Skip to content

Anoop Desai singing at Macy’s Xmastree Lighting in San Francisco

November 28, 2009

Anoop Desai performed All I Want For Christmas at the Christmas Tree lighting on Friday at the Macy’s Union Square in San Francisco.

All I Want For Christmas is the greatest Christmas song ever. Or one of them. It’s the only Mariah Carey song I like. I think Anoop has a solid voice, but this is the first time I’ve heard any male singer do it…I sort of prefer it being Mariah or the little Love Actually girl. It’s definitely not bad, but it’s not Mariah or the little Love Actually girl (Olivia Olson).

One of my favorite parts of the holiday season is being able to put this song on heavy rotation on my iPod. I love this damn song. I can’t help it. It makes me want to jump around like a moron and sing and believe that I’m going to get absolutely everything I want for Xmas and I’ll kiss a guy in the snow and blah blah blah. It turns me into a giddy little girl! And now that you know my deep dark secret…

Holly hell. This movie isn’t that old…here is Olivia Olson NOW. (She’s 17.)

Yay! Her voice is still lovely.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Wino permalink
    December 2, 2009 6:38 pm

    yippee, xmas is here. i cant stand MC, but that song is one of my all time holiday faves. along with Love Actually. hmmm, maybe i’ll rent it this Friday while decorating my tree 🙂 thanks Noop Dogg for the inspiration. poor guy, can someone get him an actual gig? if Lil Rounds can get signed, why not him or Matt G?!?!

  2. November 30, 2009 8:50 am

    TI, thanks for this post! It has just triggered all my fuzziest, warmest emotions 🙂 Aww, well done Anoop, good attempt and his voice sounded great! But I have to squee as Love Actually is one of my all time fave romcoms (ties with Bridget Jones as best ever girlie feel-good fest! – am just re-reading the actual novels and they are timeless and hilarious – do get if you have never read) and that rendition and scene by Olivia is goosebump city! Me and hubby were just saying over the weekend that it is getting near that time of year to re-play Love Actually – has become a xmas classic at ours (wish he would feel the same bout “It’s a Wonderful Life” but he has bias against black and white movies that cannot be swayed – regardless of fuzzy, warm content!). But Olivia now – what a beauty – thanks for finding that clip and what a wonderful performance of Halo! Where is she, does she have a career yet? But that performance triggered another fuzzy-wuzzy memory – last christmas my hubby bought me an ipod – a gift that scared me and I was unaware I needed! and on christmas day the first album I downloaded (easily and painlessly to my relief) from itunes was Beyonce’s Sasha Fierce – and I remember listening to Halo (and Ave Maria) and sobbing with the beauty of the songs and voice so close in my ears. Anyhow, ahem, cough, soppy moment over, must return to rabid glambert mode and get on with my day. But thanks TI, for the happy thoughts 🙂

  3. November 28, 2009 7:34 pm

    That’s one of my favorite scenes in Love Actually. Can’t believe she’s 17, it seems like that movie only came out a couple of years ago.

  4. erinnthered permalink
    November 28, 2009 8:29 am

    I can’t see the video…I’m on my bb…but I do love Love Actually. That scene is adorable.

    My fave performance was a drag queen friend of mine a few Christmases ago. He’s a skinny bitch too, so he wore this Christmas bikini with fur trim. Actually bothered to learn the lyrics, and killed it that night.

  5. Smartie permalink
    November 28, 2009 4:44 am

    Who?

Leave a Reply

