Skip to content

Liberty Counsel files FCC complaint about Adam Lambert’s AMA Performance

November 27, 2009

Sure, Adam Lambert’s AMA performance featured dreadful acts of screechery and famewhoring, but that still doesn’t change the fact the uber-Christian Liberty Counsel (part of Liberty University) looks like a bunch of asshats…especially when they mention the homosexual open-mouth kissing in what will be the first (or only?) complaint filed with the FCC regarding the now-infamous AMA performance.

Come on! I’m waiting for someone to claim severe emotional distress. With the economy in the shitter, I have no idea why freeloading Jesus lovers haven’t come forward attempting to slap a hefty lawsuit on ABC for severe emotional distress. Hey, there were so many times on Idol when I had trouble listening to Adam Lambert sing, and I could think of so many other things I would rather do than see his glambulge in HD. However, there are few things I loathe more than the Christian Right and people who believe homosexuality is a sin–especially when all you bastards want is PUBLICITY.

Note to the Liberty Counsel:
Because you’re not humping anything on stage does not change the fact that you, too, are simply famewhoring; and by filing a complaint with the FCC, you’re just going to keep people talking about Adam Lambert.

44 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 12:30 pm

    His defenders only talk about the homosexual kiss, as if that’s all he did. That was the LEAST of what it did, had that been the only thing he did there wouldn’t be as big a problem as there is with the FCC. It was the simulated sex acts, simulating oral sex was just one of them. I don’t care if it was a man or a woman’s face in his crotch, it’s obscene either way! The kiss wasn’t the problem, but that’s the only thing he can be defended on so that’s the only thing his defenders mention.

  2. November 30, 2009 8:58 pm

    “Adam Lambert and Media Cowardice”. This guy states the case pretty fiercely. Loved it:

  3. cimi permalink
    November 29, 2009 1:25 am

    To be honest, I think Adam knows that he messed up on the AMAs. While watching the Slezak interview I noticed that he was talking a mile-a-minute. I think he was still “very nervous” :). I do think he went over-the-top. Yes, Madonna kissed Brittny and I thought it was weird and knew that she was just doing it for shock purposes…it worked. Now, if Madonna had grabbed Brittney’s face to her crotch….well, I think there would have been much more of a fall-out from that, don’t you think?? I think it’s one thing to slap a small kiss on someone but to lingure with one and then do it a second time in one performance…hum. I didn’t have much of a problem with Adam sliding around a girl on a leash (although, I didn’t think it was necessary for effect) but I think what he did with the double kisses was way to much at this stage in the game. I know why he did it, we’ve all heard the interviews. And looking at his facial expression at the end of it was proof to me that he wasn’t happy with it either. I know that he has to say what he has to say for interviewing sake but, deep down I’m sure he isn’t happy that he took it too far too soon. I am confident that it was only 1,400 people that wrote in to complain out of the, what was it??—4 million folks that watched. 4 million—40 mill, I don’t remember. Anyway. I like Adam. Short of him having sex on stage I doubt I’ll ever stop liking him. He has just made my year with his delightful countenance and awesome talent and there is no denying that. You ladies know how I feel about the gay thing, and I’m sorry to bring it up again [Kate :)]but I have to for those who might be evesdropping that know me—I need them to know that I don’t subscribe to that lifestyle no matter what you all think. Doesn’t take away from me liking Adam though.

    I posted this on the official Glamberts website. I just want to know what YOU all think of it before I get the backlash of what they think of it. Am I totally of base? Or did I do ok?

    • sosad permalink
      November 29, 2009 5:07 pm

      Of course he knew what he was doing. He freaked because he sounded so bad w/the combo of the ninja roll. He was pissed because of the criticisms by Hicklin & others. His lame posturings the day after ad nauseum are all just desperate explanations to build his cred back up & it isn’t working. His legions of rabid fans, various misinformed gay supporters, & the media circus continue to support & promote this very wrong way of thinking.
      Trying to spread the blame on other performers is the act of a lame coward, as is playing the gay card all of a sudden. Not apologizing isn’t being strong, it’s the epitome of weakness & fame whoring. Simulating fellatio & giving the audience the finger on prime time tv is ok? No it isn’t. Maybe on PLANET FIERCE it is. This guy needs to grow up & start visiting reality on a more consistent basis…what a waste of any talent he ever did possess.

    • November 29, 2009 6:26 pm

      Cimi – you have the right to your opinion and should feel free to post it whereever you like, but I understand your caution of posting at AO :). I too thought Adam succumbed to nerves – especially after the “ninja” roll. After all the build up, knowing that people had a knife in his back, you would have to be totally made of steel to not feel the pressure. I am not sure if I totally believe the story of the choreography – which is disappointing – I always believed Adam to be totally truthful before this and lacking in filter. I think he knows he made a boo-boo, but had to cover himself and ABC for the furthering of his career. My only regret about his performance up to, and including the finger at the audience, is the lack of consistent quality vocal. That is all he should be sorry for in my opinion. And he as much said so himself when asked about if he had any regrets. He had the opportunity to wow the world with his talent. I think he did show some talent to those (and there must be some!) who hadn’t heard him before – but for us who knew what he was capable of – it was disappointing. But whether you liked it or not, whether you believe him or not, it will be a rare talk show host who will not want him on their couch to re-hash the whole controversy. Every cloud has a silver lining 🙂 Is Adam a fame-whore? I think so. Do I dislike that fact? Really only a little (I still love Madonna despite her obvious attempts at media manipulation) but Adam has enough talent, lovability and appeal to keep me interested – and for the amount of entertainment that he has given me thus far, I just can’t help but forgive him for this one dodgy performance.

      • cimi permalink
        December 1, 2009 12:55 am

        My sentiments Exactly–“one dodgy performance”.

        • cimi permalink
          December 1, 2009 12:57 am

          I forgot to add –only one out of all his performances HAS been dodgy. As Miley Cryus sings, “Everbody makes mistakes”.

          • lauren722 permalink
            December 1, 2009 4:33 pm

            No! Don’t make me associate Adam with Miley! *dies*

          • cimi permalink
            December 1, 2009 11:47 pm

            Sorry Lauren–my sincere apologies–knew I shouldn’ta done that

  4. lauren722 permalink
    November 28, 2009 1:23 am

    I never TRULY believed in Kradam, there were no real facts to prove it…. Adommy?… my new religion
    I love twitter. This person later tweeted asking Adam why he was quoting Romeo and Juliet when they were expecting a love tweet? *facepalm*

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 28, 2009 1:26 am

      I want to start a Twitter campaign to set up Johnny Weir and Adam Lambert.

  5. kimberly permalink
    November 28, 2009 1:20 am

    “…dreadful acts of screechery and famewhoring…” — TOP IDOL

    HA HA HA! By far the greater of crimes against humanity.

  6. sosad permalink
    November 27, 2009 9:37 pm

    From the other side of the fence, this is pretty silly too.

    “Tell ABC that censoring Adam Lambert is the real disgusting action”
    http://www.petitiononline.com/FabAdamL/

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 27, 2009 10:26 pm

      Because online patissions are sooooo effective.

      • November 27, 2009 10:42 pm

        Prolly not, but worth a try…what elso to do with spare time till Adam next appearing anywhere? 🙂

      • sosad permalink
        November 27, 2009 11:03 pm

        of course they always work.
        especially when they are worded as well as that one is.

    • lauren722 permalink
      November 27, 2009 10:32 pm

      *hides in shame* SOMEONE SENT IT TO ME!!! I FELT OBLIGATED TO SIGN IT!!!!!! IT’S NOT MY FAULT!!! lol
      I probably should have just kept quite about that…oh well 🙂

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 27, 2009 10:33 pm

        *quiet!!!! Gahhhhh

      • November 27, 2009 10:40 pm

        Hey, dont sweat, saw that and signed too. Interesting times hey lauren? 🙂

        • lauren722 permalink
          November 27, 2009 10:51 pm

          Haha that makes me feel better. OMG Twitter just exploded. Adam and Tommy are flirting 😉

          • TopIdol permalink
            November 27, 2009 10:55 pm

            How do you know Glitterbaby isn’t just a term of endearment among friends?

            Famewhore.

            IT MUST BE SERIOUS. ZOMG. LET TONIGHT’S BAD SLASH WRITING COMMENCE.

            • sosad permalink
              November 27, 2009 11:01 pm

              Blech. 😦
              Let the sick fanfics begin.
              The internets is our friend.
              Wonder if Kris will get jealous.

              • TopIdol permalink
                November 27, 2009 11:06 pm

                I’m sure he’s planning the assassination attempt as we speak.

                (WTF??)

                • lauren722 permalink
                  November 28, 2009 12:56 am

                  Oh my. I read the intro. The idea of Kris as a cold-blooded killer had me rolling on the floor laughing. Let me guess, when he actually goes to kill Adam, he instead falls in love and they end up have really hot sex?

                  • TopIdol permalink
                    November 28, 2009 1:07 am

                    Almost hot sex, I believe. I also found some sicko crap of Kris/Katy/Adam. Lots of those, it seems. And anytime I see anything advertising Cook/Archuleta I close out the tab ASAP. Piss shivers! All of it!

                    • lauren722 permalink
                      November 28, 2009 1:18 am

                      Awww, they don’t go all the way? And that writer has the never to call themselves a Kradam fan. Yeah there is some creepy stuff. I once started reading a Kris/Katy/Adam/Allison foursome. I’ve never closed something quicker in my life.

                • wnb permalink
                  November 28, 2009 2:03 am

                  Oh no… curiosity got the best of me. I was laughing so hard by the time Kris picked up the iPod that I couldn’t find the back button to your page. This is some sick twisted crap. Twilight references anyone? What’s next? Rob Pattison into the mix?

                  • lauren722 permalink
                    November 28, 2009 10:39 am

                    I once saw one with Adam and all the Cullen boys!!!! It was pretty messed up 🙂

                • sosad permalink
                  November 28, 2009 3:52 pm

                  Wow.
                  http://pics.livejournal.com/katekat1010/pic/009w4594

                  I guess he was jealous.

            • lauren722 permalink
              November 28, 2009 12:53 am

              Haha people are already slashing. So quickly they forget Kradam. I am not buying into this Adommy nonsense. Obviously Kris is the only straight guy who will ever love Adam. 😉

  7. Full Tilt permalink
    November 27, 2009 7:49 pm

    I think it can’t be said enough that his performance sucked on many levels but of course they zeroed in on all the wrong ones in that complaint. Honestly though, I’m getting sick of the whole magilla.

  8. AIFan permalink
    November 27, 2009 7:23 pm

    Ugh… I hate to be on the same side as Liberty Counsel (but for different reasons).

  9. LeighKat permalink
    November 27, 2009 4:58 pm

    Ironic that these asshats are called the “Liberty” Counsel.

    This is totally absurd.

  10. Trish permalink
    November 27, 2009 4:01 pm

    Looks like “Liberty Counsel” are bigger famewhores than Adam.

  11. ljr permalink
    November 27, 2009 3:01 pm

    Top Idol I think I love you. Yep, the f***ers only keep Glambert’s name in the press with this pointless complaint. I begin to think this was all planned to get max press.
    I still the screechiness & stupid performance in general are only things worth complaining about.

  12. saskin permalink
    November 27, 2009 2:19 pm

    It is because they are stupid. It obviously should be addressed to the Humane Society for torturing a cat during live T.V. performance.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 27, 2009 2:34 pm

      Oskar does have a habit of leaving the room…hmmm…

      • saskin permalink
        November 27, 2009 2:58 pm

        I meant it sounded like they were torturing a cat, but I agree one can also write a complaint for torturing millions of unsuspecting house pets with that broadcast. They did not deserve that. My Milly was definitely annoyed.

  13. lauren722 permalink
    November 27, 2009 2:05 pm

    Wow. I didn’t know kissing was indecent. Oh, I’m sorry it’s because it was homosexual as those assholes kept mentioning. That’s really going to make people take that complaint seriously. Could they have been anymore conspicuous about their prejudice? This just makes me like Christians less. I’ve been trying to get over my stereotype but this probably sets me back several months. As soon as I am out of my house, I’m not even going to be Jewish anymore.

    • TopIdol permalink
      November 27, 2009 2:08 pm

      They totally undermine their “cause” because they’re so damn laughable. PETA does the same thing.

      • lauren722 permalink
        November 27, 2009 2:16 pm

        Oh don’t get me started on PETA. I love animals and I agree with most of PETA’s beliefs but they are so ridiculous about it! I could never be a member. While I am vegetarian, they need to worry about abuse and cruelty, instead of people eating fish. Give it up, people like meat. *Sigh* Whenever I tell someone I am an animal rights activist, they call me a loco and ask if I go around throwing red paint on fur coats.
        Sadly, most people aren’t sane enough to find the Christian Right laughable.

      • sossad permalink
        November 27, 2009 11:05 pm

        I can’t believe real lawyers penned this thing.
        they must be the subset known as lawlers.
        idiots.

        • Isidra permalink
          November 29, 2009 11:43 am

          To be fair, they might be of the subset whose motto is “bilk the idiot client for all they’re worth.” Which would be unethical as opposed to stupid.

  14. freedavidcook permalink
    November 27, 2009 2:01 pm

    Aha! Jerry Fall-To-Hells minions strike again!

    Didn’t know a shitty vocal performance was a crime? Someone needs to warn all the AI auditionees.

Leave a Reply

