.)

Do I disagree with the decision? Of course. Do I disagree with the 1500 offended people who wrote letters to Disney-owned network after Lambert’s crotch cabaret show? You betcha.

I didn’t like Lambert’s performance because he was “provocative”. I like provocative. But I don’t even blink when I see such things because it’s all been done before. Maybe I shouldn’t have gone to the live sex show in Amsterdam, or spent 14 hours on a Saturday night at Tunnel when I was 20. Maybe I shouldn’t have gone to that gay bar in Little Rock on the night of the Miss Gay Arkansas pageant. Maybe I shouldn’t have worked at the tattoo & piercing shop that also sold “tobacco paraphernalia” when I was in college. Maybe I shouldn’t have hung out all those nights at the gay bar behind my apartment. Maybe I shouldn’t have gone to Burning Man. Maybe I shouldn’t have gone to The Donkey Show. Maybe that’s why I wasn’t enlightened or shocked by Adam Lambert’s stage antics.

I didn’t like it because it sucked. Lambert sounded terrible and came off as desperate for attention. He was shocking for the sake of shock. It wasn’t art, hell, even for all the times I roll my eyes at Lady Gaga, there is a deliberate artfulness in all of her performances. Her shattering of the glass box in which her piano sit on the AMAs was graceful, particularly when compared to Lambert’s overzealous simulated fingering of a female dancer.

And for someone to claim they don’t want to be a poster boy for gay rights, then why cry discrimination? It was ABC, not MTV. Frankly, Lambert shouldn’t even pretend he didn’t want to shock people. This wasn’t him being himself or him expressing just how sexual he is, it was about shock. It was about the desire to be talked about. This is what Adam Lambert wanted.

In any case, Good Morning America should have kept Lambert on their show Wednesday. CBS’ The Early Show snapped him up, a very wise decision considering The Early Show doesn’t have the devoted following of GMA or NBC’s Today. Even non-Lambert fans may be curious to see who Adam humps for breakfast. Now ignorant asshats like Perez Hilton can whip their just-as-ignorant devotees into a tizzy about ABC being homophobic, and for as many stupid whiny letters ABC received from shocked and appalled viewers (Note from me: Get out of your house more or turn off your TV. Go read Sarah Palin’s book or something), the remaining batshit crazy Glamberts have probably fully developed carpal tunnel now after firing off countless missives to the network via email and Twitter.

(And seriously, Perez Hilton? Don’t align yourself with that loser if you want any sort of legitimacy. He hasn’t exactly endeared himself to the gay community, or anyone for that matter. I doubt Lady Gaga even lets that idiot take out her garbage or dust her vast collection of lace hoods anymore.)

While I suggested Lambert should be “more gay”, I didn’t mean fellatio simulation or shoving his tongue down his keyboardists’ throat. Perhaps he was trying to prove something to the gay community after his management was blasted by Out Editor Aaron Hicklin? Sadly, I doubt this is the case. Lambert shocked simply for the sake of being shocking. In this age of dubious celebrity, the longtime Los Angeles resident has learned self-promotion isn’t just about putting out a good product or gaining acclaim for one’s talent, but by being talked about for other exploits. He’s not about the music. Or art. Adam Lambert just wants to be famous.

But for all the tabloid covers featuring the likes of career babymakers with poor parenting skills and development deals with TLC; and every Kardashian, every Speidi or Spendi or coked-up former starlet, people can still tell a rhinestone from a diamond. Fame from reality television isn’t real fame. It’s just something which looks pretty when you walk by the display window, but you’ll forget what it was by the time you make it to the next block. And no matter how you cut it, American Idol is reality TV. And anyone who comes from reality TV faces a tougher battle in the quest to be taken seriously as an artist. Adam Lambert, I hate to break it to you, but you’re not Elvis. You’re not Madonna. A Rolling Stone cover does not a lasting cultural icon make. And taking into consideration where the majority of the public learned your name, it doesn’t seem as if you’re simply promoting your album, or yourself as an artist. It just seems as if you’re trying so hard to cling to the fame you experienced for all those months on a top-rated reality TV show. Just like every idiot with tabloid notoriety and a fashion line, you’re starting to reek of desperation. You’re also revealing that you really haven’t a clue as to who you are as a person or an artist.

This past summer, Lambert once tweeted a message to his fans stating entitlement was not sexy. Yes, Adam Lambert, you’re right. Entitlement is not sexy. So why do you feel entitled to compare yourself to the likes of legendary musicians when you stir up a little controversy on your first really big solo performance? Why do you feel entitled to play the gay card when it suits you and also pull the I-don’t-want-attention-for-being-gay defense out of your studded back pocket whenever it seems appropriate?

I like my gays glittery and I like them in Banana Republic. But I don’t like poseurs, gay or straight. And I would like to believe Adam Lambert is a talented muthafucker with something to say and not just another idiot who simply tries to dress the part. Sadly, most of what I’ve seen so far suggests all show and no substance.

111 Comments leave one →
  1. cimi permalink
    November 29, 2009 1:28 am

    To be honest, I think Adam knows that he messed up on the AMAs. While watching the Slezak interview I noticed that he was talking a mile-a-minute. I think he was still “very nervous” :). I do think he went over-the-top. Yes, Madonna kissed Brittny and I thought it was weird and knew that she was just doing it for shock purposes…it worked. Now, if Madonna had grabbed Brittney’s face to her crotch….well, I think there would have been much more of a fall-out from that, don’t you think?? I think it’s one thing to slap a small kiss on someone but to lingure with one and then do it a second time in one performance…hum. I didn’t have much of a problem with Adam sliding around a girl on a leash (although, I didn’t think it was necessary for effect) but I think what he did with the double kisses was way to much at this stage in the game. I know why he did it, we’ve all heard the interviews. And looking at his facial expression at the end of it was proof to me that he wasn’t happy with it either. I know that he has to say what he has to say for interviewing sake but, deep down I’m sure he isn’t happy that he took it too far too soon. I am confident that it was only 1,400 people that wrote in to complain out of the, what was it??—4 million folks that watched. 4 million—40 mill, I don’t remember. Anyway. I like Adam. Short of him having sex on stage I doubt I’ll ever stop liking him. He has just made my year with his delightful countenance and awesome talent and there is no denying that. You ladies know how I feel about the gay thing, and I’m sorry to bring it up again [Kate :)]but I have to for those who might be evesdropping that know me—I need them to know that I don’t subscribe to that lifestyle no matter what you all think. Doesn’t take away from me liking Adam though.

    I already posted this under another topic of TI, just thought I would post it here too just incase folks don’t see it over there. Just want to know what you all think. I posted it on one of the Glambert’s sites and I’m awaiting the backlash. I think I posted here just to get a reaffirm.

  2. ljr permalink
    November 26, 2009 12:32 am

    Loved your post. I think you really nailed it – His performance was shock for shock’s sake, not art. But the “controversy” and notoriety are going to sell albums for him. Just hope he doesn’t say it’s all about the music, and he doesn’t want to just be known for being gay, etc. Heck, I’m not as eloquent as you. Glad you wrote what you wrote.

  3. sosad permalink
    November 25, 2009 7:24 pm

    Read what the FCC has to say about obscenity etc. Oh, the indecency section lists 6-10pm as the cut-off time. Remember that the show was broadcast CST from 7-10pm, Adam being on @ 9:49pm. Obscenity, doesn’t matter when it’s broadcast & you give up your right to express yourself/First Amendment. (ie artistic expression).
    Just the US laws. Can’t argue w/them.

    http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/obscene.html

  4. November 25, 2009 1:46 pm

    I don’t want to agree with you, Top Idol. I want to like Adam like I did a few months ago. But I can’t help agreeing with you completely.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 25, 2009 3:33 pm

      Watch the Early Show performance. It makes everything better 🙂

  5. sosad permalink
    November 25, 2009 1:40 pm

    Awesome post Topidol. Looks like you covered all the bases.

    Here is what I think of Lambert’s “edgy” response to his “detractors” on the AMA’s.:

    Well Adam, just because you’re pissed @ some jerk doesn’t mean you should flip the bird on prime time TV/America. Pretty juvenile response on your part. Viewers/audience can’t read your mind. Better reign in that temper bud if you’re looking to be in the spotlight. Goes w/the territory. Part of what they call fame. It’s only going to get worse after that hellish fiasco of a performance.
    Also, no one is going to be impressed w/your “honesty” if you can’t act professionally. Awesome ninja roll btw.

    Now he’s twittering that he loves his fans again, second time since the AMA fiasco.:
    “All hail freedom of expression and artistic integrity. 🙂 fans: I adore u. 1:07 AM Nov 23rd from Echofon ”
    “Thank you to everyone who waited in the cold so early this morning for my CBS Early Show performance! Your support is so important to me. about 2 hours ago from Echofon ”

    Sickening pandering. When was the last time he thanked his “smelly” fans so often right in a row? Don’t remeber that kind of love coming out of him during his tour.
    He knows he messed up big time.

  6. Correction permalink
    November 25, 2009 1:24 pm

    Um, I think it’s more about the fact that he did things on TV that most people pay money to see through a peep window. I’m glad. I don’t want to see a guy have his face in Adam’s crotch with my morning coffee.

    Now the sparkly cows can be all excited that he was just showing everyone who’s boss. Go Adam! We love you for being your obnoxious, flaming self. Blah.

  7. AJW permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:37 pm

    Somehow, this is no different than the balloon guy. A desperate reality participant trying to cling to what they see as the star of fame. Lambert can sing, but he ain’t no Elvis, Bowie or anything even close. If he’d approach it that way, I think he would get a lot further.

  8. Kathy permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:24 am

    Excellent post. Exactly what I’ve been saying. You can think his performance sucked and it have NOTHING to do with his sexuality. My 2 complaints were he sounded awful and it was ABC. Time and place dude.

  9. WhoEver permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:12 am

    Oops…I replied to another comment, instead of to the main post. TI, please remove/ignore my earlier comment.

    Excellent post, TI. I agree with every word of it.

    Unfortunately, if Adam’s 1st week sales predictions are accurate, I think many people have now become incapable of telling a rhinestone from a diamond. And that makes me sad.

  10. kimberly permalink
    November 25, 2009 10:26 am

    I have one thing to say: BON JOVI Okay, I lied. Lambert on The Early Show hugging and signing autographs for the fruaen. Bon Jovi on Today surrounded by a MASSIVE crowd, singing along to their songs. A shitload of perspective right there.

  11. saskin permalink
    November 25, 2009 7:42 am

    If I may: common sense people; use your common sense, it is good for you.

    In my opinion, controversy is good for modern societies. It creates a common narrative; it allows us verbalize/face our common fears and hopes. Lambert is entitled to create controversy as much as the next reality show contestant. It might disgust some (I’m not saying disgust because of homophobia -which might be one of the fears that people need to face- but because of trying to sell stuff through controversy), but it does not change the fact that it helps us grow and mature as a community.

    Glamberts: selling one crappy album by creating controversy does not a pop star make. It might. But it still does not change the fact that he is a bad musician. Face it; even if he becomes as big as Britney Spears he will still be a bad musician who sells a lot of records. Which will break my heart, but I’ll deal with it.

    Allen fans (I don’t know what you call yourselves and I respect you for that) if you are taking issue with selling records by creating controversy (and not his sexual performance) despite being a talentless, unoriginal musician, I have to laugh because you lost that war to Susan Boyle not Lambert. Morality/unoriginality won. But it also might mean that album concept is dead. I don’t know yet.

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    • saskin permalink
      November 25, 2009 8:31 am

      Glamberts: selling one crappy album by creating controversy does not a pop star make. It might.

      You know what? I changed my mind. I don’t know why I’m giving you hope. May be I am secretly wishing him well too. Whatever.

      He is NOT going to be a pop star. It is NOT going to happen. He is too old, too unattractive, too untalented, too unimaginative and too gimmicky. Even Justin Timberlake is struggling to be relevant and he is attractive, imaginative, somewhat talented and not that gimmicky. He is only one years older than Lambert and he has been working his ass off for the last 15 years. Do you guys really think that Lambert can be somewhat relevant 15 years from now when he is 43? Yeah. I know. So, it is not going to happen. For now, enjoy torturing Allen fans. Starting January we’ll have a new Idol.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 25, 2009 6:37 pm

      You made some interesting points. “But it also might mean that album concept is dead,” very astute.

      • TopIdol permalink
        November 25, 2009 6:38 pm

        The concept album died with digital downloads. Let me try and dig up a great article I read about this subject a few years ago. But it makes sense. Since people can download only the songs they want, artists no longer make albums with complete narrative threads.

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 25, 2009 6:41 pm

          What a sad thought. That is why unless I really only like a couple songs, I try to buy the CD. In actual CD form. I like when albums have an overall theme but I guess since everyone is only buying pieces of albums that doesn’t really work anymore 😦

  12. Michelle permalink
    November 25, 2009 3:31 am

    Hot molten lava bomb, TI. A fucking plus.

  13. Mithra permalink
    November 25, 2009 1:27 am

    I can’t wait until tomorrow morning when Adam has his hired band do something really edgy and “avant garde” – like having them smash their gear at the end of the performance 😀

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 26, 2009 9:34 pm

      It was edgy and avant garde. He also sounded great.

  14. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:37 am

    jambajim

    @adamlambert I ❤ that we discussed the Glambulge in our i/v today. In your face Barbara Walters! (Altho don’t really put that in her face.) 12 minutes ago from web

    hahahahhahaha!!!!!

  15. November 25, 2009 12:26 am

    Adam reminds me of a 13 y/o who starts putting 5 curse words in every sentence and thinks he’s all edgy and shocking, while everyone else is rolling their eyes hoping the brat will go away. Adam’s 27 but acts like a teenager who’s shit don’t stink. He says he’s in control of his career, and yet won’t take responsibility for anything. Anyone who doesn’t kiss his ass is a “hater” and just doesn’t “get him”. I hate to tell ya Lambert, but it’s all been done before and done much much better. GROW UP and take some responsibility for yourself.

  16. kimberly permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:12 am

    “…people can still tell a rhinestone from a diamond. Fame from reality television isn’t real fame. It’s just something which looks pretty when you walk by the display window, but you’ll forget what it was by the time you make it to the next block. And no matter how you cut it, American Idol is reality TV. And anyone who comes from reality TV faces a tougher battle in the quest to be taken seriously as an artist. Adam Lambert, I hate to break it to you, but you’re not Elvis. You’re not Madonna. A Rolling Stone cover does not a lasting cultural icon make. And taking into consideration where the majority of the public learned your name, it doesn’t seem as if you’re simply promoting your album, or yourself as an artist. It just seems as if you’re trying so hard to cling to the fame you experienced for all those months on a top-rated reality TV show. Just like every idiot with tabloid notoriety and a fashion line, you’re starting to reek of desperation. You’re also revealing that you really haven’t a clue as to who you are as a person or an artist.” — TOP IDOL

    Thank you so much for this entire post. This is what I’ve been saying, what I’ve been feeling this entire IDOL season. As I said exploitation is ugly. Every time Adam cockily says, “rock ‘n roll”, he most definitely is giving me the finger and everyone else who calls him out on it. He’s a real piece of work.

    Gays in Little Rock? You’re shittin’ me, right? ::grin:: I betcha they voted for HBD.

  17. Mac permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:52 pm

    I love you for writing this.

  18. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:18 pm

    Good Morning America is too Gay for Adam Lambert!

  19. November 24, 2009 11:01 pm

    Oh how I love me some Top Idol preaching. And the sanctimonious “Amens!” and “Halleluiahs!” coming from her congregation are almost biblical to the point of seeing digital doves flock off of my computer screen.
    I said it before: the AMA performance was NOT good. If he had just sung in tune, everything else MIGHT have been justified. He screwed up, but I know he has talent because I watched American Idol, and so did Top Idol. He has talent. He just has to show it more. And Hell, I don’t know how I would feel if an editor of a sinking gay magazine called me out to be the perfect gay for the whole world to follow or else die! DIE a miserable career death!
    The guy has to carve out a public image that sticks and get noticed so he doesn’t fade into obscurity like other second place finishers like Aiken and…(were there anymore second place finishers on Idol?). And to top it all off, he has to measure in the right amount of homo to keep it fresh and pleasing for his fans and AI bloggers everywhere. Wow, I would have just it played it straight* like Aiken for a few more years. There would have been less drama, but then where would I find my fun?

    P.S. I don’t think of ANY Idol contestant’s first CD as art. Not even the oh-so-perfect FUCKING HILARIOUS HBD. Sorry, I wait for a few more years and a couple more albums to come out before I think of “artistry” (See: Kelly Clarkson’s My December). I don’t care if it’s plastic (Adam) or flannel (Kris) or L’Oreal hair coloring (Allison). I just want to be entertained, not judged.

    *And by “straight,” I mean “Just fucking come out already! We know you’re queer!”

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 24, 2009 11:08 pm

      “And Hell, I don’t know how I would feel if an editor of a sinking gay magazine called me out to be the perfect gay for the whole world to follow or else die! DIE a miserable career death!”

      hahahahahahahahahahahahahahah!!!!!! 🙂

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 24, 2009 11:11 pm

      I truly love you ML!!!

      and you’re very sexy.

      • November 25, 2009 12:21 am

        Thanks! Your cover is sexy! Just to be the first. Billboard just tweeted that Adam’s CD is predicted to go over 200k.
        THANK-YOU! If this is true, I hope Top Idol will write a 10,000 word rant on it and still call Lambert a queer fame whore. Oh please let it be true. I want her followers to go ape-shit over it!

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 25, 2009 12:40 am

          Haha I missed the fun! Loved your comment! But don’t be mean to TopIdol 😦
          Among other things, such as people being mean to Adam, it makes me sad.

          • November 25, 2009 1:21 am

            I don’t be mean to be a bitch. I just hate lynch mobs and I don’t think people should expect Adam to make all the right moves right away. He acts like a veteran, but he really isn’t. People forget the little things, like Adam tweeting to everyone to go buy Kris’s album last week. I think he was being sincere, but I know there will be others who won’t. I want them ALL to do well, except Gokey (Sorry, he got my chick kicked off of Idol. THAT can never be forgiven.)

            • TopIdol permalink
              November 25, 2009 1:29 am

              Adam was even gracious to Gokey in the Out magazine. I sort of think if you bitch about Gokey, no one will really care, so it was nice of him to do. (Seriously…what media outlet…non-Christian, of course, would NOT allow you to say what you thought about Gokey. I mean, come on…no one else has a problem doing it 😉

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 25, 2009 1:31 am

              I agree! Whenever Adam does something involving Kris, it is guaranteed to be sincere 🙂 Whether or not his need to shock is an act, his love for Kris will always be real! Time to stop Kradam-tarding lol…
              And here is where we are reminded why all this fan war is frivolous. Whether you hate Adam or love him, we can come together in the fact that we all hate Gokey for beating Allison. I wish the best of luck to all of Kradison!

        • kimberly permalink
          November 25, 2009 1:05 am

          I’ve been wondering who Adam’s demographic is for some time now. Kris does have a lot of high school and college-aged kids. Most admit to actually paying for music (Kris’s CD) for the first time in a long time or most are just too financially strapped to buy it. One thing I do know, frauen cannot sustain a career. Clay and Taylor found that out quite dramatically. David Cook should have been taken far more seriously as a rocker, but I think his frauen fanbase and the American Idol stigma has held him back. Hopefully working with Raine Maida and having more freedom musically will make for a great sophomore CD.

          My 16 yr old son likes Kris, but would prefer him more if he had a stronger acoustic vibe on the CD. I think Kris has a wider demographic.

          My congratulations to Adam if it’s true. Although, I can’t help but wonder if it’s 40,000 people who’ve purchased 5 CDs a piece. Maybe the Arkansas folk finally got their paychecks and will be buying up that Allen boy’s CD. One can only hope.

        • 8sourcandy permalink
          November 25, 2009 1:31 am

          They go ape shit over anything. It’s like feeding time at the zoo whenever an Adam post appears. Yet, no traffic on ALL other topics.

          But, he’s not anything special.

          • freedavidcook permalink
            November 25, 2009 6:49 pm

            Remind me again who it was that desecrated a post about Jon Hamm babbling about Adam? I wonder who would be that desperate? Hhhhmmmm???

            • 8sourcandy permalink
              November 26, 2009 9:32 pm

              That was me. 🙂 I don’t have a problem with my post, sorry you do.

  20. Starkvegas permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:57 pm

    Brilliant post! This is pretty much what I have been thinking. Would you even know he had an album out? I haven’t really heard him talking about it, just the AMA crap.

  21. Hope F. LeSane permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:54 pm

    Adam Lambert is an arrogant phony. He tells Jim Cantiello that he gave the finger to people who don’t support him.

    Get real Lameshanks. You won’t get the support if you give everyone the finger.

    He’s a child who has not completely developed. A spoiled little boy who probably ran to mommy every time someone ragged on him.

    Good Lord. Grow Up.

    I do not think Top Idol’s blog was harsh at all. As a matter of fact, I found it pretty lenient.

    And I agree with everything except that Adam Lambert is offensive to me. Not because of his idiotic performance on the AMAs, but because he’s Adam Lambert.

    Who the heck does he think he is? Arrogant hypocritical egotist.

  22. LeighKat permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:49 pm

    Spinning- my Mom actually said today that she has moved from liking Adam to thinking he is a manipulative prick. Fits in with your LIAR hypothesis.

  23. November 24, 2009 10:45 pm

    Someone…please..put..a..muzzle…on..Adam….just shut him up. Adam humble would be a good direction right now.

    • November 25, 2009 9:13 am

      That was funny 🙂 though I can’t agree. I just watched the new FYE video, was spoilt only by Adam’s couple of smiley parts now that I equate FYE with angry, bad boy. I was stunned at first at the AMAs (the Angry MoF*cker Adam show) but find I like this whole new nasty persona. The rest may have been an act for entertainment/shock purposes but that finger was real – being too humble after that would be fake.

  24. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:43 pm

    Entitlement isn’t sexy, but compassion is.

  25. melvel permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:39 pm

    In her opening spiel in her show yesterday, Bonnie Hunt said exactly what I felt about that performance. I wish I could find a YouTube video of it.

    • deez permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:51 pm

      Paraphrase?

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 24, 2009 11:02 pm

        What, did I spell it wrong, I suck at proof reading.

        • deez permalink
          November 24, 2009 11:11 pm

          What? Was that in reply to me? I’m really confused.

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 24, 2009 11:49 pm

            No, Top Idol
            sometimes they post in weird.

  26. lambertini permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:33 pm

    haa haa that’s a weird & kinda disturbing song. what happens when he meets a guy that doesn’t find him attractive lol

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:39 pm

      Oh, he’s been rejected before. Not every man or woman succumbs to the power of the Glamhole and/or Glambulge.

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 24, 2009 10:54 pm

        Your one lame friend who probably likes straight boys he can’t have, doesn’t represent the preferences of all mankind. 🙂

      • 8sourcandy permalink
        November 24, 2009 11:16 pm

        GLAMBULGE! 🙂

      • November 25, 2009 8:45 am

        LOL Glamhole! Not heard that one before. I mean I know it must exist but never given it much thought being so distracted by the Glambulge. But giving the hole it’s own Glam prefix endears me to it somehow 🙂

        • TopIdol permalink
          November 25, 2009 11:25 am

          I think I coined it. I demand credit. Go tell your Glambert friends it was ALL ME.

          • November 25, 2009 1:38 pm

            I give you points for coining it. But sorry TI, I do have a selfish streak – am keeping the Glamhole all to myself 🙂

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:39 pm

      How likely is that?

  27. 8sourcandy permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:33 pm

    I liked all the revelations about you (who knew?) and this one line “Adam Lambert is a talented muthafucker with something to say.” 🙂

    I know I paraphrased to my own advantage, but I believe he will find his way.

  28. blacklisted permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:31 pm

    I wish he hadn’t said that he did it in the heat of the moment. It makes it sound impulsive and not thought out which is not how I view Adam.

    In terms of the bruhaha, I have a feeling that AMA knew what Adam was he up to. Honestly, I think it’s manufactored controversy intended to raise Adam’s sales numbers and save ABC’s ass with the sponsors. Like you, I don’t see anything shocking.

    BTW I’m really surprised that FYE has done so poorly on the radio, leading the label to put up a second single. I prefer it to WWFM.

  29. lambertini permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:22 pm

    the performance was terrible vocally. He was able to “shock” more subtly on idol while still being on key. I have no prob with boys kissing boys, especially on conservative networks, but if its about the music than focus on that first. The album isn’t half bad thou.

  30. Verbally Dyslexic permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:16 pm

    TI, I like this post and imma put a ring on it! 🙂

  31. lee permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:15 pm

    Adam Lambert is full of it and it has nothing to do with him being gay. What a freakin poser.

  32. Smartie permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:14 pm

    They didn’t kick him off because they’re homophobic. They booted him because he’s clearly a loose cannon who will do any sort of cheesy stunt for attention and they cannot risk him doing that on live tv as THEY are the ones who wear the aftermath.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:15 pm

      What? You don’t like my SEO-friendly titles? 🙂

    • November 24, 2009 11:49 pm

      He’s a lunatic in the eyes of the GMA production staff. Who knows what he’d do there to make middle America choke on their coffee.. “Oh waiter, there’s a gay in my cornflakes!’

    • kimberly permalink
      November 25, 2009 1:13 am

      I have to admit about the loose canon. Adam seems to be getting a free pass on everything, seems to come out unscathed. I think he’s beginning to believe he’s invincible and if his sales are good, the boy’s going to be intolerable.

  33. spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:02 pm

    Not too Gay…just too disgusting.

    He is a Fame Whore, plain and simple.

    Notice no is talking about his horrible Britney type song FYE?

    It is all about the Britneyesque antics, and not the music.

    Then he is hanging out with that fat Fame seeker Perez Hilton. I guess water seeks its own level.

    • Sherena permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:07 pm

      Water is necessary for life. And it’s delicious.

      • spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
        November 24, 2009 10:09 pm

        Not if it is sewer water.

        • Sherena permalink
          November 24, 2009 10:13 pm

          Haha. Okay. But Adam to me is sweet mountain spring water 🙂 (Besides, we should all be grateful for our sewage system and what it does for us.)

          • spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
            November 24, 2009 10:17 pm

            lol…a “sweet mountain spring” is not exactly what Adam is. Moutain springs are clear, simple and you can see through it.

            Adam is all made-up, gawdy, over-produced, and processed.

            Just like his music.

            😉

            • Sherena permalink
              November 24, 2009 10:19 pm

              But you gotta hurt my feelings? 😦

            • Sherena permalink
              November 24, 2009 10:20 pm

              Ahem, I meant “but *why you gotta hurt my feelings”

              Also, blasphemy.

            • TopIdol permalink
              November 24, 2009 10:21 pm

              He’s more like what’s left when someone decided to smoke their bong with strawberry daquiri instead of water.

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 24, 2009 11:05 pm

      Even as a fame whore, there would be NOTHING plain and simple about him.

  34. Sherena permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:00 pm

    I’m really shocked by this, actually. I didn’t think they’d cancel. Oh well, I guess since the last time he was on GMA he commented on the absence of bras and wore a cock ring, I can see that they’ve probably been a bit apprehensive of him all along. Hopefully this works out in terms of publicity if his tv performances are good. The FYE video is aaaamazing, so more where that came from please!

    • 8sourcandy permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:49 pm

      Wearing his cock ring on GMA is my favorite tard-memory of the entire summer. And, my favorite anecdote at cocktail parties.

  35. erinnthered permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:58 pm

    Also, I’m jealous ’cause you’ve been to The Donkey Show. How was it?

  36. disch permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:52 pm

    This post rules. Seriously. You really nailed what has been bothering me about Lambert lately.

  37. LeighKat permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:51 pm

    Fantastic post TI!

    “You’re also revealing that you really haven’t a clue as to who you are as a person or an artist”.

    I totally agree with this- I posted this on twitter a few days back (yes, I am a twataholic):

    “Adam- you are a walking, talking contradiction. clearly still trying to figure out who you are. Sadly,you are doing it in front of the world”

    Sometimes I feel like it’s one step forward and 2 steps back with Adam- when he seems to say or do something that reveals some depth, he pulls some crappy move which makes him come off as self righteous and self indulgent.

    The responses from past idols has also been interesting. John Peter Lewis in particular tore Adam a new asshole:
    http://www.ainow.org/index.php/tidbits/1419-past-idols-offer-opinions-on-adam-lamberts-ama-performance

    Time will tell.

  38. Mithra permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:51 pm

    Bravo. He is not an artist, nor a RAWK GOD. He’s an actor attempting to portray one, and failing.

    Where does he get off trying to use female performers doing similar things as an excuse? His fans, let alone the poor excuse for “journalists” who pass as the media today clearly do not get out much and have no historical perspective. Even the male on male kiss was done on national TV before – in 1978 when Mick Jagger shoved his tongue in Ron Wood’s mouth on Saturday Night Live.

  39. erinnthered permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:50 pm

    I agree with almost all of it except the reason why GMA canceled the performance.

    Adam came out right after the AMAs and claimed that he did all that BS in the heat of the moment, and that he couldn’t control himself on stage. He was so busy trying to make excuses that he put his foot in the shit. If the FCC is still fine happy, and Adam says he can’t control himself on stage, what was GMA to do? He basically invited them to cancel it. I honestly understand their decision.

    Plus, I kind of wonder how many tickets they’d given away as it was. That Hot Topic giveaway was kind of suspicious. It’s all about the bottom line, and if Adam wasn’t going to sell out a free show it may have been more cost effective to take the hit and cancel.

    CBS does all their performances on the plaza with nothing more than a piano and a guitar. Strictly cabaret. I doubt they could set up anything that different by tomorrow, so I’m sure they feel they have control over Adam’s antics.

    Everything he’s done since Idol screams poseur. I really did want him to succeed because he seemed like a nice kid, btu now I think the best thing for him is to fall on his ass. And not in a way he can “ninja roll” out of.

    • Mithra permalink
      November 24, 2009 9:54 pm

      He does put his foot in his mouth A LOT. He’s really bad at spinning and if that finger was really directed at OUT, then he would have said that right away, not days later. Plus the hypocrisy is hilarious.

      He’s a money pit and they are only going to spend so much bailing him out.

  40. November 24, 2009 9:47 pm

    You can’t see it, but I am standing up and applauding this post.

  41. lauren722 permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:37 pm

    Listen to the Jim interview! Adam pretty much said the performance was to show everyone that 19E isn’t controlling him. The middle finger was to Hicklin. While his performance wasn’t really about the music, it wasn’t to just get talked about either. He was showing that he is the only one who decides what he does, not the 19 E management. TopIdol, I think you’re being a tad bit harsh.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 24, 2009 9:41 pm

      I’ve listened to Whataya Want From Me about 6x today. I get a pass on being “a tad bit harsh.” 😉

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 24, 2009 9:44 pm

        Haha thats more times than I have listened to it today! (Lol only 5). But then again I am listening to the entire album…not one song!
        Ok you get a free pass for that!

        • LeighKat permalink
          November 24, 2009 10:02 pm

          BTW- I love Whadaya Want and FYE is slowly growing one me.

          • 8sourcandy permalink
            November 24, 2009 10:41 pm

            Have you heard “Down the rabbit hole?” I’m telling ya, that song rocks.

    • erinnthered permalink
      November 24, 2009 9:53 pm

      If that’s how he shows he’s making the decisions, then maybe he doesn’t need to be.

      • Isidra permalink
        November 24, 2009 11:32 pm

        I hate to say it, but he does seem to be selling records, so I guess it’s working. The predictions are apparently really high.

        I’m happy for him, but damn if he doesn’t annoy the crap out of me.

        • Sherena permalink
          November 24, 2009 11:56 pm

          It’s a bit early to be predicting though. I’d keep my expectations low– who knows whether the sales will keep up all week, or whether he’ll pull a Taylor Hicks and disappear after the first two weeks or so.

          Personally…following Adam has been so stressful lately, more about stress and conflict than about the spontaneous fun and joy of it. Fandom is really something different from anything else I’ve ever experienced, and all the drama is annoying the crap out of me too. Cool that you’re happy for him though 🙂

          • Isidra permalink
            November 25, 2009 12:04 am

            🙂 I’m mostly happy because I think it’ll make some of the more annoying Adam fans finally back off of Kris/Kris fans.

            They tend to be the worst doomsayers when there’s no or bad news coming from Adam’s camp. When good things happen, they’re too busy cheering about that (and understandably so) to bother us. 😛

            (Obviously, when I say Adam fans, I only mean the crazies. Not the sane folk.)

            • Sherena permalink
              November 25, 2009 12:13 am

              ahaha okay. Hopefully both Adam and Kris will end up doing really well over the long term and both “sides” will be too busy drinking and partying to have catfights 🙂

            • Isidra permalink
              November 25, 2009 12:17 am

              I’ll drink to that! 🙂

    • LeighKat permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:01 pm

      If that is how he choses to show that he makes his own decisions (the finger)- umm, can you say immature much?
      That is pathetic.

      He also said that he got “caught up” with the emotion and excitement or whatever- so, basically he LOST CONTROL- and I am supposed to believe that this was a display of being in control?

      The man is caught in a whirlwind of self doubt and he can’t find his way out.

    • spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:08 pm

      uh…what happened about “his music”?

      It is all about drama, drama, drama, drama…and then more drama.

      It is never about the music.

      Usually an musician/singer it IS about their music…not their antics.

      Adam is reverse.

      It is about HIS ANTICS…and then his music.

      What happened to his song “For Your Entertainment”? It is a horrible song. It is not even rock. It is about him parading around ACTING like he is “edgy” not about his crappy song FYE…which was failing, until he made it about antics, over music.

      • Sherena permalink
        November 24, 2009 10:09 pm

        What is this “usually” you speak of. I thought we were in the pop music world, here…

        • spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
          November 24, 2009 10:11 pm

          I thought Adam was a “rock” god, not a pop star?

          • Sherena permalink
            November 24, 2009 10:13 pm

            You did? Then you’re behind the times, dear.

            • spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
              November 24, 2009 10:22 pm

              Actually I NEVER believed he was…I knew actually what he is. A big phony. He fooled idiots.

              It is his crazed delusional Glamtards who believed he was a “rock” god and many still do. I always knew he was a Queen of Pop…and not in a good way.

              He has always been like Britney Spears from his early music like his “Pop Goes the Camera” song which were about his shallow aspirations for fame.

              😉

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 24, 2009 10:28 pm

                I have no idea why he didn’t put this on his album:

                • Sherena permalink
                  November 24, 2009 10:31 pm

                  Wait are you snarking or in serious? I can’t even tell, lol

                • 8sourcandy permalink
                  November 24, 2009 10:34 pm

                  You know that’s my jam!!!!

                  • lauren722 permalink
                    November 25, 2009 12:48 am

                    I love that song too! Btw: your avatar that for some reason is only appearing on my sidebar is priceless!

                    • 8sourcandy permalink
                      November 25, 2009 1:45 am

                      I know, why is that?

                      I made that for Halloween, my avatar “dressed” as Adam. It IS suppose to look cheesy, btw.

                    • lauren722 permalink
                      November 25, 2009 11:10 am

                      Haha it is very cool! It is showing in my email too. No clue why…

                • sosad permalink
                  November 25, 2009 1:42 pm

                  Yes. That Glamorize song is kind of awesome actually.
                  Really showcases his talent quite well..

    • Verbally Dyslexic permalink
      November 24, 2009 10:12 pm

      I watched Jim’s interview and to me it still doesn’t justify him flipping the bird on live TV at his naysayers. So he has critics, everyone does! With all his talk about artistic expression, couldn’t he have used a more artistic way to ‘flip the bird’ at them? It just tells me that he’s thin-skinned and can’t handle criticism gracefully.

      As to proving that 19E isn’t his puppetmaster, well, he did prove it. Thing is, he also proved that he doesn’t have control over himself with all the heat-of-the-moment shenanigans. Look what that got him. He wants to show that he cannot be bowed by ABC or other powers, fine, but he has to accept the consequences because ABC as the custodian of the airtime has control over their content. Acting all high and mighty and looking down his nose at people who were offended by his performance isn’t a sign of having control. To me it just looks like a spoiled brat who has to have his way.

      All this leaves me wondering, what then is left for him to control?

      • spinningfasterandfastertoonowhere permalink
        November 24, 2009 10:14 pm

        I believe Adam is a LIAR.

        He changes his lines all the time to fit his own agenda.

        When things go wrong, Adam always blames other people…not himself.

        • on the edge permalink
          November 24, 2009 11:23 pm

          You just gotta wonder…

          …is he even really GAY?!?!

  42. November 24, 2009 9:25 pm

    This post is more than a little awesome.

Leave a Reply

